How Much Does a Scooter's Coffee Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

How much does a Scooter’s Coffee franchise cost?

Scooter’s Coffee has two separate 2026 Item 7 investment ranges: $658,898 to $1,068,525 for an end cap and $1,163,650 to $1,345,750 for a drive-thru kiosk. These are format-specific totals, not one interchangeable range. Both include the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the $20,000 Initial Opening Support Fee, pre-opening assets and expenses, and $29,000 to $119,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months.

2026 estimated initial investment End Cap: $658,898–$1,068,525 Kiosk: $1,163,650–$1,345,750

The kiosk range excludes the purchase of land. The working-capital line is already included in each total and excludes the owner’s salary. Scooter’s Coffee publishes the same format-specific figures on its official U.S. franchise cost and qualification page.

Data basis: legal franchisor Scooter’s Coffee, LLC; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 3, 2026; Kiosk Store, End Cap Store, Other Store, Franchise Agreement and Multiple Store Development Agreement disclosures; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17; information checked July 17, 2026.

The cost figures use the 2026 FDD: Item 5, pages 5–6; Item 6, pages 6–10; Item 7, pages 10–16; Item 10, page 21. A matching 2026 FDD was not located on the official franchise-controlled website, so FDD Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked.

Initial Franchise Fee $40,000

Paid by ACH when the agreement is signed; nonrefundable.

Opening Support Fee $20,000

Paid when the agreement is signed; nonrefundable.

Additional Funds $29,000–$119,000

Included in each format total for three months; owner salary is excluded.

Royalty Fee 6%

Of Net Sales, debited weekly for the preceding Reporting Period.

Primary-Site Thresholds $250,000 / $500,000

Liquid capital / net worth; a separate official page lists $200,000 liquid.

FORMAT COST DRIVERS

Why can the smaller kiosk cost more than the end cap?

The main reason is the Site and Building Improvements category. The 2026 FDD estimates $725,200 to $772,000 for a kiosk, excluding land, versus $234,448 to $500,000 for an end cap. A kiosk generally requires a pad site, utility work, drainage, access, paving and a freestanding building; an end cap generally uses leased retail space with a drive-thru. Official format descriptions and footprints appear on Scooter’s Coffee’s drive-thru model page and real estate specifications page.

Contract, site and professional costs

Cost category Kiosk End Cap When paid
Initial Franchise Fee $40,000 $40,000 At agreement signing
Initial Opening Support Fee $20,000 $20,000 At agreement signing
Site and Building Improvements $725,200–$772,000 $234,448–$500,000 As negotiated, before opening
Architectural and Engineering Fees $46,700–$56,500 $28,400–$42,725 As negotiated, before opening
Deposits and Licenses $1,200–$7,750 $1,200–$7,750 As negotiated, before opening

Store assets, opening supplies and working capital

Cost category Kiosk End Cap When paid
Equipment, Fixtures and Furniture $181,750–$191,300 $186,500–$194,750 As negotiated, before opening
Signs $52,500–$58,400 $52,050–$63,500 As negotiated, before opening
Technology Systems and Software $34,500–$41,000 $34,500–$41,000 As negotiated, before opening
Initial Training: Travel and Living Expenses $5,000–$8,000 $5,000–$8,000 Cash, before opening
Opening Inventory, Supplies and Smallwares $27,800–$31,800 $27,800–$31,800 Cash, before opening
Additional Funds — 3 Months $29,000–$119,000 $29,000–$119,000 As incurred after opening

Source for both tables: 2026 Scooter’s Coffee FDD, Item 7, pages 10–16. The official totals, rather than a new sum of selected line items, govern the stated investment ranges.

Several figures remain sensitive to the site contract. A landlord allowance or rent credit may offset part of construction, but the FDD does not promise either one. Security deposits can exceed the stated range, and local permits, utilities or code work can move the final amount above the table. Payments to third-party contractors and suppliers are generally negotiated through separate contracts, so invoice timing may not match the franchisor’s signing-date charges.

Refundability is also limited. The signing-date charges are expressly nonrefundable, and the FDD states that payments to the franchisor or its affiliate in the investment table are nonrefundable. It also states that, to the franchisor’s knowledge, payments to other parties are nonrefundable. A buyer should therefore avoid treating unspent financing proceeds as protection against a failed site, delayed permit or terminated development schedule.

COST IMPLICATION

Item 5 separately estimates opening inventory and certain equipment purchased from Scooter’s Coffee Supply Chain and preferred suppliers at $160,000 to $226,000 for a kiosk and $214,300 to $225,550 for an end cap. Do not add those amounts to the total: they overlap the equipment and opening-inventory categories already reflected in the official estimate.

Which Scooter’s Coffee formats have a disclosed opening-cost range?

Separate range disclosed

Drive-Thru Kiosk Store

Generally 650–700 square feet in the FDD. The official site describes a standard 664-square-foot kiosk. Land purchase is excluded from the total estimate.

Separate range disclosed

End Cap Store

Generally 800–1,400 square feet in the FDD, typically in end-cap retail space with indoor ordering and a drive-thru.

No separate range

Other Store

May include institutional, freestanding, counter-service or larger seating formats. The 2026 FDD does not publish a separate opening-cost total for this category.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the franchise money paid?

The capital is paid in stages rather than as one check. The first contractual cash is due at signing, major site and equipment costs are paid before opening, and the working-capital reserve is spent as needed during the first three months. The 2026 FDD controls the payment obligations and deadlines.

1

Before signing or paying the franchisor

The FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or money is paid to Scooter’s Coffee or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buying guide explains this federal disclosure period.

2

At agreement signing

Pay the $40,000 franchise fee by ACH and the $20,000 opening-support fee. Both are nonrefundable. The opening-support amount is used primarily for qualified grand-opening expenses or on-site opening assistance; unused funds are retained if not used within 12 months after opening.

3

During site control and construction

Pay site investigation, architecture, engineering, deposits, licenses, improvements and construction invoices as negotiated. A Site Concept Plan may cost up to $1,000 and is due before a ground lease or purchase agreement is signed. The agreement requires an approved lease and Lease Addendum within 180 days unless otherwise agreed.

4

Before the Store opens

Pay for equipment, signs, Technology Systems, opening inventory and training travel. Immersion Training for an unlimited number of trainees and NSO Training for up to four people are included in the franchise fee, but travel and living costs are separate. Evidence of required insurance coverage and paid premiums is due at least 30 days before opening. The FDD states a typical opening period of 180 to 545 days after signing or first payment, with an 18-month contractual opening deadline unless extended in writing.

5

At opening and during the first three months

Spend the $29,000 to $119,000 working-capital amount as expenses arise. It may cover rent, employee salaries, insurance, debt service and miscellaneous costs, including $10,000 to $30,000 of approved grand-opening promotion. It excludes the owner’s salary. Weekly Royalty and National Marketing debits and the monthly Technology Fee begin after operation.

ONGOING FEES

Which Scooter’s Coffee fees continue after opening?

The core continuing charges are a 6% Royalty Fee on Net Sales, a current 2% National Marketing and Advertising Contribution on Net Sales, a current $350 monthly Technology Fee, required inventory purchases and an annual conference fee. Item 6 also permits several currently inactive percentage-based programs.

Continuing cost Amount or basis Payment timing Key condition
Royalty Fee 6% of Net Sales Every Tuesday for the preceding Reporting Period Electronic debit
National Marketing and Advertising Contribution Currently 2% of Net Sales; may increase to 4% Every Tuesday for the preceding Reporting Period 60 days’ written notice before an increase
Technology Fee Currently $350 per month First day of each month Annual increase provisions allow 15% increases and cumulative catch-up
Inventory Purchases Varies with sales volume Invoice date Purchases from Scooter’s Coffee Supply Chain or designated suppliers
Conference Fee $499 per person per year, plus travel and lodging As incurred Principal Owner or Designated Manager attendance obligation

Source: 2026 Scooter’s Coffee FDD, Item 6, pages 6–10.

Fee basis: Item 6 defines Net Sales broadly to include sales through the Store, cash or credit transactions and barter value, while excluding discounts. The percentage fees should not be restated as annual dollar costs because the FDD does not disclose a buyer-specific sales amount for that calculation.

EVENT-TRIGGERED COSTS

Which additional fees apply only in certain circumstances?

Item 6 contains a second layer of costs that is not part of the ordinary weekly Royalty and National Marketing debits. These charges arise from a transfer, renewal, relocation, special assistance, supplier review, training event, late payment, audit, system upgrade or default.

Transfer

Greater of $10,000 or 25% of the then-current franchise fee for an agreement transfer. An MSD Agreement transfer is $10,000 multiplied by the number of operating franchises under that agreement.

Renewal

Greater of $10,000 or 25% of the then-current franchise fee, paid when the then-current agreement is signed. Item 17 also requires Store renovation if applicable.

Relocation and IT assessment

Relocation Fee of $500 to $1,000, plus all relocation costs. A $1,000 IT Equipment Assessment Fee can apply at transfer, renewal, relocation or a required upgrade.

Territory or search-area changes

The first two modification requests have no charge; each later approved request costs $3,000.

Alternative supplier or item

$2,500 per proposed supplier, plus actual testing costs and reasonable investigation costs. Designated-supplier items cannot be proposed for substitution.

Real estate and site assistance

$150 per hour plus travel and related expenses for requested real estate assistance. A Site Concept Plan can cost up to $1,000 before a ground lease or purchase agreement.

Training changes

$500 per person for replacement-manager training; $500 per person plus expenses for qualifying NSO Training cancellation or rescheduling; $150 for a Designated Manager failure to attend.

Late payment and audit

$25 late charge plus the lesser of 1.5% per month or the legal maximum. Audit costs apply after a Net Sales understatement of 3% or more; interest can apply to any understatement.

Third-party vendor reimbursement

Actual vendor charges may be collected from franchisees. The FDD permits an administrative fee equal to 10% of each collected payment if these arrangements are established.

Purchased marketing materials

Franchisor-provided advertising, marketing or promotional materials can cost $50 to $200 per item and are due upon invoice.

Default, legal, insurance and tax costs

A Brand Protection Committee fee can be $500 to $1,000 per violation if the committee is established. A Standard Default Fee can reach $500 per violation per month. A development default can require all amounts, damages, costs and expenses plus interest at the lesser of 18% per year or the legal maximum. Attorneys’ fees, indemnification, replacement insurance and tax assessments can add further variable costs.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth are required?

The official website is inconsistent on liquid capital. The main cost page and financial-requirements FAQ state $250,000 in liquid capital and $500,000 in net worth. A separate official financial-requirement disclaimer states $200,000 in liquid capital and the same $500,000 net worth. The pages showed no visible effective date when checked July 17, 2026.

Estimated Initial Investment
The format-specific amount expected to establish and begin operating the Store.
Liquid Capital
Assets that can be accessed relatively readily. Official pages display conflicting $250,000 and $200,000 thresholds.
Net Worth
Total assets less liabilities. The official website threshold is $500,000; it is not the same as cash available.
BUYER VERIFICATION

The 2026 FDD does not disclose the website qualification thresholds in Items 5–7, and the reviewed official sources do not state a separate non-borrowed-funds minimum. Because the public liquid-capital figures conflict, confirm the current threshold, acceptable asset types, guarantor treatment and any lender equity requirement in writing before calculating cash needed to close.

Financing: Item 10 states that Scooter’s Coffee does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. The official franchise FAQ says the company has relationships with third-party lenders that may discuss SBA and non-SBA options. That relationship is not approval or a financing commitment. The SBA 7(a) program page explains eligible uses and lender underwriting.

Veteran credit: a qualified honorably discharged veteran may receive a $20,000 product credit from Scooter’s Coffee Supply Chain for the first Store, usable within one year after opening. It is a product credit, not a reduction of every cost category or cash paid at signing.

MULTI-STORE COMMITMENT

What changes under a Multiple Store Development Agreement?

A Multiple Store Development Agreement adds a nonrefundable $20,000 Development Fee for each Store after the first, paid when the MSD Agreement is signed. The first Store still requires its $40,000 franchise fee and $20,000 opening-support fee. For each later Store, the $20,000 Development Fee is credited against the then-current franchise fee when that Store’s agreement is signed.

How the Development Fee credit works

Disclosed example: a five-Store commitment produces an $80,000 Development Fee at MSD Agreement signing because the first Store is excluded from the calculation: four additional Stores × $20,000. The credit reduces the later franchise-fee payment for each applicable Store; it does not reduce construction, equipment, inventory, working capital or other opening costs.

Single-unit and multi-unit ownership paths are described on the official development areas and ownership options page.

FDD CAVEAT

The 2026 FDD’s multi-store summary does not fully reconcile its stated Development Fee high end with the separately described typical two-to-five-Store structure and five-Store example. This article therefore does not convert the summary into a store-count ladder. Obtain a written, store-by-store fee schedule and opening calendar before signing an MSD Agreement.

EXCLUSIONS AND UNCERTAINTY

What does the official investment range not fully resolve?

The 2026 totals are official estimates, but they do not remove site, contract and operating uncertainty. The following items require separate verification for the chosen format and location.

  • Land purchase: excluded from the kiosk site-and-building estimate. The FDD says a real estate purchase would make the investment significantly higher.
  • Owner salary: excluded from the $29,000 to $119,000 working-capital line.
  • Other Store formats: no separate opening-cost range is disclosed for institutional, counter-service, larger seating or other site-specific formats.
  • Second and later Stores: the FDD says later MSD Agreement Stores likely will cost more than the first because of inflation and changing economic factors.
  • Site conditions: utilities, soil, drainage, access, environmental work, traffic studies, permitting and local code can move actual costs outside the estimate.
  • Required suppliers: equipment, inventory, proprietary items, POS and other Technology Systems must come from Scooter’s Coffee Supply Chain, a Designated Supplier or an Approved Supplier where required.
  • Renewal renovation: Item 17 requires renovation if applicable, but the FDD does not provide a renewal-remodel dollar estimate.
  • Relocation: the $500 to $1,000 Relocation Fee does not include the franchisee’s full cost to move and reopen the Store.

The FTC’s Franchise Rule page identifies the 23 required disclosure Items. A buyer should compare the current FDD, governing agreement, lease, construction bids, supplier quotes and lender term sheet before determining the cash required for a specific site.

DECISION SUMMARY

What capital question should a prospective buyer resolve first?

The first decision is the Store format and site contract. For the 2026 offer, the end cap and kiosk carry different official opening-cost ranges, and the kiosk estimate excludes land purchase. The $40,000 franchise fee and $20,000 opening-support fee are paid at signing, but most capital is spent later on site work, building improvements, equipment, signs, technology, inventory and the first three months of working capital.

Official pages consistently show a $500,000 net-worth threshold but conflict between $250,000 and $200,000 for liquid capital. Neither figure proves that a buyer has enough equity, borrowing capacity or working capital to complete a specific Store. After opening, the 6% royalty, current 2% national marketing charge, $350 monthly technology charge and required purchases continue, with additional charges triggered by renewal, transfer, relocation, upgrades, training changes, late payments or defaults.