How Much Does a Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake Pizza Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

CURRENT INVESTMENT DISCLOSURE

How much does a Papa Murphy's franchise cost?

A new Papa Murphy's Kitchen Delite Franchised Store has a disclosed Estimated Initial Investment of $450,330 to $693,450. That is the single U.S. range in the Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 27, 2026. It is not the same as the Initial Franchise Fee, the buyer's Liquid Capital requirement, or the Net Worth requirement.

$450,330–$693,450

2026 FDD Item 7 total for the Kitchen Delite store format. The range includes the Franchise Fee, lease and utility deposits, Leasehold Improvements, the Opening Package, Initial Marketing Fees and Expenses, three months of premises rent, training-related costs, insurance, bookkeeping, and Additional Funds.

Source: Papa Murphy's International LLC 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 27–32. The franchisor's official start-up cost page publishes the same current total and Item 7 line items.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Papa Murphy's International LLC, a Delaware limited liability company. FDD issuance date: March 27, 2026. Applicable format: Kitchen Delite Franchised Store. Cost sources: Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. FDD pages used: Item 5 pp. 18–19; Item 6 pp. 19–27; Item 7 pp. 27–32; Item 10 pp. 36–37; Item 11 pp. 37–45; Item 17 pp. 50–53. Official web information was checked July 19, 2026. Papa Murphy's appears in the MTY Group official brand portfolio.

Capital snapshot

The most useful figures separate opening payments, the initial operating cushion, continuing fees and the franchisor's current financial screening thresholds.

Paid to franchisor or affiliates $213,950–$265,300 Part of, not additional to, the total investment disclosed on the 2026 FDD cover.
First-store Franchise Fee $25,000 Nonrefundable and due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Additional Funds $10,000–$50,000 Included in Item 7 for the first three months; owner salary is excluded.
Royalty Fee 5% Weekly Net Sales, collected weekly for the prior week.
Brand Marketing Fee 2% Weekly Net Sales, separate from local and cooperative marketing.
Official financial screening $125k / $350k Liquid Capital / Net Worth for a new store on the current official franchise site.
WHAT THE RANGE INCLUDES

What is included in the $450,330 to $693,450 investment?

The 2026 Item 7 range covers the Franchise Fee plus 18 other disclosed opening-cost categories for the Kitchen Delite format. The two largest categories are Leasehold Improvements at $210,500 to $325,000 and the Opening Package at $160,000 to $173,000. The tables below preserve the official ranges and payment timing without treating every line as payable to the franchisor.

Site, design and build-out costs
Item 7 expenditure 2026 range When paid Primary payee
Lease and Utilities Deposits and Payments $3,000–$7,500 As incurred Landlord, utilities, contractors
Leasehold Improvements $210,500–$325,000 As incurred Landlord or contractors
Signs $10,000–$25,000 Before opening Suppliers
Stamped Architectural Drawings $11,150–$13,050 As incurred Architect
As Built Survey $2,800–$5,000 As incurred Suppliers
Franchise Premises Rent — 3 months $4,500–$17,500 As incurred Landlord
Equipment, inventory and opening program costs
Item 7 expenditure 2026 range When paid Primary payee
Opening Package: equipment, supplies, décor, cabinets, POS System, smallwares, warehousing and last-mile delivery $160,000–$173,000 Before opening Franchisor or suppliers
Miscellaneous Development Service Fees $0–$1,270 As incurred Franchisor
Inventory $5,000–$9,600 Before opening Suppliers
Initial Marketing Fees and Expenses — 6 months $15,000 As incurred and within 180 days after opening Franchisor or suppliers
Materials and Supplies $500–$2,000 Before opening Suppliers
Operations In-Store Training, Enterprise Solution Training and Foundations Class $0–$750 Before training Franchisor
Training, protection and initial operating cushion
Item 7 expenditure 2026 range When paid Primary payee
Training Travel and Living Expenses $1,180–$9,305 As incurred Airlines, hotels, restaurants
Employee Training $500–$1,500 As incurred Employees
Insurance — 3 months $375–$1,175 Before opening Insurers
Bookkeeping/Payroll Service — 3 months $825–$1,800 Monthly Approved vendor
Lease Guaranty Fee $0–$10,000 When a guaranty agreement is signed Franchisor or affiliate
Additional Funds, Working Capital and Miscellaneous Expenses — 3 months $10,000–$50,000 As incurred Employees, suppliers, utilities

How should the low and high endpoints be read?

The endpoints define the franchisor's disclosed opening-cost envelope for the stated format; they are not a forecast that every buyer will land at one end or the other. A buyer should not select the lowest figure from each row and assume those conditions will occur together. The low end reflects a favorable combination of premises condition, location, contractor pricing, design scope and limited upgrades. The high end still may not cover work that the disclosure expressly leaves outside the estimate.

Each row also has its own commercial basis. A construction contract may require deposits and progress payments, while inventory, supplies and equipment may be billed near delivery. Rent and utility commitments can begin before the business opens. A refundable landlord deposit is different from a nonrefundable payment to the franchisor, even though both appear inside the opening range. The refund terms therefore depend on the applicable lease, vendor agreement or franchise contract rather than the table alone.

The total should be used as a reconciliation control. A premises-specific budget can replace a disclosed row with a documented quote, but the buyer should preserve the other rows and confirm that no pass-through amount is entered a second time. Any optional upgrade, local-jurisdiction requirement or vendor service outside the standard package should remain visible as a separate unresolved amount until a written quote is available.

The estimates rely substantially on recent operating and development experience, but the disclosure warns that actual expenses can differ because of local conditions, wages, competition, premises condition and other circumstances. For that reason, a completed funding plan should show the source, payee, due date, refund status and supporting document for every expected payment rather than relying only on the published endpoints.

2026 Item 7 ranges for major opening-cost categories

Floating bars show the official low-to-high range on a $0 to $325,000 scale. Exact values appear beside each category.

Leasehold Improvements$210,500–$325,000
Opening Package$160,000–$173,000
Additional Funds$10,000–$50,000
Signs$10,000–$25,000
Premises Rent — 3 months$4,500–$17,500
Stamped Architectural Drawings$11,150–$13,050
Training Travel$1,180–$9,305
$0$162,500$325,000

Interpretation: premises construction and the Opening Package dominate the disclosed startup range; the smaller ranges still affect cash timing. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 27–32. Bar positions are proportional calculations from the official endpoints.

The Initial Franchise Fee includes Operations In-Store Training, Enterprise Solution Training and Foundations Class for up to two individuals who signed the Franchise Agreement. Each additional franchisee or non-owner attendee costs $750, and travel, lodging, meals, wages and related expenses remain separate.

Cost implication

Leasehold Improvements and the Opening Package combine to $370,500 to $498,000 when the compatible low endpoints and high endpoints are added. This is a derived subtotal, not a franchisor-published total, and it explains why premises condition, contractor pricing and required equipment are the main range drivers.

KITCHEN DELITE FORMAT

Why can the premises change the cost so much?

The 2026 Item 7 figures are based on Papa Murphy's Kitchen Delite store format and actual costs from approximately six Kitchen Delite stores built in 2024 and 2025 across different geographies. The low end assumes few or no optional upgrades, favorable space condition and a lower-cost geography. The FDD does not publish a separate Item 7 total for an inline store, freestanding building, resale, conversion or multi-unit commitment.

Kitchen Delite cost map

The format has one official Item 7 range, but several premises variables sit outside a simple low/high reading.

Space condition and geographyThe FDD says Leasehold Improvements vary with the type and condition of the space, geography, contractor experience, and labor and material availability.
Freestanding work is not resolvedThe Leasehold Improvements estimate does not include free-standing buildings or exterior renovations. A tenant improvement allowance also should not be assumed to reduce the published range.
Size affects rent and survey workStores opened in 2025 averaged 1,418 square feet and ranged from 973 to 1,800 square feet. Item 7 includes only the first three months of rent.
Technology may use different commercial modelsThe POS System may be purchased or provided through subscription arrangements, with separate implementation, support, hardware and payment-processing charges.

Excluded or unresolved by Item 7: the price of a free-standing building, exterior renovations, optional Kitchen Delite upgrades, variable architectural services beyond the standard package, recurring software subscriptions, payment-processing charges, and owner salary or personal expenses during the first three months.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The full $450,330 to $693,450 is not paid on one date. The 2026 FDD spreads the cash requirement across contract signing, lease and design work, construction and equipment procurement, training and opening, and the first three operating months.

Sign the Franchise Agreement. Pay the $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee for a first Franchised Store. A subsequent Franchised Store uses a $15,000 Subsequent Franchise Fee. A Multiple Store Fee is due at signing for all committed stores.
Secure the premises and begin development. Lease and utility deposits, architectural drawings, the survey, and Leasehold Improvements are paid as incurred. A Lease Guaranty Fee is due only if Papa Murphy's or an affiliate agrees to guarantee the lease.
Procure opening assets before launch. Signs, the Opening Package, Inventory, Materials and Supplies, and three months of insurance are generally paid before opening or as vendor contracts require.
Complete training and opening marketing. Training fees and travel are paid before or during training. The $15,000 Initial Marketing Fees and Expenses amount is incurred through the opening period and within 180 days after opening.
Fund the first three months and begin recurring payments. Additional Funds, rent, payroll-related services and other operating expenses are used during the initial period. Royalty Fee and Brand Marketing Fee payments begin weekly after the Commencement Date.

How should the opening cash schedule be built?

A useful schedule separates committed payments from estimates. The contract-signing payment is known first. Premises deposits and design costs follow only after a site and lease structure are identified. Construction and equipment invoices should then be mapped to the vendor's deposit, progress-payment and delivery terms. Opening-period expenses should be placed in the month in which the invoice is actually due rather than allocated evenly across the project.

The reimbursement arrangement deserves a separate control column. When a vendor is paid on the buyer's behalf, the schedule should show the underlying vendor invoice, the amount withdrawn from the designated account and the matching cost category. That prevents the reimbursement from being mistaken for an additional development charge. The same control is useful for marketing materials, technology deployment and other expenses that may be invoiced directly or routed through an affiliated party.

The operating cushion should remain distinct from construction money. It is intended to absorb early payroll, utilities, supplies, professional expenses and other startup outflows after the doors open. Because personal compensation and living expenses are excluded, the buyer's household reserve belongs in a separate personal plan. Combining those two pools can make the business appear fully funded while leaving the owner without enough personal liquidity during the opening period.

The Development Billing Agreement can change the payment route without changing who bears the cost. If required, Papa Murphy's pays specified third-party development, build-out and new-store marketing vendors and electronically accesses a designated bank account for reimbursement. The 2026 FDD estimates reimbursements under that arrangement at $188,950 to $240,300; those pass-through amounts are within the relevant development categories, not an extra amount to add to Item 7. If a lease guaranty is approved, the fee equals 10% of the guaranteed rental obligations, capped at $10,000.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The principal continuing percentage charges are a 5% Royalty Fee on weekly Net Sales and a 2% Brand Marketing Fee on weekly Net Sales. In addition, each store must spend at least the greater of 5% of Net Sales or $2,000 per month on Local Marketing and Promotion and Regional Cooperative Advertising. Cooperative contributions count toward that local minimum. The FDD states that current cooperatives contribute up to 7.5% of Net Sales as determined by the cooperative and approved by Papa Murphy's.

Sales-based ongoing obligations disclosed in 2026 Item 6

Bar height compares the disclosed percentage of Net Sales. The local marketing obligation also has a separate $2,000 monthly floor.

Interpretation: the Royalty Fee and Brand Marketing Fee total 7% of weekly Net Sales, while the local/cooperative obligation is separate and may exceed 5% because the minimum is the greater of 5% of Net Sales or $2,000 per month. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 19–25.

Recurring transaction, program and support fees
Fee Amount or basis Timing Cost note
Online Ordering Fee $0.35 per online transaction Weekly May increase by no more than 5% in any 12-month period on notice.
Customer Relations Management $10 per month Monthly Current franchisee reimbursement amount.
Loyalty Program $53 per month Monthly Required participation; amount may change on notice.
Gift Card Redemption Fee 6.06%–13.63% Monthly Applied to the gift-card redemption amount; rate depends on redemption type.
Food Service Incident Management $3 per month Monthly Required incident-management tool.
Store Solutions Team Support $49 per month Monthly Subject to annual increase.
POS Software Support, Subscription, Maintenance and Hosting $95–$600 per month Monthly Depends on the approved system, devices and modules.
Managed Firewall / Network Security $30–$90 per month Monthly Payable to the franchisor, an affiliate or an approved provider.
Business Class High Speed Internet Access$50 to $200 per month, payable to a third-party vendor.
Secure Payment Gateway and Related Technology$11 to $25 per month, billed quarterly, plus separate processing-related charges that vary by provider and transaction.
Bookkeeping/Payroll Service$0 to $630 per month. A service meeting Papa Murphy's criteria is required for the first year of operation.
Marketing Kits$45 to $500 as incurred for designated training guides, plan-o-grams and point-of-purchase materials.
Required InsuranceAt least $2,000,000 per occurrence for comprehensive general and products liability coverage and $1,000,000 per occurrence for business automobile liability. If the franchisor buys required coverage after a failure to do so, the franchisee reimburses the cost.

How do percentage, fixed and transaction charges behave?

The percentage charges move with the disclosed sales basis. They cannot be converted into a reliable annual dollar amount without an authorized sales assumption, so this article does not do so. The buyer should instead model them as separate lines tied to the reporting period stated in the agreement. That keeps the calculation consistent if sales change and avoids treating a percentage as a fixed overhead amount.

Fixed monthly and quarterly charges behave differently. They may continue even during a slow period because the amount is based on access to a program, support service or technology platform rather than sales volume. Transaction charges arise only when the relevant activity occurs, but they can grow with digital ordering, gift-card use or payment processing. The contract or provider schedule should be checked for taxes, implementation charges, minimums and annual increases that are not captured by the headline amount.

Marketing has three layers that should remain separate in the operating budget: the systemwide contribution, the local or cooperative requirement, and occasional materials or campaign costs. A cooperative contribution can receive credit toward the local requirement, but the systemwide contribution remains additional. Keeping those layers separate prevents an apparent single marketing percentage from understating the actual obligation.

FDD caveat

The Franchise Agreement permits Royalty Fees to rise to up to 15% of Net Sales during a breach or default, charged for a minimum 14-day period. That is a default-related rate, not the standard operating Royalty Fee.

EVENT-TRIGGERED COSTS

Which costs apply only in certain circumstances?

Item 6 includes material fees that do not arise in ordinary weekly operations. They matter when a store is transferred, renewed, relocated, refurbished, extended, audited, placed in default or closed early.

Transfer to a first-time Papa Murphy's franchisee.The Transfer Fee is $25,000 less $2,500 for each full year remaining in the applicable term, with a $12,500 minimum. Transfer to an existing franchisee starts at $15,000 less $1,500 per full year remaining, with a $7,500 minimum.
Purchase of an existing store.A $500 POS Change of Ownership Fee, a $0 to $300 Software License Transfer Fee and a $100 Online Ordering Transfer Fee may apply.
Renewal for a five-year successive term.The Successive Franchise Fee is one-half of the then-current Franchise Fee and is due 60 days before the Franchise Agreement expires. Renewal also can require refurbishment, remodeling and replacement of obsolete equipment.
Relocation or delayed opening.The Relocation Fee is $5,000 before relocation. An approved extension of up to six months to open the store costs $2,500.
Required upgrade, refurbishment or replacement.Item 6 estimates $4,000 to $50,000 when Papa Murphy's requires changes to premises, fixtures, furnishings or equipment. Item 8 states that mandatory Operations Manual and POS System changes are at the franchisee's cost and are not contractually capped.
Non-participation, late payment or insufficient funds.Non-Participation Fee: $100 per day. Late Payment Fee: $75. Non-sufficient Funds Fee: $35 plus reimbursement of the franchisor's bank fees. Unpaid amounts accrue interest at 1.5% per month, subject to law.
Audit, supplier review or step-in.An audit that finds understated Net Sales can shift audit and related expenses to the franchisee. A proposed supplier review requires reimbursement of reasonable evaluation expenses. Step-In Costs equal personnel and administrative costs plus 15%.
Early closing.Early Termination Damages use the average monthly Royalty Fee and Brand Marketing Fee from a selected 12-month period, multiplied by remaining term months and divided by two when the required six-month notice is provided; without that notice, the amount is not divided by two.

Other disclosed event costs include $100 to $300 per day for Additional Assistance or Training, $1,000 to $3,500 for Franchise Conventions, up to $500 for Convention Materials when a required convention is missed, and a $500 Document Administration Fee when an amendment or assignment must be prepared. Indemnification costs vary and can require reimbursement when Papa Murphy's is held liable for claims arising from the franchisee's acts or omissions.

Should conditional charges be added to the opening budget?

Not automatically. These amounts belong in a scenario schedule rather than the base opening total unless the triggering event is already expected. A buyer planning to acquire an existing location should include the applicable ownership-transfer, training and refurbishment work. A buyer signing for a new location generally would not add transfer or renewal charges to the first-store opening range.

Some triggers are controllable, while others depend on later business decisions or contract compliance. Relocation, renewal and sale are planned events. Late-payment, audit, non-participation and default charges arise from specified conduct. Equipment replacement and required upgrades can occur during the term even when the store is otherwise operating normally. The budget should therefore distinguish a known near-term payment from a longer-term contractual exposure.

Where the amount is a formula rather than a fixed dollar figure, the buyer should preserve the formula and identify the inputs that will be known only later. Substituting a guessed dollar amount can create false precision. A legal review is particularly important when a formula depends on remaining term, historical payments, notice timing or the franchisor's costs.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth are required?

Papa Murphy's current official franchise pages state that a new-store candidate needs at least $125,000 in Liquid Capital and $350,000 in Net Worth for consideration. The official U.S. franchise homepage publishes both thresholds, while the official qualification FAQ says qualifying liquid assets can include cash and accessible investments. The FAQ also says a resale may qualify for a lower Liquid Capital threshold when the resale investment is lower. As of July 19, 2026, that FAQ still displays an older total-investment range; this article uses the March 27, 2026 FDD and the updated official start-up cost page for the current $450,330 to $693,450 figure.

Total Initial Investment is the store-opening range.It is $450,330 to $693,450 for the Kitchen Delite format.
Liquid Capital is accessible funding.The $125,000 screening threshold does not mean the full project can be opened with $125,000.
Net Worth is assets minus liabilities.The $350,000 threshold is not cash available to pay construction invoices.
No separate Non-Borrowed Funds threshold is published.The 2026 FDD and current official pages reviewed do not state a distinct minimum for non-borrowed funds.
Personal guarantees may be required.Item 10 states that individuals and, when applicable, entity principals and spouses must personally guarantee debt connected with a franchisor-approved lease guaranty arrangement.

Why are the screening thresholds not the funding plan?

A screening threshold answers whether a candidate may be considered; it does not state how the project will be financed. Accessible assets can help cover deposits, equity contributions and unexpected invoices, but a lender may require a different equity amount, collateral package or reserve. Net worth can include assets that are not readily available for construction payments, so it should not be treated as a cash balance.

The funding plan should identify cash on hand, approved debt, any landlord allowance and the timing of each source. It should also state which assets remain available after the first payments are made. A candidate can satisfy the published thresholds and still face a gap if financing closes late, a vendor requires a larger deposit, or the premises needs work outside the disclosed scope.

Resale screening needs its own analysis because the purchase agreement, condition of the store, required upgrades and seller financing can change the capital structure. A lower screening threshold does not remove the need to fund the purchase price, transfer-related charges, repairs and post-closing working cash.

FINANCING AND FEE REDUCTIONS

Does Papa Murphy's finance the investment or reduce the Franchise Fee?

The 2026 FDD says Papa Murphy's International LLC and its affiliates do not offer direct financing and do not finance the Initial Investment. Item 10 also says they do not guarantee financial obligations except that Papa Murphy's or an affiliate may, in its sole discretion, guarantee a store lease for the separate Lease Guaranty Fee.

Current official franchise-site content describes relationships with third-party lenders and discusses lender and SBA financing options. That does not create guaranteed approval, a promised interest rate, or a commitment by the franchisor to fund the project.

Source conflict

Item 10 says the franchisor does not assist in providing financing, while current official web pages describe lender relationships and financing guidance. A buyer should ask in writing which services, lender introductions and document support are actually available under the current offer.

What does financing change?

Financing changes the source and timing of capital, not the underlying cost categories. Loan proceeds may pay eligible construction, equipment, inventory or real-estate expenses, but interest, lender fees, required equity and debt service are separate obligations. They should not be inserted into the franchisor's opening range unless the disclosure expressly includes them.

Approval also depends on the borrower and the transaction. A lender may evaluate credit, collateral, experience, site economics, lease terms and available equity. A relationship between a lender and the franchise system does not commit the lender to approve a particular applicant. Written loan terms should be compared with the construction schedule so that funds are available before deposits and progress payments become due.

Any lease support should be evaluated separately from business financing. The guaranty is discretionary, carries its own nonrefundable charge and does not remove the franchisee's underlying rental obligation. The buyer should confirm the guaranteed amount, term, personal-guaranty language and conditions for release before treating that support as part of the funding structure.

Which fee incentives are disclosed?

The 2026 FDD identifies a Military Discount, a Heroes Program for qualifying law enforcement officers, medical doctors, nurses, emergency medical technicians and firefighters, and a Store Manager to Ownership Transfer Program that may waive the Transfer Fee and provide other incentives. The FDD does not state a fixed reduction for every program and reserves the right to modify or cancel them. The current official veteran incentive page states a 50% reduction of the Initial Franchise Fee for qualified active-duty or honorably discharged veterans. A fee reduction affects the Franchise Fee only unless the applicable written program says otherwise.

MULTIPLE STORES AND RESALES

How do multi-unit commitments and resales change the cost contract?

A qualified multi-unit candidate may sign a Multiple Store Commitment Letter and separate Franchise Agreements. The nonrefundable Multiple Store Fee equals $25,000 for the first store plus $15,000 for each additional committed store, all due upon signing. The fee remains nonrefundable even if the committed stores do not open. The 2026 FDD does not provide a separate Item 7 total for the entire development schedule, so each store's premises, equipment and working-capital needs must be evaluated separately.

A resale is not assigned the Kitchen Delite new-store range automatically. It may carry a lower purchase price or lower Liquid Capital screening threshold, but it can also trigger the Transfer Fee, technology ownership-transfer charges, required training and refurbishment or upgrade costs. The buyer should distinguish the price paid to the seller from amounts payable to Papa Murphy's, approved technology vendors, contractors and other third parties.

How should a resale be compared with a new store?

The comparison should use the same categories on both sides. For a new store, the largest amounts are generally tied to premises development and the complete opening package. For a resale, the seller's price may include installed assets and an operating lease, but the buyer still needs to identify deferred maintenance, required upgrades, inventory adjustments, technology migration and post-closing cash.

The seller's purchase price is not a substitute for the franchisor's fee schedule. Some payments go to the seller, others to the franchisor or approved providers, and still others to landlords, lenders, contractors and professional advisers. A closing statement that identifies each payee is the clearest way to prevent transfer-related charges from disappearing inside one aggregate purchase number.

A multi-location comparison also should be made store by store. Development deadlines may overlap, causing deposits and construction payments for several locations to become due before the first location has completed its opening period. The commitment fee is only the contractual entry payment; it does not fund the premises, equipment or operating cushion for the additional locations.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be verified before relying on the cost range?

The official Item 7 range is a disclosure framework, not a site-specific construction quote. Before signing or paying, the buyer should reconcile the current FDD with the selected premises, approved vendors, financing structure and any incentive letter.

How should quotes be reconciled before signing?

Start with a single schedule that assigns every expected payment to one category and one payee. The schedule should show whether the amount is fixed, quoted, capped, estimated or still unknown. It should also identify the document that controls the payment, such as a lease, construction proposal, equipment order, provider agreement or written program letter. This makes it possible to see where the published disclosure has been replaced by a transaction-specific number and where an estimate is still being used.

Premises costs need the most detailed reconciliation. The lease should be read together with the contractor's scope, the architect's scope and the landlord's work letter. A landlord contribution may be paid after work is completed rather than when the contractor requires payment, creating a temporary cash need even when the contribution ultimately reduces the buyer's net cost. Excluded work, change orders, utility upgrades, accessibility requirements and exterior work should be identified separately so they do not disappear inside a broad construction allowance.

Equipment and technology quotes should separate physical assets from installation, configuration, freight, taxes, warranties and continuing service. A low purchase price can be paired with higher recurring charges, while a subscription arrangement can reduce the initial invoice but create a longer payment commitment. The comparison should cover the full commercial structure disclosed by the provider, not only the amount due before opening. Any optional device or module should be marked as optional rather than silently included in the required package.

Opening expenses should be tested for overlap. Marketing materials may be included in one package and invoiced again through a separate opening program. Training may be included for designated attendees while travel and wages remain the buyer's responsibility. Supplies may appear in an equipment package, an opening inventory order and a general materials line. The buyer should ask for a written explanation whenever two descriptions appear to cover the same item.

Timing matters as much as the total. A schedule that merely lists final amounts can conceal a period when several large deposits are due before financing proceeds, landlord reimbursements or other funding sources are available. Each line should therefore include the earliest possible due date, the expected invoice date and the latest date by which funds must be accessible. This produces a peak-cash requirement that may differ from the final net cost.

Refundability should be tracked separately. A payment can be part of the opening range yet remain recoverable under a third-party contract, while another payment may be fully earned when paid. Deposits, retainers, application charges and pass-through reimbursements can have different cancellation consequences. The written terms, rather than the label used in a summary table, determine whether money can be recovered if the site, financing or opening plan changes.

The final reconciliation should include an unresolved-items register. Each open issue should state who must answer it, which document is needed and whether the uncertainty affects the low end, the high end or both. Examples include the final scope of landlord work, local approval conditions, provider configuration, delivery charges and required upgrades discovered during site review. An unresolved item should not be replaced with a convenient midpoint merely to make the schedule balance.

Changes after approval should be recorded as they occur. A revised drawing, substituted product, delayed delivery or newly required service can affect more than one invoice. The change log should identify the reason, the party requesting it, the amount already committed and whether another line decreases as a result. Without that record, a replacement can be counted as an addition even when it merely substitutes for an earlier selection.

Contingencies should be transparent rather than hidden inside inflated line items. Where the governing disclosure does not publish a contingency allowance, the buyer may decide to hold an additional reserve, but that reserve should be labeled as the buyer's own planning decision. Keeping it outside the official total preserves the distinction between disclosed facts and personal risk tolerance while still protecting against late changes.

Finally, the schedule should be reviewed whenever the site, lease, provider package or opening date changes. An earlier opening may accelerate purchases and payroll; a delay may extend rent, storage or temporary-service expenses. Reconciliation is therefore an ongoing control through opening, not a one-time spreadsheet exercise completed when the agreements are signed.

Once the schedule is complete, the buyer can compare three totals: the published disclosure, the current transaction budget and the amount of committed funding. Differences should be explainable line by line. A lower transaction budget may reflect a landlord contribution or existing usable assets; a higher budget may reflect site work or services outside the standard scope. The funding amount should cover the timing of invoices as well as the eventual net cost, while keeping personal reserves separate from business funds.

Confirm the exact store format and scope.Verify that the proposed design is the Kitchen Delite format and identify optional upgrades, exterior work and any freestanding-building costs.
Obtain a premises-specific build-out budget.Separate Leasehold Improvements, landlord allowances, architectural extras, survey add-ons, signage and local permit costs.
Identify every technology payment stream.Document upfront POS System hardware and deployment, monthly support and subscription fees, managed network security, internet, gateway and payment-processing charges.
Reconcile the Development Billing Agreement.Confirm which Item 7 costs will be paid through Papa Murphy's and which vendors will bill directly so pass-through reimbursements are not counted twice.
Separate business working capital from personal living costs.The $10,000 to $50,000 Additional Funds row covers three months and excludes owner salary and personal expense reimbursement.
Get fee reductions and multi-unit terms in writing.Confirm the exact Franchise Fee, stores committed, refund rules and whether any incentive remains available when the agreements are signed.
Request the latest disclosure updates.The FTC explains that buyers must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying and may request updated information before closing.

The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how Items 5, 6 and 7 work together, and the FTC's FDD review guidance emphasizes reading the complete disclosure and asking questions before payment.

COST DECISION

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The verified 2026 starting point is $450,330 to $693,450 for one Kitchen Delite Franchised Store. The range is driven mainly by Leasehold Improvements and the Opening Package, while the cash schedule extends from Franchise Agreement signing through the first three months of operation. The $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component; the official $125,000 Liquid Capital and $350,000 Net Worth thresholds are screening requirements, not substitutes for the Item 7 investment. After opening, the buyer must budget for the 5% Royalty Fee, 2% Brand Marketing Fee, the separate local/cooperative marketing requirement, technology charges and event-triggered obligations.

The largest unresolved cost question is the selected premises: free-standing construction, exterior renovation, optional upgrades, landlord allowances and site-specific code requirements are not fully priced by the published range. That premises budget should be resolved before the buyer treats the Item 7 high end as a complete funding ceiling.