How much does a Pinot’s Palette franchise cost in 2026?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $119,000 to $259,000 to establish one Pinot’s Palette Franchised Business in the United States. The range includes the fee paid at signing and three months of operating funds. It applies to the studio model described in the FDD: typically 1,700 to 2,300 square feet in a freestanding building or an in-line retail plaza.
Basis: 2026 FDD, Item 7, for one standard Pinot’s Palette studio. The estimate assumes a recommended-size site delivered in white-box or vanilla-box condition. Land acquisition is not included, and extensive remodeling or alcohol licensing can exceed the disclosed amounts.
Source: 2026 FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 10–14.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Painting with a Twist, L.L.C. d/b/a Pinot’s Palette; parent: Twist Brands LLC. FDD issuance date: April 17, 2026. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information was checked July 17, 2026 against the official U.S. franchise information page. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public webpage, so FDD citations below are unlinked.
The multistate FDD states that it is not for use in California, Illinois, Virginia or Washington. A prospect in one of those states should obtain the applicable state-specific disclosure and amendments before relying on these terms.
Capital snapshot
The figures below answer different questions: the Initial Franchise Fee is only one line inside the startup total, Additional Funds are already included in the total, and percentage fees continue after opening.
What is included in the $119,000–$259,000 estimate?
The official startup estimate combines the franchise right, premises, construction, equipment, opening inventory, professional costs, launch marketing and three months of operating funds. The largest disclosed variable is premises work, followed by the operating-funds allowance.
| Major startup category | 2026 amount | When paid | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000 | At signing | Paid to the franchisor; nonrefundable and fully earned when paid. |
| Leasehold Improvements | $30,000–$90,000 | Before opening | Can exceed the range if remodeling is extensive or landlord contribution is limited. |
| Additional Funds | $25,000–$40,000 | As arranged | Covers the first three operating months and is already inside the total. |
| Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment | $14,000–$25,000 | Before opening | Varies with studio size and includes the initial décor package and miscellaneous equipment. |
| Real Estate Lease for Premises — two months | $4,500–$20,000 | As arranged | Reflects a deposit and first two operating months of rent; land purchase is excluded. |
| Alcohol Licensing | $1,000–$15,000 | Before opening | Local law controls the license type and cost; the amount can exceed the estimate. |
| Opening Inventory | $4,000–$7,500 | Before opening | Initial canvases, paints, brushes and other opening supplies. |
| Signage | $4,000–$8,000 | Before opening | Required studio signage purchased from suppliers. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–14.
Other disclosed amounts complete the official total
These smaller categories are individually material because their timing and local variability differ, even though none is the main driver of the range.
Source: derived calculation from the 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–14. Low phases sum to $119,000; high phases sum to $259,000. The franchisor does not publish these phase groupings.
The spread between the official low and high totals is primarily a premises question. Build-out, rent and deposits, architectural work and local licensing dominate the difference between the two ends of the range.
When is the money paid?
The first fixed franchisor payment is due at signing, while most of the remaining startup expenditure is paid to landlords, suppliers, professionals, employees and government agencies before or around opening. The FDD says a typical opening takes six to 12 months after signing, and the business must open no later than 12 months after the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 7 and 10–14; Item 11, pp. 20–29.
The operating-funds allowance is not an extra amount to add above the published total. It is one component of that total. The estimate assumes payroll for six part-time staff during the first three months; it does not identify a separate owner salary or personal living allowance.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing charges are a 6% Royalty Fee, a 2% System Advertising Fee, at least $1,000 per month of local advertising and a $250 monthly Technology Fee. The system also uses a class-level Painting Rewards fee, and a regional advertising cooperative could add up to 2% of Gross Sales if one is established.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or rate | Payment basis and timing | Payee or use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% | Weekly Gross Sales; drafted within five business days after the prior week ends | Franchisor |
| System Advertising Fee | 2% | Weekly Gross Sales; same automatic-draft timing | System Advertising Fund |
| Local Advertising | $1,000/month minimum | Monthly after the grand-opening requirement | Approved local media and marketing |
| Technology Fee | $250/month | Automatically withdrawn by the 15th for the prior month | Franchisor |
| Painting Rewards Program | $5 per painting per class | When a qualifying library painting is used | Originating franchisee or franchisor |
| Regional cooperative advertising | Currently none; up to 2% | Gross Sales if a cooperative is formed and contributions apply | Regional cooperative |
Gross Sales is defined broadly as gross revenue received as payment, whether in cash or on credit, for offered products and services sold in or from the Franchised Business and for other business operated at the premises. The definition excludes sales taxes and discounts approved in writing by the franchisor. If a regional cooperative is established and contributions are required, those contributions count toward the local advertising obligation and can reduce the separate local spend by the contributed amount.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–10; Item 11, pp. 24–27.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–10. The regional cooperative rate is a disclosed ceiling, not a current charge; Item 6 states that no regional cooperative currently exists.
The Painting Rewards Program creates a class-by-class variable cost
The system requires participation in a proprietary art-library program. A franchisee pays the disclosed class-level charge whenever a qualifying contributed painting is used. The fee is paid to the operating franchisee whose studio contributed the artwork; if that originating location is no longer operating, the franchisor retains the fee.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–10; Item 11, pp. 22–23.
What can push the opening cost above or below the range?
Premises condition, landlord contribution, local alcohol rules, approved-supplier pricing and freight are the main disclosed variables. The estimate assumes a 1,700-to-2,300-square-foot studio in white-box or vanilla-box condition. A conversion that needs extensive work can exceed the disclosed construction allowance, and the FDD excludes land acquisition entirely.
Land acquisition is not included. The disclosed Insurance amount excludes health insurance for the owner or employees. The official range also cannot resolve buyer-specific financing costs, owner living expenses, unusually extensive construction, local permit overruns or future system changes that require upgraded technology or equipment.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 10–14; Item 8, pp. 14–18.
Does Pinot’s Palette disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing?
The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth requirement. The official franchise webpage, checked July 17, 2026, asks prospects to verify at least $50,000 in liquid capital and a credit score of 680 or higher. That website screen is a current qualification statement, not the full startup investment and not proof that $50,000 is sufficient to open. The FDD also does not state a minimum Non-Borrowed Funds requirement.
Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. The official franchise webpage separately says it connects prospects with lenders. Read together, that statement is best treated as a lender-introduction service rather than franchisor financing; approval, terms and required equity remain lender decisions. The FDD obligation table also identifies a Personal Guaranty of Franchise Agreement obligations for the franchisee’s owners or principals; it is not a dollar threshold, but it can affect personal exposure and lender underwriting. The U.S. Small Business Administration’s Lender Match information also makes clear that matching does not guarantee a loan offer.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 9 and 10, p. 19; official franchise information page checked July 17, 2026.
What discounts can reduce the Initial Franchise Fee?
The 2026 FDD offers a 20% VetFran discount on the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee to an eligible active-duty member or honorably discharged veteran, or to a qualifying entity in which that person holds more than 15% of voting power. It also offers a 20% Multi-Unit Owner Discount to an eligible current franchisee whose existing Franchised Business has operated for at least six months and who meets the stated compliance and ownership conditions.
The fee reduction applies to the Initial Franchise Fee only; the FDD does not state that it reduces Leasehold Improvements, equipment, inventory, Additional Funds or ongoing fees. It also does not state that the two discounts may be combined. The International Franchise Association’s VetFran program provides context on veteran franchise incentives, while brand-specific eligibility and the discount amount are governed by the current FDD.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 7.
Why do the official website and the 2026 FDD show different startup figures?
The official franchise webpage showed a different startup-cost table from the April 17, 2026 FDD when checked July 17, 2026. The webpage displayed a $30,000 Franchise Fee and a total of $101,446 to $250,599. The current FDD instead discloses a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee and a $119,000 to $259,000 total.
Use the 2026 FDD for the disclosure-governed cost contract. Do not blend the website’s lower total, $30,000 fee or older line items with the current startup table. Before signing, request any quarterly update or amendment and confirm that the operative FDD still carries the April 17, 2026 issuance date.
The FTC explains that a franchisor must provide the Franchise Disclosure Document at least 14 calendar days before a prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate. Its Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise also recommends asking for updated information before signing when disclosures may have changed.
Sources: 2026 FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 10–14; official franchise information page checked July 17, 2026.
Which fees can arise after opening or at a transfer or renewal?
Later costs depend on events rather than normal weekly operation. Item 6 identifies transfer, late-payment, insufficient-funds, conference and management charges. Item 17 adds potential remodel, equipment-replacement and training obligations at transfer or renewal even though no separate Renewal Fee is listed in Item 6.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–10; Item 17, pp. 41–46.
What should be verified before setting a capital target?
A buyer should start with $119,000 to $259,000, then verify the site-specific obligations that the official range cannot settle. The most important checks concern premises condition, landlord contribution, alcohol licensing, supplier freight and whether the franchisor has issued an updated FDD or amendment.
The central distinction is straightforward: the disclosed startup total, the fee due at signing, the website qualification screen and the continuing charges measure different obligations. The unresolved capital question is the actual cost of the approved premises and local licensing, because those items create the greatest disclosed variation and can exceed the disclosed assumptions.