Padgett Business Services has two separate 2026 cost tracks. A conversion franchise is disclosed at $8,700 to $84,920, while a startup franchise is disclosed at a fixed $117,295. The conversion range applies to an existing practice brought into the Padgett system; the startup amount applies when the owner joins with no clients.
$117,295 startup
These are the 2026 FDD Item 7 Estimated Initial Investment figures. Both totals include $1,200 of Additional Funds for three months, but both expressly exclude real estate costs. The conversion and startup figures are not interchangeable.
Why does Padgett disclose two different investment amounts?
The conversion franchise is for a firm with existing clients that is moving into the Padgett system. The FDD states that an existing book of business of at least $100,000 in revenue may qualify. The startup franchise is for an owner joining with no clients. Padgett's official conversion-format page also confirms that a physical office is not required for many converting firms, while the FDD treats optional premises costs separately.
Common scale from $0 to $120,000. The conversion format is a range; the startup format is a fixed disclosed amount.
Interpretation: The lowest published number belongs only to a conversion that already has most required assets and elects little or no marketing, training or software cost. It is not the entry cost for a new practice.
Source: 2026 Padgett Business Services FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 8–11. Official FDD facts; no midpoint or average was calculated.
What is included in the Padgett initial investment?
Item 7 includes payments to Padgett, training travel, equipment, marketing, insurance, office expenses and three months of Additional Funds. It does not provide a complete premises budget: the official totals expressly exclude real estate costs.
Payments made to Padgett
| Item 7 expenditure | Conversion | Startup | Disclosed timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | $1,000 | $1,000 | When the application is submitted |
| Initial License Fee | $2,500–$12,500 | $37,000 | On signing the Franchise Agreement |
| Training Fee | $0–$18,000 | $18,000 | On signing the Franchise Agreement |
| Initial Software Fee | $0–$7,020 | $7,020 | Item 7 says on signing; Item 5 says at the start of initial training |
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 3–4 and 8–11. The maximum conversion component total is $38,520; the startup component total is $63,020.
Other opening expenditures
| Cost category | Conversion | Startup | What the FDD says |
|---|---|---|---|
| Travel and Living Expenses | $2,000 | $2,000 | Initial and continuing classroom training, tax seminar and marketing convention travel |
| Real Estate Improvements | Not required | Not required | Optional physical premises are outside the disclosed total |
| Equipment and Fixtures | $0 | $3,500 | Computers and office equipment; existing firms usually already have them |
| Marketing | $0–$41,200 | $41,200 | Current cost of comprehensive programs for 12 months |
| Office Supplies | $0 | $2,000 | Before opening |
| Initial Insurance | $0 | $800 | Conversion firms usually have existing coverage |
| Rent, Telephone, Postage, Etc. | $0 | $1,200 | As incurred; separate from excluded real estate costs |
| Other Expenses | $2,000 | $2,375 | As incurred |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $1,200 | $1,200 | Security deposits, utility deposits, business licenses and other prepaid expenses |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–11. Additional Funds are already included in the official total and must not be added a second time.
Insurance standards can outlast the opening allowance. Item 8 requires workers' compensation and employer's liability as prescribed by law, at least $1,000,000 of general liability coverage, at least $1,000,000 of errors and omissions coverage, and at least $250,000 of cyber insurance. Padgett may increase the required limits. The startup Item 7 table budgets $800 for Initial Insurance, while the conversion table assumes $0 because an existing firm will usually have coverage already.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 11–13.
How does the conversion Initial License Fee change with an existing book of business?
The 2026 FDD links the conversion Initial License Fee to the purchaser's existing billings. The fee falls from $12,500 at the lowest tier to $2,500 at $400,000 or more. This schedule affects only the Initial License Fee, not the total cost of acquiring the practice or the other Item 7 categories.
All five bars use the same dollar basis and show the fixed license fee stated in Item 7 Note 1.
under $200k
Interpretation: A larger existing book can reduce the Initial License Fee, but the buyer may still incur Training Fee, Initial Software Fee, Marketing and acquisition costs outside Padgett's Item 7 total.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7 Note 1, pp. 10–11. Official fixed fee schedule; no revenue valuation or acquisition-price estimate is implied.
Padgett's official start-your-firm page says flexible franchise pricing typically starts at $9,250 and that software, website and supplemental marketing costs may also apply. That statement is not a substitute for the 2026 Item 5 and Item 7 schedules. A prospective buyer should require Padgett to reconcile the website quote to the exact Application Fee, Initial License Fee, Training Fee, Initial Software Fee and Marketing obligations in the proposed agreements.
When is the upfront money paid?
The cash leaves in stages rather than as one payment. The 2026 FDD identifies an application payment, Franchise Agreement payments, software timing and vendor expenditures before or during opening.
The FTC's Franchise Rule information explains the federal disclosure framework, and its franchise disclosure guidance notes that the FDD must be provided at least 14 days before a binding agreement or payment to the franchisor or an affiliate.
Which Padgett fees continue after opening?
The main continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee and annual PAS License Fee. Advertising Fund Contributions are authorized but were not yet active in the 2026 FDD. Several other charges arise only after a specific event, such as late payment, an audit, a transfer or Padgett performing tax-return work for an unqualified operator.
| Fee | Amount or basis | When due | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee — conversion | 5% first 12 months; 6.5% second 12 months; then 9% of Gross Receipts | Monthly by the 10th | Discounted rates require timely payment; a minimum applies after 24 months, but the table does not state its amount |
| Royalty Fee — startup | Greater of 9% of Gross Receipts or the scheduled monthly minimum | Monthly by the 10th | Minimum schedule begins after the First Six-Month Period |
| Advertising Fund Contribution | Up to 2% of Gross Receipts | Monthly by the 10th if activated | No fund had been established; contribution waits until at least 50% of the system is required or agrees to pay |
| PAS License Fee | $7,020–$7,370 per year | Prior to opening and annually | Depends on payment terms selected |
| Tax Return and Financial Reporting Preparation | Reasonable cost-based fee; tax preparation is 25%–50% of the fee collected | As incurred | Applies when Padgett determines the operator is not yet qualified; no write-up fee is currently charged, but one may be added |
| Royalty rate changes | Up to 12% | During the agreement term | Padgett may raise the Royalty Fee no more than twice and may reduce it at any time |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 4–8. “Gross Receipts” means money received for Padgett Services sold or performed by the franchise.
Startup minimum Royalty Fee schedule
The startup franchise pays the greater of 9% of Gross Receipts or the applicable minimum. Item 6 says royalty liability begins when operations begin or within two months after initial training is completed, whichever is earlier.
Which costs arise only after a triggering event?
These charges are not part of the opening total, but they can become material during the 10-year Franchise Agreement term or at renewal and transfer.
Interest at the highest legal rate, capped at 18% per year; Padgett may also charge a $50 administrative late fee per occurrence.
Audit cost of $1,500–$2,500 plus 10%–18% interest on the deficiency if reported Gross Receipts were understated by 10% or more.
Lineal-descendant transfer: current application fee, 10% of the current Initial License Fee and current Training Fee. Other transfers: current application fee, 25% of the current Initial License Fee, current Training Fee and any current listing fee if Padgett sells the business.
Padgett reserves the right to charge an amount below the then-current Initial Franchise Fee or equivalent. The exact renewal amount is not disclosed.
Padgett may charge a registration fee to defray its costs; the franchisee pays travel, lodging, meals, books, materials and other expenses.
Item 16 permits required new products, services, equipment or fixtures, so later compliance spending may arise even though no remodel requirement is listed in Item 9.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–8; Item 11, pp. 14–18; Items 15–17, pp. 22–26.
The FDD's VetFran disclosure states a $4,000 reduction to the startup Initial License Fee for qualifying veterans, producing a $33,000 license fee. Item 7 separately states a $500 reduction for qualifying conversion franchisees. The incentive reduces a designated fee, not Marketing, Training Fee, software, travel or other Item 7 costs. The VetFran program information explains the program generally; the Padgett-specific dollar amounts come from the 2026 FDD.
Does Padgett require a stated liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a numerical Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Padgett's official conversion page says it reviews financials and credit history but does not have a minimum liquid-cash requirement for that conversion path. That statement does not change the amount required to pay the actual Item 7 obligations.
The Item 7 opening range or total: $8,700–$84,920 for conversion and $117,295 for startup.
No numerical minimum is stated in the 2026 FDD. It is not the same as the Estimated Initial Investment.
No numerical minimum is stated. Net Worth would not necessarily represent cash available for payments.
Item 10 states that Padgett, its agents and affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing and do not guarantee the franchisee's notes, leases or obligations.
Item 15 says Padgett may require a third party to guarantee obligations based on the applicant's financial situation or use of a newly formed or undercapitalized entity.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 14, and Item 15, p. 22; official Padgett conversion qualification information.
What should be verified before relying on the published cost?
The official total is a disclosure range, not a buyer-specific funding plan. The most important checks are the format classification, the exact fee schedule and the costs that Item 7 leaves unresolved.
What is the clearest capital takeaway?
A conversion buyer should begin with the $8,700–$84,920 Item 7 range and then identify the exact Initial License Fee tier, Training Fee, Initial Software Fee and 12-month Marketing commitment. A startup buyer should begin with the fixed $117,295 Item 7 total, then add any real estate costs that apply. Neither amount is a Liquid Capital or Net Worth requirement.
After opening, the buyer must separately plan for the Royalty Fee, annual PAS License Fee and event-triggered charges. The largest unresolved document issues are the $270 initial-fee discrepancies, the Initial Software Fee payment date and the unstated conversion minimum royalty after month 24.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Padgett Business Services Franchise?
- How Does Padgett Business Services Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Padgett Business Services Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Padgett Business Services Franchise?
- How Much Does a Padgett Business Services Franchise Owner Make?