How much does a Pizza Hut franchise cost?
Pizza Hut, LLC’s March 25, 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document gives four separate Estimated Initial Investment ranges for traditional System Restaurants. The range is $846,000 to $2,130,000 for Restaurant-Based Delivery or Delivery Based Restaurants, $818,000 to $2,130,000 for Fast Casual Delco Restaurants, $816,000 to $1,900,000 for Freestanding Delco Restaurants, and $670,000 to $960,000 for Inline/Endcap Delco Restaurants. Each range excludes real property and includes the $25,000 franchise fee.
The full span across the four traditional Pizza Hut formats in the 2026 FDD. It is not one interchangeable range: the correct amount depends on the approved restaurant format and premises structure. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Pizza Hut, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company. FDD issuance date: March 25, 2026. Formats covered here: Restaurant-Based Delivery, Delivery Based Restaurant, Fast Casual Delco, Freestanding Delco, and Inline/Endcap Delco under the traditional U.S. franchise offer. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information and official public pages were checked on July 22, 2026.
The franchisor’s public site provides official U.S. franchise information and describes the traditional restaurant formats. It does not publish a directly accessible copy of the matching 2026 traditional FDD, so all FDD citations below remain unlinked and use the Item and page number.
The official restaurant overview still displayed a traditional investment estimate of $579,000 to $2,053,500 when checked on July 22, 2026. That range does not match the March 25, 2026 FDD. For the current franchise cost contract, this article uses the newer Item 7 ranges of $670,000 to $2,130,000 and treats the website figure as unresolved legacy marketing information.
Which Pizza Hut format has the lowest disclosed investment?
The Inline/Endcap Delco Delivery/Carryout System Restaurant has the lowest 2026 Item 7 range at $670,000 to $960,000. It is also the only disclosed format whose high end remains below $1 million. The other three formats begin between $816,000 and $846,000 and can reach $1.9 million or $2.13 million.
Interpretation: format choice changes both the starting point and the uncertainty band. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20. Values are official ranges, not averages or midpoints.
| Traditional System Restaurant format | Equipment | Building and Site Improvements | Total Initial Investment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurant-Based Delivery / Delivery Based Restaurant | $150,000–$300,000 | $619,000–$1,651,500 | $846,000–$2,130,000 |
| Fast Casual Delco | $125,000–$225,000 | $619,000–$1,751,500 | $818,000–$2,130,000 |
| Freestanding Delco Delivery/Carryout | $125,000–$269,500 | $619,000–$1,489,200 | $816,000–$1,900,000 |
| Inline/Endcap Delco Delivery/Carryout | $125,000–$200,000 | $473,000–$618,700 | $670,000–$960,000 |
Pizza Hut’s premises obligation changes with the asset format
The four ranges cannot be merged because the FDD assigns different premises assumptions to the Restaurant concepts. The totals exclude real property, while the land or leasehold interest itself remains a variable amount.
RBD, DBR, FCD, and Freestanding Delco
The FDD lists Land: Varies. Building and Site Improvements range from $619,000 to as much as $1,751,500 depending on format.
Inline/Endcap Delco
The FDD lists Leasehold Interest: Varies. Building and Site Improvements are $473,000 to $618,700, which materially narrows the total range.
Interpretation: the premises package is the main reason the Inline/Endcap Delco range is structurally lower and tighter. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20. Land and leasehold interest remain separately variable.
What is included in the initial investment?
The opening-cost table includes the Initial Franchise Fee, equipment, Opening Inventory, Smallwares, Building and Site Improvements, the Computer System, possible Computer System Training, Additional Funds, Miscellaneous opening costs, Advertising, and Start-up “Other” costs. Real property is excluded, and the relevant Land or Leasehold Interest amount is listed as variable.
| Item 7 category | RBD / DBR and FCD | Delco formats | Payment timing or basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Opening Inventory | $4,000–$8,000 | $4,000–$8,000 | When acquired; vendor payment |
| Smallwares | RBD/DBR: $15,000–$50,000; FCD: $12,000–$25,000 | $10,000–$18,000 | When acquired; vendor payment |
| Computer System | $15,000–$30,000 | $15,000–$30,000 | When acquired; approved vendors |
| Computer System Training | $0–$1,500 | $0–$1,500 | When requested; approved vendors |
| Additional Funds | $5,000–$21,500 | $5,000–$21,500 | As incurred during the first three months |
| Miscellaneous | $10,000–$22,000 | $10,000–$22,000 | As incurred for pre-opening, grand opening, and restaurant set-up |
| Advertising | $0–$16,500; recommended first 18 weeks | $0–$10,300; recommended first 6–8 weeks | As incurred; excludes System Advertising Fund contributions |
| Start-up “Other” | $3,000–$4,000 | $3,000–$5,000 | As incurred for office supplies, banners, forms, and uniforms |
Additional Funds are not extra money to add on top of Item 7. That $5,000 to $21,500 range is already included in each total and covers three months. The FDD identifies pre-opening expenses, training, initial employee wages, insurance premiums, licenses, permits, recruitment, utility deposits and bills, paper products, cleaning supplies, and other variable costs. It does not expressly identify owner compensation as included. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 20.
- Total Initial Investment
- The full Item 7 range for the approved format, including the $25,000 franchise fee and the three-month Additional Funds estimate, but excluding real property and financing costs.
- Initial Franchise Fee
- A separate $25,000 payment to Pizza Hut, LLC for each System Restaurant. It is only one component of the total investment.
- Additional Funds
- A three-month working-capital and start-up expense estimate inside Item 7, not a disclosed liquidity threshold.
- Land or Leasehold Interest
- A variable premises obligation that the Item 7 total does not quantify. The FDD says land, building, and site costs depend on location, size, and whether the property is owned or leased.
When is the money paid?
The cash is not paid as one lump sum. The 2026 FDD spreads payments across agreement signing, site control, construction, acquisition of equipment and inventory, pre-opening activity, and the first three months of operation. The following sequence reflects the disclosed timing rather than a construction schedule for any particular site.
Item 11 states that the typical period from signing the Location Franchise Agreement to opening is approximately six to 12 months, subject to permits, weather, construction labor, financing, and lease timing. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 28.
Which Pizza Hut fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing charges are the Monthly Service Fee, System Advertising Fund Contribution, IPHFHA dues credited against that contribution, Digital Innovation Fee, and Restaurant Technology Fee. Several technology and service charges apply only when a transaction, usage threshold, or delivery arrangement triggers them. The franchisor’s official fee FAQ confirms the core traditional fee rates, but Item 6 supplies the controlling definitions, conditions, and payment timing.
| Continuing fee | Amount or formula | When paid | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly Service Fee | 6.0% of Gross Sales; 6.5% in certain circumstances | Monthly, by the 20th of the next month | Item 6 states the fee is not uniformly imposed. |
| System Advertising Fund Contribution | 4.75% of Gross Sales | Same timing as Monthly Service Fee | IPHFHA dues are credited against this requirement while the Advertising Committee Agreement is in effect. |
| IPHFHA Dues | 4.75% of Gross Sales | Set by IPHFHA | Do not add this percentage again to the 4.75% System Advertising Fund contribution when the disclosed credit applies. |
| Digital Innovation Fee | Currently $0.41 per qualifying transaction | Monthly | Applies to transactions through a digital or other automated channel established by the system. |
| Restaurant Technology Fee | Currently $2,950 per year | 12 monthly bills | May increase under the Item 6 notice and governance provisions. |
| Help Desk High-Use Fee | $12 per call; $7 per other event | When applicable | Begins after 52 events per year, subject to stated exclusions. |
| Dragontail KMX Fee | $240 installation; $75 monthly | Billed monthly with technology fee | Required when the Restaurant uses delivery as a service; Item 6 notes a first-quarter 2026 suspension but permits future charging. |
| Taxes | As levied | As incurred and on demand | Includes taxes associated with franchisor-provided goods, services, and fee collections. |
The two 4.75% entries are not automatically additive. While the Advertising Committee Agreement remains in effect, Pizza Hut, LLC credits IPHFHA dues against the required System Advertising Fund Contribution. A buyer should verify the current agreement and invoice treatment rather than budgeting 9.5% for those two lines. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–12.
Which fees apply only after a specific event?
Item 6 contains a substantialsecond layer of event-triggered costs. These charges are not part of the ordinary monthly fee stack, but they can become material when training, compliance, transfer, renewal, relocation, closure, default, third-party programs, or legal events occur.
Operating, training, and compliance triggers
The operating triggers include fixed fees, reimbursement formulas, and amounts that the FDD cannot estimate in advance.
- Additional or subsequent trainee: $500 per person per week, due before training; the franchisee also pays trainee living and transportation expenses.
- On-Going Training and Assistance: $50 to $150 per day plus reimbursement of Pizza Hut’s travel and lodging expenses, as incurred.
- Inspection and Testing Costs: reimbursement of all review, inspection, approval, salary, travel, and lodging costs for a proposed product or supplier.
- Audit: deficiency, the maximum lawful finance charge, and audit costs when the deficiency is 2% or more; audit expense itself is variable.
- Late Charges: currently 1.5% per month on overdue amounts, subject to the maximum rate permitted by law.
- EPR Fees: actual extended producer responsibility fees plus the franchisor’s or affiliate’s compliance costs and expenses, when applicable.
Ownership, location, and contract events
Ownership and location changes can combine a stated fee with outside professional costs or a second franchise fee.
- Transfer Fee: $2,500 plus $250 per System Restaurant transferred, due with the transfer request, plus outside counsel fees and other expenses.
- Renewal Fee: $12,500 per System Restaurant upon signing the renewal agreement; Pizza Hut may increase it to $25,000 per System Restaurant.
- Relocation: variable review and approval costs when the replacement unit opens; a new $25,000 franchise fee may be required if the replacement does not open within 12 months after the existing Restaurant closes, unless another period is agreed.
- Unauthorized Closure: 24 times the average Monthly Service Fees paid or due for the closed Restaurant during the prior calendar year, with a separate highest-month formula for a Restaurant open less than a full year.
- Interim Operation after death or disability: the greater of twice the salary paid to assigned operators or 10% of monthly Gross Sales, plus travel, lodging, and meal expenses.
- De-identification: actual cost if the franchisee does not remove Pizza Hut identification after expiration or termination.
Default, legal, and third-party program triggers
Several Item 6 obligations have no fixed ceiling because they depend on the event, third-party bill, or damages incurred.
- Advances: repayment of amounts Pizza Hut advances to third parties; the franchisor is not obligated to make advances.
- Indemnification: variable losses and expenses arising from covered claims connected with the Franchise Agreement or Restaurant operations.
- Attorneys’, experts’, and court costs: variable amounts upon demand under the disclosed agreement provisions.
- Termination Damages: variable losses, expenses, fees, lost opportunities, and other damages following termination for default.
- Dinova program: 9.5% on participating Dinova orders above $20 before tax; Item 6 states that franchisees may opt out through the enrollment process.
Source for the recurring and conditional fees above: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–16. Percentage fees are stated only on the disclosed basis; no annual dollar conversion is implied.
Does Pizza Hut disclose liquid capital, net worth, or financing?
The 2026 traditional FDD does not state a numeric Liquid Capital requirement or a numeric franchisee Net Worth requirement, and Item 10 says Pizza Hut, LLC and its affiliates do not offer or guarantee financing. That means the total investment should not be mistaken for a cash-on-hand threshold, and third-party liquidity figures are not supported by this FDD.
Ask Pizza Hut for the current written financial qualification criteria used in the approval process, including any required Liquid Capital, Net Worth, Non-Borrowed Funds, Personal Guarantee, or multi-unit funding standard. The official public pages reviewed describe “capital” in general terms but do not publish a numeric qualification threshold.
- Real property: each official total excludes real property; Land or Leasehold Interest remains variable.
- Vehicles: The estimate does not include use or lease of delivery vehicles because it states that those vehicles are typically personally owned.
- Financing costs: interest, finance charges, and debt service are excluded from the Item 7 estimates.
- Insurance premium: Additional Funds include an initial insurance premium allowance, but Item 8 requires specified coverages and does not disclose the actual premium.
- Supplier changes: third-party supplier amounts can change, and the franchisee must use required or approved suppliers for designated products, equipment, technology, and services.
- Owner compensation: The disclosure does not expressly state that the three-month Additional Funds estimate includes the owner’s personal living costs or compensation.
A small required ownership cost sits outside the headline fee discussion
After obtaining a traditional Pizza Hut franchise, the franchisee must join the Pizza Hut National Purchasing Co-op. Item 8 states that membership currently requires one $10 share of Membership Common Stock plus one $400 share of Store Common Stock for each traditional Pizza Hut Restaurant. The FDD describes redemption at the original purchase price in specified transfer or eligibility circumstances. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, p. 24.
What capital question remains unresolved?
The verified 2026 cost contract is clear about the format-specific investment ranges but not about the buyer’s minimum liquidity or the final property budget. A prospective franchisee can anchor the opening analysis to $670,000–$960,000 for an Inline/Endcap Delco or the higher ranges for the other formats, then separately resolve Land or Leasehold Interest, financing costs, insurance premiums, supplier quotes, and the franchisor’s current financial qualification standards.
The central distinction is: Estimated Initial Investment is the disclosed opening-cost range; the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee is one line inside that range; the $5,000–$21,500 Additional Funds estimate is also inside the range; and the Monthly Service Fee, System Advertising Fund Contribution, technology charges, and event-triggered fees continue or arise after opening. Before relying on any public summary, compare it with the most recent FDD and applicable amendments. Wisconsin’s active franchise registration list shows current Pizza Hut, LLC registrations through March 25, 2027, but that government record is not a substitute for the disclosure document delivered to the buyer.