How Much Does a Signarama Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 FDD COST ANSWER

How much does a Signarama franchise cost in 2026?

Signarama discloses three materially different U.S. investment ranges. A new center with the standard equipment package is estimated at $245,432 to $344,768, plus applicable equipment tax. A new center with the expanded equipment package is estimated at $459,994 to $638,470, plus applicable equipment tax. A conversion franchise is estimated at $72,345 to $574,521, plus applicable equipment tax. These are the official totals in Sign*A*Rama Inc.’s Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 27, 2026.

$72,345–$638,470

The full disclosed span across all three formats. It is not one interchangeable range: conversion, standard-package, and expanded-package centers have separate Item 7 cost structures. Equipment tax is additional. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–23.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Sign*A*Rama Inc., a Florida corporation. FDD issue date: March 27, 2026. Formats reviewed: standard equipment package, expanded equipment package, and conversion franchise. Cost evidence: Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 14, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD copy was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD Item and page citations below are intentionally unlinked. The brand’s official U.S. franchise information is linked separately.

Key cost figures

Initial Franchise Fee $49,500 New or conversion franchise; Item 5, p. 9.
Standard Equipment $150,499–$165,549 Plus applicable tax; Item 7, p. 14.
Expanded Equipment $354,999–$390,499 Plus applicable tax; Item 7, pp. 17–18.
Additional Funds 0–6 months $10,000–$75,750 depending on format.
Royalty Fee $500 minimum Or tiered percentage of gross sales, whichever is greater.
2026 Item 7 total investment ranges by format

Each bar starts at the disclosed low and ends at the disclosed high; scale runs from $0 to approximately $650,000.

$0$325,000$650,000

Interpretation: the expanded package has the highest floor, while the conversion range is widest because existing premises and equipment may reduce costs substantially—or may require extensive replacement. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–23. All totals are plus applicable equipment tax.

SOURCE CONFLICT The official Signarama investment page still displays an approximate $200,000–$215,000 total and a $49,500 liquid-capital figure. Those figures do not match the March 27, 2026 Item 7 ranges. For FDD-governed startup costs, the 2026 FDD controls. The liquid-capital statement is supplemental website information and should be confirmed in writing before it is treated as an approval threshold.
FORMAT DIFFERENCE

Why are the three Signarama cost ranges so different?

The equipment package and condition of the premises drive most of the difference. The standard and expanded models are new-center formats with prescribed equipment packages. A conversion franchise assumes an existing sign business can continue using its location and at least some equipment; if that assumption fails, the FDD directs the buyer to the standard or expanded table. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 20–23. Signarama also maintains an official conversion-franchise overview.

Standard equipment package

Estimated total: $245,432–$344,768, plus tax. The FDD generally assumes 1,000–1,500 square feet of retail space or 1,500–2,500 square feet of light-industrial space.

Expanded equipment package

Estimated total: $459,994–$638,470, plus tax. The FDD generally assumes 2,500–5,000 square feet of flex or light-industrial space, including a roll-up door.

Conversion franchise

Estimated total: $72,345–$574,521, plus tax. The range depends on how much of the existing premises and equipment can be retained and brought into compliance.

What is included for a new standard or expanded center?

The 2026 FDD includes the Initial Franchise Fee, training meals and entertainment not paid by the franchisor, initial rent, the optional-affiliate Real Estate Service Charge when triggered, Leasehold Improvements, Architectural Services, the required Equipment Package, initial insurance, deposits and licenses, and Additional Funds for up to six months.

Item 7 category Standard package Expanded package Payment context
Initial Franchise Fee $49,500 $49,500 At Franchise Agreement signing; the earlier $9,500 binder is credited.
Training travel and living expenses $245–$566 $245–$566 Other meals and entertainment during training.
Real Estate $3,800–$7,500 $4,200–$8,500 Rental assumptions vary by market and site.
Real Estate Service Charge $0–$1,500 $0–$1,500 Paid to Franchise Real Estate before opening when another real-estate company is used.
Leasehold Improvements $1,700–$44,000 $1,700–$84,000 As incurred before opening; landlord allowances may affect the range.
Architectural Services $0–$10,000 $1,500–$16,500 As agreed with third-party professionals.
Equipment Package $150,499–$165,549 $354,999–$390,499 Plus tax; deposit at signing and balance within 10 days after lease signing.
Insurance and deposits/licenses $1,100–$5,515 $1,100–$11,655 Combined display of two disclosed categories; paid as incurred.
Additional Funds, 0–6 months $38,588–$60,638 $46,750–$75,750 Payroll, utilities, and other startup-phase operating expenses not covered by revenue.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, standard table and notes, pp. 14–17; expanded table and notes, pp. 17–20. The combined insurance/deposits row is a presentation calculation from compatible Item 7 categories and does not replace the official separate line items.

What does the conversion range include?

The conversion table keeps the same $49,500 Initial Franchise Fee but gives much wider flexibility for premises and equipment. Equipment alone is estimated at $10,000 to $400,000, plus tax. The table also adds an Electronic Point of Sale System Data Conversion Fee of $1,500 to $2,000.

Conversion Item 7 category Disclosed range Key limitation or timing
Initial Franchise Fee $49,500 At Franchise Agreement signing.
Training expenses $245–$566 Other meals and entertainment during training.
Real estate and Real Estate Service Charge $0–$9,000 Combined display; existing location is expected to remain in use.
Leasehold Improvements $0–$25,000 Depends on current condition and compliance work.
Architectural Services $0–$10,000 Small plan set where permitting is required.
Equipment Package $10,000–$400,000 Plus tax; existing equipment is evaluated.
EPOS data conversion $1,500–$2,000 Before data conversion and transfer.
Insurance, deposits/licenses, Additional Funds $11,100–$78,455 Combined display; Additional Funds cover up to six months.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, conversion table and notes, pp. 20–23. Combined rows are derived from compatible categories for compact presentation; official total remains $72,345–$574,521 plus applicable equipment tax.

PAYMENT TIMING

When does a Signarama buyer pay the startup money?

The money is paid in stages rather than as one check. For a new standard- or expanded-package center, the most consequential early payments are the $9,500 binder, the $40,000 remaining Initial Franchise Fee, the $12,500 equipment deposit, and the equipment balance after the lease is signed. Other premises and opening costs are paid to landlords, contractors, insurers, utilities, licensing authorities, and vendors as incurred. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 9–20.

1

Disclosure period first

The FDD states that at least 14 calendar days must pass after delivery of the disclosure document before the buyer signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the proposed sale.

2

Pay the $9,500 binder before site-search assistance

The binder is applied to the $49,500 Initial Franchise Fee. It is refundable if the franchise is not purchased, but becomes nonrefundable if no refund is requested within three years.

3

At Franchise Agreement signing

Pay the remaining $40,000 of the Initial Franchise Fee. For a new equipment package, a $12,500 equipment deposit is also due. The Initial Franchise Fee and equipment purchase become nonrefundable as disclosed.

4

Within 10 days after signing the premises lease

Pay the remaining equipment price, plus applicable tax. Item 5 describes a balance of $137,999 to $377,999, depending on the equipment option selected.

5

Before opening and during the startup period

Pay Leasehold Improvements, Architectural Services, insurance, security and utility deposits, licenses, training incidentals, and the Real Estate Service Charge if triggered. Additional Funds are then used as expenses arise during the first zero to six months.

PAYMENT TIMING The Item 7 total is not the same as cash due on signing day. It includes later payments to multiple parties and up to six months of Additional Funds. A buyer should map each line item to its payee and due date rather than treating the total as a single franchisor payment.

The brand’s official steps-to-ownership page describes the broader approval sequence, but the contractual payment milestones above come from the 2026 FDD.

ONGOING FEES

Which Signarama fees continue after opening?

The recurring cost structure combines percentage-based obligations, fixed monthly charges, and local marketing spending. The Royalty Fee and Marketing Fund Fee can rise with gross sales. The Point of Sale Software License Fee and Technology, Software, and Support Fee are fixed monthly amounts at the disclosed current rates. Local marketing is a separate spending requirement, not a payment substituted by the Marketing Fund Fee.

Fixed monthly floors and charges disclosed in Item 6

Dollar amounts are compared on a monthly basis. Percentage formulas may produce higher payments than the displayed floors.

Interpretation: the bars show only comparable fixed monthly floors or charges. The Marketing Fund Fee is $880 when paid by ACH, otherwise $915, or 1% of gross sales if greater. The Royalty Fee may exceed $500 under its percentage formula. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–14.

Recurring obligation Amount or basis Timing Important interpretation
Royalty Fee Greater of $500 per month or 6% of gross sales up to $1,000,000 and 4% over $1,000,000 Monthly, by the 2nd day of the next month Gross sales exclude sales tax. Tier amounts are adjusted for inflation annually on January 1.
Marketing Fund Fee $915 monthly, or $880 by ACH, or 1% of gross sales, whichever is greater; a Fund maximum may apply Monthly from the first month open Separate from the franchisee’s own local marketing requirement.
Local marketing requirement At least 5% of annual gross revenues; at least half of that spending must be digital Each year Paid for direct marketing and local advertising, not as a substitute for the Marketing Fund Fee.
Point of Sale Software License Fee $274 per month or then-current fee Monthly from the first month open Paid to the designated vendor; initial two-year license is included in the equipment package.
Technology, Software, and Support Fee $467 per month or then-current fee Monthly May include third-party subscriptions and may change during the term.
Conference/Expo Payments $50 per month or then-current amount Only in years with an Annual Conference or World Expo Collected with the Royalty Fee and applied toward attendance costs.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–14; Item 11 advertising disclosures, pp. 29–30.

COST IMPLICATION Marketing has two distinct obligations: the Marketing Fund Fee and a minimum local-marketing spend equal to 5% of annual gross revenues. Combining them into one “advertising fee” would understate the contract.
CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which fees apply only after a specific event?

Resale, renewal, audit, training, noncompliance, and system-change events can create additional charges. These amounts are not part of every new center’s opening budget, but they matter when evaluating the long-term cost contract.

Transfer or resale
The Transfer/Training Fee is the greater of $39,500, 10% of the business sale price subject to the stated cap, or the then-current transfer fee. It is due before the transfer and is generally paid by the seller from sale proceeds. Some pre-December 1991 resale situations shift the payment to the buyer.
Resale rebranding and EPOS
A resale may require approximately $5,250–$15,750 to refresh or rebrand the center, plus a $1,500–$2,000 EPOS data-conversion fee. Source: Item 7 notes, pp. 16 and 19.
Renewal
The Item 6 formula is the greater of $15,000 or 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, due 30 days before renewal. Item 17 also requires remodeling and bringing the premises to current design and décor standards; the FDD does not state a fixed remodel budget.
Additional trainee
$500 per person or the then-current fee, plus travel, hotel, and meal expenses, when more than one person attends the training program.
Financial review
$1,500 or the then-current fee, plus interest on underpayment, when an audit shows the disclosed level of royalty understatement.
Noncompliance
The greater of the stated fixed violation amount—$500 for the first violation and $250 thereafter—or 2% of gross sales per compliance violation, after notice and failure to cure as described.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 6, pp. 9–14; Item 7 notes, pp. 16 and 19; Item 17, pp. 42–43.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

Does Signarama require a specific liquid capital or net worth amount?

The 2026 FDD reviewed for this article does not state a separate mandatory Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. Its binding cost disclosure is the applicable Item 7 Estimated Initial Investment range. The official franchise investment page states $49,500 in liquid capital, but that same page contains an older total-investment range that conflicts with the current FDD. A prospective buyer should therefore request written confirmation of the current approval standards and distinguish them from the cash actually needed to fund Item 7.

Estimated Initial Investment
The format-specific Item 7 range covering disclosed opening categories and Additional Funds. It is $245,432–$344,768 for standard, $459,994–$638,470 for expanded, or $72,345–$574,521 for conversion, plus applicable equipment tax.
Initial Franchise Fee
The $49,500 fee for a new or conversion franchise before applicable discounts. It is only one component of the total investment.
Liquid Capital
Cash or assets readily convertible to cash. The official website states $49,500, but the 2026 FDD does not set that as a separate Item 7 requirement.
Net Worth
Assets minus liabilities. No separate Net Worth minimum was identified in the 2026 FDD or the official pages reviewed.
Additional Funds
Working capital already included within the Item 7 total for up to six months; it should not be added a second time.
BUYER VERIFICATION Ask Sign*A*Rama Inc. to identify the current written liquidity, net-worth, and non-borrowed-funds standards for the exact format being evaluated. Do not assume that the $49,500 Initial Franchise Fee or website liquid-capital figure equals the cash needed to open.
FINANCING AND DISCOUNTS

Does Signarama finance the franchise or reduce the Initial Franchise Fee?

The franchisor does not offer or guarantee financing under Item 10. The 2026 FDD states that neither Sign*A*Rama Inc. nor an agent or affiliate offers direct or indirect financing, guarantees a note, lease, or obligation, or intends to sell a financing arrangement. The official financing information says staff may assist candidates in locating third-party funding and equipment-financing options. Assistance is not approval, a guarantee, or franchisor financing.

The 2026 FDD discloses several Initial Franchise Fee variations:

Veteran or spouse: 20% discount on the Initial Franchise Fee for the first location; additional locations are $39,500 each. The brand also publishes an official veterans program overview.
Employee Credit Program: $1,000–$15,000 discount based on documented tenure with an existing Signarama franchisee; limited to a new full-service center and not available for a transfer or conversion.
Existing Signarama storeowner: $39,500 Initial Franchise Fee for an additional outlet.
Owner in good standing of a named affiliated brand: $39,500 Initial Franchise Fee.
Conversion franchise: standard $49,500 Initial Franchise Fee; the lower total investment, when achieved, comes from reusing premises or equipment rather than a lower standard fee.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 9–10; Item 10, p. 24. Discounts change the Initial Franchise Fee only and do not automatically reduce equipment, premises, deposits, insurance, taxes, or Additional Funds.

EXCLUSIONS AND UNCERTAINTY

What can make the final cash requirement exceed the FDD range?

Equipment tax, personal living costs, debt service, local site conditions, and additional working capital can sit outside or above the disclosed estimates. Item 7 is an estimate based on the assumptions stated in the 2026 FDD, not a cap.

Applicable equipment tax is additional. Each official total is stated as “plus applicable tax.”
Personal living expenses and debt service are excluded from Additional Funds. Those obligations require a separate household and financing plan.
Additional Funds may be insufficient. The franchisor estimates zero to six months but expressly does not assure that no further capital will be needed.
Leasehold Improvements depend on the premises. Flooring, bathrooms, walls, fire sprinklers, HVAC, electrical work, labor, materials, plans, permits, and landlord allowances can change the cost.
Conversion eligibility is cost-critical. If the existing location or most equipment cannot be used, the conversion table may not be the appropriate budget.
Resale purchase price is separate. The FDD discloses transfer, rebranding, and data-conversion obligations, but it does not provide the negotiated price paid to acquire a seller’s business.
Required suppliers affect both opening and operating costs. Item 8 requires the Equipment Package from the franchisor and at least 70% of specified product-supply categories from approved suppliers.

Item 8 estimates that purchases of equipment, products, supplies, and marketing materials from the franchisor or meeting its specifications represent approximately 75% to 90% or more of establishment cost and approximately 20% to 35% of ongoing operating cost. This is a supplier-purchase disclosure, not an earnings or margin estimate. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 23–26.

FDD CAVEAT The most important pre-signing estimate is a location- and format-specific sources-and-uses schedule that preserves the official Item 7 total, adds applicable equipment tax and excluded personal obligations, and identifies which conversion equipment can actually remain in service.
DECISION CHECK

What capital figure should a prospective Signarama franchisee use?

Use the exact 2026 Item 7 range for the selected format, not the lowest number shown anywhere online. For a new standard-package center, start with $245,432–$344,768 plus equipment tax. For a new expanded-package center, use $459,994–$638,470 plus equipment tax. Use the $72,345–$574,521 conversion range only after Sign*A*Rama Inc. confirms that the existing location and equipment support that format.

The Initial Franchise Fee is $49,500 before an applicable discount, but the equipment package is usually the largest franchisor-directed opening payment. Additional Funds are already inside each Item 7 total, cover up to six months, and exclude personal living expenses and debt service. After opening, the buyer must budget for the Royalty Fee, Marketing Fund Fee, local marketing, technology, Point of Sale software, and conditional charges.