How much does a Pizza Ranch franchise cost?
Pizza Ranch does not have one reliable all-format price. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued by Pizza Ranch, Inc. gives separate Estimated Initial Investment ranges for a Retrofit/Leased Restaurant and a New Ground-Up Restaurant, and it separately estimates approved restaurants that open without a Pizza Ranch FunZone Arcade.
With a FunZone: $2,305,500–$2,987,000 for Retrofit/Leased and $3,330,500–$5,134,500 for New Ground-Up.
Without a FunZone, only if Pizza Ranch grants an exception: $1,773,480–$2,297,700 for Retrofit/Leased and $2,561,940–$3,949,620 for New Ground-Up.
Source: 2026 Pizza Ranch, Inc. FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.
Metric sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 7–8; Item 6, pp. 8–11; Item 7, pp. 11–14; Item 8, p. 16.
Why does the Pizza Ranch investment range change so much?
The largest difference is the real-estate path: a Retrofit/Leased Restaurant carries Leasehold Improvements, while a New Ground-Up Restaurant carries Construction Costs and may include up to $800,000 for Land. A FunZone also adds Arcade Games, FunZone point-of-sale equipment and arcade-related space.
Interpretation: New Ground-Up development produces the highest disclosed ceiling, while a no-FunZone estimate applies only after an exception. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.
FunZone is the default development assumption
New Pizza Ranch restaurants are required to open with a FunZone unless Pizza Ranch grants an exception. Item 7 models a 5,400-square-foot Restaurant plus a 2,400-square-foot FunZone; the official build-out information describes freestanding and in-line/end-cap options and additional FunZone space.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, p. 3; Item 7, pp. 11–14.
What is included in the 2026 Pizza Ranch initial investment?
The official totals include the franchise fee, major equipment, FunZone arcade games, premises work, design fees, pre-opening training, startup supplies, financing interest and 3 months of working capital. The table does not estimate rent, so leased-location occupancy cost remains unresolved.
Which premises and equipment costs drive the range?
For the with-FunZone model in the 2026 FDD, Leasehold Improvements are used only for Retrofit/Leased development, while Construction Costs and Land are used only for New Ground-Up development.
| Item 7 category | Retrofit/Leased | New Ground-Up | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | $30,000 | $30,000 | Upon signing; Item 5 splits payment. |
| Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment | $625,000–$725,000 | $625,000–$725,000 | As incurred, upon purchase. |
| Arcade Games | $450,000–$550,000 | $425,000–$550,000 | As incurred, upon purchase. |
| Leasehold Improvements / Construction Costs | $1,014,000–$1,365,000 | $2,000,000–$2,600,000 | As work progresses under contracts. |
| Architect/engineering fees | $46,000–$70,000 | $110,000–$130,000 | Upon signing the architect contract. |
| Land | Not applicable | $0–$800,000 | Upon purchase; financing may require a down payment. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment includes kitchen equipment, furniture, signs, point-of-sale equipment, security systems, delivery vehicles and related assets.
Which pre-opening and working-capital costs are included?
The remaining categories cover the opening team, launch supplies, pre-opening debt interest and a limited operating cushion. The 2026 FDD calls the last line Working Capital (3 mos.); it does not use a separate Item 7 line titled Additional Funds.
| Item 7 category | Retrofit/Leased | New Ground-Up | What the disclosure says |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-Opening Training Expenses | $80,000–$137,000 | $80,000–$137,000 | Training materials and inventory, travel, lodging, meals, wages, recruitment and employment advertising. |
| Food used during Team Member Training | $7,000–$9,000 | $7,000–$9,000 | Food used during pre-opening training; due upon opening. |
| Start-Up Costs | $23,500–$43,500 | $23,500–$43,500 | Includes uniforms, manuals, $3,600 marketing materials, professional fees, deposits and insurance. |
| Rent | Not estimated | Not estimated | Varies by site, layout and market; landlord contributions may change the result. |
| Interest on Pre-Opening Loans | $10,000–$37,500 | $10,000–$90,000 | No separate payment method or due date is stated in the table. |
| Working Capital (3 mos.) | $20,000 | $20,000 | Payroll and utilities; the estimate does not consider revenue during the first 3 months. |
| Total Initial Investment with FunZone | $2,305,500–$2,987,000 | $3,330,500–$5,134,500 | Official Item 7 totals; rent remains unestimated. |
Rent is not priced. Item 7 leaves every Rent cell as “Note 12,” and Note 12 says Pizza Ranch cannot estimate the lease cost. A buyer should not treat the total range as a complete cash forecast for a leased site. The FDD also does not say that owner compensation is included in the $20,000 Working Capital line.
When is the Pizza Ranch money paid?
The cash commitment begins at Franchise Agreement signing, increases when the location and construction move forward, and then shifts to equipment, training and opening payments. The FTC's franchise buying guide explains the federal 14-calendar-day disclosure period before signing or payment.
At Franchise Agreement signing
Pay $7,500 of the $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee. The installment is nonrefundable except when Pizza Ranch terminates for the buyer’s good-faith failure to obtain location approval within 6 months; a release may be required for the refund. An Area Development Agreement carries a separately negotiated development fee, typically $7,500 per market.
Before management training
Pay the $15,500 Management Training Fee before attendance, plus $200 per trainee for materials. The franchisee also pays travel, lodging and other manager expenses.
When the project moves into construction
Pay the remaining $22,500 franchise-fee balance at or immediately before construction starts; that balance is nonrefundable. Architect/engineering fees are due when the architect contract is signed, and construction or leasehold-improvement payments follow contract progress.
During purchasing and pre-opening
Pay suppliers as furniture, fixtures, equipment and arcade games are purchased. The $3,600 marketing start-up package is purchased before opening and is included in Item 7 Start-Up Costs.
At opening and during the first 3 months
Item 7 includes $7,000–$9,000 for food used during team-member training and $20,000 of Working Capital for payroll and utilities. First-time owners of a FunZone may also incur post-opening FunZone Training.
Monthly after opening
Royalty, Service Fee and Marketing and Production Fund payments are generally debited by the 10th day of the following month after Gross Revenues are reported.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 7–8; Item 6, pp. 8–11; Item 7, pp. 11–14; Item 11, pp. 18–26.
The FDD cover says $49,100 must be paid to Pizza Ranch or an affiliate. Item 5 separately states a $30,000 franchise fee, $3,600 marketing materials charge and $15,500 Management Training Fee, which total $49,100, and also states $200 per trainee for training materials. Confirm in writing whether the materials charge is included elsewhere or is additional before funding the pre-opening payments.
Which Pizza Ranch fees continue after opening?
The recurring core is a monthly Royalty Fee, monthly Service Fee, the Marketing and Production Fund Contribution, and required Local and Regional Advertising. Promotions, insurance, technology support and training can add fixed or event-driven costs.
Interpretation: the Royalty Fee also has a $500 monthly minimum, and the current 3% advertising requirement combines fund contributions with local and regional spending. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–9.
| Recurring obligation | Amount | Basis | Timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of $500 or 3.5% | Gross Revenues per month | 10th day of the next month |
| Service Fee | 0.5% | Gross Revenues | 10th day of the next month |
| Marketing and Production Fund Contribution | Up to 5%; currently 2.25% | Gross Revenues | 10th day of the next month |
| Local and Regional Advertising | Formula-based | Up to the difference between 5% and fund contributions; currently the difference between 3% and other contributions | Weekly or monthly, paid to vendors |
“Gross Revenues” includes revenue from restaurant operations, vending, arcade and amusement devices, delivery fees and legal gaming devices, less sales or excise tax paid. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–11.
Which fees apply only when a cost trigger occurs?
Pizza Ranch's Item 6 contains a broad set of training, compliance, lifecycle and default-related charges. These amounts should not be added automatically to the opening total, but they can become payable after a defined event.
Training and promotional triggers
These costs arise from designated promotions, FunZone support or additional management training.
Compliance, payment and inspection triggers
These charges become relevant after under-reporting, late payment, a compliance issue, a loss or a request to approve a new supplier or product.
Renewal, transfer, property and administrative triggers
Lifecycle changes can require a fixed fee plus substantial separate work to meet then-current standards.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–11; Item 17, pp. 33–35.
Which Pizza Ranch technology and supplier costs need separate attention?
The 2026 FDD requires designated systems and estimates several technology costs, while also stating that future required upgrades have no contractual frequency or cost limit. Item 8 estimates that source-restricted purchases equal approximately 70%–90% of establishment purchases and 80%–90% of ongoing purchases.
| Technology obligation | Disclosed amount | Basis | Named provider or trigger |
|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurant point-of-sale system | $8,500–$20,000 | Estimated initial cost per Restaurant | Revel Systems |
| FunZone point-of-sale system | $30,000–$40,000 | Estimated initial cost per FunZone | Embed |
| Maintenance and support | $3,648–$6,108 | Current annual cost | Required support contract |
| Embed license and support | $1,812–$4,604 | Annualized expense | Depends on terminals and readers |
| EMV Credit Card Chip readers | $350 per device | Current estimate | When required for payment processing |
| PCI compliance audit | Starts at $3,500 | Conditional audit cost | Approved independent auditor; SageNet is the current designated PCI vendor |
Other required but separately unpriced systems include Chowly for third-party delivery aggregation, Kuusoft (NEXSIGNS) for digital menu boards, approved internet and Wi-Fi services, approved remote-access products and ongoing PCI compliance services. The amounts are not disclosed in Items 6 or 11, so they should remain explicit open questions rather than estimated add-ons.
The Restaurant POS is included within the Item 7 description of Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, and FunZone systems may overlap an arcade-related category. Do not add the Item 11 technology estimates to Item 7 automatically; obtain a current equipment schedule showing which amounts are already embedded. The FDD also requires accounting services from PR Financial Services, LLC but does not disclose a separate dollar price for that service.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 14–17; Item 11, pp. 23–24.
How much liquid capital or net worth does Pizza Ranch require?
The 2026 FDD does not state a general Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold in Items 5–7. Pizza Ranch's official franchise page currently states Net Worth of $1 million or more and Liquid Assets of $400,000 or more, while Item 8 separately requires confirmation that $150,000 is available to draw when the approved architecture/engineering engagement begins and financing is still underway.
Liquid Assets, Net Worth, the $150,000 draw-readiness amount and Total Initial Investment are different measures. Net Worth is not cash, and neither website qualification replaces the format-specific Item 7 range. Verify the current qualification directly because the official site's investment and royalty figures do not match the April 3, 2026 FDD.
Item 10 says Pizza Ranch offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. External financing may therefore be necessary; the U.S. Small Business Administration loan overview describes lender-delivered SBA-guaranteed programs, but approval is not assured. Pizza Ranch's official franchise FAQ also states that the franchisor does not provide direct or indirect financing.
What changes under an Area Development Agreement?
An Area Development Agreement requires a negotiated development fee, typically $7,500 for each market, and a separate Franchise Agreement for each Restaurant. The development fee is applied toward future franchise fees. The FDD estimates multi-unit establishment cost as approximately one Restaurant's cost multiplied by the number of Restaurants, minus efficiencies that Pizza Ranch cannot quantify.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 2–3; Item 5, p. 8; Item 7, p. 14; Item 8, p. 16; Item 10, p. 18.
Why do some official Pizza Ranch web figures differ from the 2026 FDD?
Pizza Ranch's official franchise financial page currently shows a $2.1 million–$4.9 million investment and a 4% Royalty Fee, while the official FAQ shows an even lower $1.125 million–$2.525 million investment range and a 4% Royalty Fee. The April 3, 2026 FDD instead discloses $2,305,500–$5,134,500 for the default with-FunZone formats and a Royalty Fee equal to the greater of $500 or 3.5% of monthly Gross Revenues.
Use the latest verified FDD for franchise-agreement cost terms. Treat the official franchise financial page as supplemental and request written clarification of every difference before relying on website figures.
What should a Pizza Ranch buyer verify before committing capital?
The most important work is to convert the FDD's ranges and formulas into a site-specific sources-and-uses schedule without replacing official figures with unsupported local estimates.
- Confirm the exact unit format. Determine whether the project is Retrofit/Leased or New Ground-Up and whether a written no-FunZone exception exists.
- Price the missing occupancy obligation. Obtain the lease, base rent, additional rent, deposits and landlord-improvement contribution because Item 7 does not estimate Rent.
- Reconcile pre-opening payments. Confirm whether the $200-per-trainee materials charge is additional to the cover's $49,100 payable-to-franchisor-or-affiliate figure.
- Separate embedded technology from extra technology. Reconcile Revel, Embed, EMV, PCI and support costs against Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment and Arcade Games.
- Confirm current percentage fees. Verify the Royalty Fee, Service Fee, Marketing and Production Fund Contribution and Local and Regional Advertising formula in the final agreement.
- Test the 3-month cushion. The $20,000 Working Capital estimate covers payroll and utilities and assumes no revenue, but the FDD does not guarantee that it is sufficient.
- Update capital qualifications. Confirm current Liquid Assets, Net Worth, personal-guarantee and $150,000 draw-readiness requirements.
- Check state status and amendments. A registration record does not approve the investment; the Minnesota franchise-registration lookup is one official tool for reviewing filing status and public records.
Bottom line: the 2026 Pizza Ranch cost decision is driven less by the $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee than by premises development, FunZone arcade investment, equipment and unresolved rent. The latest FDD separates four investment scenarios, includes only $20,000 of Working Capital, imposes recurring percentage fees after opening and leaves several event-triggered obligations—especially remodeling, technology updates, insurance and transfer costs—to future circumstances.