How Much Does a Sport Clips Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much capital does a Sport Clips franchise require?

Sport Clips, Inc.'s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document states an Estimated Initial Investment of $236,800 to $580,500 in Item 7 for opening one U.S. Sport Clips store. That total excludes site costs, weekly royalties, and ongoing fund contributions. It also requires careful interpretation because the upfront fee can cover up to three store licenses while the remaining estimates generally cover one store.

$236,800-$580,500

2026 FDD total for one store, except that the $30,000-$69,500 Initial Franchise Fee reflects a single-store Franchise Agreement, a two-store MUDA, or a three-store MUDA. The lease and post-opening percentage fees are outside this total. Source: Item 7, pp. 16-17.

Data basis: legal franchisor Sport Clips, Inc.; U.S. FDD issued April 1, 2026; one strip-center store, generally 1,000 to 1,500 square feet, with a Multi-Unit Development Addendum structure unless Sport Clips approves a single-store or two-store exception. This analysis uses Items 5 (p. 9), 6 (pp. 10-15), 7 (pp. 16-19), 8 (pp. 20-22), 10 (pp. 25-26), 11 (pp. 27-35), and 17 (pp. 39-42). Information was checked July 15, 2026. No matching complete 2026 FDD was identified on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked Item and page references. The brand's official U.S. franchise information is linked separately. The Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule is the federal disclosure framework; the FDD states that a prospect must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.

A capital plan should separate the amount due at contract signing from the amounts that arise later. The disclosed range is spread among several payees and phases, so it is not a single check written on one date. A practical funding schedule should show which money must be immediately available, which money can remain reserved until a site is approved, and which money supports operations after opening. It should also identify refundable deposits, nonrefundable payments, and costs controlled by a landlord or outside vendor. That timing view matters because a buyer may qualify financially yet still face a cash shortfall if construction invoices, deposits, and launch payments cluster before outside financing closes.

Source conflict

The cover gives a lower minimum of $226,800, while the detailed table gives $236,800. It also states that $69,500 to $95,500 is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. The current official cost-and-fee webpage contains other headline ranges but reproduces that detailed table. This article uses the table for line-item analysis and keeps the discrepancy visible. A buyer should request written clarification or an amendment before relying on the minimum.

Capital snapshot
Royalty Fee 6% of Net Sales Paid weekly by ACH; Net Sales exclude sales tax.
Liquid Assets $200,000 minimum Official website qualification; cash and marketable securities.
Net Worth $400,000 minimum Official website qualification; may be higher for costly markets or larger commitments.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What does the 2026 Item 7 estimate include?

The disclosed range combines the upfront fee, training travel, Opening Inventory, Fixtures and Equipment, Leasehold Improvements, Supplemental Services Fee, professional and regulatory costs, Signage, Insurance, Grand Opening Advertising, and Additional Funds for three months. It does not assign a dollar amount to the premises in the table, and the total expressly excludes site costs.

Premises, build-out, and required assets

The premises side of the opening estimate is driven by construction and required equipment, while the lease itself remains outside the published total.

Cost entity 2026 disclosed amount Payment timing
Real Estate Not stated in table Lease obligations vary by site and are outside the official total
Fixtures and Equipment, including computer equipment $20,000-$55,000 Lump sum before opening
Leasehold Improvements $108,000-$290,000 Lump sum before opening
Lease Deposit $0-$6,000 Lump sum before opening
Signage $3,800-$13,000 Lump sum before opening
Permits and Licenses $3,000-$10,000 As incurred before opening
Insurance $700-$3,500 Lump sum before opening

Source: Item 7, pp. 16-19.

Fees, launch costs, and the operating cushion

The remaining opening categories cover contract payments, launch preparation, professional work, inventory, travel, and the reserve used during the early operating period.

Cost entity 2026 disclosed amount Payment timing
Initial Franchise Fee $30,000-$69,500 Lump sum before execution of the Franchise Agreement or MUDA
Training Travel and Living Expenses $1,000-$2,000 As incurred during Initial Training
Opening Inventory $4,000-$8,000 Lump sum before opening
Supplemental Services Fee $3,000-$5,000 Lump sum before opening
Professional Fees $3,000-$8,000 As incurred before opening
Miscellaneous Opening Costs $0-$15,000 As incurred
Grand Opening Advertising $30,000 Lump sum before opening
Additional Funds - 3 Months $22,500-$60,000 As needed after startup

Sources: Items 5 and 7, pp. 9, 16-19.

The document says the three-month allowance includes payroll costs and cannot guarantee that more money will not be needed. It does not separately state that owner compensation is included. The official total should not be increased again by adding that allowance; it is already included.

The low and high endpoints should be read as a disclosed range, not as a menu for building a personal budget from the cheapest line in every row. Different assumptions can move together: a larger or more complex site can affect design, permits, equipment, construction, signage, deposits, and the amount held back for early operations. Conversely, a landlord contribution may reduce one category without reducing another. The official total should therefore remain the controlling published figure even when a simple addition of selected endpoints produces a different result. A buyer-specific schedule should use current bids and the approved plans, while preserving a separate reconciliation back to the published categories so that omitted or duplicated costs are visible.

Required-source obligations also shape the range. Item 8 estimates that purchases from the franchisor, designated or approved sources, or under Company specifications represent approximately 70% of the initial investment excluding the upfront fee. Item 11 estimates approximately $8,900 for the typical required computer system and peripherals, plus a $1,000 point-of-sale software license for each store. Those technology amounts are components of the opening-cost structure and should not automatically be added again if already captured in the equipment estimate. Sources: Item 8, pp. 20-21; Item 11, p. 31.

Largest 2026 opening ranges by cost category

The geometry compares selected categories on the same $0-$290,000 scale. It shows why Leasehold Improvements are the dominant disclosed source of variation; it does not imply that the category ranges can be added at arbitrary endpoints.

$0$145,000$290,000

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16-17. All plotted amounts are official low/high ranges. No midpoint or typical case was derived.

Cost implication

The disclosed range is primarily driven by premises and construction rather than the license payment. Build-out alone spans $182,000 from low to high, while the lease remains outside the stated total. A site-specific lease, landlord allowance, construction scope, and vendor bid package are therefore necessary to interpret the minimum.

LICENSE COMMITMENT

Why does the approved store commitment change the Initial Franchise Fee?

The franchisor generally structures a new award through a three-store Multi-Unit Development Addendum. The 2026 disclosure allows a two-store MUDA or a single-store Franchise Agreement only in specified circumstances, so the lowest commitment shown below should not be assumed to be available.

Initial Franchise Fee by approved commitment

The fee ladder is cumulative: $30,000 for the first license, $24,500 for the second, and $15,000 for the third. Single-store and two-store awards are exceptions, not the default development path.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 9, and Item 7 Note 2, p. 17. The bars show fixed cumulative fees, not total development costs.

Licenses beyond the first three are generally $15,000 each. The FDD also states a current policy of $12,500 per additional store license for a franchisee with five or more open and operating Sport Clips stores. These additional-license figures do not replace the separate premises, equipment, opening, and working-capital costs for each new store.

Qualified U.S. Armed Services veterans may receive a 20% reduction on initial fees if they meet the FDD's service and discharge conditions. The incentive reduces that fee only; it does not reduce construction, launch advertising, inventory, the operating cushion, or ongoing charges. The current official veteran program page also describes the discount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 9.

Because the license commitment is paid at signing while most physical-store costs arise later, a multi-store award creates two different capital questions. The first is whether the buyer can fund the contract payment now. The second is whether enough capital and borrowing capacity will remain for each later opening under the development schedule. A reduced price for a later license does not reduce the separate site, construction, equipment, staffing, launch, and operating requirements for that location. The buyer's funding model should therefore show each planned store as its own project, with shared contract payments allocated clearly and without treating a lower later-license price as a reduction in the rest of the build-out.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The largest cash commitments occur at signing and before opening, followed by Additional Funds spent during the first three months. The FDD does not present the investment as one payment to Sport Clips, Inc.; it is a sequence of payments to the franchisor, landlords, contractors, suppliers, insurers, government agencies, employees, and other creditors.

1

At Franchise Agreement or MUDA signing

Pay the applicable nonrefundable lump-sum franchise fee shown in the license-commitment chart.

2

During Initial Training

Pay the disclosed travel and living expenses as incurred. The franchisor does not charge separate tuition for Initial Training, but required attendees bear their travel and living costs.

3

During site development and construction

Fund professional services, permits, the lease deposit, equipment, construction, signage, and other site-specific costs. The premises remain separate from the official total.

4

Before opening

Pay Opening Inventory, the Supplemental Services Fee, Insurance, the Grand Opening Advertising deposit, and the point-of-sale software license. Most of these payments are nonrefundable once incurred.

5

During the first three months

Use the three-month Additional Funds allowance as needed for payroll, creditors, suppliers, and other startup expenses. Weekly and monthly operating charges also begin according to Item 6.

Sources: Items 5, 6, 7, and 11, pp. 9-19 and 27-35.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after the store opens?

The continuing cost contract includes weekly percentage and fixed charges, conditional cooperative assessments, and monthly software and security payments. Percentage fees use Net Sales, defined as revenue from the franchise location excluding sales tax.

Weekly fees and conditional cooperative assessments

Weekly obligations combine a core sales-based charge with fund, training, recruiting, technology, and relief payments; local cooperative assessments apply only when formally established.

Fee entity Amount or basis Due date and condition
Royalty Fee 6% of Net Sales Monday each week by ACH
Advertising Fund contribution Agreement: greater of $300 per week or 5% of Net Sales. Current policy: 5% with a $650 weekly cap and no minimum. Same timing as Royalty Fee; policy may change
Training Fee $25 Base Training Fee plus the greater of $60 or 1% of Net Sales. Current policy caps the Percentage Training Fee at $130. Same timing as Royalty Fee
Stylist Recruitment Fee 1% of Net Sales; current policy caps the fee at $35 per week Same timing as Royalty Fee
Technology Fee 1% of Net Sales; current policy caps the fee at $70 per week Same timing as Royalty Fee
Local Advertising Cooperative Fee Up to $300 per week Only if a qualifying market vote establishes a cooperative; none active as disclosed
Local Stylist Recruitment Cooperative Fee Item 6 table states $100 per week or 1% of Net Sales, whichever is greater; Note 7 describes a minimum up to $100 and an assessment up to 1%. Only if established; none active as disclosed
Sport Clips Eric Gozur-Wayne McGlone Memorial Relief Fund $10 per week Same timing as Royalty Fee

Source: Item 6, pp. 10, 13-15.

Monthly technology and accounting charges

Separate vendor and support invoices continue monthly for software, accounting, and security, in addition to the weekly deductions.

Fee entity Current amount Timing and payee
Computer Software Monthly Maintenance Fee $165 per month First Monday of each month; third-party vendor
Accounting Software Maintenance Fee Up to $75 per month First day of each month if a program is established
IT Security Solution Firewall System $33-$65 per month First day of each month; third-party vendor

Source:Item 6, pp. 10-11.

The agreement basis and a current billing policy are not the same thing. Where the disclosure describes a contractual formula and then a lower cap or different current practice, the contract sets the outer obligation unless the signed documents say otherwise. A budget should show the contractual method, the current billed method, who can change the policy, and how often it is reviewed. That prevents a temporary cap from being treated as permanent. It also helps distinguish charges tied to weekly activity from fixed vendor invoices and charges that arise only after a local vote, a missed deadline, a transfer, an audit, or another specified event.

Ownership-change and deadline triggers

Renewal, a sale, relocation, an opening delay, or broker assistance can create extra payments and may also require physical upgrades.

Renewal Fee $5,000 with fewer than three open franchised stores; $3,500 with three or more. Renewal also may require training and remodeling to then-current standards.
Transfer Fee and renovation $5,000 for the first store and $1,000 for each additional store or license in one transaction. A transfer to an existing Sport Clips franchisee reduces the first fee to $2,500. The transferee must renovate to current specifications; the renovation amount is not disclosed.
Existing-store upgrade deposit When a buyer acquires an existing Sport Clips store and agrees to required upgrades, the buyer pays Sport Clips a deposit equal to one-half of the estimated upgrade cost. The FDD states that the deposit is refunded within 10 days after the upgrades are completed.
Store Opening Extension Fee $5,000 per Franchise Agreement for a discretionary one-year extension when a store misses its Development Schedule opening date.
Supplemental Services on relocation The mandatory Supplemental Services Fee also applies when a store relocates. The FDD's store-order schedule is $5,000 for the first store, $4,000 for the second, and $3,000 for the third and later stores.
Resale Assistance Fee 5% of the sale price, with a $5,000 minimum and $10,000 maximum, only under a Resale Assistance Agreement.
Broker-referred resale Currently $22,500, paid directly to the broker when a buyer is referred through a broker relationship disclosed by Sport Clips.

Sources: Items 5, 6, and 17, pp. 9-15 and 39-41.

Compliance, audit, meeting, and technology triggers

Late reporting, inaccessible systems, audit findings, required meetings, aging hardware, and security standards can produce additional invoices beyond routine charges.

Audit and late-payment costs Audit cost plus 10% interest if an audit finds at least a 2% understatement of gross sales for any month; late Royalty and Advertising Fund payments bear the maximum interest permitted by law.
POS communication failure $100 per week, or part of a week, when the approved POS system or Internet connection is not maintained so Sport Clips can access sales data.
Late financial reports $100 per week, or part of a week, for failure to submit required financial statements or reports.
Annual and area meetings Currently $850-$1,000 per person for required national or area meetings, plus travel and living expenses. Item 6, p. 11;
Technology replacement and security Hardware and software must be updated within a maximum of five years or when required. Support for equipment older than five years may cost up to $250 per month per store; PCI-DSS and computer-security charges may be up to $100 per month.
Other variable obligations Product review may be billed at Sport Clips' out-of-pocket cost; Indemnification covers all losses and expenses incurred; an OpenSpend POS license transfer fee is currently $500.

Sources: Items 6 and 11, pp. 11-12 and 31-32.

FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

What liquid capital, net worth, and financing terms apply?

The official franchise FAQ states a minimum of $200,000 in liquid assets, defined there as cash and marketable securities, and $400,000 in net worth. The page says the thresholds may be higher when construction costs are unusually high or a candidate seeks more than three licenses. These are qualification thresholds, not substitutes for the opening estimate. See the official Sport Clips franchise FAQ, checked July 15, 2026.

A financial qualification screens the applicant; it does not prove that the proposed store is fully funded. The buyer still needs to match available cash, debt proceeds, and any partner capital against the timing of deposits and invoices. Funds used to satisfy a liquidity screen may also be needed for living expenses, debt service, taxes, or other commitments outside the transaction, so they should not automatically be treated as entirely available for construction. The same distinction applies to net worth: an asset can support a balance sheet without being readily convertible to cash. The underwriting package should therefore show liquidity, collateral, borrowing capacity, and project uses separately rather than relying on one headline threshold.

Liquid Assets
Cash and marketable securities available to support the transaction. The stated $200,000 minimum does not mean the full project can be funded with $200,000.
Net Worth
Assets minus liabilities. The $400,000 minimum is not the same as cash available for the franchise.
Personal Guarantee
The FDD requires personal guarantees from owners and applicable spouses. Conditional lease or loan guarantees also require collateral interests in equipment, fixtures, and inventory.

The 2026 disclosure states that the franchisor does not finance the upfront fee, build-out, inventory, equipment, or fixtures. Item 10 discloses two narrow guarantee programs instead:

Conditional lease guarantee For acceptable credit and an exceptional location, the franchisor may guarantee a third-party lease. The fee is generally two months' rent for a new franchisee and one month for an existing franchisee; for a 10-year lease, the disclosed fee rises to four months and two months, respectively. Personal guarantees and collateral are required.
Additional-store loan guarantee Available only in some cases for a second or later store, not the first. The guarantee fee is 5% of the loan amount, due before closing, with personal guarantees and collateral.

Source: Item 10, pp. 25-26.

Financing caveat

The official website says Sport Clips has relationships with third-party lenders, while Item 10 says the Company does not arrange financing from other sources beyond the disclosed guarantee programs. Treat any lender introduction as a separate underwriting process, not approval or a franchisor commitment. The U.S. Small Business Administration loan overview explains general SBA-backed lending, but it does not confirm brand eligibility or borrower approval.

OPEN-ENDED OBLIGATIONS

Which costs remain variable or outside the official total?

The most important exclusion in the 2026 disclosure is the lease. The table does not include site costs in the total, even though its notes describe approved space generally ranging from 1,000 to 1,500 square feet, annual base rent from $20 to $60 or higher per square foot, and operating expenses from $4 to $15 per square foot. Those figures are not a site quote and should not be converted into a single annual amount without a specific approved space and lease.

A site budget should be refreshed whenever the approved premises, plans, landlord contribution, permitting requirements, or construction schedule changes. Quotes prepared before final drawings may omit utility work, code upgrades, after-hours labor, delivery, storage, or changes required by the landlord. A contribution from the landlord may also be paid after work is completed rather than when invoices are due, creating a temporary funding gap. For that reason, the lease abstract, construction contract, vendor quotes, and draw schedule should be reviewed together. The objective is not to replace the published range with an informal estimate, but to identify which obligations are fixed, which remain conditional, and which must be funded before any reimbursement arrives.

Leasehold Improvements vary with store size, new construction versus previously occupied space, geography, material prices, and landlord allowances. The FDD says a landlord allowance may range from $10 to $40 per square foot. The separate official Sport Clips real estate criteria describe the preferred retail format, but the executed lease and approved construction plans determine the actual obligation.

✓

Reconcile the total-investment conflict. Obtain written confirmation of whether the applicable minimum is $226,800 or $236,800 and whether a state amendment changes the 2026 FDD.

✓

Confirm the approved license structure. Identify whether the transaction is a single-store Franchise Agreement, two-store MUDA, or three-store MUDA before treating the upfront fee as fixed.

✓

Budget the lease separately. Verify base rent, common-area maintenance, taxes, insurance allocations, deposits, lease advertising requirements, and landlord allowance outside the official total.

✓

Refresh supplier and technology quotes. Confirm construction, equipment, POS hardware, firewall, Internet, PCI-DSS, Signage, Opening Inventory, and required-supplier pricing for the approved site.

✓

Map continuing payment bases. Separate percentage-of-Net-Sales fees, fixed weekly fees, monthly vendor charges, cooperative assessments, renewal and transfer charges, and event-triggered penalties.

✓

Test the three-month operating cushion. The three-month allowance includes payroll but does not separately address owner compensation, and the document warns that additional startup expenses may be required.

CAPITAL DECISION

What is the practical cost takeaway?

The official total is a starting point rather than a complete cash requirement for every buyer. The lease is excluded, the upfront license payment may reflect up to three stores, and the cover contains an unresolved minimum. The largest disclosed variation comes from construction, followed by site-specific assets, the approved commitment, and the adequacy of the three-month operating cushion.

The website's financial qualifications remain separate from the opening estimate. After opening, percentage, fixed, vendor, meeting, renewal, transfer, and event-triggered charges continue. The unresolved minimum and the excluded lease obligation are the two issues that most need written confirmation before capital is committed.

A final funding worksheet should identify the source, availability date, restrictions, and expected use of every dollar, then retain a reserve for timing changes that do not alter the underlying obligation.

All amounts are U.S. dollars. This article is limited to cost, capital, payment timing, and continuing fee disclosures.