How Much Does a TGI Fridays Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a TGI Fridays franchise cost?

A new 2,000- to 4,000-square-foot TGI Fridays Restaurant requires an estimated initial investment of $1,356,100 to $4,115,600. That is the official range in the TGI Fridays Franchisor, LLC 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 29, 2026. It is not the same as the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, and it does not establish a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth requirement.

$1,356,100-$4,115,600Estimated Initial Investment for one 2,000-4,000 sq. ft. Fridays Restaurant

The range covers the Franchise Fee, premises work, equipment, signage, opening inventory, hiring and training, insurance, technology, and the three-month start-up allowance. The estimate assumes a leased site, not a real-estate purchase.

Evidence: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16-19.

Legal franchisor
TGI Fridays Franchisor, LLC
Disclosure basis
2026 FDD issued April 29, 2026; Item 5, pp. 8-10; Item 6, pp. 10-16; Item 7, pp. 16-20; Item 8, pp. 20-24; Item 10, p. 26; Item 11, pp. 26-38; and Item 17, pp. 45-53
Applicable offer
One U.S. full-service Fridays Restaurant, plus the separate Development Agreement path for at least three Restaurants
Checked
July 17, 2026; the brand's official U.S. franchise information and the FTC Franchise Rule were also reviewed
$50,000Initial Franchise FeePaid when the Franchise Agreement is signed; nonrefundable.
$150,000-$500,000Additional FundsThree months; included in the opening total.
5%Royalty FeeOf Gross Sales; due seven days after each fiscal period.
4%System Marketing FundCurrent contribution on Gross Sales; total advertising obligation may reach 5%.
$100,000Three-unit pre-paid feeDue at Development Agreement signing for the minimum three-Restaurant commitment.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the initial investment?

The 2026 Item 7 range contains 16 disclosed expenditure categories. The largest sources of variation are Building & Improvements, Site Improvements, Kitchen/Bar Equipment, Additional Funds, and the extent of hiring, training, and NSO Support. The low end assumes a leased in-line location; the high end assumes a leased existing standalone building needing extensive changes.

Premises, equipment and technology costs

These expenditures are generally paid as billed or as incurred. Purchases routed through Sugarloaf Management, LLC may require prepayment, while other approved suppliers bill directly.

Cost entity 2026 range When paid Important qualification
Initial Franchise Fee $50,000 Franchise Agreement signing Fully earned when paid and nonrefundable.
Furniture, Fixtures, Decor & Sound System/TVs $75,000-$300,000 As incurred Prepaid if ordered through Sugarloaf Management.
Exterior Signage $20,000-$100,000 As incurred Paid to suppliers.
Kitchen/Bar Equipment $260,000-$500,000 As incurred Prepaid if ordered through Sugarloaf Management.
Computer POS Systems/KDS/Installation $12,000-$20,000 As incurred Includes the first $1,260 quarterly I.T. Service and Support Fee payment.
Liquor License $1,000-$400,000 Transfer or application The licensing note says a required license purchase is not included in the official total.
Building & Improvements $650,000-$1,500,000 As incurred Low assumes leased in-line build-out; high assumes extensive standalone-building changes.
Site Improvements $25,000-$500,000 As incurred Landlord allowances may offset some improvement costs.

If the franchisee uses Sugarloaf Management, LLC for all Purchasing Agent Items, Item 5 estimates a total payment of approximately $347,000 to $820,000, including the 8% Purchasing Agent Fee. The disclosure says that fee is already included in the applicable equipment, furniture, decor and POS estimates. Item 8 still requires approved sources even when the optional purchasing-agent service is not used, and it permits the franchisor or its manager to retain certain supplier rebates and purchasing compensation.

Opening, training and working-capital costs

In the 2026 Item 7 estimate for one 2,000- to 4,000-square-foot Restaurant, the opening phase includes employee preparation, inventory, insurance, launch spending, and cash needed through the first three months. This working-capital allowance is already inside the total investment and must not be added a second time.

Cost entity 2026 range When paid What the range covers
Developmental Costs $45,000-$100,000 As incurred Engineering, architecture, design, real estate, legal and other professional work.
Opening Inventory $45,000-$70,000 As incurred Food, liquor, cleaning supplies and paper goods, including shipping and sales tax.
Hiring Expenses; Training $0-$200,000 As incurred Recruiting, interviews, travel, and pre-opening wages for managers and hourly employees.
NSO Support $0-$150,000 If provided If required by the franchisor, the disclosed NSO Support Cost is $100,000-$150,000 for up to six weeks.
Insurance, 3 months $12,500-$25,000 As incurred Actual premiums depend on the franchisee, location and facility type.
Miscellaneous Costs $10,000-$100,000 As incurred Deposits, impact fees, initial-opening promotion and incidental expenses.
Online Ordering $600 Before opening First annual fee for hosted website and mobile-app ordering.
Additional Funds, 3 months $150,000-$500,000 During start-up Food, beverage, payroll, supplies, utilities, rent, taxes, common-area costs and a required $15,000 grand-opening advertising expenditure.
LICENSING CAVEAT

The $4,115,600 high end is not a universal ceiling. The licensing note says the estimate assumes the buyer does not need to purchase a liquor license and states that purchased licenses can cost $5,000 to $1,000,000 in some states. The site-specific licensing requirement should therefore be resolved before treating the disclosed total as the complete cash requirement.

MULTI-UNIT COMMITMENT

How does the Development Agreement change the cost?

A Development Agreement requires a commitment to at least three Fridays Restaurants. For a three-Restaurant commitment, the 2026 disclosure states an estimated entry investment of $1,566,100 to $4,325,600, including a $100,000 Pre-Paid Franchise Fee due at signing. That range includes the first Restaurant's opening investment; it is not the total cost to build all three Restaurants.

The TGI Fridays pre-paid fee formula

The Pre-Paid Franchise Fee equals 100% of the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee for the first Restaurant, plus 50% of the fee for every additional committed Restaurant. The prepaid amounts are credited against the Initial Franchise Fees later owed for those Restaurants.

$50,000First Restaurant: 100% prepaid
$25,000 eachEach additional Restaurant: 50% deposit
$100,000Minimum three-Restaurant commitment
SOURCE CONFLICT

The Development Agreement table contains an unexplained $105,000 arithmetic gap. Its three visible components - $100,000 Pre-Paid Franchise Fee, $5,000 Professional Fee, and $1,356,100-$4,115,600 for the first Restaurant - sum to $1,461,100-$4,220,600, while the document states totals of $1,566,100-$4,325,600. The stated total is preserved here; a buyer should require a written reconciliation before signing.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The cash requirement does not arrive as one payment. Contract fees are paid at signing, construction and equipment costs are paid as billed, pre-opening fees are paid before launch, and Additional Funds are consumed during the initial three-month operating period.

Development Agreement signing, when applicable

Pay the nonrefundable Pre-Paid Franchise Fee. For the minimum three-Restaurant commitment, the disclosed payment is $100,000.

Franchise Agreement signing

Pay the $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, subject to credit for applicable prepaid amounts. Also pay the first $1,260 quarterly I.T. Service and Support Fee, which the opening estimate includes in the POS-system estimate.

Site development and procurement

Pay architects, contractors, lessors, approved suppliers and technology vendors as billed. Purchasing Agent Items ordered through Sugarloaf Management must be prepaid before shipment.

Pre-opening and opening

Fund inventory, hiring, training, insurance, the $600 first annual Online Ordering Fee, and any required $100,000-$150,000 NSO Support Cost.

First three operating months

Use the included $150,000-$500,000 allowance for disclosed start-up expenditures, including the $15,000 grand-opening advertising requirement.

The FTC states that a prospective franchisee must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. Its disclosure-review guidance explains that review period. The same 14-day rule appears on the 2026 TGI Fridays disclosure cover.

ONGOING AND CONDITIONAL FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

Under the 2026 FDD, the principal continuing charges are a 5% Royalty Fee and a current 4% System Marketing Fund contribution, both based on Gross Sales. Fixed technology and online-ordering charges also continue. Item 6 separately lists charges that arise only after a transfer, renewal, relocation, late payment, failed inspection, default or other triggering event.

Continuing fee Amount or basis Timing 2026 disclosure qualification
Royalty Fee 5% of Gross Sales 7 days after each fiscal period, currently a calendar month Gross Sales is defined in the Franchise Agreement.
System Marketing Fund Currently 4% of Gross Sales Same as Royalty Fee May increase to 5%; current local and regional requirements are zero, subject to a total advertising obligation cap of 5%.
Digital Marketing Fee Currently none; future maximum 2% of Gross Sales Monthly if imposed The franchisor must set and notify the annual amount.
I.T. Service and Support Fee $1,260 quarterly Quarterly in advance Covers help desk, back-office, POS menu management and O365 licensing.
Online Ordering Fee $600 per year Invoiced with the quarterly technology cycle Subject to change by third-party vendors.

Evidence: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10-16. Percentage fees are stated only on their disclosed Gross Sales basis; no annual dollar estimate is implied. Item 6 also permits inflation adjustments to fixed-dollar charges no more than once per year, based on the Consumer Price Index or a designated replacement measure.

What events can create additional charges?

These charges are not part of the ordinary monthly fee stack. They become relevant only when the stated contractual trigger occurs.

Late payment or underpaymentInterest is 18% per year or the maximum lawful rate, whichever is less, plus a $500 Late Fee. Audit deficiencies and collection costs can also be charged.
TransferThe Transfer Fee is $5,000 plus out-of-pocket expenses, including background checks of no more than $3,500 per check.
RenewalFor the first Renewal Term, the current Renewal Fee is 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, shown as $25,000 in the disclosure. Remodel costs are separate.
RelocationThe franchisor may charge Relocation Royalties while the Restaurant is closed, calculated as 5% of the Restaurant's average monthly Gross Sales for the preceding 12 months; the amount is payable when the relocation request is submitted.
Supplier approval or reinspectionAlternative-supplier review is $3,500 plus $2,500-$4,500 for approval; Restaurant reinspection is $2,500-$3,500 per visit.
Non-complianceA 1% of Gross Sales fee may be assessed for each month in which a Franchise Agreement default occurs or continues for at least one day.
Additional supportAdditional training or consultation may cost up to $100 per hour plus associated travel, lodging, meals and other expenses.
Manager training travelThe franchisee pays all living and transportation expenses for each new-hire manager attending initial training; the amount is not disclosed and is due when the trainee registers.
Early terminationIf the franchisor terminates after a default, the Franchise Agreement formula uses average monthly Royalty Fees and advertising contributions for the prior 36 months, multiplied by the lesser of 36 months or the months remaining. The Development Agreement has a separate formula tied to prior annual fees and the number of Restaurants left on the Development Schedule.
Competition covenant or de-identificationA breach of the post-termination competition covenant can trigger the current $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee plus 8% of the competing business's Gross Sales for two years. If the franchisee does not de-identify the premises, the franchisor estimates its post-termination expense at $1,000-$25,000.
Development visitsUnder a Development Agreement, Site Selection Visits and Territory Support Visits can each cost up to $3,000 per visit as incurred, subject to the disclosed visit terms.
Pass-through and incident chargesThe Guest Relations Program carries a $6 administrative fee per qualifying store-level complaint. Taxes connected with payments, supplier payments made on the franchisee's behalf, and insurance obtained after a coverage failure are reimbursed at the assessed or actual cost.

The Franchise Agreement has a 10-year Initial Term. Item 17 states that renewal can require remodeling, then-current training, a new agreement with potentially higher fees, and the Renewal Fee. The agreement also requires refurbishment to the then-current System image every 10 years absent a written waiver. Evidence: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 17,pp. 14-16 and 49-50; Franchise Agreement §6.07.

CAPITAL AND FINANCING

Does TGI Fridays disclose liquid-capital or financing help?

The 2026 disclosure does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Item 10 also says TGI Fridays Franchisor, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Third-party financing availability depends on creditworthiness, collateral, lender policies and market availability.

Estimated Initial Investment
The Item 7 cost range to establish and begin operating the Restaurant: $1,356,100-$4,115,600.
Initial Franchise Fee
One component of the investment: $50,000 at Franchise Agreement signing.
Liquid Capital
Cash or readily available funds. No minimum is disclosed in the current document or on the official U.S. franchise page reviewed.
Net Worth
Assets minus liabilities. No minimum is disclosed in the reviewed official sources, and Net Worth is not the same as cash available to invest.
Financing
No franchisor financing or guarantee is offered under Item 10; outside financing is not assured.
BUYER VERIFICATION

Because the official disclosures provide no minimum liquidity or net-worth screen, a prospect should obtain the franchisor's current written financial-qualification criteria and compare it with the site-specific opening budget. A third-party lender's approval would not change the contractual cost obligations.

EXCLUSIONS AND OPEN QUESTIONS

Which costs can still fall outside the stated range?

The official range is a planning boundary, not a complete site quotation. Several material obligations remain location-dependent, contract-dependent or expressly excluded from the estimate.

Real estate purchaseThe total assumes the premises will be leased and excludes the cost to buy land or a building.
Purchased liquor licenseThe licensing note excludes the purchase cost even though the table displays a Liquor License range; local rules can materially increase cash needed.
Debt service and accounting chargesThe three-month start-up allowance excludes debt service, amortization and depreciation.
Unusual site conditionsThe construction estimate assumes adequate utilities and no unusual conditions; landlord allowances can offset costs but are not guaranteed.
Owner compensationThe working-capital disclosure expressly includes management and hourly-employee payroll, but the disclosure does not expressly identify owner compensation or personal living expenses as included.
Future units under a Development AgreementThe disclosed development-entry total covers the first Restaurant and prepaid fees, not the later opening investment for all committed Restaurants; The development note warns later units will likely cost more because of inflation and other economic factors.
Current disclosure and state addendaBefore payment, request the latest FDD, quarterly updates and applicable state addenda. The FTC franchise-buying guide explains how Items 5-7 should be reviewed.

State registration does not mean a government agency endorses the offer. Prospects can verify filing procedures and regulator contacts through the California franchise regulator and the New York franchise regulator. The California DFPI also describes what constitutes a complete franchise filing.

DECISION SUMMARY

What is the practical capital takeaway?

For one leased 2,000- to 4,000-square-foot TGI Fridays Restaurant, the verified 2026 Estimated Initial Investment is $1,356,100 to $4,115,600. The largest cost swings come from the building, site work, equipment, staffing and the three-month start-up allowance. A three-Restaurant Development Agreement raises the stated entry range to $1,566,100 to $4,325,600, but that figure includes only the first Restaurant and contains an unexplained $105,000 table-reconciliation gap. The $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, 5% Royalty Fee, 4% current System Marketing Fund contribution, and undisclosed liquidity threshold must be evaluated as separate obligations rather than treated as interchangeable measures of required capital.