How much does a PuroClean franchise cost?
A new PuroClean franchise in a territory of up to 100,000 people has an estimated initial investment of $108,503 to $152,618 when the vehicle and Equipment and Supplies Package are financed, or $233,503 to $277,118 when both are purchased. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document separates that new-unit range from a Conversion Franchise and from an additional unit opened by an existing PuroClean franchisee.
The conversion range is $56,298 to $152,518 with financing and $56,298 to $277,018 with purchase options. An additional franchise under the Multi-Unit Program is estimated at $61,530 to $100,420 with finance options or $185,030 to $211,920 with purchase/no-finance options. These are separate Item 7 cost contracts and should not be blended into one “typical” budget.
Separate new-franchise ranges in the 2026 FDD. The first assumes financing for the required vehicle and Equipment and Supplies Package; the second assumes purchase. Both totals include $20,000 to $35,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. Source: 2026 PuroSystems, LLC FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–17.
Data basis: PuroSystems, LLC; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 20, 2026; new, conversion, and existing-franchisee additional-unit formats; Items 5, 6, 7, and 10, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 11, and 17. Information checked July 21, 2026.
No matching public 2026 FDD file was verified on a franchise-controlled domain during the July 21, 2026 source check. FDD citations in this article are therefore unlinked. Separate website claims are linked to the official PuroClean investment page.
Capital snapshot
The key figures separate the opening fee, initial operating reserve, financial screening thresholds, and post-opening percentage obligations. They should not be added together as one capital requirement.
Financing caveat: the official website foregrounds the $233,000–$277,000 purchase scenario. The disclosure also includes the lower financed new-unit range, but financing does not establish the cash a buyer personally needs because down payments, security deposits, credit terms, and end-of-term obligations vary.
Which PuroClean investment range applies to the buyer?
The applicable range depends on whether the buyer is opening a new business, converting an existing restoration business, or adding another PuroClean unit as an existing franchisee. The 2026 FDD then splits each format by finance versus purchase assumptions.
Solid teal bars show finance-option ranges. Light-teal double-border bars show purchase or no-finance ranges. All values are exact FDD totals.
Interpretation: asset ownership and financing assumptions create more variation than the franchise fee alone. Source: 2026 PuroSystems, LLC FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–22. No derived midpoint or average is used.
| Format | Initial Franchise Fee | Cost assumption that changes the range | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| New franchise | $59,000 | Finance or purchase one required vehicle and the initial Equipment and Supplies Package. | Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 7, pp. 14–17 |
| Conversion Franchise | $29,500–$59,000 | Existing compliant vehicles, equipment, office systems, and premises can reduce several Item 7 lines to $0. | Item 5, p. 7; Item 7, pp. 18–21 |
| Additional franchise | $25,000 | For an existing PuroClean franchisee; the franchisor may allow existing equipment or other assets to serve the additional unit. | Item 5, p. 7; Item 7, pp. 21–22 |
The Computer System is also format-dependent. It is provided at no stated cost to a new franchisee as of the April 20, 2026 issuance date, but it is not included when the opening fee is discounted for a Conversion Franchise, transfer, or Multi-Unit Program unit. In those cases it must be purchased separately, and the disclosure does not state one fixed purchase amount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 31–32.
Why is the Conversion Franchise range unusually wide?
PuroSystems audits the existing business’s vehicles, equipment, furniture, technology, and other assets against current standards. The official business integration page describes the conversion route; the binding cost mechanics are in the 2026 FDD.
Conditional Conversion Royalty Fee discounts also change the first four years. If the conversion business maintains at least $500,000 in yearly Gross Receipts, maintains the required Prior Gross Receipts level, and satisfies the compliance and annual-record conditions, the Mitigation Services discount is 50%, 40%, 30%, and then 0% during months 1–12, 13–24, 25–36, and 37–48, respectively, up to Baseline Gross Receipts. The Reconstruction Services discount is 100%, 90%, 80%, and 70% over those same periods.
Conversion equipment can continue only until the earlier of five years after manufacture or three years after the Franchise Agreement. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–12; Item 7, pp. 18–21; Item 8, p. 25.
What does the new-franchise investment include?
The largest fixed commitments are the $59,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the required vehicle, and the Equipment and Supplies Package. Item 7 also includes insurance, training travel and certifications, software, communications, office setup, licensing, opening promotion, security deposits, and Additional Funds for the initial three-month operating period.
Core opening commitments
Eight categories account for the main contractual, asset, training, technology, and initial operating commitments in the 2026 new-franchise table. Finance-option figures generally represent only the first three months of payments, not the full asset purchase price.
| Item 7 category | 2026 amount | When paid | Important scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $59,000 | Upon signing | Paid to PuroSystems, LLC; fully earned and nonrefundable. |
| Vehicle | $7,000–$14,000 financed $70,000 purchase |
Financed payments during first 3 months; purchase 30 days before opening | Must be obtained from a designated vehicle supplier. |
| Equipment and Supplies Package | $5,000–$6,500 financed $75,000 purchase |
Financed payments during first 3 months; purchase 30 days before opening | Purchase amount excludes freight and sales tax; down payment may apply; unapproved pre-owned equipment is prohibited. |
| Insurance Premium | $2,500–$5,000 | 15–30 days before opening | Workers’ Compensation Insurance is not included; the full annual premium or a down payment may be required initially. |
| Training Expenses | $6,000 | As required | Includes stated certifications/testing estimates, travel, lodging, food, and related expenses. |
| Mentoring Program | $2,500–$4,500 | As required | Separate from the Initial Franchise Fee. |
| DASH Software | $3,000 | During first 3 months | Includes setup and initial monthly licensing estimate. |
| Additional Funds | $20,000–$35,000 | As needed during first 3 months | Supports operating expenses such as payroll and utilities to the extent those expenses are not otherwise covered. |
Source: 2026 PuroSystems, LLC FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–17.
Other disclosed new-unit setup amounts
Smaller Item 7 lines cover the office, communications, uniforms, opening promotion, licenses, devices, deposits, and claims-estimating software. Several amounts can be $0 depending on the premises and services already available.
Sales tax and other taxes are not calculated in the FDD totals. The $75,000 Equipment and Supplies Package purchase amount excludes freight and sales tax; Workers’ Compensation Insurance and equipment for future services not yet offered are also excluded. Owner compensation is not identified as a separate Additional Funds component, so it should not be assumed to be covered.
When is the money paid?
The first major payment is normally the Initial Franchise Fee at signing, followed by asset, insurance, technology, and training payments before opening and throughout the first three months. Royalty and Marketing Fees begin on the recurring schedule stated in Item 6.
Reservation or Franchise Agreement. A buyer using a Development Plan Agreement pays a nonrefundable $25,000 at reservation; it is credited to the $59,000 Initial Franchise Fee, with the remaining $34,000 due at Franchise Agreement signing. Without that reservation structure, the full $59,000 is due at signing.
Thirty days before opening. Purchase payments for the vehicle and Equipment and Supplies Package are due, along with the laser printer and camera. Financed arrangements instead create deposits and payment schedules based on credit.
Fifteen to thirty days before opening. Insurance, office setup where required, and the Item 7 Insurance Industry Claims Estimating Software payment become due. The table lists $1,848 annually, but the new-unit footnote describes approximately $125 monthly, so the current invoice basis should be confirmed.
Training and opening phase. Travel, lodging, meals, certification expenses, mentoring, opening promotion, licenses, deposits, and required supplier purchases are paid as incurred. The stated opening period is generally 30 to 120 days after signing; conversion businesses must open within 60 days.
First three months and monthly thereafter. Item 7 Additional Funds support the initial three-month phase. Item 6 requires the Royalty Fee and Marketing Fee by the eighth day of each month for the preceding month’s Gross Receipts.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 6–7 and 14–22; Item 6, pp. 7–13; Item 11, pp. 29–30. The FTC also explains the federal 14-calendar-day disclosure period before signing or payment.
Which fees continue after PuroClean opens?
The principal continuing charges are the Royalty Fee, Marketing Fee, local advertising requirement, designated-product purchase minimum, and required software costs. Item 6 defines Gross Receipts broadly as revenue and income connected to operating the business or using the Proprietary Marks, excluding taxes collected for a government. Mitigation Services generally cover drying, remediation, mitigation, and cleaning; Reconstruction Services cover casualty-related repair work and exclude unrelated remodeling.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | 2026 FDD detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mitigation Services Royalty Fee | 10% down to 3% | 8th day monthly | Tiered on cumulative Mitigation Services Gross Receipts for the current calendar year; resets to 10% each January 1. |
| Reconstruction Services Royalty Fee | 3% | 8th day monthly | Applied to Reconstruction Services Gross Receipts without deduction for subcontractor work. |
| Minimum Royalty Fee | $400–$2,500 monthly in years 1–5 | Monthly | The combined actual royalty is compared with the applicable minimum; later years use prior-year minimum plus CPI. |
| Marketing Fee | 2% of Gross Receipts | Same day as Royalty Fee | 2026 annual cap is $23,500, applied separately to each unit under the Multi-Unit Program. |
| Local Advertising | 2% of Gross Receipts | As agreed / documented | Separate from the Marketing Fee; wages and referral fees do not count toward the requirement. |
| Minimum equipment and supply purchases | 2% of Gross Receipts | As incurred annually | Applies during the first 18 months and each full calendar year afterward to designated consumable branded products. |
| DASH Software | $500 monthly | Monthly | Separate license for each Franchise Business under the Multi-Unit Ownership Program; the charge may increase. |
| Compliance Tracking Software | $25 monthly | Monthly | Paid to the designated third-party supplier. |
| Claims Estimating Software | Item 7 table: $1,848 annually New-unit footnote: about $125 monthly |
15–30 days before opening; then under the license terms | The conversion footnote repeats $1,848 annually and anticipates approximately 5% annual increases. The new-unit table and footnote do not reconcile, so verify the current license quote. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–13; Item 8, pp. 22–25; Item 11, pp. 31–34.
How do the Mitigation Services Royalty Fee tiers change?
A single unit starts at 10% and steps down to 3% as cumulative calendar-year Mitigation Services Gross Receipts move through marginal bands; the rate resets to 10% each January 1. Qualifying majority-owned businesses under a signed Multi-Unit Program Amendment aggregate the participating units and use wider bands.
| Royalty schedule | Starting band | Step-down pattern | Lowest band |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single unit | 10% on the first $0–$249,999.99 | One percentage-point reduction for each next $250,000 band | 3% on remaining amounts of $1,750,000 and over |
| Multi-Unit Program aggregate | 10% on the first $0–$399,999.99 | One percentage-point reduction for each next $400,000 band | 3% on remaining amounts of $2,800,000 and over |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–10. Each rate applies only to the identified portion of cumulative Mitigation Services Gross Receipts, not retroactively to the entire amount.
This chart shows the disclosed monthly minimum, not a forecast of the percentage-based Royalty Fee.
Interpretation: the minimum increases even when the percentage calculation is lower. Minimum Royalty Fees for the first three months are waived only when the business opens within 60 days after signing and there is no default during the first year; the waiver does not apply to a renewal or transfer. Years 6–20 use the prior-year minimum plus CPI. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–11.
The Royalty Fee is not one flat percentage. Mitigation Services use a calendar-year cumulative tier, Reconstruction Services use 3%, and a monthly minimum can override a lower calculated amount. A buyer’s model must preserve those three separate rules rather than using one blended royalty assumption.
How much liquidity and net worth does PuroClean require?
The official PuroClean investment page states a minimum net worth of $250,000 and minimum liquidity of $100,000, with access to $150,000. These are screening qualifications, not additions to the disclosed initial investment and not promises that financing will be approved. The figures were checked on July 21, 2026.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The Item 7 range for the applicable format and finance/purchase assumption.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or assets readily available for funding; the official site states $100,000 minimum liquidity with access to $150,000.
- Net Worth
- Assets minus liabilities; the official site states a $250,000 minimum. Net worth is not the same as available cash.
- Additional Funds
- $20,000 to $35,000 already included in Item 7 for the first three months; it should not be added to the Item 7 total again.
- Non-Borrowed Funds
- The 2026 FDD and the cited official qualification page do not state a separate non-borrowed-funds minimum. A lender may impose its own equity, collateral, or cash-contribution requirement.
- Personal and Spousal Guarantees
- Item 10 limits required guarantees of vehicle debt to the franchisee or an owner, but the FDD’s special-risk disclosure separately states that a spouse must sign a document making the spouse liable for financial obligations under the Franchise Agreement.
What financing is disclosed?
Item 10 says PuroSystems does not provide direct financing, but it discloses indirect vehicle financing through AGS Fleet and Bush Business Enterprises. Sample terms state a down payment as low as $0, financing up to 100%, a minimum 12-month term, a commonly requested 60-month term, rates of 6% to 12% APR depending on credit and market conditions, and average vehicle payments of $900 to $1,500 per month. Those terms are not guaranteed and can change.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 27–28. Supplier approval, credit, market conditions, security deposits, and final terms remain variable.
The official investment page separately identifies Benetrends as a PuroClean funding partner and mentions third-party lending, SBA loans, and lines of credit. A financing relationship does not establish eligibility, loan amount, interest rate, collateral, or final cash required.
Ask for a written uses-of-funds schedule that reconciles the finance-option Item 7 total with the actual down payment, security deposit, prepaid insurance, initial supplier invoices, working capital, and any balloon or purchase obligation at the end of a lease.
Which fees apply only when a specific event occurs?
Transfer, renewal, audit, late-payment, optional-program, supplier-approval, technology-upgrade, and default costs can arise after opening. They are not all part of the Item 7 initial investment.
- Transfer Fee: $25,000. Due before transfer and paid by the transferee; the Multi-Unit Development Program can reduce it to $20,000, or to $10,000 for specified minority-owner or multiple-business transactions. Broker fees are additional, and the FDD permits the Transfer Fee to rise by no more than 40% annually.
- Renewal Fee: $5,000. Due before renewal. Item 17 also requires satisfaction of monetary obligations and execution of the then-current Franchise Agreement, which may have different fees.
- Annual International Convention registration: $695. Due 30 days before the convention if held, even if the franchisee does not attend; travel, lodging, meals, and optional training are additional. The FDD estimates a total charge of $595 to $1,000 and limits annual registration-fee increases to 50%.
- Optional or additional training. The fee varies. For a program held away from PuroClean Academy, the franchisor may allocate its travel, lodging, personnel, and related expenses among attendees.
- IICRC AMRT course and examinations. Item 6 lists $799 for the AMRT course within 90 days after initial training and $310 for three stated examination fees. The required certification path is also described through the official IICRC resource site.
- Optional Certified Priority Response participation: $79 per job lead. Additional insurance, background checks, training, and equipment may be required; the FDD states that, as of issuance, an annual increase above 30% was not anticipated.
- Audit and accounting costs. The franchisee pays its accountant and the cost of a franchisor audit if Gross Receipts were understated by 5% or more in any month.
- Taxes and Indemnification. Federal, state, and local taxes or similar charges are due as incurred. Reimbursement under the Indemnification obligation varies with the circumstances and is due 15 days after billing.
- Late and bank charges. Bank fees are actual fees plus $25. The late charge on Royalty Fees is the greater of $10 or 5% per day, capped at the lower of 18% simple annual interest or the legal maximum.
- Supplier evaluation and replacement obligations. A proposed supplier review can be charged at reasonable evaluation/testing cost. Required products and equipment are tied to designated or approved sources, including the official Aramsco PuroClean supplier portal.
- Computer System changes. PuroSystems may require hardware or software upgrades, and Item 11 states there is no contractual limit on their frequency or cost.
- Default-related Liquidated Damages. The amount is the greater of $100,000 or the Royalty Fees and Marketing Fees accrued during the preceding 12 full calendar months, multiplied by the lesser of five or the years remaining in the Initial Term.
- Post-termination obligations. Item 17 requires payment of amounts due and complete de-identification. The FDD does not state one fixed de-identification amount.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–13; Item 8, pp. 22–25; Item 11, pp. 31–34; Item 17, pp. 43–45.
How do fee reductions work?
Qualified veterans receive a 25% reduction of the Initial Franchise Fee when requested at signing. Applied to the $59,000 fee, that is a derived fee of $44,250, a $14,750 reduction; it does not reduce the vehicle, equipment, insurance, Additional Funds, or recurring fees. The current PuroVet page confirms the 25% Initial Franchise Fee discount.
Existing franchisees may also receive an unspecified training credit when purchasing another franchise and not requiring initial training. Conversion Franchisees can receive a 5% Initial Franchise Fee discount for each $200,000 of qualifying prior mitigation and reconstruction gross receipts, up to a 50% discount and a $29,500 minimum fee. That formula applies only to documented prior gross receipts used to calculate the conversion Initial Franchise Fee.
What should a buyer verify before committing capital?
The central decision is not simply whether the buyer can pay $59,000. It is whether the buyer can fund the correct format-specific Item 7 range, absorb variable deposits and excluded costs, maintain required liquidity, and carry the ongoing percentage, minimum, software, supplier, and event-triggered obligations.
- Match the format. Confirm in writing whether the agreement is new, conversion, or an additional franchise under the Multi-Unit Program. The official multi-unit ownership page describes the path, while Item 7 controls the disclosed cost range.
- Reconcile cash versus financing. Obtain actual supplier quotes, down payments, deposits, lease terms, and any end-of-term purchase amount before treating the finance-option total as available cash required.
- Do not double-count Additional Funds. The $20,000 to $35,000 line is already inside each Item 7 total and covers the first three months, not an indefinite runway.
- Price exclusions locally. Verify sales tax, freight, Workers’ Compensation Insurance, permits, professional advice, owner living expenses, and any premises cost beyond the FDD estimate.
- Model the exact fee bases. Keep Mitigation Services, Reconstruction Services, minimum royalties, Marketing Fee, local advertising, and designated-product purchases separate.
- Request the latest disclosure package. Ask whether any amendment, quarterly update, supplier quote, software price, insurance requirement, or state addendum changes the April 20, 2026 figures before signing.
For a new PuroClean franchise, the verified 2026 FDD range is $108,503 to $152,618 with financing assumptions or $233,503 to $277,118 with purchase assumptions. The largest unresolved buyer-specific variable is the gap between the FDD’s financed three-month estimates and the actual cash, credit, deposit, insurance, tax, and working-capital terms available to that buyer.