How much does a RaceWay franchise cost?
RaceWay's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $197,500 to $585,000 to begin operating one standard RaceWay Business. The disclosed model is a roughly 500-to-6,000-square-foot motor fuel station and convenience store premises leased from RaceTrac, Inc.; the FDD gives one Item 7 range rather than separate investment tables for existing and brand-new locations.
The 2026 Item 7 total includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, three months of Rent, a $25,000-$100,000 Security Deposit, store improvements and equipment, Opening Inventory and Supplies, launch expenses, and $20,000-$40,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. Source: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Item 7, pages 10-11.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: RW Venture Holdings, Inc. FDD issuance date: April 27, 2026. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information was checked July 17, 2026 against the official RaceWay U.S. franchise opportunities page and the official franchise FAQ. A matching 2026 FDD was not located on the official franchise-controlled website, so FDD references in this article are unlinked and identify the year, Item and page.
Key cost figures
The official FAQ matches the FDD's $197,500-$585,000 total, but its condensed cost buckets do not map one-for-one to the 2026 Item 7 table. Use the current FDD line items for legal budgeting, and use the FAQ only for the franchisor's current financial-qualification language and general format description.
What is included in the $197,500-$585,000 range?
The official range combines signing payments, premises costs, store assets, opening stock, launch expenses and a three-month working-capital allowance. The Item 7 table does not identify a midpoint or "typical" amount, and its low and high columns should not be averaged into a substitute budget.
Agreement and premises costs
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000 | Upon signing Franchise Agreement | RW Venture Holdings, Inc. |
| Rent for first three months | $21,000-$120,000 | First day of each month | RaceTrac, Inc. |
| Security Deposit | $25,000-$100,000 | Upon signing Lease | RaceTrac, Inc. |
| Leasehold Improvements | $5,000-$40,000 | As incurred | Approved Suppliers |
| Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment | $30,000-$125,000 | As incurred | Approved Suppliers |
| Signage | $2,500-$5,000 | As incurred | Approved Suppliers |
Inventory, launch and working capital
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Opening Inventory and Supplies | $50,000-$100,000 | As incurred | Approved Suppliers |
| Training Expenses | $1,500-$5,000 | As incurred | RW Venture Holdings, Inc. |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $2,500-$5,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $15,000-$20,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Additional Funds - three months | $20,000-$40,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $197,500-$585,000 | Official Item 7 total | |
Source: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Item 7, pages 10-11. Except for the Security Deposit to the extent refundable under the Lease, the listed expenditures are non-refundable.
The largest disclosed category ceilings are Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment and the first three months of Rent.
Source: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Item 7, page 10. Bars plot official low-to-high ranges; no midpoint or expected value is implied.
The $20,000-$40,000 Additional Funds line is already inside the Item 7 total. It covers initial expenses for the first three months beyond categories separately listed, includes payroll, excludes any owner's draw or salary, and may not be enough for a longer operating period. Source: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Item 7, page 11.
When does a RaceWay franchisee pay the money?
The earliest fixed payments occur when the Franchise Agreement and Lease are signed. Most remaining Item 7 costs arise as the store is equipped, stocked and prepared to open, while Rent and Additional Funds continue through the first three months.
Sign the Franchise Agreement
Pay the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee to RW Venture Holdings, Inc. The fee is non-refundable. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pages 5 and 10.
Sign the Lease with RaceTrac, Inc.
Pay the $25,000-$100,000 Security Deposit. Its amount depends on store size and market factors. RaceTrac, Inc. may also require a surety bond, but the FDD does not state a dollar amount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, page 5.
Equip and stock the premises
Pay Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment, Signage, Opening Inventory and Supplies, Training Expenses, Grand Opening Advertising and Miscellaneous Opening Costs as incurred. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, page 10.
Fund opening and the first three months
Budget $21,000-$120,000 for the first three months of Rent and $20,000-$40,000 for Additional Funds. Monthly Item 6 fees begin according to the Franchise Agreement, Lease and equipment arrangements.
The FTC states that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC's franchise-buying guide explains how to use that review period, while the FTC Franchise Rule page provides the federal disclosure framework.
Which RaceWay fees continue after opening?
The main recurring obligations are a fixed Royalty Fee, Technology Fee, Rent, payment-card charges and, when leased rather than purchased, B2C Equipment Lease payments. A Marketing and Advertising Fee is not currently charged, but the 2026 FDD permits a future monthly charge of up to $1,000.
| Recurring obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | 2026 disclosure context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | $1,000/month | On or before first day of each month | May be reduced or eliminated temporarily at the franchisor's discretion in specified circumstances. |
| Marketing and Advertising Fee | Currently $0; cap $1,000/month | First day of each month if instituted | Not currently charged; franchisor reserves the right to begin charging it. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $800/month; cap $2,500 | On or before first day of each month | Covers required technology services and may increase with written notice. |
| B2C Equipment Lease | Currently $781/month for 2 machines; cap $1,000 | On or before first day of each month | Current two-machine schedule is over 63 months; payable to RaceTrac, Inc. |
| Debit/Credit/Payment Card Transaction Fees | Currently 1.5%-4% of sales amount, by card type | Monthly | The average can change with card-company charges; the FDD uses merchandise sales divided by total Gross Sales to determine the allocated portion. |
| Rent | $7,000-$40,000/month | First day of Lease term and each calendar month | Consists of base rent and percentage rent under the Lease. |
Source: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Item 6, pages 6-9. Percentage-based card fees are shown only on the disclosed basis; no annual dollar estimate is implied.
Dark markers show contractual maximums where the FDD states a cap. Maximums are not forecasts.
Source: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Item 6, page 6. Scale excludes Rent and variable payment-card charges so the non-rent monthly fees remain legible.
Why the cost contract looks different from a ground-up gas-station build
RaceTrac, Inc. owns the site, building and gasoline facility and leases the Business Premises to the franchisee. The official RaceWay business-model page confirms this structure. Item 7 therefore focuses on the store-side opening package rather than land acquisition or construction of a new fuel facility.
Premises
RaceTrac, Inc. selects and leases the site. The franchisee pays Rent and a Security Deposit under the Lease.
Gasoline
Title remains with RaceTrac, Inc. until retail sale. Customer gasoline collections are remitted to RaceTrac, Inc.; the franchisee is responsible for gasoline losses after delivery.
Inside-store assets
The franchisee funds approved improvements, store equipment, Signage, Opening Inventory and Supplies, and launch working capital within Item 7.
Sources: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Items 6-8, pages 8-13; official RaceWay business-model information checked July 17, 2026.
Which costs depend on store format or circumstances?
The 2026 FDD provides one Item 7 range, but several obligations remain store-specific or event-specific. Final Rent, Security Deposit, equipment package, required inventory, security measures, insurance, supplier programs and accounting requirements can change the cash need within or beyond the disclosed categories.
- Existing versus brand-new location. The official FAQ requires at least $350,000 in cash or liquid funds for an existing RaceWay location and at least $425,000 for a brand-new location. Those are qualification thresholds, not separate Item 7 investment estimates.
- B2C equipment choice. Before opening, the franchisee must lease B2C equipment or purchase it. Item 6 states an approximate purchase cost of $38,540 for two machines; supplier prices may change. A lease payment and a purchase should not both be budgeted for the same equipment.
- Required suppliers and inventory mix. Item 8 requires at least 50% of total inventory purchases and separately at least 70% of nicotine purchases, measured by SKU, from the currently required supplier, Core-Mark. Certain products may have exclusive sources and supplier-set prices. Item 8 also says purchases from the franchisor or affiliates generally exceed their costs, and approved suppliers may pay rebates, commissions or other compensation to the franchisor or affiliates.
- Insurance. Item 8 requires multiple coverages at the franchisee's expense, including specified liability, assault-and-battery, automobile, fidelity/crime, theft and accident limits. The FDD does not disclose the premium amount.
- First-franchise accounting service. RW VentureHoldings, Inc. may require a first-time RaceWay franchisee to use a designated accounting provider at the franchisee's cost for at least the first 24 months. No price is disclosed.
- Security and promotional programs. Depending on market and store conditions, additional security measures may be required. Mandatory loyalty or promotional programs may also require equipment, software, supplies or other materials, with no fixed amount stated.
Sources: 2026 RaceWay FDD, Item 6, page 9, and Item 8, pages 12-14; official RaceWay franchise FAQ checked July 17, 2026.
Item 7 includes $1,500-$5,000 of Training Expenses, while Item 11 says the franchisor does not charge for initial training itself or its trainers' travel and living expenses. Franchisees pay room, board and travel for required nonvirtual ongoing training. Ask for the specific components of the Item 7 Training Expenses estimate. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, page 10, and Item 11, page 20.
How much liquid capital is required, and does RaceWay offer financing?
RaceWay's official FAQ states a minimum of $350,000 in cash or liquid funds for existing locations and $425,000 for brand-new locations. The 2026 FDD and official FAQ do not publish a separate minimum Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- $197,500-$585,000 under 2026 Item 7. This is the disclosed opening-cost range.
- Cash or liquid funds
- $350,000 for an existing location or $425,000 for a brand-new location on the official FAQ. This is a screening qualification and is not interchangeable with Item 7.
- Net Worth
- No applicant minimum was found in the 2026 FDD or the official qualification page. Net Worth is not the same as cash available to fund the store.
- Financing
- Item 10 says RW Venture Holdings, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation.
- Collateral and guarantees
- The Security Agreement gives RaceTrac, Inc. a security interest in inventory, equipment, fixtures, accounts and general intangibles. Owners and spouses must sign a Guaranty.
Third-party financing availability depends on creditworthiness, collateral and lender policy. Approval is not promised. The franchisor's current distinction between existing and new locations appears on its minimum financial qualifications page, while the official available-locations page identifies the types of opportunities currently being marketed.
Sources: official RaceWay franchise FAQ checked July 17, 2026; 2026 RaceWay FDD, Items 7 and 10, pages 11 and 16-17.
What later-event charges can increase the cost?
RaceWay's Item 6 includes charges triggered by transfer, default, audit findings, returned payments and Lease events. These amounts are not part of the standard Item 7 opening total unless an initial payment is specifically listed there.
50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, payable at transfer closing. The basis can change if the future franchise fee changes.
Up to $3,000 per audit or inspection when the disclosed noncompliance or dispute conditions apply.
$500 Service Charge for each delinquent report or payment, plus Interest at 18% per year or the maximum lawful contract rate, whichever is less.
$500 per returned ACH payment, plus bank charges or administrative fees, due within 10 days after notice.
15% of the unpaid Rent portion, plus Interest, when payment is more than 10 days late.
200% of daily Rent for each day the franchisee remains in the Premises after Lease termination, in addition to other amounts owed.
Item 6 states that 100% of the Security Deposit is retained if the franchisee terminates before the end of the term.
Indemnification varies with the claim. The franchisee must remit gasoline collections and is responsible for gasoline losses after delivery.
The FDD summaries are not fully aligned on early termination: Item 6 says 100% of the Security Deposit is retained, while Item 17's Lease summary says RaceTrac, Inc. retains a pro rata portion depending on when termination occurs. The signed Lease controls. Obtain the exact retention formula before signing. Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, page 8, and Item 17, page 32.
Renewal and deposit timing
The Franchise Agreement term follows the Lease. The Lease term is five years; a franchisee interested in renewal must notify RaceTrac, Inc. at least 180 days before expiration, and proposed renewal terms must be accepted within 10 days after notice. The FDD does not list a separate Renewal Fee, but the renewal terms can change future Rent and other obligations. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 17, pages 27 and 32.
If the Lease ends without an early-termination or default forfeiture and all conditions are met, the remaining Security Deposit is returned no sooner than 180 days after the franchisee vacates, confirms payment of specified tax and lottery obligations, and surrenders the Premises as required. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, page 5.
What should be confirmed before setting a RaceWay budget?
The 2026 FDD supports a broad official range, but the decisive cash figure depends on the specific premises, Lease, equipment choice and supplier obligations. Before relying on the low end, confirm the following directly in the current documents and store package.
- Whether the opportunity is an existing location or brand-new location, and which official liquid-fund threshold applies.
- The proposed monthly Rent, percentage-rent basis, Security Deposit and any surety-bond requirement for the specific Business Premises.
- The approved Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment package, including whether B2C equipment will be purchased or leased.
- The current Technology Fee, whether a Marketing and Advertising Fee has been instituted, and all required supplier or promotional-program charges.
- Insurance premiums, designated accounting-service pricing, licenses, permits and security measures that Item 7 does not separately price.
- The signed Lease language governing early termination, Security Deposit retention, renewal terms and transfer conditions.
Decision summary: the verified 2026 opening range is $197,500-$585,000, but it is not the same as RaceWay's current liquid-fund qualification of $350,000 for an existing location or $425,000 for a brand-new location. The largest disclosed cost swings are Rent, Security Deposit, Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment, and Opening Inventory and Supplies. Continuing costs include monthly Rent, Royalty Fee, Technology Fee, equipment payments when leased, and variable card-processing charges. The most important unresolved figure is the location-specific Lease and store package.