How Much Does a Schlotzsky's Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

How much does a Schlotzsky’s franchise cost in 2026?

The 2026 Schlotzsky’s Franchise Disclosure Document does not give one interchangeable startup-cost range. Item 7 separates an Endcap or Inline Restaurant, a Freestanding Restaurant, and a Non-Traditional Restaurant, and each format has its own Estimated Initial Investment.

Three separate investment ranges

Use the range for the actual Restaurant format under consideration. The published 2026 Item 7 totals are:

Non-Traditional Restaurant$668,775–$959,255
Endcap or Inline Restaurant$675,365–$1,458,170
Freestanding Restaurant$1,403,145–$2,261,500

Source: 2026 Schlotzsky’s FDD, Item 7, pp. 33–43. These are official format-specific ranges, not a local construction quote or buyer-specific budget.

Data basis

Legal franchisor
Schlotzsky’s Franchisor SPV LLC, an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of GoTo Foods LLC.
Disclosure date
Issued March 27, 2026; amended May 11, 2026.
Formats analyzed
Endcap or Inline Restaurant, Freestanding Restaurant, and Non-Traditional Restaurant.
FDD sections used
Items 5, 6, 7 and 10, plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8 and 11.
Public verification
Official Schlotzsky’s franchise information and federal franchise guidance were checked July 23, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD copy was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD Item and page citations below are intentionally unlinked.

Capital snapshot

The Initial Franchise Fee, percentage fees, Additional Funds, Liquid Capital and Net Worth are different obligations. The following figures should not be substituted for one another.

Initial Franchise Fee $35,500 Paid at signing; generally non-refundable.
Royalty Fee 6% Of Net Sales, payable weekly.
Advertising Contribution 4% Currently; may rise to 5% of Net Sales.
Additional Funds $39,000–$71,000 Three months; exact range varies by format.
Minimum Liquid Capital $300,000 Current official franchise-site qualification.
Net Worth $1,000,000 Current official franchise-site qualification.

2026 Item 7 total investment ranges by Restaurant format

The position and length of each bar show the official low and high endpoints on a common $0–$2,261,500 scale.

$0$2,261,500

Interpretation: the Freestanding Restaurant starts near the high end of the Endcap or Inline Restaurant range because ground-up construction, site work and exterior signage can be substantially larger. Source: 2026 Schlotzsky’s FDD, Item 7, pp. 33–43.

The lower endpoint should be read as a package of stated assumptions, not as a quote available to every applicant. A different building condition, landlord contribution, drive-thru plan, utility requirement or local approval process can move several line items at the same time. The upper endpoint also is not a spending ceiling. The disclosure repeatedly notes that local labor, materials, codes, market conditions and the condition of the premises can produce a higher actual outlay.

That distinction matters when a lender or equity partner asks how much must be committed. The opening estimate includes amounts paid to the franchisor, affiliates, outside vendors, contractors, landlords, government agencies, insurers and professional advisers. Only part of the total is paid at contract signing. Much of it becomes payable later as the site advances through design, permitting, construction, installation, stocking and opening. A sound cash schedule therefore needs both the full project amount and the dates on which individual vendors expect deposits, progress payments or final balances.

FORMAT DIFFERENCES

What drives the gap between the three investment ranges?

Construction and Build Out Costs are the largest disclosed source of variation, followed by the Equipment Package, Exterior Signage, Computer System and the physical assumptions behind each Restaurant format. Item 7 does not permit a prospective franchisee to combine the low value from one format with the high value from another.

Item 7 category Endcap or Inline Freestanding Non-Traditional
Construction and Build Out Costs $305,300–$876,200 $963,600–$1,431,000 $368,600–$450,500
Equipment Package $133,950–$152,600 $139,000–$181,300 $76,400–$84,400
Exterior Signage $15,300–$18,550 $85,000–$149,000 $9,800–$11,900
Computer System $23,400–$26,900 $20,600–$53,700 $23,400–$26,900
Additional Funds — 3 Months $39,000–$51,000 $39,000–$51,000 $39,000–$71,000

Source: 2026 Schlotzsky’s FDD, Item 7, pp. 33–43. The table is selective; the official totals also include the other disclosed categories.

The premises decision changes more than rent. A shell that needs substantial mechanical, electrical, plumbing or structural work can increase design fees, permits and contractor charges together. A drive-thru may affect civil work, paving, lighting, menu-board equipment, communications hardware and exterior branding. A shared back of house can reduce the amount of kitchen equipment and construction required, but only when the existing facilities satisfy the system’s specifications and local rules.

Landlord contributions also affect the amount of cash the franchisee must provide, but they are not guaranteed. A contribution may be paid only after work is completed, may be conditioned on lien waivers or inspections, and may not cover every improvement. The disclosure presents certain estimates net of an assumed contribution at the lower end. The lease should therefore be reviewed together with the contractor’s payment schedule so the buyer knows whether interim cash is needed before any reimbursement is received.

Equipment and technology quotes should be matched to the approved plans rather than copied from a broad range. The number of service points, drive-thru components, network devices and other required hardware can change the package. Likewise, signage depends on landlord criteria, municipal approvals, visibility standards and the number of sign faces. The useful comparison is not simply which format has the lowest published figure; it is which physical assumptions match the proposed site.

COST IMPLICATION The low Endcap or Inline Restaurant estimate assumes a 1,750-square-foot location without a drive-thru and a $72,000 tenant improvement allowance. The high estimate assumes a 2,500-square-foot endcap with a drive-thru and no tenant improvement allowance. Freestanding estimates assume a drive-thru and can include the building shell, site work, parking and lighting. Non-Traditional Restaurant estimates assume a 450-square-foot footprint, with the low end sharing an existing back of house and the high end constructing a new back of house.

How does the Cinnabon Express requirement affect cost?

Schlotzsky’s generally requires a Cinnabon Express Bakery inside the Restaurant, with limited exceptions such as certain Non-Traditional Restaurants. The 2026 Item 7 tables separately list a Cinnabon Initial Franchise Fee and Cinnabon Express Bakery investment. The Endcap or Inline table includes an $8,000 Cinnabon Initial Franchise Fee and $23,600–$40,100 for the bakery. The Freestanding table lists $0–$8,000 and $0–$40,100 because an exception may apply. The Non-Traditional table lists $8,000 and $40,100.

Three internal FDD points require written clarification

The 2026 disclosure contains cost statements that do not align perfectly. These conflicts should be resolved against the current agreements and any later amendment before a capital plan is finalized.

Cover versus Table 3 The FDD cover states a combined low of $675,365, while the Non-Traditional Restaurant table states a $668,775 low.
Cinnabon total treatment Item 7 Note 24 says the totals do not include the Cinnabon investment, but the published line-item arithmetic reconciles to the official totals only when the Cinnabon rows are included. That reconciliation is a derived calculation.
Management Training Program Fee Item 5 states a current $10,000 fee for the third and subsequent Restaurants, while Item 7 Note 19 states $7,500 and the Item 7 row allows up to $10,000.

Buyer verification: obtain a written explanation identifying which figure controls for the specific Restaurant, Cinnabon agreement and training circumstances. Sources: 2026 Schlotzsky’s FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 19–22; Item 7, pp. 33–43.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the startup money paid?

The startup capital is paid in stages rather than as one check. The Franchise Fee is due at signing, while premises, construction, equipment, signage, technology, inventory, training travel and opening expenses are paid as incurred before or around opening.

Before signing or paying the franchisor The FDD states that the disclosure must be received at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or a payment is made to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC Franchise Rule provides the federal disclosure framework.
At the franchise agreements The $35,500 Initial Franchise Fee is due when the Schlotzsky’s Franchise Agreement is signed. Where a Cinnabon Express Bakery is required, its $8,000 Initial Franchise Fee is due when the separate Cinnabon franchise agreement is signed. Multi-unit operators generally prepay the Initial Franchise Fees for all committed Restaurants at signing.
During site, design and construction Rent, architect and engineer costs, permitting, deposits, construction and buildout are paid as arranged or incurred. The franchisor may require an Approved Supplier site-selection analysis estimated at $2,500–$5,000; the disclosure does not identify it as a separate line in the opening table. A second or later plan review may cost $2,500 per drawing set, and a second or later on-site construction inspection may cost $2,500.
Before opening Equipment, millwork, furniture, menu boards, signage, the Computer System, Smallwares, Opening Inventory, training travel, insurance and professional fees are generally due before opening. Under the current POS purchase program, the first software payment is $159–$456. Under the hardware-service program, the initial payment is $454–$1,184 plus a $300 activation fee. Project-management assistance for onboarding is currently estimated at $1,500–$2,000. Grand Opening Marketing requires at least $15,000, or $25,000 when the Restaurant is the first to open in a Designated Market Area, during the period from 90 days before through 90 days after opening.
Through the first three months Additional Funds are included inside the Item 7 totals, not added again. They cover pre-opening and first-three-month expenses such as employee payroll and benefits, Royalty Fees, Advertising Contributions, rent, inventory, bank charges, state taxes, license fees, deposits and prepaid expenses.

The standard signing fee may be reduced in limited circumstances. Qualifying veterans or members of the Armed Forces are offered a $20,000 fee under the disclosed VetFran program. Other reductions may be offered for certain locations, additional units, reopenings, takeovers or professional multi-unit development, but the amount is discretionary and may change. The lower amounts paid by franchisees in the prior calendar year do not replace the current stated charge for a new agreement.

State-specific timing can override the general schedule. The Maryland Addendum defers initial fees and payments owed by a franchisee until the franchisor completes its pre-opening obligations. A buyer should apply the addendum for the state governing the offer rather than assuming every payment follows the general table.

This sequence creates a practical distinction between committed capital and immediately available cash. Some amounts can remain in reserve until a defined milestone, while others may be required before a lease contingency expires or before a vendor releases equipment. Contractor retainage, deposits, reimbursement timing and lender draw procedures can also affect the amount that must be carried temporarily. Those mechanics are not resolved by the published low and high endpoints.

The first operating-period reserve is already part of the disclosed total. It should not be added a second time merely because it appears near the bottom of each table. At the same time, its stated period is limited. A buyer whose project has a long pre-opening payroll period, delayed reimbursement, seasonal opening or unusual local expense should not assume that the disclosed reserve addresses every timing risk. The relevant question is whether the stated categories and period match the actual opening plan.

EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7 The Equipment Package estimate excludes a delivery or catering vehicle. Item 7 states that a branded catering vehicle may cost about $25,000–$35,000 to purchase or $500–$700 per month to lease. Security Deposits cover utilities but do not include a lease security deposit. The Additional Funds note does not say that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included.
ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after a Schlotzsky’s Restaurant opens?

The principal continuing charges are the Royalty Fee, Advertising Contribution, Local Marketing Obligation, Mar-Tech Fee, POS System fees and transaction-dependent program charges. Percentage fees must be read using the exact FDD basis; they should not be converted into annual dollars without verified Restaurant sales.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing Cost interpretation
Royalty Fee 6% of Net Sales Weekly Cinnabon Express sales are included in Restaurant Net Sales, in addition to charges under the Cinnabon agreement.
Advertising Contribution Currently 4% of Net Sales; may increase to 5% Payment Due Date Paid to the Ad Fund.
Local Marketing Obligation Currently at least 0.5% of Net Sales Each calendar quarter A separate local-spend requirement; the franchisor may collect or spend a shortfall.
Local Advertising Group Contribution Amount set by the applicable LAG Payment Due Date Variable and not stated as a fixed FDD amount.
Mar-Tech Fee Currently $395 per month As specified Covers designated marketing and technology services; annual increases are limited by the Allowed Adjustment.
POS System License and Lease Fees $159–$456 per month under CapEx; $454–$1,184 per month under HaaS As incurred Configuration determines the amount; HaaS includes hardware lease and software license.
POS System Support Fee Currently $125–$250 per month As incurred Software and hardware support.
Ordering Support Fee Currently 3% of each pre-tax transaction processed through the online ordering system Payment Due Date Transaction-specific; the franchisor may change the fee structure.

Source: 2026 Schlotzsky’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 22–33.

Net Sales-based continuing obligations disclosed in Item 6

Bars use a 0%–6% scale. The Advertising Contribution marker shows the disclosed 5% maximum, while the filled bar shows the current 4% rate.

Interpretation: these percentages are separate obligations but are not a complete all-in fee rate. Group contributions, fixed technology fees, payment-processing fees and transaction-specific charges are not plotted. Source: 2026 Schlotzsky’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 22–23.

The percentage rows use a common sales definition, but their economic function and payment method differ. One amount is remitted to the franchisor for the continuing license and system relationship. Another is contributed to a central advertising pool. The local requirement is generally satisfied through approved spending in the market, although the franchisor may collect or spend a shortfall. These distinctions matter when invoices and bank drafts are reconciled.

Fixed monthly charges require a separate schedule because they do not move in direct proportion to sales. Vendor invoices can also contain activation, hardware, support, processing or usage components that are not captured by a single recurring label. The disclosure allows several charges to change as services or vendor costs change, subject in some cases to an adjustment limit. A current written fee sheet and sample vendor invoice can show how the components are billed in practice without converting percentage obligations into unsupported annual estimates.

Which smaller program charges can still affect monthly cash flow?

Item 6 also identifies charges that depend on payment method, customer program use, distribution volume or vendor services. Their bases differ, so they should be tracked separately rather than added into one percentage.

Credit Card Fees
Estimated at 2.5%–5% of transaction amounts, with other vendor-dependent fees possible.
Gift Card and Loyalty Program Fees
The distributor currently retains 7.75% or 12% on specified third-party retail gift cards, and the processor charges $4.50 per Restaurant per month.
Online Ordering Fee
$99 per month is currently collected inside the Mar-Tech Fee; a current 0.04% per-transaction charge and subscribed-service charges are outside it.
Supply Chain Fee
Currently $0.60–$0.90 per case purchased through certain Appointed Distributors.
FDD CAVEAT The current $66 monthly Loyalty App Fee and $99 monthly Online Ordering Fee are described as components of the $395 Mar-Tech Fee. They should not automatically be added again as separate monthly charges. Transaction fees and separately subscribed services remain additional.
CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which later events can trigger additional charges?

Transfer, renewal, relocation, remodeling, missed development deadlines, training changes, audit findings and non-compliance can create charges that are not part of the ordinary weekly or monthly fee schedule.

Transfer Fee
A Control Transfer costs 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee. A related-party or non-Control Transfer costs 10%.
Renewal Fee
Renewal requires 20% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee before the renewal Franchise Agreement is signed.
Relocation Fees
Relocation costs 10% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus $1,500 for each year added when the agreement term is extended.
Refresh and Remodel
The Restaurant must be refreshed every five years and remodeled every ten years. The current site survey and design fee is $1,000–$10,500, depending on scope.
Development Deadline Extension
The fee is $2,500 per missed Site Approval Deadline, Construction Start Deadline or Opening Deadline.
Audit
If Net Sales are understated by 2% or more, the franchisee reimburses audit costs; the FDD estimates typical audit costs at $1,000–$4,000.
Additional Training and Support
Subsequent trainees currently cost $250 per trainee per day. On-site training or consulting currently costs $500 per representative or trainer per day, plus travel and living expenses.
Late Payment and Non-Compliance
Past-due amounts accrue the lesser of 1.5% per month or the maximum legal rate. Late reporting is currently $50 per week; Non-compliance Fees currently range from $25 to $500 per violation and may repeat while a violation continues.

Source: 2026 Schlotzsky’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 24–33.

Several of these charges are tied to the then-current fee rather than the amount in effect when the first agreement is signed. Their future dollar value therefore cannot be fixed from the present disclosure alone. The same is true for costs described as reasonable, actual, vendor-set or subject to an adjustment mechanism. The contract states the trigger and calculation method, but the invoice may arise years later under a different schedule.

Event-driven obligations also can overlap with third-party costs. A relocation may involve a new lease, design work, construction and equipment in addition to the franchisor charge. A transfer may require technology reconfiguration, training, repairs or modernization before approval. A required refresh or remodel can involve both a survey or design charge and the much larger cost of performing the work. The trigger list is therefore a map of contractual charges, not a complete estimate of every expense caused by the event.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How do Liquid Capital, Net Worth and financing differ from Item 7?

The official franchise page currently states $300,000 Minimum Liquid Capital and $1,000,000 Net Worth. Neither figure is the Estimated Initial Investment. Liquid Capital is a liquidity qualification, while Net Worth includes assets less liabilities and is not the same as cash available for construction and opening.

The official Schlotzsky’s franchise page also displays a rounded $1.4 million–$2.3 million Estimated Initial Investment. That rounded range aligns with the 2026 Freestanding Restaurant endpoints, not the separate Endcap or Inline and Non-Traditional Restaurant ranges. A buyer considering another format should use the applicable Item 7 table.

Item 10 states that Schlotzsky’s does not offer financing for trade fixtures, Opening Inventory or any other purpose. It may refer applicants to unaffiliated leasing or financing companies, does not receive lender fees or benefits, and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. The disclosure also states that the brand participates in the current SBA directory used by lenders. Placement is an eligibility resource, not an endorsement or approval, and government-backed small-business lending information confirms that approval remains subject to lender underwriting and program rules.

A liquidity threshold asks whether readily available resources exist; it does not state how much equity a particular lender will require. A balance-sheet threshold asks about assets and liabilities; it does not show how quickly an asset can be converted to cash or whether it is already pledged. The project estimate addresses business-opening uses, while the borrower may also need to plan for financing fees, interest during construction, timing gaps and personal obligations that are outside the disclosed table.

Loan proceeds may be released through a draw process rather than delivered in one amount. A lender may require invoices, inspections, lien documentation or an equity contribution before funding each stage. Because the agreement and vendor contracts establish their own due dates, a financing package should be tested against the actual payment calendar. Approval in principle is not the same as having funds available on the day a deposit or construction payment is due.

Payment timing: financing approval does not change contractual due dates. Deposits, construction draws, equipment invoices and opening obligations remain payable when the agreements and vendors require them.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be confirmed before relying on the official range?

The Item 7 range is a disclosure estimate, not a site-specific construction budget. A prospective franchisee should reconcile the exact format, site assumptions, Cinnabon requirement, vendor configuration and current fee schedule before treating the range as sufficient capital.

Confirm the Restaurant format and prototype assumptions. Record square footage, drive-thru status, shared or newly constructed back of house, building-shell responsibility and required site work.
Resolve the Cinnabon arithmetic in writing. Identify whether the separate Cinnabon agreement and bakery investment are included in the quoted project total for the selected Restaurant.
Obtain the current training fee. Reconcile the $10,000 Item 5 amount with the $7,500 Item 7 footnote for a third or subsequent Restaurant.
Verify landlord contributions and deposits. Item 7’s low traditional-format assumptions use a $72,000 tenant improvement allowance, and the Security Deposit line excludes a lease security deposit.
Price the current Computer System configuration. Determine whether the POS System will use CapEx or HaaS and identify every separate support, transaction, activation and administration charge.
Confirm what Additional Funds do not cover. The FDD includes three months of business expenses but does not expressly include owner compensation, personal living expenses or every possible local overrun.

Verification should use the most recent disclosure, any applicable state addendum, the final agreements and current vendor documentation. A change in prototype, supplier, technology bundle or construction standard can affect a quote even when the published range has not yet been replaced. Written answers are especially important where the disclosure uses discretion, permits a waiver, refers to a then-current charge or contains an internal inconsistency.

The most useful project file is a reconciliation that assigns each opening use to a responsible payee, due date, supporting quote and funding source. That file can show which amounts are fixed, which remain ranges, which depend on a site condition and which are not yet known. It also prevents a reserve already included in the total from being counted twice while keeping genuinely excluded obligations visible.

The federal consumer guide to buying a franchise explains how the opening and continuing cost disclosures fit into due diligence, while Schlotzsky’s official franchising FAQ confirms that U.S. opportunities are currently available.

A useful final funding schedule separates four kinds of amounts. Committed amounts are fixed by a signed agreement or accepted vendor order. Quoted amounts are supported by a current proposal but may still change through revisions or field conditions. Allowances are placeholders for work that has not been fully designed or bid. Unresolved amounts have no reliable figure yet and should remain visible rather than being forced into an arbitrary estimate. This classification makes it easier to see whether the apparent low end depends on too many unconfirmed assumptions.

The schedule should also identify who bears each overrun. A landlord contribution may reduce the ultimate project cost but not the interim cash needed to pay a contractor. A vendor lease may reduce an upfront purchase but create continuing payments. A waiver may remove one obligation without changing the rest of the site package. An approved change may affect several trades or systems at once. Recording those relationships gives the buyer a clearer view of how the published disclosure translates into the proposed premises without pretending that the franchisor has supplied a project-specific forecast.

Where a figure remains uncertain, the record should state the reason, the person responsible for resolving it and the decision that cannot proceed until it is resolved. That approach preserves uncertainty instead of hiding it inside a broad contingency.

COST SYNTHESIS

What is the practical capital takeaway?

A Schlotzsky’s buyer should start with the format-specific table shown at the beginning, not a single systemwide figure. The Initial Franchise Fee is only one part of the opening total, and the published liquidity and balance-sheet qualifications are separate screening measures rather than substitutes for a complete funding plan.

The most important variables are construction responsibility, tenant improvement allowances, drive-thru and site-work requirements, Cinnabon Express treatment, technology configuration, training circumstances and local premises costs. After opening, the 6% Royalty Fee, current 4% Advertising Contribution, Local Marketing Obligation and fixed or transaction-based technology charges continue. The unresolved cover, Cinnabon and training inconsistencies should be clarified in writing before the official range is used as the final funding plan.