How much does a Sunbelt Business Brokers franchise cost?
The 2025 Sunbelt Business Brokers Franchise Disclosure Document states an Estimated Initial Investment of $61,400 to $114,500. The range covers the system’s two priced territory types—Type 1 and Type 2—but Item 7 publishes one combined range rather than a separate official total for each territory type.
Why does one Item 7 range cover two different franchise fees?
Sunbelt prices the Initial Franchise Fee by territory type, while the opening table places both fees inside one $39,500 to $49,500 line. Type 1 and Type 2 are defined by Metropolitan Statistical Area population and business-count criteria in the FDD. The official cost summary also displays the two franchise fees and the same overall investment range for both territory types.
Standard-fee ranges when the opening line items are separated by territory
The FDD does not publish separate totals for the two formats. The figures below are derived calculations: each standard signing fee plus the disclosed low or high amounts for the remaining opening categories.
Calculation source: 2025 FDD Item 5, pages 6–7, and Item 7, pages 12–13. The official disclosed total remains $61,400–$114,500.
Additional Type 1 licenses within the same MSA may be purchased concurrently for $25,000 each. That amount is a separate multi-license commitment and is not included in the single-license opening total. The FDD also says the monthly percentage-fee limits are calculated separately for every license.
What is included in the $61,400 to $114,500 initial investment?
The opening table contains seven cost categories, and the three-month reserve is already included in the total. It should not be added a second time. The ranges reflect a business-brokerage office that may use an existing office and existing equipment at the low end.
Bars use a common $0 to $50,000 scale. The visible labels are the controlling values.
Interpretation: the three-month reserve creates the widest disclosed range after the territory-dependent signing fee. Source: 2025 FDD Item 7, pages 12–13.
| Cost group | Disclosed amount | Timing and buyer interpretation | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise right | $39,500–$49,500 | Paid at signing; nonrefundable and fully earned when paid. | Items 5 and 7, pp. 6–7 and 12 |
| Training travel and living | $1,000–$2,000 | For one person; paid to airlines, hotels, and restaurants during training. | pp. 12–13 |
| Premises and office setup | $1,500–$8,000 | Combines the disclosed Rent and Office Equipment/Furnishings lines. The equipment low end assumes suitable equipment is already available. | pp. 12–13 |
| Insurance | $2,000–$4,000 | Errors and Omissions Insurance is required; premiums may be higher in some states. | pp. 12–13; Item 8, p. 15 |
| Miscellaneous opening costs | $2,400–$6,000 | May include utility, telephone, high-speed internet deposits, and business licenses. | pp. 12–13 |
| Additional Funds | $15,000–$45,000 | Working capital for three months; the FDD says more may be needed based on personal expenses, debt, geography, and other circumstances. | pp. 12–13 |
The disclosed low end is not a prediction that every buyer can reproduce. Reaching it would require several favorable conditions at the same time, including a lower-priced territory, modest travel, suitable existing equipment, and limited premises expense. Conversely, the upper end is not stated as a ceiling. The disclosure expressly warns that personal obligations and geography can require a larger reserve, and third-party prices can change after the document’s issuance date.
When is the money paid?
The largest franchisor payment is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed; most other opening costs are paid during training, before opening, or as working capital is used. The FDD estimates a typical one-to-three-month interval from signing to opening and requires the business to open within 60 days after execution, subject to the contract terms.
- At signing: pay the applicable $49,500 or $39,500 opening fee in a lump sum. The fee is nonrefundable, and the franchisor does not finance it.
- During initial training: pay $1,000 to $2,000 of travel and living expenses as incurred. Initial training must be completed to the franchisor’s satisfaction before operations begin.
- Before opening: fund rent, office equipment and furnishings, insurance, and opening expenses. The payment recipients are generally the landlord, insurers, and vendors rather than the franchisor.
- During the first three months: use the $15,000 to $45,000 reserve as working capital. Monthly Marketing, Technology and Administrative, CRM, and Third Party Marketing Services fees begin on the tenth day of the first full month after the contract’s Effective Date.
Cash planning should follow the contract’s effective date, not merely the anticipated public opening date. The recurring charges can begin before the office has developed a steady transaction flow because the due date is tied to the first full month after effectiveness. A buyer should map every vendor deposit and training expense against that date and maintain a separate reserve for household obligations that the opening table does not expressly cover.
The franchisor’s official franchise process says candidates receive the Franchise Disclosure Document before the agreements are prepared. The federal disclosure rule explains the federal disclosure framework for the 23-item FDD.
Which fees continue after opening?
Sunbelt does not disclose a separate fee labeled “Royalty Fee.” Instead, the ongoing-fee table charges a percentage of Gross Revenue, plus fixed technology/administrative, CRM, and third-party service charges. The FDD states that two of those charges pay for services and use of the Sunbelt Marks.
Each monthly payment is the greater of the disclosed 4% basis or the minimum shown. Bars are scaled to the highest disclosed minimum of $1,600.
Interpretation: the minimum rises annually through Year 4, then remains at the Year 4 level for renewals, transfers, previous franchisees, and existing franchisees. Source: 2025 FDD Item 6, pages 7–9.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly Marketing Fee | 4% of first $1,000,000 of Gross Revenue | 10th day of each month | Monthly minimum varies by year and territory; each license is calculated separately. |
| Monthly Technology and Administrative Fee | $250/month | 10th day of each month | May increase up to 5% annually after the first year. |
| CRM Fee | $200/month | 10th day of each month | Covers two users; each additional user is $50/month. |
| Third Party Marketing Services Fee | $200/month | 10th day of each month | May increase by up to $50/month after the first year. |
| Errors and Omissions Insurance | $2,000/year | Set by insurer | The disclosed estimate applies to the stated coverage arrangement; Item 8 requires ongoing coverage. |
| Annual conference | $1,000–$1,500 travel; $300 attendee fee | January 10 annually | Attendance ismandatory; the range is described as travel expense. |
The 4% formula cannot be converted into a responsible annual dollar estimate without an official sales figure, and this article does not make that assumption. The minimum can apply even when receipts are low or zero. The fixed monthly charges are separate from that minimum, so a buyer should not read the public website’s single monthly number as the complete recurring cash obligation.
For this calculation, Gross Revenue includes receipts from Sunbelt services and products, including commissions, retainers, appraisal fees, valuation fees, and engagement fees, subject to the exclusions stated in the FDD. The Monthly Marketing Fee is paid by ACH, and quarterly reporting can produce an additional withdrawal if the monthly amounts were insufficient.
Which fees arise only after a transfer, renewal, default, or other event?
Several material ongoing and relationship charges are conditional rather than part of the opening budget. They matter because they can arise from a future transaction, reporting failure, payment failure, audit result, or early termination.
Sources: 2025 FDD Item 6, pages 9–11, and Item 17, pages 28–29. The franchisor’s U.S. franchise page provides current public context but does not replace these contractual fee disclosures.
Does Sunbelt disclose liquid-capital, net-worth, or financing requirements?
The 2025 FDD does not state a numerical Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. The official process page refers generally to candidates who meet “investment parameters,” but it does not publish the amount. The opening-cost range therefore should not be treated as a disclosed approval threshold.
An unpublished approval threshold is an information gap, not permission to infer that the opening total is sufficient cash on hand. A candidate should ask which assets are counted, whether borrowed proceeds are acceptable, whether household obligations are considered, and whether a spouse’s guarantee changes the review. Any response should be compared with the latest written disclosure and agreements rather than treated as a substitute for them.
The FTC’s federal compliance guide explains the disclosure framework, while the official Sunbelt franchise overview identifies the brand’s current public franchise organization. Neither source supplies a buyer-specific funding approval.
What should be verified before using the cost range as a budget?
The official range is a starting disclosure, not a complete cash forecast for every territory or personal circumstance. The largest unresolved variables are office arrangements, working capital, insurance, technology choices, the experienced-broker fee decision, multi-license commitments, and the conflicting Monthly Marketing Fee cap.
Before relying on any figure, confirm whether a state-specific addendum or later amendment changes the payment terms for the buyer’s jurisdiction. The September 2025 document is the verified basis here, but a transaction closing after a new issuance can be governed by newer disclosure language. The signed agreements control the legal obligations.
Analytical synthesis: for a standard single Sunbelt Business Brokers license, the verified 2025 FDD range is $61,400 to $114,500, with the territory-dependent signing fee and three months of reserves driving much of the spread. The investment range is distinct from undisclosed Liquid Capital or Net Worth criteria, and the recurring fee contract begins shortly after signing rather than only after a mature revenue level is reached.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Sunbelt Business Brokers Franchises?
- How Does Sunbelt Business Brokers Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Sunbelt Business Brokers Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Sunbelt Business Brokers Franchise?
- How Much Does a Sunbelt Business Brokers Franchise Owner Make?