How Much Does the Smash My Trash Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Smash My Trash franchise cost?

The 2026 Smash My Trash Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $372,050 to $492,200 to open one Smash My Trash Business in one Territory of approximately 200,000 people. The model is mobile and may begin from a home office or small warehouse, but it requires at least one new custom-built Truck, which is the largest disclosed startup category.

$372,050–$492,200
Total Estimated Initial Investment
One Franchise Agreement, one Territory, and one required new Truck. The range already includes the $49,500 Initial Franchise Fee and $30,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months; it excludes certain taxes, registration charges, real-estate purchase or construction, atypical upgrades, and later operating fees.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–21, and FDD cover. The official franchise investment page displays the same total range and line-item schedule.
Legal franchisor
Smash Franchise Partners, LLC, an Indiana limited liability company and subsidiary of SMT Holdings, LLC.
Disclosure basis
U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 20, 2026; no later amendment was identified in the reviewed document.
Formats covered
One mobile waste-compaction Business per Franchise Agreement and Territory; simultaneous multi-territory commitments have separate fee and Truck rules.
Cost Items used
Item 5, pp. 7–10; Item 6, pp. 10–17; Item 7, pp. 17–21; Item 10, p. 27; cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 11, and 17.
Information checked
July 18, 2026, against the current official U.S. franchise website.

Capital snapshot

These figures answer different capital questions and should not be treated as interchangeable.

$49,500 Initial Franchise Fee First Franchise Agreement; due on signing unless a state rider defers payment.
$84,200–$89,700 Paid to franchisor or affiliate Amount included in the total investment, as stated on the 2026 FDD cover.
$275,000–$350,000 One required Truck Excludes applicable sales tax and registration fees.
$30,000–$50,000 Additional Funds Three months, including payroll for one driver and one salesperson.
8% Royalty rate With a Minimum Royalty test beginning nine months after opening.
$250K / $500K Official prequalification Liquid assets / net worth stated on the franchisor’s current prequalification page; not an Item 7 amount.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the initial investment range?

The 2026 Item 7 total includes the Initial Franchise Fee, the first required Truck, Computer System, insurance, pre-opening marketing, training travel, premises-related costs, professional fees, permits, and three months of Additional Funds. The official total is the sum of the low and high figures shown below.

Core asset and setup costs

The required Truck dominates this phase, while the Computer System line combines hardware and technology payments and the premises estimate assumes a modest operating base rather than purchased real estate.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 amount When paid Decision detail
Initial Franchise Fee $49,500 Upon signing Assumes one agreement and no veteran or multi-territory discount.
Trucks $275,000–$350,000 Deposits within 10 days; balance when billed At least one new custom-built Truck; tax and registration excluded.
Computer System $6,700–$11,700 As incurred or billed Includes $500–$3,500 of proprietary software or technology, hardware and devices, plus about $4,200 for six months of pre-opening Technology Fee payments.
Insurance $2,000–$10,000 As incurred Required coverage must be in place before opening.
Rent, utilities and leasehold improvements $500–$4,000 As needed The initial Business Location may be a home office or small warehouse.
Operating Assets $500–$2,000 As incurred or billed Other required assets, excluding the separately disclosed Truck and Computer System.

Launch, compliance and working capital

These smaller categories still affect opening readiness, and the $30,000–$50,000 Additional Funds line is already included in the official total rather than added on top of it.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 amount When paid What it covers
Market Introduction Program $2,500–$5,000 As incurred or billed Opening marketing under System Standards; the FDD says no minimum is currently imposed, although one may be introduced.
Licenses and Permits $500–$1,000 Upon application Jurisdiction-dependent; extensive waste-business requirements can exceed the estimate.
Dues and Subscriptions $350–$1,000 As incurred Vendor and trade-organization expenses.
Professional Fees $2,500–$5,000 As incurred or billed Lawyer, accountant and other professional service providers.
Initial training travel, lodging and meals $2,000–$3,000 As incurred Personnel expenses; standard Initial Training Program instruction is otherwise provided without a fee.
Additional Funds — 3 months $30,000–$50,000 Varies Initial operating expenses not separately listed, including payroll for a driver and salesperson.
Total Estimated Initial Investment $372,050–$492,200 Pre-opening and first three months Official Item 7 total for one Territory and one required Truck.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–21. The franchisor’s official franchise FAQs also describe the one-territory investment range and approximately 200,000-person Territory structure.

FDD CAVEAT The Item 7 total does not cap the buyer’s full cash exposure. Truck sales tax, Truck registration, purchased real estate, building construction, atypical upgrades, certain local-code work, future supplier price increases, duties and tariffs are outside or may exceed the disclosed estimates. Item 7 also does not convert ongoing Item 6 fees into a single annual dollar budget. The FDD contains an unresolved wording conflict for remedial Initial Training Program charges: Item 5 states a current rate of $500 per day, while Item 7 footnote 9 states $500 per week. Confirm the applicable rate in writing.
PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

Most capital is committed between signing and opening, with the Truck deposits due very early. The FDD estimates a five-to-six-month period from signing to opening, but the contractual Opening Deadline is the earlier of 180 days after the agreement becomes effective or 10 days after receipt of the initial Truck order.

At signing: Initial Franchise Fee The standard single-territory fee is $49,500 and is non-refundable. A Hawaii rider defers it until opening, while the Virginia rider defers the Initial Franchise Fee and other initial payments owed to the franchisor until pre-opening obligations are completed.
Within 10 days: Truck deposits For each Truck ordered, the current structure requires a $30,000 machine-component deposit to Innovative Waste Technologies, LLC and a $10,000 chassis deposit to the designated dealer.
During development: systems, insurance and launch costs Computer System purchases, pre-opening technology payments, insurance, permits, professional fees, Market Introduction Program spending and premises costs are paid as incurred, arranged or billed.
Before opening: training and Truck balance Training is scheduled approximately four weeks before the planned opening and must be completed at least one week before opening. The Truck balance and all amounts then owed to the franchisor and affiliates must be paid before the Business can open.
At opening and for the first nine months: percentage Royalty The Royalty begins on the opening date and is paid monthly on the fifth day of the following month, together with Brand Fund and other applicable amounts.
After nine months: Minimum Royalty comparison begins The monthly Royalty becomes the greater of the percentage calculation or $2,600 multiplied by the number of Trucks the franchisee is required to have in operation.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 7–10; Item 6, pp. 10–17; Item 7, pp. 17–21; Item 11, pp. 30 and 37; Hawaii Rider, p. H-13; Virginia Rider, p. H-25. The FTC’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains the federal 14-calendar-day FDD review period before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.

TERRITORY COMMITMENTS

How do multi-territory purchases change the upfront cost?

Each Franchise Agreement covers one Territory, but the Initial Franchise Fee declines for the second and later agreements signed simultaneously. That discount does not create a complete multi-territory investment estimate: Truck requirements, Additional Population Fees and other Item 7 expenditures still have to be evaluated separately.

Truck capacity rules make this a fleet-based commitment

The number of contiguous Territories purchased at signing determines the minimum number of new Trucks required before opening.

1Truck for 1–3 Territories
2Trucks for 4–6 Territories
3Trucks for 7–9 Territories
4Trucks for 10+ Territories

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 9–10. Each required Truck brings the then-applicable deposit, dealer balance, technology and operating obligations.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE A larger Territory can add a separate population charge. If a Territory materially exceeds approximately 200,000 people, the franchisor may currently charge an Additional Population Fee of $0.25 per person over 200,000. This amount is not built into the standard one-territory Item 7 table.

The 2026 FDD also provides a 10% Initial Franchise Fee reduction for the first franchise purchased by an honorably discharged U.S. veteran or spouse when the Business is at least 51% veteran-owned and the buyer otherwise qualifies. The discount applies to the franchise fee, not the Truck, working capital or every Item 7 category.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The core continuing charges are the Royalty, Brand Fund contribution and Technology Fee. A National Account Fee can apply in addition to the Royalty, and several other charges arise only if a program, event or non-compliance trigger occurs.

Continuing fee Amount or basis Timing Key condition
Royalty — first 9 months 8% Monthly, 5th day of following month 8% of Gross Sales from trash compaction plus 8% of Net Revenue from approved Ancillary Services.
Royalty — after 9 months Greater of 8% basis or Minimum Royalty Monthly Minimum Royalty is $2,600 multiplied by required Trucks in operation; each Additional Truck Threshold can add another $2,600 six months after written notice.
Brand Fund contribution 1% of Gross Sales Monthly Paid with the Royalty.
National Account Fee 10% of applicable Gross Sales Monthly Applies for12 months after first servicing each National Account facility and is additional to the Royalty.
Technology Fee About $700 per month Monthly Assumes one owner, salesperson, driver and Truck; increases with users and Trucks and may rise up to 10% annually after notice. Related multi-business operators may be charged under only one applicable agreement.
Annual meetings $1,500 national; $500 regional per attendee Annually, as incurred Travel and lodging are additional. The disclosed caps are $5,000 for the National Annual Meeting and $2,000 for the Regional Annual Meeting per attendee; each cap may rise up to 5% annually.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–17. Gross Sales and Net Revenue are defined terms in Item 6; no annual dollar royalty estimate is disclosed.

Conditional charges and cost triggers

These amounts are not routine in every month, but the Franchise Agreement can activate them when the franchisee expands capacity, transfers ownership, requests special support, misses a payment or fails a compliance requirement.

  • Additional Truck and custom-parts costs The Additional Truck Threshold is average monthly Gross Sales of at least $35,000 per Truck during any three consecutive months. Reaching it can require another new Truck. The current machine-component deposit is $30,000 per Truck, with a disclosed cap of $60,000 that may increase up to 5% per year, plus the dealer balance. Custom parts may be billed at the affiliate’s cost plus an administrative charge currently up to 30%, which may increase up to 10% annually.
  • Cooperative, Customer Services and Local Marketing An Advertising Cooperative contribution is whatever an established cooperative approves. Customer Services fees are currently none but may become reasonable monthly fees after notice. Local Marketing remains the franchisee’s expense even though the FDD does not state one fixed ongoing dollar minimum.
  • Training and special assistance Ongoing training is currently free but may be charged up to $5,000 per attendee, with the cap permitted to rise up to 5% annually. Special guidance is currently $500 per day, potentially up to $2,500 per day, plus travel and living expenses; that cap may also rise up to 5% annually.
  • Transfer and successor costs A non-control transfer is $10,000. A control transfer is $5,000 plus 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee and any broker costs incurred. A successor franchise requires a $10,000 fee and may also require renovation, remodeling, and replacement or addition of Operating Assets.
  • Compliance and administrative charges Item 6 also identifies customer-complaint expenses, supplier-review costs, a current $1,000 reinspection fee plus travel that can rise to $5,000 plus travel, a $500 Non-Compliance Fee per notice, interest of 1.5% per month or the legal maximum, and an Insufficient Funds Fee equal to the greater of $30 or the bank charge. Insurance-placement expenses and audit costs can apply when coverage is missing, reports are late, or Royalty or Brand Fund amounts are understated by at least 3%. The inspection-fee cap may rise up to 5% annually.
  • Management, legal and end-of-term exposure If the franchisor manages the Business while considering a purchase option, the Management Fee is 3% of Gross Sales plus direct costs. Attorneys’ fees, indemnification and other legal costs vary. A repurchased-equipment Restocking Fee equals 5% of fair market value. Early termination can trigger Liquidated Damages calculated from average monthly Royalty and Brand Fund contributions during the preceding 12 months, or the shorter operating period, multiplied by 36 or the number of months remaining in the term, whichever is less.
COST IMPLICATION Truck count affects more than vehicle capital. Additional required Trucks can increase the Truck deposit, dealer balance, Technology Fee and the post-nine-month Minimum Royalty. A fleet expansion decision therefore changes both capital expenditure and recurring obligations.
FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth are required?

The 2026 FDD does not state a Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum in Items 5–7. The franchisor’s current official prequalification page separately asks candidates to have $250,000 in liquid assets, $500,000 in net worth and a credit score of at least 660 for financing consideration, along with no bankruptcy in the prior 10 years.

Liquid assets
$250,000 on the official prequalification page. This is a screening threshold, not the $372,050–$492,200 Total Estimated Initial Investment.
Net worth
$500,000 on the official prequalification page. Net worth includes assets minus liabilities and is not the same as cash available to invest.
Credit score
660 or better is listed for financing approval screening; it is not a promise that a lender will approve a loan.
FDD status
These thresholds are official supplemental information checked July 18, 2026, rather than an Item 7 cost line or a financing commitment by Smash Franchise Partners, LLC.

See the franchisor’s official prequalification information. Because website screening criteria can change independently of an FDD, a buyer should confirm them in writing before relying on them.

FINANCING DISCLOSURE

Does Smash My Trash finance the startup cost?

No. Item 10 states that Smash Franchise Partners, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee’s note, lease or other obligations. The official investment page discusses SBA financing, a Rollover as Business Start-up, equipment lending and a home-equity line of credit as possible external methods, but those references are not loan offers or approvals.

  • Match the financing term to the asset. The Truck is a major equipment purchase, while Additional Funds are short-term operating capital; one loan structure may not fit both uses.
  • Price excluded Truck charges. Obtain written figures for sales tax, registration, dealer requirements, shipping assumptions and financing costs before comparing a lender’s proceeds with Item 7.
  • Separate eligibility from approval. The SBA 7(a) eligibility rules permit uses such as equipment and working capital, but a participating lender still evaluates creditworthiness, collateral, repayment ability and the specific transaction.
  • Review retirement-fund structures independently. The IRS ROBS compliance guidance identifies plan-administration, valuation and filing risks that are separate from franchise approval.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 27; official Smash My Trash investment and financing information.

EXCLUSIONS AND VARIABILITY

Which cost obligations remain unresolved by the official range?

The Item 7 range is a defined estimate, not a ceiling. The largest unresolved amounts involve Truck taxes and registration, site-specific premises decisions, future supplier pricing, financing terms, local permits and post-opening fleet expansion.

  • Truck tax and registration Item 7 excludes applicable Truck sales tax and registration. The FDD states that sales tax may range from 1% to 30% of the purchase price depending on jurisdiction.
  • Real estate and construction The $500–$4,000 premises line assumes a modest home-office or small-warehouse setting. Buying real estate or constructing a building is not included.
  • Atypical upgrades and local-code work Seismic work, demolition, code-compliant signage, climate-related HVAC and other unusual site upgrades are outside the range.
  • Price changes, tariffs and financing expense Item 7 excludes later supplier price increases, duties and tariffs and notes that financing availability and terms depend on the borrower and lender.
  • Permitting above the estimate Jurisdictions with extensive mobile-waste or commercial-trucking requirements can exceed the $500–$1,000 Licenses and Permits line.
  • Later Truck expansion The Additional Truck Threshold may force a new Truck order and later increase the Minimum Royalty, even though that future Truck is not part of the one-Truck opening total.
BUYER SYNTHESIS

What capital number should a prospective franchisee use?

Use $372,050 to $492,200 as the verified 2026 FDD starting range for one Territory and one new Truck, not as an all-in ceiling. Within that figure, distinguish the $49,500 Initial Franchise Fee, the $275,000 to $350,000 Truck category and the $30,000 to $50,000 Additional Funds allowance. Separately test the official $250,000 liquid-assets and $500,000 net-worth screening figures, then add any transaction-specific amounts the FDD expressly excludes.

The most important cost question to resolve before signing is the delivered, taxed, registered and financed Truck amount for the buyer’s state and intended Territory. That figure drives the largest opening payment and can also affect later Technology Fee and Minimum Royalty obligations if more Trucks become required.