How much does a Plato’s Closet franchise cost?
Plato’s Closet estimates a total initial investment of $355,700 to $467,900 for one U.S. retail Store under its March 16, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The range covers the pre-opening investment and expenses during the first three months of operation. It applies to the single Store model disclosed in Item 7, typically occupying 3,500 to 4,500 square feet; strip-shopping-center and smaller freestanding sites are discussed, but they do not receive separate Item 7 ranges.
Estimated Initial Investment for one Plato’s Closet Store. The 2026 range includes the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the Point-of-Sale System, opening inventory, premises work, pre-opening expenses, three months of rent and $40,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds.
Source: 2026 Plato’s Closet Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 7, pp. 11–14.
- Legal franchisor
- Winmark Corporation, a Minnesota corporation.
- FDD basis
- Issuance date March 16, 2026; Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, 15 and 17.
- Unit model
- One Plato’s Closet retail Store; typical size 3,500–4,500 square feet.
- Public FDD link
- No matching 2026 FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled public URL, so FDD references in this article are unlinked Item and page citations.
- Checked
- July 15, 2026. Brand identity can be cross-checked on the official Plato’s Closet U.S. website and the official Winmark Corporation website.
Capital snapshot
How to read these figures together
The project total is the broadest capital figure. It combines amounts paid under the contract, purchases from outside vendors, property-related spending and an early operating cushion. The amount sent to the franchisor is only one part of that project total, while the first-three-month reserve is already embedded inside it. Keeping those buckets separate prevents two common errors: budgeting only for the entry payment, or adding the operating cushion twice.
The figures also describe different kinds of certainty. A fixed contract payment can be scheduled precisely. A construction allowance or merchandise range cannot be known with the same precision until the buyer has selected a site, obtained bids and set an opening plan. The high endpoint is therefore not a guarantee of sufficiency for every property, and the low endpoint is not a target that can be achieved simply by choosing the smallest possible line item. Each local assumption still has to be supported by a quote, lease term or purchase plan.
What is included in the $355,700 to $467,900 range?
The disclosed total is the sum of 12 cost categories. The largest categories are Opening Inventory, Fixtures and Supplies, Miscellaneous Pre-Opening Expenses, Build-Out and Additional Funds. The low and high endpoints reconcile exactly to the corresponding line items.
Franchise, store system and premises costs
| Item 7 category | 2026 amount | When paid | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed | Winmark Corporation |
| Fixtures and Supplies | $55,000–$70,000 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| Signs | $11,000–$16,000 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| Security Cameras | $1,500–$4,000 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| Point-of-Sale System | $23,200–$30,900 | Upon order, before training | Winmark Corporation |
| Leasehold Improvements | $15,000–$22,000 | As incurred before opening | Contractors and architects |
| Build-Out | $35,000–$55,000 | As incurred before opening | Contractors and architects |
Opening inventory, pre-opening and working-capital costs
| Item 7 category | 2026 amount | When paid | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deposits and Business Licenses | $5,000–$15,000 | Before opening | Utility and security deposits, business licenses |
| Opening Inventory | $75,000–$85,000 | Prepaid when ordered before opening | Used clothing plus a mix of used and new accessories |
| Miscellaneous Pre-Opening Expenses | $50,000–$65,000 | As incurred before opening | Training travel, course fee, permits, labor, advertising, professional and setup costs |
| Rent — First 3 Months | $20,000–$30,000 | As incurred | First three months of Store operations |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $40,000–$50,000 | As incurred | Wages, benefits, insurance, advertising, taxes, supplies and loan interest |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $355,700–$467,900 | Pre-opening investment plus the first three months of Store operations | |
Which amounts are fixed and which are site-sensitive?
The contract entry payment is fixed for a first location, and the computer-system purchase has a defined range. Most other opening bills depend on external facts. Property condition affects demolition, flooring, lighting, décor and contractor labor. Municipal rules affect permits and signs. The landlord affects deposits, free-rent periods and reimbursement for improvements. Freight, vendor terms and the pace of consumer buying affect how quickly cash is converted into merchandise.
This distinction matters when reviewing a lender’s sources-and-uses statement. A fixed payment can normally be supported by the disclosure itself. A variable allowance should be supported by a local quote or a written assumption, and a contingency should not be hidden inside an unrelated category. The official endpoints remain the controlling published figures, but the buyer’s closing budget should show where each local number came from and when it becomes nonrefundable.
Merchandise has the highest minimum, while fixtures and construction have wider location-sensitive ranges.
Source: 2026 Plato’s Closet FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14. Values are official disclosed ranges; the chart excludes smaller categories solely to keep the comparison legible.
The total should be read as a capital-access requirement, not as a single invoice. Some amounts are fixed early, while much of the spending is controlled by third parties and becomes payable through deposits, purchase orders, construction draws and recurring payroll. A buyer therefore needs a schedule that maps each commitment to the expected lease date, training date, merchandise-buying period and opening date. The fact that a landlord may offer free rent or reimburse improvements can change cash timing, but those concessions should not be assumed until they are written into the lease.
The three-month reserve is already inside the published total. Adding it again would overstate the disclosed range. Conversely, treating the franchise fee as the cash needed to open would omit most of the required capital, because the majority of spending goes to the site, merchandise, contractors, suppliers, employees and early operating bills.
The range is driven mainly by premises condition, Store size, local contracting and permitting costs, inventory levels, transportation and rent. Winmark states that the typical Store is 3,500–4,500 square feet and that several costs rise as square footage increases. A strip-center site and a smaller freestanding site may therefore produce different local budgets even though Item 7 publishes one national range.
How is the official total divided between Winmark, the Store site and early operations?
The listed line items can be grouped into three compatible cost phases. At both endpoints, premises, equipment, deposits and merchandise account for the largest share. The grouping below is a derived calculation, not a separate franchisor estimate.
Each bar reconciles exactly to the published total using compatible line-item sums.
Low $48,200; high $55,900. Initial Franchise Fee plus Point-of-Sale System.
Low $197,500; high $267,000.
Low $110,000; high $145,000.
Derived from 2026 Plato’s Closet FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14. Formula: direct-to-Winmark costs + premises/equipment/opening-inventory costs + miscellaneous pre-opening, first-three-month rent and Additional Funds. Both endpoint sums reconcile to the official totals.
The opening merchandise allocation is only the first inventory cash requirement
Plato’s Closet is unusual among retail franchises because the franchisee buys used merchandise from consumers as an operating input. The opening allocation is $75,000 to $85,000, but it expressly excludes merchandise needed to replenish the business during the initial operating period. The continuing-fee table then states that quarterly purchases generally range from $65,000 to $80,000, with significant variation based on seasonal demand and sales.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–13; Item 6, p. 10.
When is the money paid?
Cash is committed in stages rather than on one opening-day invoice. The Franchise Agreement starts the sequence, followed by the Store system order, premises and inventory payments, then the first three months of operating costs. Winmark states that the typical period from acceptance of the Franchise Agreement to opening is approximately nine to 12 months, with a contractual maximum of 12 months to open.
This sequence matters because the first payment is nonrefundable under the national disclosure, while many larger third-party commitments follow before the business is generating customer receipts. The financing close, lease execution and construction schedule should therefore be coordinated before orders become non-cancelable. A lender may also require the buyer’s equity contribution to be funded before loan proceeds are released, even though that lender condition is not part of the franchisor’s estimate.
- At Franchise Agreement signingPay the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee in a lump sum for a first Store. The reduced $15,000 fee applies to a second or subsequent Store or to an existing franchisee of another Winmark concept. Each Store requires a separate Franchise Agreement.
- About four weeks before the open-to-buy periodPurchase the Point-of-Sale System and Proprietary Software for $23,200 to $30,900. Item 7 states that the order is placed before training; the amount includes a $6,000 Proprietary Software license fee.
- During site development and before openingPay fixtures, signs, security cameras, Leasehold Improvements, Build-Out, deposits, licenses and Miscellaneous Pre-Opening Expenses as orders, construction and services become due.
- While building Opening InventoryPrepay merchandise orders and consumer purchases as incurred. Winmark may refuse opening if the Store has less than $75,000 in used inventory.
- During the first three months after openingPay $20,000 to $30,000 of rent and use the $40,000 to $50,000 operating reserve for wages, insurance, advertising, taxes, supplies and loan interest. Owner compensation is not included.
- After openingBegin the weekly Continuing Fee and Advertising Fee, the annual Marketing Fee and the monthly Software Fee under their separate commencement rules.
The national payment schedule may be changed by a State-Specific Addendum. The 2026 FDD includes escrow, impound or deferral provisions for initial payments in Illinois, Maryland, Virginia and Washington. A buyer should use the addendum for the state where the franchise is offered before scheduling any transfer of initial funds. Source: 2026 FDD, State-Specific Addenda for those states.
Which fees and cost obligations continue after opening?
The main recurring charge is 5% of the defined sales base, paid weekly. Marketing combines a fixed annual amount with percentage-based national, cooperative and local spending. Software is billed monthly, while merchandise replenishment is a separate operating obligation rather than a percentage franchise charge.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing Fee | 5% of Gross Sales | Weekly, by Wednesday for the prior week | Collected by bank withdrawal |
| Marketing Fee | $1,500/year | January 1; first year prorated and invoiced immediately | May increase by no more than $1,000 during the Franchise Agreement term after notice |
| North American Ad Fund | 2% of Gross Sales | Weekly, effective July 1, 2026 | May increase to 3% with at least 60 days’ written notice |
| Cooperative and Local Marketing | Combined minimum reaches 6% of Gross Sales | During each calendar year | Approved cooperative and local spending fill the amount not covered by the Ad Fund; cooperative contribution is at least 0.5% if established and Item 11 caps it at 4% |
| Software Fee | $295/month plus tax | First calendar day of each month | Starts on the later of the first day of the month after opening or September 1, 2026; annual increase may be 10%, compounded and cumulative |
| Technology Fee | Currently $0 | If established after notice | As of the FDD date, Winmark estimated $500–$2,500 per year per Store if introduced |
| Inventory Replenishment | Generally $65,000–$80,000 quarterly | As inventory is purchased | Varies significantly with seasonality and Store sales; this is not a royalty |
Gross Sales means total Store revenues from goods and services, including permitted Internet sales, less customer refunds and returns. It excludes sales tax collected and remitted and certain wholesale transfers between Plato’s Closet franchisees in good standing. No annual dollar estimate is made here for percentage-based fees.
Why the recurring obligations need separate cash controls
A percentage charge moves with the defined sales base, while a fixed annual or monthly charge is payable according to the calendar or contract even when activity is lower. Local promotional spending can also require documentation throughout the year so that the required minimum is met without an unexpected catch-up payment. These obligations should therefore be tracked in separate ledger accounts rather than blended into a single “royalty” line.
Merchandise buying requires another control because it is both frequent and operationally necessary. Cash paid to consumers and vendors becomes stock on hand, not a payment to the franchisor. The amount can move materially from one quarter to another, so the disclosed range should be treated as an operating purchase pattern rather than a fixed invoice. Insurance, payroll taxes, rent and utilities remain additional local outflows even when they are not presented as recurring franchise charges.
Which charges are triggered by an event?
- Transfer Fee — $10,000Due before completing a transfer of the Franchise Agreement, a substantial portion of Store assets or a controlling ownership interest.
- Renewal Fee — $10,000Due 30 days before renewal. Renewal also requires modernization, current brand-standard compliance and a lease extension; the remodeling amount is not estimated.
- Modernization — variableWinmark may require Store modernization after notice, but not more than once every five years. The scope may range from repainting to replacement of fixtures, signs, equipment and the Point-of-Sale System.
- Audit costs — variablePayable after an inspection or audit if the understatement exceeds 2%.
- Late-payment interestThe lesser of 18% per year or the maximum rate allowed by law may apply to overdue Continuing Fees or other amounts.
- Insurance reimbursement and legal costs — variableWinmark may seek reimbursement if it pays an insurance premium on the franchisee’s behalf and may recover costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees if the franchisee loses a dispute.
- Termination obligations — potentially materialItem 17 states that post-termination obligations include amounts due, including fees that would have been owed through the remaining Franchise Agreement term, plus de-branding and redecoration duties.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11; Item 17, pp. 33–36.
Does Plato’s Closet disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth requirement?
The 2026 FDD does not state a specific Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. That does not mean Winmark has no screening criteria; it means those minimums are not disclosed as fixed figures in the reviewed FDD cost and financing provisions. The document does disclose a Personal Guarantee requirement and states that Winmark does not provide or arrange financing.
The absence of a published threshold changes how the buyer should communicate with the franchise-development team. Rather than assuming that the top of the investment range is the qualification test, request the current underwriting screen, identify whether borrowed funds are accepted for each category, and confirm whether the guarantors must demonstrate funds beyond the amount shown for the first three months. Those are applicant-specific questions; the disclosure does not supply substitute figures.
- Liquid Capital
- No fixed minimum stated in the 2026 FDD.
- Net Worth
- No fixed minimum stated in the 2026 FDD.
- Non-Borrowed Funds
- No fixed minimum stated in the 2026 FDD.
- Personal Guarantee
- Principal owners and their spouses must sign the Personal Guaranty and agree to discharge the franchisee’s obligations to Winmark.
- Financing
- Winmark offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation.
- Training cost
- Winmark charges no training-program fee, but the franchisee pays travel and living expenses for attendees plus the online financial-management course; Item 7 includes those costs in Miscellaneous Pre-Opening Expenses.
Ask Winmark to state its current applicant-screening criteria in writing and separate those criteria from the Item 7 total. Total Initial Investment, Liquid Capital and Net Worth answer different questions and should not be treated as interchangeable. Item 10 also means that any third-party loan approval, interest rate, collateral requirement or equity contribution remains outside Winmark’s financing commitment.
What does the Item 7 total not fully resolve?
The official range is comprehensive for the categories Winmark lists, but it does not eliminate local or buyer-specific uncertainty. Several obligations are excluded from Additional Funds or remain variable until a site, lease, construction scope, financing package and operating plan are known.
A practical review should reconcile three documents: the disclosure, the signed lease and the financing sources-and-uses schedule. The disclosure identifies the categories and contractual obligations; the lease determines property deposits, rent commencement and landlord contributions; the financing schedule shows which party supplies each dollar and when it is available. Differences among those documents should be resolved before the buyer commits to construction or merchandise orders.
- Owner compensationAdditional Funds do not include compensation for the owner during the first three months.
- Post-opening inventory replenishmentThe opening merchandise amount does not cover purchases needed after opening.
- Local premises economicsRent, landlord concessions, condition of the premises, permitting and contractor pricing can move Leasehold Improvements and Build-Out within or beyond the buyer’s site-specific budget.
- Modernization at renewal or during the termNo current modernization amount is estimated because scope, standards, labor and materials will change.
- Technology Fee after introductionThe current charge is $0 as of the issuance date, but the contract permits a future periodic charge after notice.
- State addendum changesEscrow, impound and deferral provisions can change when initial funds are paid or released.
- Third-party financing termsInterest, lender fees, collateral and required equity are not supplied by Winmark. The disclosed categories include initial financing costs and loan-interest payments only where stated.
What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?
Use $355,700 to $467,900 as the verified 2026 range for one typical location, not as a promise that every site will fit inside it. Of that amount, $48,200 to $55,900 is payable to the franchisor, while the larger share goes to premises, fixtures, merchandise, pre-opening activity and the first three months of operations. The most important continuing cash obligations are the 5% weekly charge, the combined 6% marketing minimum, the monthly software charge and recurring merchandise purchases. The unresolved capital question is not a published balance-sheet threshold; it is whether the buyer’s lease, construction plan, merchandise plan and financing terms can support the range without assuming owner pay is included.