How much does a Teriyaki Madness franchise cost?
A Single Franchise requires an estimated initial investment of $392,667 to $1,121,405 under the Teriyaki Madness 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The range applies to opening one Teriyaki Shop and includes the $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the $27,500 Shop Opening Assistance Fee, buildout, equipment, opening inventory, training travel, pre-opening and early post-opening technology fees, and Additional Funds for three months.
The disclosed span should be read as a planning boundary rather than a prediction for a specific address. A project can move toward the upper end when several site conditions occur together—for example, a premises needs extensive utility work, the landlord provides a limited improvement allowance, equipment cannot be reused, and local design or permit requirements are demanding. Conversely, one favorable line item does not automatically pull the entire project to the bottom of the range. A buyer should map each vendor quote and lease obligation to the corresponding disclosure category, then compare the combined result with the official low and high figures. This approach also prevents a common budgeting error: treating the fee paid for the franchise rights as the full cash requirement while postponing consideration of construction, deposits, inventory and early operating expenses.
Verified 2026 Single Franchise range. The largest variable is Leasehold Improvements, disclosed at $156,000 to $605,000. The range does not mean that the low end is available in every market or premises. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16–20. The same current range appears on the official franchise startup-cost page.
- Legal franchisor
- M.H. Franchise Company Inc., a Colorado corporation; parent entity M.H. Enterprises, Inc.
- Disclosure basis
- 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 18, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17.
- FDD pages used
- Item 5 pp. 6–7; Item 6 pp. 8–15; Item 7 pp. 16–20; Item 10 p. 26; Item 17 pp. 48–55.
- Offer structures
- Single Franchise for one Teriyaki Shop and Standard Franchise package under a Development Agreement for three Teriyaki Shops.
- Public source status
- No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was identified on a franchise-controlled domain. FDD citations below are therefore unlinked. Official U.S. franchise information is linked separately.
- Information checked
- July 14, 2026.
What are the key capital figures?
The total investment, franchise fee, working-capital allowance, recurring percentages, and financial qualifications measure different obligations and should not be treated as interchangeable amounts.
As checked July 14, 2026, the official franchise FAQ still displayed an older investment range of $376,200 to $975,860. The March 18, 2026 FDD and the official startup-cost page both show $392,667 to $1,121,405. For a current cost decision, the 2026 FDD controls.
What is included in the $392,667 to $1,121,405 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total contains 23 expenditure categories for one Teriyaki Shop. It combines payments to M.H. Franchise Company Inc. and MH International with third-party costs for the site, construction, equipment, inventory, insurance, professional services and the first three months of startup expenses.
Agreement, site and opening-program costs
These items are paid at signing or at defined pre-opening milestones. The Extension Fee is avoidable only if the lease and opening deadlines are met.
| Item 7 category | Low | High | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $45,000 | $45,000 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed |
| Shop Opening Assistance Fee | $27,500 | $27,500 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed |
| Site Survey | $3,000 | $7,500 | 30 calendar days before lease signing, if required |
| Permit Expeditor | $0 | $4,500 | 10 days after lease signing, if used |
| Grand Opening Promotion | $10,000 | $10,000 | At the start of construction |
| Extension Fee | $0 | $7,500 | $2,500 per month when a disclosed deadline is missed; high assumes three months |
| Technology Fee | $2,085 | $2,085 | Includes estimated pre-opening charges and three post-opening months |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Table A and notes, pp. 16–20; Item 5, pp. 6–7.
Premises, design and equipment costs
Leasehold Improvements create most of the spread in the official range. The estimate depends on the condition, size and location of the premises; landlord contributions; required HVAC, ventilation, plumbing, electrical, gas, restrooms and grease traps; local code; labor; materials; signage rules and inflation.
| Item 7 category | Low | High | Primary cost driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rent, Security Deposit, Utility Deposit | $11,782 | $41,160 | Base rent, deposits and rent commencement terms |
| Leasehold Improvements | $156,000 | $605,000 | Existing conditions, landlord allowance, local construction requirements |
| Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment | $54,000 | $181,000 | Shop size, reusable equipment, shipping distance and credit |
| Architect | $22,500 | $43,000 | Approved architect; atypical engineering is excluded |
| Exterior Signage | $6,500 | $26,000 | Municipal rules, landlord policy and available facade space |
| Interior Branding/Graphics | $6,800 | $10,000 | Menu boards, murals, interior signs and installation |
| Security and Music System | $1,600 | $2,000 | Required security, camera, monitoring and music systems |
| Required Technology and Security System | $12,600 | $21,000 | Point-of-sale, hardware, software, communications and installation |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Table A and notes 4, 6–8 and 13–16, pp. 16–19.
Premises economics also affect when cash leaves the buyer's account. A tenant-improvement allowance may reduce the amount funded directly during construction, but the lease may recover that value through higher rent or a longer commitment. A build-to-suit arrangement may move part of the construction burden into future occupancy payments rather than eliminate it. The disclosure therefore cannot answer whether one lease structure is cheaper over the full term. It only estimates the opening-stage amounts under the assumptions stated. Before committing to a site, the buyer should place the landlord's work letter, contractor scope, equipment schedule and rent commencement date on one calendar. That comparison reveals whether deposits and vendor draws are due before loan proceeds, landlord reimbursements or other funding sources become available.
The bars show the official low-to-high span for selected high-impact Item 7 categories. They are not additive and do not replace the full Item 7 total.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Table A, pp. 16–20. Exact labels are official FDD ranges; bar positions are proportional calculations using $605,000 as the chart maximum.
Opening readiness and working capital
Additional Funds are already included in the total investment. The $10,000 to $40,000 allowance covers three months of initial startup expenses such as labor and additional supplies that are not separately listed, but the franchisor does not guarantee that the allowance will cover every expense.
| Item 7 category | Low | High | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Inventory and Supplies | $15,500 | $18,800 | Required inventory, smallwares and service items |
| Insurance | $1,500 | $5,000 | Three to six months of required coverage |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $1,000 | $10,860 | Local legal approvals required before operation |
| Professional Fees | $2,500 | $4,000 | Attorney, accountant and other advisers |
| Office Equipment and Supplies | $1,000 | $4,000 | Computer, stationery and related operating items |
| Uniforms | $600 | $1,000 | Required employee apparel from approved suppliers |
| Initial and Hands-On Training Expenses | $1,200 | $4,500 | Travel and food-safety training for two people; trainee wages excluded |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $10,000 | $40,000 | Initial labor, extra supplies and other startup expenses |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Table A and notes 9–12, 17, 19, 20 and 23, pp. 16–20. The franchisor's official training and support overview describes the program context; the cost amounts above come from the 2026 FDD.
A practical reconciliation starts with the official categories but replaces none of them. For each category, record the vendor, quoted amount, deposit percentage, expected invoice date, refund terms and funding source. Mark any quote that excludes freight, installation, tax, design changes or after-hours work. Then add a separate contingency line outside the official total only for the buyer's internal planning, clearly labeled as the buyer's own reserve rather than a franchisor estimate. This method keeps three numbers distinct: the amount disclosed in the document, the amount supported by current site-specific quotes, and the extra reserve selected by the buyer or lender. It also makes missing information visible. For example, a construction quote may look complete but exclude utility upgrades, or an equipment proposal may omit delivery and commissioning. Those gaps should be resolved before comparing the proposed budget with the official boundary. The final sources-and-uses statement should reconcile every expected payment to available cash or committed financing on the date it is due, not merely show that total funding eventually exceeds total spending.
The rent estimate covers base rent and specified deposits but does not include triple-net charges or every lease-related amount. The training estimate excludes salary or wages paid to trainees. A buyer should therefore avoid treating the Item 7 high end as a guaranteed maximum.
How do the Single Franchise and three-shop Development Agreement differ?
The Single Franchise grants one approved Teriyaki Shop and carries a $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee. The Standard Franchise package requires a $99,000 Initial Franchise Fee for a Development Agreement covering three Teriyaki Shops, with the full fee paid when the Development Agreement is signed.
What does the $446,667 to $1,175,405 development total actually cover?
The 2026 FDD describes this amount as the cost to acquire a three-shop Development Area and open the first Teriyaki Shop. It is not the disclosed cost to build all three shops. Later shops require separate Franchise Agreements and their own site, construction, equipment, inventory and opening costs.
The Development Schedule requires the first lease within nine months, the second within 18 months and the third within 27 months after the Development Agreement is executed. The full Initial Franchise Fee is paid up front even though the later shops are developed over time. The brand's official multi-unit franchising page describes the multi-unit path, while the controlling payment terms are in 2026 FDD Items 1, 5 and 7.
The three-location commitment creates a different cash-planning problem from buying one location at a time. Rights for later locations are paid for at the outset, while the property and opening expenses for those locations occur on later schedules. That gap matters because capital tied up in the initial commitment cannot be used for the second and third buildouts unless the buyer has separate reserves or financing. It also means the first opening should not be evaluated in isolation: delays, cost overruns or weaker-than-planned liquidity at the first site can affect the ability to meet later lease deadlines. The disclosure does not publish one combined amount for constructing all three locations, so a buyer must prepare a separate sources-and-uses schedule for each planned address rather than multiplying the first-shop low or high by three.
Is there a franchise-fee discount?
Yes. The 2026 FDD offers a 15% Initial Franchise Fee discount to an individual with management or ownership experience in hospitality, including food, retail or hotel businesses. The disclosed reduction is $6,750 for a Single Franchise or $14,850 for the Standard Franchise package.
To qualify, the individual must maintain at least a 51% ownership interest and provide W-2 statements or similar evidence of work history before the Franchise Agreement is signed. The discount reduces the Initial Franchise Fee only; it does not reduce construction, equipment, opening assistance, technology, inventory or working-capital obligations. Source: 2026FDD, Item 5, p. 7.
When is the money paid?
The official total is not one check paid on opening day. Cash is committed in stages from agreement signing through lease execution, construction, opening and the first three months of operation.
The official franchise process page places FDD review early in the approval sequence. Separately, the FTC Franchise Rule governs the required presale disclosure framework. The 2026 Teriyaki Madness FDD states that the document must be received at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or a franchise-sale payment is made.
Timing can be as important as the final total. Vendor deposits, design retainers and construction draws may be due months before the restaurant begins producing operating cash. Loan funding can also be conditioned on signed leases, borrower equity contributions, completed inspections or documented invoices. A useful cash schedule therefore separates amounts due immediately, amounts paid before the lease, construction-period draws, pre-opening purchases and the reserve held for the first operating months. That schedule should also show who receives each payment and whether it is refundable. The disclosure states that payments to the franchisor and affiliates are generally non-refundable once paid, while third-party refund rights depend on the vendor contract. This distinction can materially affect the loss exposure if a site does not open.
The amount due at signing for a Single Franchise is $72,500 before considering the first pre-opening technology payment. The $84,585 to $92,085 cover-page figure paid to the franchisor or affiliates is spread across multiple milestones and includes the Grand Opening Promotion, Technology Fee and possible Extension Fee.
Which fees continue after the Teriyaki Shop opens?
The primary continuing percentage fees are a 6% Royalty Fee and a 4% Marketing Fund Contribution, each calculated on Net Sales. They are invoiced on Tuesday and debited on Thursday for the prior Monday-through-Sunday business week.
Royalty and Marketing Fund percentages share the same Net Sales basis. The 10% center value is derived arithmetic, not a separate franchisor fee.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, p. 8 and notes on pp. 14–15. Percent shares of the combined 10% are derived calculations from the disclosed 6% and 4% rates.
The percentage charges move with the contractual revenue base, while the monthly and event-driven charges do not. This difference matters when preparing an operating cash calendar: a percentage debit can change every week, whereas software, processing, conference and training obligations may arrive on fixed dates or only after a particular event. The contract definition also reaches several sales channels, including delivery and online orders, so the calculation should be reconciled to the point-of-sale and marketplace reports used by the system. A buyer should not convert the percentages into a yearly dollar forecast unless using a separately supported revenue assumption. The disclosure provides the rates and payment mechanics, not a guaranteed annual amount.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Net Sales | Weekly | Prior week's Net Sales; electronic debit |
| Marketing Fund Contribution | 4% of Net Sales | Weekly | Paid to the Marketing Fund with the Royalty Fee |
| Technology Fee | $395 per month per shop | First Tuesday monthly | May increase under the notice and cap provisions in Item 6 |
| Gift Card Processing Fee | Currently $13 per month per shop | Monthly | Payable to the franchisor, affiliate or designated processor |
| Conference Fee | Currently $2,000 for up to two attendees | At least 90 days before annual convention | $500 refund if at least one required participant attends; expenses remain separate |
| Additional attendee fee | $1,000 per person, plus expenses | As incurred | For each annual-convention attendee beyond the included two |
| Additional training or assistance | Currently $500 per trainer per day | In advance | Travel, transportation, meals and lodging may also be reimbursable |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–15. “Net Sales” is the contract definition in Item 6 and is not the same as accounting net income.
- Net Sales
- The Item 6 revenue base includes in-store, carry-out, online, delivery, catering, gift-card redemption and other business revenue, subject to the stated exclusions for taxes paid to authorities, bona fide refunds, customer discounts, third-party delivery fees and specified marketplace markups.
- Weekly Billing Day
- An electronic invoice is issued Tuesday; the Designated Account is debited Thursday for Royalty Fees and Marketing Fund Contributions based on the prior business week.
- Technology increase
- The $395 monthly fee may increase on 30 days' written notice. An increase above $650 per month is subject to the disclosed annual cap.
Which fees arise only after a transfer, relocation, default or other event?
Item 6 contains material charges that are not part of ordinary weekly billing. These obligations can be triggered by ownership changes, relocation, compliance failures, audit results, training needs, insurance lapses or early termination.
- Grand Re-Opening Advertising: $20,000 upon a qualifying transfer or relocation. Relocation timing is tied to lease signing or shop closure; transfer timing is tied to approval.
- Transfer Fee: $25,000 at an approved transfer, in addition to the $20,000 Grand Re-Opening Advertising charge and possible refurbishment, training and broker-cost obligations.
- Renewal Franchise Fee: $5,000 when a renewal franchise agreement is signed. The fee is waived for Teriyaki Shops under a completed Development Agreement schedule, subject to the disclosed conditions.
- Relocation Fee: $12,500 per Teriyaki Shop when a relocation request is submitted.
- Food Safety Audit: approximately $300 for an additional audit and approximately $3,000 for retraining when the disclosed low-risk score is not achieved.
- Audit charge: estimated at $1,000 to $15,000, plus the lesser of the daily equivalent of 15% annual simple interest or the maximum lawful rate, when the audit conditions in Item 6 are met.
- Credit Card Service Fee: up to 3% of the charge when the franchisor permits a payment by credit card.
- Insurance reimbursement: the cost of insurance obtained by the franchisor plus a 20% administration charge if required coverage is not maintained.
- Failure to Submit Required Reports: $100 per occurrence and $100 per week after the stated five-day period.
- Supplier and Product Evaluation Fee: inspection cost plus an administrative fee of no more than 10% of that cost; the FDD states it is not currently charged.
- Interim Manager Fee: $500 per day plus direct out-of-pocket costs and expenses when the stated management conditions occur.
- Legal Costs and Professional Fees: variable amounts arising from operational noncompliance, breach or termination, including a minimum $1,500 administrative cost.
- Liquidated Damages: a formula based on average Royalty Fees and Marketing Fund Contributions multiplied by the lesser of 36 or the full months remaining in the term, subject to the special calculation for a shop open less than 12 months.
- Other variable reimbursements: taxes on payments, indemnification, de-identification, maintenance performed by the franchisor, customer remedies and actual broker or finder costs can become payable under the stated circumstances.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–15; Item 17, pp. 48–55. Renewal also requires compliance, notice, a then-current agreement and an upgrade to then-current System Standards.
Event-driven charges are best reviewed as scenarios rather than averaged into ordinary monthly expenses. A buyer can prepare separate transfer, relocation, renewal, compliance and early-exit schedules, each showing the triggering event, required notice, direct charge, third-party work and potential reimbursement. This avoids understating a future obligation by looking only at the named fee. For example, changing ownership can require physical updates, training and professional work in addition to the amount paid for consent. Likewise, a renewal may require the location to meet standards then in effect, which can create a project cost that is not fixed today. Some obligations are also open-ended because they reimburse actual expenses or losses. Those amounts cannot be responsibly converted into a single estimate without facts about the event. The appropriate planning response is to identify the trigger, understand the formula or reimbursement basis, and preserve access to the relevant contract language. Where state law changes a provision, the state-specific addendum and current agreement should be reviewed together with the disclosure.
A transfer may layer several obligations: the $25,000 Transfer Fee, $20,000 Grand Re-Opening Advertising charge, refurbishment, transferee training, reimbursable fees and possible broker costs. The transfer fee by itself is not the complete transfer budget.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Teriyaki Madness require?
The official franchise FAQ states that candidates should have at least $200,000 in liquid assets and a $700,000 minimum net worth, as checked July 14, 2026. These are qualification thresholds, not the price of the franchise and not a promise that $200,000 will fund the full project.
Liquid assets represent resources that can generally be converted to cash; net worth includes assets minus liabilities and is not the same as cash available for construction. The 2026 FDD does not state a non-borrowed-funds minimum in Items 5–7. Buyers should confirm whether the franchisor applies different financial standards to a Single Franchise, a three-shop Development Agreement or a particular financing plan.
These qualification figures answer whether a candidate may satisfy the brand's screening criteria; they do not establish how much equity a lender will require or how much cash should remain after opening. A financing plan should distinguish personal liquidity, business equity, borrowed proceeds, landlord contributions and reserves that cannot be spent before launch. It should also account for lender closing costs and debt service outside the official opening estimate. Because approval standards can change and may differ for larger commitments, the candidate should obtain the applicable requirement in writing for the exact ownership structure and number of locations being proposed.
Does the franchisor provide financing?
No. Item 10 states that M.H. Franchise Company Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee notes, leases or other obligations. Item 7 adds that outside financing availability and terms depend on creditworthiness, collateral, lender policy and general market availability.
A third-party loan is therefore separate from franchise approval and may add interest, lender fees, collateral requirements and repayment obligations that are not included in Item 7. The U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) program page describes one possible government-backed lending framework, but Teriyaki Madness does not disclose a guaranteed SBA approval or named financing provider.
What costs remain unresolved after reading Item 7?
The FDD provides an official range, but site-specific cash needs still depend on the lease, construction plan, supplier quotes, local approvals, staffing plan and financing structure. The most important unresolved items should be verified before signing a lease or construction contract.
- Reconcile the proposed lease. Confirm base rent, security deposit, utility deposit, rent commencement, triple-net charges, percentage rent and landlord contribution.
- Price the actual buildout. Obtain scope-matched quotes for HVAC, hood and ventilation, plumbing, electrical, gas, restrooms, grease traps, fire code work and accessibility requirements.
- Confirm approved-supplier pricing. Item 8 requires designated or approved sources for major equipment, technology, food, uniforms, graphics and other products and services.
- Test the opening calendar. The disclosed Extension Fee is $2,500 per month when lease-execution or shop-opening deadlines are missed.
- Separate included and excluded labor costs. Additional Funds include startup labor, but training-expense estimates exclude trainee wages and the FDD does not guarantee the three-month allowance will be sufficient.
- Model event-triggered obligations. A future transfer, relocation, renewal or remodel can require more than the headline fee shown in Item 6.
- Confirm funding conditions in writing. Compare available cash, lender proceeds, collateral, working capital and the payment dates in Items 5 and 7 without counting the same Additional Funds twice.
What is the practical cost conclusion?
The verified 2026 starting point is $392,667 to $1,121,405 for one Teriyaki Shop. The low-to-high spread is driven mainly by Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, premises costs, architecture and other site-dependent requirements. The $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component, while $10,000 to $40,000 of Additional Funds is already included for the first three operating months.
A three-shop Standard Franchise package changes the contract: the $99,000 Initial Franchise Fee is paid up front, and the disclosed $446,667 to $1,175,405 development total covers the development rights plus opening the first shop—not all three shops. After opening, the recurring core is 6% of Net Sales for Royalty Fees, 4% of Net Sales for the Marketing Fund, and a $395 monthly Technology Fee per shop, with additional fixed and event-triggered charges.
The central unresolved question is the premises. Until the lease, landlord allowance, construction scope and approved-supplier quotes are known, neither the Item 7 low end nor the official liquid-asset threshold should be treated as the complete cash requirement.
Because several obligations are paid at different stages, the funding plan should preserve a minimum cash balance after each milestone rather than rely on a single opening-day balance. The buyer can model a downside schedule in which permitting takes longer, a landlord reimbursement arrives later, and a vendor requires a larger deposit. This is not a substitute estimate for the disclosure; it is a timing test using the buyer's actual contracts. The test should show whether committed funds remain available for payroll, supplies and other early expenses after construction invoices are paid. It should also identify amounts that a lender will not reimburse and costs that must be funded before a draw request can be submitted. A project may fit within the official total yet still encounter a temporary cash shortfall if inflows and outflows are mismatched. Keeping a dated payment calendar beside the overall budget is the clearest way to expose that risk.
The final review should compare the signed documents with the budget line by line. Marketing pages can summarize the opportunity, but they may lag behind a newly issued disclosure or omit conditions that affect payment timing. Any difference should be resolved in writing before funds are committed. The buyer's adviser should also confirm that the entity signing the lease and vendor contracts matches the proposed ownership and borrowing structure, since deposits, guarantees and reimbursement rights may attach to different parties. A clean closing file should contain the current disclosure, executed agreements, final lease, construction scope, equipment schedule, insurance evidence, lender commitment and a dated funding schedule. That file provides one reference point for advisers, owners and lenders and reduces the chance that an omitted invoice or changed assumption is discovered only after construction has begun and while corrective options remain available.