How Much Does a Red Mango Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 Item 7 investment

How much does a Red Mango franchise cost?

Red Mango does not have one universal startup range. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document separates three U.S. formats: a Traditional Store at $333,500 to $581,000, a Non-Traditional Store at $198,500 to $382,500, and a RED MANGO Store Co-Branded with a Third-Party Concept at $113,500 to $250,000.

Three format-specific ranges

The official totals include the applicable Initial Franchise Fee, premises and equipment costs, the $5,000 New Store Marketing Plan Fee, pre-opening expenses, and Additional Funds for three months. The lower co-brand range assumes RED MANGO is added to an existing third-party business; it is not a substitute range for a new Traditional Store. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–19.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Red Mango FC, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 23, 2026. Formats analyzed: Traditional Store, Non-Traditional Store, and RED MANGO Store Co-Branded with a Third-Party Concept. Primary sections: Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant disclosures from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 16, 2026.

The franchisor’s current public destination is the official Red Mango U.S. franchise information page. No matching 2026 FDD copy was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references in this article are unlinked and identify the year, Item, and page. The FTC Franchise Rule explains the federal disclosure framework.

Capital snapshot

$30,000 / $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee Traditional Store / Non-Traditional or Third-Party Co-Brand; due at signing.
$10k–$20k / $5k–$10k Additional Funds Traditional / Non-Traditional and co-brand; included in Item 7 for three months.
6% Royalty Fee Percentage of Gross Revenue, paid weekly; a conditional 2026 incentive can temporarily reduce it.
3% / 1% Marketing Allocation Traditional and co-brand / Non-Traditional, based on Gross Revenue and paid weekly.
$5,000 New Store Marketing Plan Fee Due at lease signing or the required site-acquisition date, whichever occurs first.
Not disclosed Liquid capital and net worth The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum liquid capital, net worth, or non-borrowed-funds threshold.
Full cost contract

What is included in each Red Mango investment range?

The Item 7 totals combine payments to Red Mango FC, LLC with third-party costs paid to a landlord, contractors, approved suppliers, insurers, professionals, employees, and other vendors. The same category name can have a very different range by format, so the figures should stay in separate columns.

Premises, construction, and equipment

Item 7 category Traditional Store Non-Traditional Store Third-Party Co-Brand
Lease Deposits & Rent $4,000–$9,000 $4,000–$9,000 Not separately listed
Design and Construction Fee $0–$3,000 $0–$3,000 $0–$3,000
Architect; Engineer; Drawings $8,000–$15,000 $8,000–$15,000 $4,000–$9,000
Permits $1,500–$3,000 $1,500–$3,000 $500–$3,000
Interior Improvements and contractor work $144,000–$234,000 $70,000–$150,000 $22,500–$75,000
Signage Package $7,500–$12,000 $2,500–$6,000 $2,500–$6,000
Smallwares, furniture, graphics, fixtures, menu boards, equipment $53,000–$110,000 $38,000–$65,000 $15,000–$25,000
POS System $4,500–$8,000 $4,500–$8,000 $0–$8,000
Soft Serve Machines $55,500–$111,000 $37,000–$74,000 $37,000–$74,000

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–16. “Not separately listed” does not mean the obligation is necessarily zero; the co-brand table assumes RED MANGO is added to an existing third-party concept.

The FDD says typical rent usually ranges from $2.00 to $8.00 per square foot per month, commonly with base rent plus triple-net charges and potentially percentage rent. Deposits vary with lease terms, utility policies, and credit. The Interior Improvements estimates include a general contractor fee generally equal to 10% to 15% of construction costs. Traditional Stores are estimated for three to six Soft Serve Machines and Non-Traditional Stores for two to four, at an estimated $18,500 per machine. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16–17.

Opening payments and working capital

Item 7 category Traditional Store Non-Traditional Store Third-Party Co-Brand
Initial Franchise Fee $30,000 $15,000 $15,000
Inventory; Uniforms $4,500–$6,000 $3,500–$6,000 $2,500–$5,000
Pre-opening training expenses $3,000–$6,500 $1,500–$5,000 $1,500–$3,500
New Store Marketing Plan Fee $5,000 $5,000 $5,000
Insurance initial deposit $1,000–$2,500 $1,000–$2,500 $1,000–$2,500
Professional Fees $2,000–$6,000 $2,000–$6,000 $2,000–$6,000
Additional Funds for three months $10,000–$20,000 $5,000–$10,000 $5,000–$10,000
Total Estimated Initial Investment $333,500–$581,000 $198,500–$382,500 $113,500–$250,000

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–16. The official totals reconcile to the listed categories for each format.

Cost implication

The Traditional Store assumes approximately 800 to 1,300 square feet, while a Non-Traditional Store generally uses 350 to 750 square feet. The co-brand table assumes an existing third-party concept. Those assumptions explain why leasehold improvements and equipment cannot be transferred from one format’s range to another. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1 and 7, pp. 3 and 16–17.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

The full Estimated Initial Investment is not paid to Red Mango FC, LLC in one lump sum. Cash is committed in stages—from agreement signing through the first three months of operation—and most construction and equipment payments go to third parties.

1

At agreement signing: pay the Initial Franchise Fee—$30,000 for a Traditional Store or $15,000 for a Non-Traditional Store or Third-Party Co-Brand. The Design and Construction Fee of up to $3,000 is also due at signing when the franchisee does not use the recommended architect. These payments are generally nonrefundable. FDD Item 5, p. 5; Item 7, pp. 13–16.

2

At the site and lease milestone: fund lease deposits and rent as required. The $5,000 New Store Marketing Plan Fee is due when the lease is signed or on the required site-acquisition date, whichever comes first. Unspent portions are refundable if the Store does not open. FDD Item 5, pp. 5–6.

3

During design and build-out: pay architects, engineers, permit authorities, contractors, and approved suppliers as costs are incurred or arranged. Signage, POS System hardware, Soft Serve Machines, furnishings, fixtures, and other equipment sit in this stage. FDD Item 7, pp. 13–16.

4

Before opening: fund Inventory and Uniforms, pre-opening training travel and living expenses, the insurance deposit, Professional Fees, and other opening obligations. The first two trainees have no tuition charge, but their transportation, lodging, dining, wages, and related expenses remain the franchisee’s responsibility. FDD Items 6, 7, and 11, pp. 8, 13–18, and 28–30.

5

During the first three months: use the Additional Funds already included in Item 7. The disclosed amount is $10,000 to $20,000 for a Traditional Store and $5,000 to $10,000 for the other formats. It is not an extra amount to add again to the official total. FDD Item 7, pp. 13–18.

6

After opening: begin weekly Royalty Fee and Marketing Allocation payments, plus monthly or on-demand technology, POS System, loyalty, supplier, promotional, and other operating charges. FDD Item 6, pp. 6–12.

Payment timing

Item 11 says a Red Mango Store usually opens 8 to 12 months after the Franchise Agreement is signed or consideration is paid, and the agreed Opening Date is no later than 180 days after site selection. A lender or buyer budget should therefore map deposits, build-out draws, equipment orders, and working capital to the actual development schedule rather than treating the Item 7 total as same-day cash. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 30–31.

Fees after opening

Which Red Mango fees continue after the Store opens?

The primary continuing fees are the Royalty Fee, Marketing Allocation, POS System Maintenance Fee, Technology Fee, and Loyalty/Online Ordering Fee. Required purchases, promotions, and future technology changes can add variable costs that are not reducible to one fixed monthly amount.

Continuing obligation Amount or basis Timing Scope
Royalty Fee 6% of Gross Revenue Weekly All Store formats
Marketing Allocation 3% of Gross Revenue Weekly Traditional Store and Third-Party Co-Brand
Marketing Allocation 1% of Gross Revenue Weekly Non-Traditional Store
POS System Maintenance Fee Approximately $250 per month On demand Paid under the maintenance agreement
Technology Fee Capped at the greater of $150 per Accounting Period or $1,800 per calendar year On demand Cap may rise by up to 10% over the prior year’s cap
Loyalty/Online Ordering Fee $70 per month, plus 4.5% per transaction and $0.50 per delivery dispatch order On demand Current Lunchbox platform; vendor charges may change
Customer Feedback Tool Approximately $50 per month After billing Only if implemented, after 30 days’ notice
RED MANGO goods and services Actual invoiced cost On delivery Proprietary Products and other required purchases

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–10. Percentage fees use the FDD definition of Gross Revenue; no annual dollar conversion is implied.

Gross Revenue includes revenue from products and services connected with the Franchised Business and other related income, including catering income and business-interruption insurance proceeds, less sales taxes collected for remittance and authorized discounts. If a state or locality taxes payments to the franchisor other than through a net-income tax, the franchisee must also pay that tax. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, p. 12.

For current marketing practice, the FDD says Traditional Stores and Third-Party Co-Brands contribute 3% of Gross Revenue to the Brand Development Fund. Non-Traditional Stores contribute 1%. Red Mango also recommends, but does not currently require, an additional 1% of Gross Revenue for local marketing. A future Advertising Cooperative may require contributions that can exceed the local marketing amount, with cooperative payments credited against that requirement. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 11, pp. 7 and 25–27.

FDD caveat

For qualifying Franchise Agreements signed in 2026, the Early Franchise Incentive Program reduces the Royalty Fee to 3% for the first 12 accounting periods if the Store opens within one year of signing. This is a conditional, time-limited reduction—not a change to the standard 6% Royalty Fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 6.

Required systems and supplier exposure

Item 8 estimates that approximately 90% of establishment expenditures and approximately 30% to 35% of annual operating expenses are subject to supplier approval, designated sourcing, or Red Mango standards. Required categories include Soft Serve Machines, Proprietary Products, POS System technology, payment processing, online ordering, uniforms, packaging, signage, fixtures, and other goods or services specified by the System. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 19–22.

Related Promotional Costs Actual participation cost, payable on demand. The FDD states there is no limit on the number or related costs of required loyalty programs, prize promotions, meal deals, test marketing programs, or similar campaigns.
Future POS System and technology changes Item 11 states that updates or replacements may be required and that there is no contractual limit on the frequency or cost of POS System, software, hardware, and other technology obligations.
Security system lease Item 7 excludes a security system from Additional Funds and estimates a lease cost of $100 to $150 per month.
Multi-unit commitment

How does a Store Development Agreement change the upfront cost?

A Store Development Agreement changes the Initial Franchise Fee payment structure, but it does not make the construction and operating cost of later Stores disappear. The development fee is paid in a lump sum when the Store Development Agreement is signed and is credited toward Initial Franchise Fees as individual Franchise Agreements are executed.

Two-Store development figures disclosed in Item 7

$348,500–$596,000 Traditional development grand total, including a $45,000 Development Fee.
$206,000–$390,000 Non-Traditional development grand total, including a $22,500 Development Fee.
$121,000–$257,500 Third-Party Co-Brand development grand total, including a $22,500 Development Fee.

Critical interpretation: Item 7 builds each grand total from the first Store’s investment excluding its Initial Franchise Fee, plus the full Development Fee. It is not a complete build-out budget for two finished Stores. Item 7 separately says each later Store is expected to require the same per-Store investment shown in the single-unit tables, subject to inflation. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–19.

For a two-Store commitment, the Development Fee equals $30,000 plus $15,000 for Traditional Stores, or $15,000 plus $7,500 for Non-Traditional Stores and Third-Party Co-Brands. Once that fee is fully paid, no additional Initial Franchise Fee is due when the corresponding Franchise Agreement is signed, but the New Store Marketing Plan Fee and applicable Design and Construction Fee remain due for each Store. A developer that paid for Non-Traditional rights and later requests a Traditional Store must pay the difference between the credited Non-Traditional Initial Franchise Fee and the then-current Traditional Store Initial Franchise Fee. The Development Fee is fully earned and nonrefundable. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 6.

Source conflict

The cover, Item 5, and the Item 7 development tables describe a minimum two-Store commitment. Item 1 and the Early Franchise Incentive Program contain passages referring to a minimum of three Stores. Because the 2026 FDD is internally inconsistent, a prospective developer should verify the minimum commitment, Development Schedule, and fee credits in the actual Store Development Agreement before payment. Relevant pages: FDD cover; Items 1, 5, and 7, pp. 3, 6, and 18–19.

Discounts and financing

Are there fee discounts or franchisor financing?

Red Mango FC, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. Item 7 says equipment financing may be available for all or part of equipment purchases, but it does not identify a provider or promise approval. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 24; Item 7, p. 17.

The standard Initial Franchise Fee may be reduced by 50% for the first Store of a qualifying military veteran or first responder. The qualifying participant must hold at least 51% ownership in a franchisee entity and provide required documentation before signing. The reduction applies to the Initial Franchise Fee, not construction, equipment, rent, inventory, or other Item 7 categories. The FDD also permits a discount in certain co-brand or management-leveraged circumstances but does not publish a fixed amount or eligibility formula. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5.

The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum liquid capital, net worth, or non-borrowed-funds amount. It does require each person with a direct or indirect beneficial ownership interest to sign the Guaranty and Personal Undertaking, creating a Personal Guarantee obligation even though a public capital threshold is absent. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 36–37.

Because the franchisor does not finance the purchase, a buyer comparing outside funding can use the SBA loan-program overview and the SBA startup-cost framework as general planning resources. Those government resources are not Red Mango financing commitments, lender approvals, or substitutes for the FDD.

Conditional obligations

Which later fees can be triggered by renewal, transfer, default, or special events?

Item 6 includes a large group of event-triggered charges. They are not part of the standard weekly operating fee load, but they can become material when ownership changes, a contract is renewed, an audit finds an underpayment, a Store is out of compliance, or the franchisor provides extra services.

Renewal and modernization Franchise Agreement Renewal Fee: 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee for the applicable Store format, due before renewal. Item 17 also requires renovation to then-current new-Store standards, with no fixed remodel amount disclosed. Store Development Agreement renewal: $15,000 per Store scheduled for the renewal term.
Transfer and assignment Under the Franchise Agreement, the fee is $1,500 for transfer from an individual to a business entity; $2,500 for specified minority or intra-owner transfers; or $10,000 for a Traditional Store and $5,000 for a Non-Traditional Store, plus related expenses, for a controlling or asset transfer. Under the Store Development Agreement, comparable convenience and minority transfers are $1,500 and $2,500, a controlling transfer is $15,000 plus related expenses, and assignment of a right to enter a Franchise Agreement to an affiliate is $2,500.
Additional training and opening help $1,500 per additional trainee. Additional Store opening assistance is $1,500 per assigned person per day, plus travel, lodging, and dining. On-site training cancellation is currently stated in Item 11 as $250 per person, subject to variation.
Supplier approval and audit Supplier Approval Fee: the greater of $1,000 or actual testing and inspection costs, plus specified reimbursements. If an audit finds a Gross Revenue underpayment of 3% or more, the franchisee pays the underpayment and audit costs.
Late, failed, or overdue payment Interest may be charged at the lesser of 1.5% per month or the highest legal rate. Late Charges are 18% per year or the highest lawful amount, calculated weekly. An NSF charge is $50, increasing to $100 for a second or later NSF within a rolling 12 months, plus reimbursement costs.
Administrative and compliance charges Administrative Fee: $250 per enforcement effort and $250 per week while unresolved. Days and Hours of Operation Fee: $150 per day. Default Fee: $1,500 plus reinspection and enforcement costs, payable within three days of demand.
Special transactions and documents Lost Manual replacement: $250. Private or public securities offering review: the greater of $5,000 or the franchisor’s costs and expenses. An Extended Term Fee is calculated from the then-current Initial Franchise Fee and the additional days purchased.
Reimbursement, enforcement, management, and termination exposure The franchisee must reimburse actual insurance or other payments Red Mango makes on its behalf. Actual costs and attorneys’ fees can be charged for enforcement, termination, and indemnification. Step-In Rights can cost up to 10% of Gross Revenues plus personnel expenses. Holdover is 150% of current Royalty Fees. Liquidated Damages use the average weekly Royalty Fee for the prior 26 weeks multiplied by remaining weeks in the term, discounted to present value.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–12, and Item 17, pp. 38–46. Several amounts depend on then-current fees, actual expenses, or contract events and therefore cannot be converted into one fixed forecast.

Amounts the range does not settle

What should be verified beyond the official Item 7 total?

Item 7 is the franchisor’s disclosed estimate, not a guarantee that the high end will cover every circumstance. The most important unresolved amounts are site-specific construction, owner and management compensation, financing costs, future technology changes, and later remodel obligations.

Confirm the exact Store format and premises assumption. Traditional, Non-Traditional, and Third-Party Co-Brand ranges are not interchangeable. Obtain the approved site plan, lease economics, landlord contribution, utility deposits, and contractor scope before relying on one column.
Separate Additional Funds from excluded compensation and financing costs. For the Traditional and Non-Traditional tables, Additional Funds cover three months and include employee salaries, but exclude managerial salaries, payment to the owner, financing payments, interest, related finance charges, pre-opening food waste, and pre-opening training expenses. The co-brand table lists $5,000 to $10,000 of Additional Funds even though Note 8 says the co-brand assumption requires no additional working capital; verify that inconsistency directly.
Price air conditioning, security, and special equipment separately where applicable. The furniture, fixtures, and equipment estimate excludes air conditioning equipment. A security system lease is excluded, and required menu or service changes can require additional equipment that the FDD says may be significant.
Obtain current approved-supplier quotes. Soft Serve Machines, POS System hardware, signage, Proprietary Products, technology, fixtures, and other required purchases can be restricted to approved or designated sources.
Verify licenses, permits, and insurance for the actual jurisdiction. The Item 7 allowances are ranges, while local requirements and insurance premiums depend on the site, operator, coverage, and law. The SBA licenses and permits guide and SBA business insurance guide provide general government starting points.
Confirm the development commitment language. Resolve the FDD’s two-Store versus three-Store inconsistency in the final Store Development Agreement and verify the Development Fee, Development Schedule, site deadlines, and credit mechanics.
Capital decision

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The verified 2026 cost answer is format-dependent: $333,500 to $581,000 for a Traditional Store, $198,500 to $382,500 for a Non-Traditional Store, and $113,500 to $250,000 for a Third-Party Co-Brand. The main range drivers are Interior Improvements, Soft Serve Machines, the broader equipment package, premises condition, and format assumptions.

The Initial Franchise Fee is only one component. Additional Funds are already inside Item 7, the FDD does not disclose a liquid capital or net worth minimum, and the standard continuing contract includes a 6% Royalty Fee plus format-specific Marketing Allocation and technology-related charges. The largest unresolved diligence issue is the site-and-format budget—including the FDD’s inconsistent minimum Store Development Agreement commitment—not an invented midpoint or “typical” cost.