How much does a Slumberland franchise cost?
The 2026 FDD does not present one internally consistent total for a new Slumberland Business. Its cover states $829,500 to $3,215,000, while the detailed Item 7 table states $834,500 to $3,210,000. Both concern the standard retail-store format; the conflict should be resolved in writing before either range is treated as the controlling opening estimate.
The Item 7 table applies to the standard store using lease-based premises assumptions. It includes the $50,000 Initial Fee and $150,000 to $300,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months, but excludes the percentage-based Continuing Fee and advertising obligations. Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 7, pp. 9-10.
The detailed investment line items arithmetically reconcile to the table's endpoints, but the disclosure does not explain why each differs by $5,000 from the cover. Charts and category analysis below identify the detailed table as their basis rather than presenting it as a corrected cover figure. A prospective franchisee should ask Slumberland Franchising, Inc. to resolve the discrepancy in writing before signing or paying.
- Legal franchisor
- Slumberland Franchising, Inc., a Minnesota corporation
- Disclosure basis
- Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 29, 2026
- Formats reviewed
- Slumberland Business, qualified existing-franchisee Outlet Center and Area Development Agreement
- Cost Items used
- Items 5, 6 and 7; cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17
- Pages reviewed
- Items 5-7, pp. 3-10; Items 8, 10, 11 and 17, pp. 10-18 and 23-27
- Information checked
- July 14, 2026
No matching current FDD was found on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD Item and page references are intentionally unlinked. The brand's official U.S. franchise information is linked separately.
Which figures matter most before opening?
The total investment is not the same as the Initial Fee, working capital or monthly fees. The most decision-useful amounts are separated below.
Sources: FDD, Items 5-7, pp. 3-10.
What is included in Slumberland's Item 7 estimate?
Premises and build-out create the widest variation. Leasehold Improvements alone range from $100,000 to $1,500,000, while opening merchandise ranges from $300,000 to $650,000. The chart preserves each disclosed low and high amount rather than creating a midpoint or “typical” budget.
Official figures: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9-10. Bar positions are a derived visualization of the disclosed ranges; no midpoint or expected value is implied.
The disclosed operating-funds allowance is already inside the total. The disclosure says the three-month amount may cover supplies, inventories, salaries and fringe benefits for the franchisee and employees, insurance, legal and accounting fees, advertising, marketing and promotion, software licensing, Technology Fees and miscellaneous operating costs. Adding the $150,000 to $300,000 again would double-count working capital.
The official range is built around leased premises and three months of building rent. If the franchisee buys an existing building and land, or buys land and constructs a building, the FDD separately estimates $600,000 to $6,000,000. That alternative real-estate figure is not a replacement total and should not be blended into the lease-based opening range without a site-specific budget.
Does the cost contract change for an Outlet Center or multiple stores?
Yes. The disclosure describes three different contractual paths, but it provides a complete opening range only for the standard store.
Slumberland Business
Standard retail-store offer with a $50,000 signing payment. The detailed investment table and cover state conflicting opening totals.
Outlet Center
Available only in limited circumstances to a qualified existing franchisee. There is no additional Initial Fee, but the disclosure does not provide a separate opening range for that format.
Area Development
The Development Fee is $50,000 plus $25,000 for each additional required Slumberland Business. It is paid in full at Area Development Agreement signing and is nonrefundable.
An Area Developer signs the first Franchise Agreement with the Area Development Agreement and later signs a separate Franchise Agreement for each store. No separate signing payment is due for stores developed under the Development Schedule. This structure should not be confused with the standard same-market fee ladder below.
Official figures: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 3-4. Column heights are proportional to the disclosed fixed Initial Fees.
The disclosure also provides a 10% discount on the entry payment for honorably discharged veterans. Qualifying employees with more than five years of service pay 40% of the applicable standard amount; qualifying employees with at least three but not more than five years pay 60%. It does not state whether these reductions may be combined, so stacking should not be assumed.
When is the money paid?
The largest cash commitments occur between contract signing and opening. For the standard store, the 2026 disclosure says opening generally occurs within 90 to 180 days after the contract is signed, although the franchisee must open within one year.
At contract signing
Pay the applicable nonrefundable entry fee. An Area Developer instead pays the full nonrefundable Development Fee when signing the Area Development Agreement and signs the first Franchise Agreement at the same time.
During initial training
Initial classroom training for the franchisee and Manager carries no additional training fee, but the franchisee pays wages, benefits, travel, lodging, food, rental-car and related expenses. The investment table estimates $1,000 to $6,000.
Before opening
Pay or arrange Leasehold Improvements, store fixtures and equipment, the required technology package, Signs and Initial Inventory. Technology and Hardware must be acquired from Slumberland, Inc.
As incurred around opening
Fund the three-month Building Lease estimate, three months of Delivery Vehicle Leases and the three-month operating allowance. These amounts are included in Item 7.
After opening
Monthly system charges, Technology Fees, the Brand Development Fee and any Regional Advertising Fee are generally due on the 15th for the stated period. The local advertising requirement is tracked monthly.
Sources: FDD, Items 5-7 and 11, pp. 3-10 and 15-18. The FTC Franchise Rule explains the federal disclosure framework; the FDD itself states that a prospect must receive it at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or making a related payment.
A sound cash schedule should keep the signing payment, training travel, construction draws, equipment deposits, merchandise orders and opening-period reserves on separate dates. Some amounts are paid directly to the franchisor or its affiliate, while others go to a landlord, contractors, carriers, insurers, utilities or other suppliers. That distinction matters because vendor deposits, credit terms and refund rights may differ even when the amounts appear in the same opening estimate. The disclosed range does not specify a single day on which the entire amount must be available, but it does show that most commitments occur before the doors open.
Which fees continue after the store opens?
The main continuing obligations are a Continuing Fee, technology charges, advertising spending and merchandise-based charges. Their bases differ, so they should not be combined into one unsupported percentage.
| Fee or obligation | 2026 amount or basis | Timing | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing Fee | Greater of 3% of the disclosed monthly sales base or minimum | 15th day for preceding month | Minimum monthly fee begins 24 months after the contract date. |
| Technology Fees | $1,000-$3,000 per month per location | Monthly, 15th day | Varies by technology package. |
| Local Advertising Expenditures | 8% of Gross Revenues | Monthly | Brand Development and Regional Advertising payments are credited toward this requirement. |
| Brand Development Fee | Currently 1%; may reach 2% of Gross Revenues | Monthly, 15th day | Increase limited to 0.5 percentage point in a calendar year with at least 90 days' notice. |
| Regional Advertising Fee | Pro rata share, capped at 2% of Gross Revenues | Monthly, 15th day | Applies only when Slumberland, Inc. operates a store in the same Designated Marketing Area. |
| Merchandise Charge | Currently 2.5%-8% of merchandise purchases | When merchandise is purchased | Percentage depends on vendor. |
Gross Revenues are defined as total dollar income from sales at the Slumberland Business, excluding sales, use and gross-receipts taxes. If the franchisee underspends the 8% local spending requirement, the deficiency must be deposited with Slumberland for advertising on the store's behalf.
Do not add 8% Local Advertising, the current 1% Brand Development Fee and the conditional Regional Advertising Fee as though all are separate incremental percentages. The FDD states that Brand Development and Regional Advertising payments reduce the local advertising requirement.
How does the minimum monthly Continuing Fee work?
Beginning 24 months after the contract date, the Continuing Fee is the greater of 3% of the disclosed monthly sales base or a minimum tied to the household count within a 10-mile radius of the Franchised Location.
Slumberland may re-evaluate the minimum every five years with 60 days' prior written notice based on household-count changes or the then-current standard contract. The 3% percentage does not change through that re-evaluation. Source: FDD, Item 6, pp. 7-8.
Which required purchases can keep changing?
Slumberland, Inc. is the required source for the initial technology package and a designated source for certain proprietary and brand-name merchandise. The disclosure estimates $50,000 to $85,000 for initial Technology and Hardware and $300,000 to $650,000 for Initial Inventory.
The monthly technology charges are separate from the initial package. The franchisor may require additional systems equipment to meet later standards, and the disclosure cannot estimate those upgrade costs and places no contractual limit on their frequency or cost. Approved-supplier rules can also affect freight, distribution and merchandise expense.
One disclosed purchase incentive is a current 1% discount on full truckloads of inventory paid within 10 days under the affiliate's Ship to Store program. The document does not state that this incentive is permanent. Source: FDD, Item 8, pp. 10-13.
Which fees arise only after a transaction, request or default?
Item 6 contains several costs that are not part of the opening range because they depend on later events.
What optional support fees can be charged?
Initial classroom training and the disclosed 200 hours of on-the-job training and opening assistance are provided without an additional training fee, but later or extra support can trigger the following charges.
- Additional manager training
- Currently $300 per trainee when training is held in the St. Paul area, or $300 per trainer plus expenses at the Franchised Location.
- Management and operational assistance
- Currently $300 per day, plus expenses when delivered at the Franchised Location, after included assistance is exhausted.
- Other onsite assistance
- Currently $150 per person per day, plus expenses at the Franchised Location.
- Professional services
- Currently $300 per day, plus expenses at the Franchised Location, for requested services such as design or sales training.
- Accounting support
- Currently $80 per hour, plus applicable expenses, for requested support exceeding 15 minutes.
Source: FDD, Item 6, pp. 4-9; renewal modernization obligation in Item 17, pp. 23-24.
Does Slumberland disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
No liquid-capital, net-worth or non-borrowed-funds threshold is stated in the current disclosure. That absence does not mean no qualification applies; it means a specific threshold should not be invented from the opening-cost table. Current screening criteria should be confirmed through official franchise information.
Item 10 discloses possible inventory financing only for corporate Store employees who purchase a franchise. Amount, interest rate, finance charges and repayment periods depend on creditworthiness, requested amount and purpose. The financing is secured at least by the financed inventory and may require security interests in other assets. Other than that limited arrangement, Slumberland does not offer or guarantee franchisee loans, leases or other obligations.
Source: FDD, Item 10, pp. 14-15. Financing availability is not approval and is not a disclosed substitute for the disclosed opening capital requirement.
Because the document gives no general cash or balance-sheet threshold, a buyer should not treat the low end of the opening range as an approval standard. A complete funding plan still has to reconcile the chosen site, tenant-improvement scope, equipment contracts, merchandise order, insurance premiums, professional costs and opening-period reserve. It should also identify which commitments can be financed, which require deposits, which are due before delivery and which remain payable after opening. That schedule is the practical bridge between the disclosed estimate and the amount of cash that must be accessible at each stage.
What does the official range not fully resolve?
The opening total is a disclosed estimate, not a site-specific project budget. The list below separates unresolved assumptions from stated amounts. Each issue can change the amount or timing of cash without creating a new opening category, so current site, vendor, delivery and renewal terms should be reconciled before funds are committed.
- Cover-versus-Item 7 discrepancy: obtain written confirmation of the correct total range before relying on it.
- Real-estate strategy: the $600,000-$6,000,000 purchase or construction estimate is an alternative to the lease assumption.
- Delivery method: purchasing a vehicle is estimated at $40,000-$100,000 instead of the three-month lease line; third-party delivery is another option.
- Post-opening fees: The ongoing percentage charge and advertising percentages are expressly excluded from the opening total.
- Technology upgrades: future acquisition frequency and cost have no disclosed contractual cap.
- Renewal modernization: renewal may require capital expenditures for remodeling, redecoration and replacement of store fixtures and equipment, with no disclosed total.
- Outlet Center economics: no separate opening range is disclosed for the limited existing-franchisee format.
- Discount stacking: the FDD does not say that veteran, employee or multi-store Initial Fee reductions can be combined.
Corporate identity can be checked through the Minnesota Secretary of State business filings search. State franchise-law resources are available through NASAA's franchise resources.
What capital conclusion follows from the 2026 disclosures?
The current disclosure presents two conflicting opening totals for the standard store. Neither should be treated as a corrected figure until the franchisor explains the discrepancy. The detailed categories nevertheless show that the principal range drivers are Leasehold Improvements, Initial Inventory, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, premises costs and Additional Funds for three months.
The cost contract continues after opening through the greater-of monthly system charge, technology charges, the 8% local spending requirement, credited brand and regional advertising charges, and vendor-based merchandise charges. Cash-on-hand and balance-sheet thresholds are not disclosed, and the unresolved cover-versus-table discrepancy is the most immediate number to verify.