How much does a Smoothie King franchise cost in 2026?
Smoothie King discloses two separate traditional-store investment ranges, not one universal startup figure. An end-cap or in-line location is estimated at $329,850 to $683,715, while a free-standing drive-thru location is estimated at $639,950 to $1,278,900. These 2026 Item 7 totals include the first three months of Additional Funds, but the free-standing range excludes potentially material site work.
Top line: the first range applies to a traditional end-cap or in-line Unit; the second applies to a traditional free-standing drive-thru Unit. Smoothie King does not publish a complete Item 7 total for a Non-Traditional Unit, so the lower $15,000 Non-Traditional Initial Franchise Fee must not be substituted into either traditional total.
Source: Smoothie King Franchises, Inc. 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 7, pp. 14–19. The matching figures and April 8, 2026 issuance date also appear on Smoothie King’s official 2026 investment page.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Smoothie King Franchises, Inc., a Texas corporation. FDD issuance date: April 8, 2026. Cost formats reviewed: traditional end-cap/in-line, traditional free-standing drive-thru, Non-Traditional fee provisions, and Area Development Agreements. Primary disclosures: Item 5, pp. 6–9; Item 6, pp. 9–14; Item 7, pp. 14–19; plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10 and 17. Information checked July 21, 2026. FDD citations are unlinked because no matching public FDD file was located on an official franchise-controlled domain.
What is included in the disclosed startup range?
The 2026 Estimated Initial Investment covers the Initial Franchise Fee, premises deposits, Technology Systems, required opening marketing, travel and training, first-year insurance, opening inventory, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, professional services, signage, Leasehold Improvements, miscellaneous costs, drive-thru equipment where applicable, and three months of Additional Funds. Most third-party payments are due “as arranged,” so the total is not a single check paid on one date.
2026 total initial investment ranges by traditional format
The free-standing drive-thru band begins near the upper end of the end-cap/in-line band and extends to almost twice its maximum.
Interpretation: format selection changes the capital contract materially. Bars use the same $0–$1,278,900 scale. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–19; official figures are also listed on the Smoothie King investment page.
Premises, construction and equipment
| Item 7 category | End-cap / in-line | Free-standing drive-thru | Why it varies |
|---|---|---|---|
| Three Months’ Rental & Deposit | $5,000–$25,000 | $5,000–$30,000 | Lease terms, market and deposit requirements. |
| Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, Millwork and Graphics | $85,000–$159,000 | $95,000–$140,000 | The low end may assume approved used equipment. |
| Architectural & Engineering Professional Services | $3,500–$17,000 | $25,000–$50,000 | Free-standing estimates include civil and landscaping work. |
| Signage | $5,000–$14,000 | $28,000–$38,000 | Free-standing figures include pylon signage. |
| Leasehold Improvements | $145,000–$300,000 | $350,000–$825,000 | Inline shell condition and free-standing building scope drive the range. |
| Drive-Thru | $0–$33,750 | $25,000–$33,750 | Window, menu boards, canopy, headset, timer and added POS equipment. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–18. Smoothie King’s official location-format page identifies traditional end-cap, in-line and free-standing drive-thru sites, plus Non-Traditional settings such as airports, college campuses, military bases and hospitals.
Pre-opening, inventory and initial working capital
| Item 7 category | End-cap / in-line | Free-standing drive-thru | Included scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Technology Systems | $9,100–$12,215 | $12,000–$14,500 | Network, security, POS, peripherals and installation. |
| Grand Opening Marketing | $15,000 minimum | $15,000 minimum | Traditional new Unit; Non-Traditional new Unit minimum is $7,500. |
| Travel and Training Expenses | $0–$6,000 | $0–$6,000 | Travel, lodging and meals; employee wages are excluded. |
| Insurance, first-year premium | $2,500–$7,500 | $3,500–$7,500 | Required liability, property, cyber and other coverage. |
| Other Prepaid Expenses | $1,000–$2,500 | $14,700–$29,400 | Utilities, licensing, permits and deposits; free-standing includes impact fees in this line. |
| Start-Up Supplies, Smallwares & Inventory | $27,250–$27,750 | $25,250–$25,750 | Roughly two weeks to one month of opening supply needs. |
| Legal, Accounting, Organizational & Miscellaneous Costs | $1,500–$9,000 | $1,500–$9,000 | Derived sum of two compatible Item 7 categories; official rows are $500–$4,000 and $1,000–$5,000. |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $5,000–$25,000 | $15,000–$25,000 | Wages, payroll taxes, advertising, product, royalties, utilities, freight and administration. |
Additional Funds are already inside the Item 7 total. They are not an automatic extra amount to add again. The disclosed reserve covers the first three months of operation and includes salaries and wages, payroll taxes, product purchases, payment of royalties, utilities, freight and other operating expenses. Smoothie King expressly states that the amount may be insufficient if sales are low or fixed costs are high.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–19. The combined legal/accounting/miscellaneous row above is a derived calculation from compatible official ranges and is identified as such.
Why can a free-standing drive-thru require much more capital?
The largest disclosed difference is the premises package. Leasehold Improvements rise from $145,000–$300,000 for an end-cap or in-line Unit to $350,000–$825,000 for a free-standing drive-thru. Free-standing Architectural & Engineering Professional Services, signage, prepaid expenses and drive-thru equipment also carry higher ranges.
The free-standing total excludes site work, materials testing, zoning and other impact fees that the FDD says can range from $150,000 to $300,000. Land acquisition is also not included. A buyer considering a free-standing site therefore cannot treat $1,278,900 as a universal all-in ceiling.
The FDD says a free-standing drive-thru-only building of approximately 630 to 1,000 square feet should differ insignificantly from the standard free-standing total, mainly because of reduced interior finishes. That statement does not remove the excluded site-work exposure.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7 notes 2, 12 and 19, pp. 16–19.
When is the startup money paid?
The Initial Franchise Fee is paid first, but most of the investment is paid later to landlords, approved suppliers, contractors, insurers and government authorities as the site moves through design, construction and opening. The FDD does not disclose one universal construction draw schedule.
Pay the non-refundable Initial Franchise Fee: $30,000 for a first traditional Unit, $25,000 for an approved additional Unit owned by an existing franchisee in good standing, or $15,000 for a Non-Traditional Unit. An Area Development Fee is also due at signing when applicable.
Rental deposits, up to $2,500 in Smoothie King design-document fees, site investigation charges when used, architectural work and permit-related costs arise before construction.
Technology Systems, equipment, millwork, signage, Leasehold Improvements, supplies and opening inventory are paid to Smoothie King or approved third parties as arranged under supplier and construction contracts.
Travel and lodging are paid as incurred. The required traditional grand-opening spend runs during the four weeks before opening and the three months after opening; the report is due within 90 days after opening.
The Operating Fee and National Marketing Fee begin when the Unit opens. Technology and Software/Security Fees are currently due on the 23rd of each month. Additional Funds are intended to cover the first three operating months.
The FDD contains inconsistent language about when a pre-opening $500 minimum Operating Fee may begin. Item 5 refers to failure to open within 18 months, or 24 months for a free-standing drive-thru, while an Item 6 footnote also says Smoothie King may charge the minimum after month 12. Obtain written clarification before signing, especially for a long construction schedule.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–9; Item 6, pp. 9–14; Item 7, pp. 14–19. The FTC explains the federal 14-day disclosure period in its Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.
Which fees continue after the Unit opens?
The main continuing obligations are the Operating Fee, national and local or regional marketing obligations, and two current monthly technology charges. Percentage fees are based on the FDD definition of Gross Sales; they should not be converted into annual dollar estimates without actual sales data.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Fee | 6% of Gross Sales | Due by the 16th for the prior month | Greater of 6% or the $500 monthly minimum. |
| National Marketing Fee | 3% of monthly Gross Sales | 16th day of each month | May increase to 5% on 60 days’ notice. |
| Regional Marketing Fee | Up to 2% of Gross Sales | Last day of each month | Only if a Regional Marketing Fund exists; Non-Traditional Units do not contribute. |
| Local Marketing Requirement | 2% of annual Gross Sales | As incurred | Regional contributions are credited; failure to document required spend can increase the National Marketing Fee to 5%. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $200/month | 23rd day of each month | May increase with actual cost increases on 60 days’ notice. |
| Software and Security Fee | Currently $290–$350/month | 23rd day of each month | Covers proprietary software licensing and data-security participation. |
The official franchise FAQ summarizes the 6% royalty-equivalent charge, 3% national advertising contribution, local marketing requirement and $200 technology contribution. The 2026 FDD is controlling for the formal fee names, payment dates, minimums and change rights.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–14.
How do Non-Traditional and multi-unit commitments change the cost?
A Non-Traditional Unit has a lower $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee and a lower $7,500 minimum grand-opening spend for a new Unit, but the 2026 FDD does not provide a complete Non-Traditional Estimated Initial Investment range. Airports, campuses, military bases and hospitals can have site-specific lease, concession, equipment and access requirements, so neither traditional total should be reused as a proxy.
Area Development Agreement fee structure
An Area Development Agreement requires a minimum commitment of three Units. At signing, a new franchisee pays the first Unit’s $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee plus a non-refundable Development Fee of $12,500 for each committed Unit after the first. Each timely opened later Unit receives a $12,500 credit against its $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
Official franchisor-fee totals for timely 3–5 Unit development
These are not total project investments. They are the combined Development Fee and Initial Franchise Fees shown in Item 5 for a new franchisee.
Interpretation: the commitment creates a front-loaded Development Fee, but it does not estimate the real estate, construction, equipment or working capital for the additional Units. Existing franchisees in good standing may have the first Unit fee reduced by $5,000. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 7–8.
Smoothie King’s 2026 pioneer-market page says incentives are available in approved areas of selected states for new and existing franchisees with a fully executed lease, but it does not publish the dollar amount or full conditions. Treat any such incentive as a separate written offer, not as a reduction to every Item 7 category.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Smoothie King require?
The official franchise FAQ currently lists $150,000 in liquid assets, $350,000 in net worth and a 700+ credit score. These are screening qualifications, not substitutes for the Estimated Initial Investment. Liquid assets measure accessible capital; net worth includes assets minus liabilities and is not the same as cash available for the project.
As checked July 21, 2026, Smoothie King’s franchise process page contains duplicated qualification blocks showing both $175,000 liquidity / $400,000 net worth and $150,000 liquidity / $350,000 net worth. Because the official pages conflict and the FDD does not state these screening thresholds, obtain the current requirement in writing before structuring financing.
Does Smoothie King finance the investment?
No. Item 10 states that Smoothie King does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. The official FAQ separately says the brand has no in-house financing program, is registered with the SBA and has relationships with finance vendors. A referral or lender relationship does not guarantee approval, loan amount, rate or closing.
Prospective borrowers can review current government-backed loan structures on the U.S. Small Business Administration loans page, but lender underwriting must be tested against the selected Smoothie King format and the excluded site costs.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 24; Smoothie King official FAQ; Smoothie King official process page.
Which later fees can create additional capital obligations?
Several fees arise only after a triggering event, but they can be material to a long-term ownership budget. The Franchise Agreement term is generally 10 years, and renewal requires both a fee and a commitment to upgrade the Unit to then-current plans and specifications.
Up to $25,000 for materials during the fifth year after opening; labor is excluded and varies by location.
Currently one-half of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee plus a non-refundable $775 renewal-upgrade design fee, payable before the renewal agreement is signed. Upgrade work is separate.
$7,500–$12,500 plus $5,000 in Grand Opening Advertising for a Franchise Agreement transfer. An Area Development Agreement transfer can add 10%–20% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee for each undeveloped Unit.
Up to $2,500 for relocation, with site packages or plans potentially charged separately; new or relocated design documents can also cost up to $2,500.
Late balances can accrue 18% annual interest, or the legal maximum if lower, plus a $50 late fee. Non-compliance fees currently range from $25 to $500 per violation plus third-party expenses; audits can shift actual audit costs when Gross Sales are understated by 2% or more.
Inspection and testing are charged at actual cost when a franchisee asks Smoothie King to approve an unapproved supplier.
Item 8 also requires designated or approved sources for major equipment, technology, inventory and branded products. Freight, vendor minimums, ingredient costs and geography can change purchase prices after opening, particularly in a new market.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–14; Item 8, pp. 19–22; Item 17, pp. 43–45.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the official range?
Start with the exact site and format, then reconcile the Item 7 assumptions against binding quotes. The FDD provides a disclosure range, not a construction budget or lender commitment.
Identify whether the project is traditional end-cap/in-line, free-standing drive-thru, drive-thru-only, Non-Traditional or part of an Area Development Agreement.
Price land, site work, materials testing, zoning and impact fees separately where Item 7 excludes them.
Verify who supplies utilities, HVAC, storefront, roofing, fire sprinklers, floors, walls and other shell components assumed in the Leasehold Improvements range.
Confirm that Additional Funds cover the actual wage, freight, inventory, marketing, debt-service and utility plan without adding the FDD reserve twice.
The FDD provides a 20% Initial Franchise Fee discount for qualified veterans and qualified first responders with at least 10 years of experience. The discount does not apply to renewal or other startup categories.
Obtain written confirmation of financial qualifications and the pre-opening minimum Operating Fee trigger before signing.
Qualified veterans can also review the International Franchise Association’s VetFran program information. The program connection does not expand Smoothie King’s disclosed 20% fee discount or guarantee franchise approval.
What is the practical Smoothie King capital requirement?
A prospective buyer should anchor the budget to the correct 2026 traditional range: $329,850–$683,715 for an end-cap or in-line Unit or $639,950–$1,278,900 for a free-standing drive-thru Unit. The Initial Franchise Fee is only one part of that amount, and the three-month Additional Funds reserve is already included.
The largest unresolved exposure is usually the site. Free-standing site work alone is disclosed at $150,000–$300,000 outside the Item 7 total, while Non-Traditional Units have no complete published range. After opening, the buyer must also carry the 6% Operating Fee, marketing obligations, technology charges, required supplier purchases and event-triggered costs such as remodel, renewal, transfer or relocation.