How much does an OpenWorks franchise cost in 2026?
The 2026 OpenWorks Franchise Disclosure Document states an Estimated Initial Investment of $4,250 to $134,480. That is one systemwide Item 7 range covering OpenWorks' home-based commercial janitorial franchise packages, not five separate package-specific total-investment ranges. The franchise fee within that total runs from $2,500 to $72,000 for the five listed packages.
The official 2026 Item 7 range includes the franchise fee, background checks, training travel, uniforms, technology, optional additional equipment and supplies, organization expenses, insurance, possible office costs, and $0 to $35,000 of Additional Operating Funds. The document says the franchise is designed for a home-based model, so a retail or commercial site is not required.
Data basis: O.P.E.N. America, Inc., an Arizona corporation doing business as OpenWorks; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 9, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; package levels OW P, OW GrOW, OW 7, OW 10, and OW 25. FDD figures were checked against the current official franchise information on July 16, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public website, so FDD citations below are plain-text Item and page references.
Source: FDD Items 5–7, pages 5–14.
What is included in the $4,250 to $134,480 range?
The investment table combines the package-dependent Initial Franchise Fee with several costs that depend on the buyer's existing equipment, staffing, insurance, technology, and decision to remain home-based. The largest disclosed variable line is Additional Operating Funds at $0 to $35,000.
Which contract and startup costs appear in the investment table?
These payments cover the franchise contract, screening, initial preparation, and the equipment or technology needed to start servicing commercial accounts.
| Cost category | Amount | When due | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise fee | $2,500–$72,000 | At signing | OpenWorks |
| Background Check Fee | Up to $80 per individual | Before signing and later as incurred | OpenWorks |
| Expenses During Training | $0–$500 | As incurred | Travel and meal vendors |
| Uniforms | $0–$400 | When purchased | OpenWorks or approved supplier |
| Computer | $0–$1,500 | When purchased | Vendor |
| Additional Supplies | $0–$500 | When purchased | OpenWorks or approved supplier |
| Additional Equipment | $0–$5,000 | When purchased or leased | OpenWorks or approved supplier |
| Organizational Costs | $500–$3,000 | As arranged | Attorney, accountant, or adviser |
Source: FDD Item 7, pages 12–14. The technology section separately estimates a computer at $300 to $1,600 and a smartphone at $600 to $1,500; The investment table's Computer line remains the controlling component of the official total.
Which premises, insurance, and working-capital costs can change the range?
A storefront is not required, but the FDD includes office-related ranges in case a franchisee chooses outside premises. Insurance and working-capital needs also vary materially.
| Cost category | Amount | What changes it | Timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Insurance | $1,000–$3,000 | First three months of required coverages | Before opening |
| Lease | $250–$1,000 | Only if outside office space is obtained | As required by lease |
| Construction and Remodeling | $0–$5,000 | Condition and requirements of optional office space | As requested |
| Furnishings | $0–$7,500 | Whether office furniture is already available | As requested |
| Additional Operating Funds | $0–$35,000 | Operating shortfalls and cash-flow shortages | As incurred over 6–12 months |
The bars show the six largest variable ranges outside the Initial Franchise Fee. The scale is $0 to $35,000.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 12–14. Values are official ranges; bar lengths are proportional renderings, not forecasts.
The table narrative says the estimate covers pre-opening and the first three months of operations, while Note 10 defines Additional Operating Funds as covering operating shortfalls during the first 6 to 12 months. That $0 to $35,000 line is already included in the official total and expressly excludes the owner's salary and living expenses.
Why does the package fee rise so sharply?
The five base fees correspond to account-volume packages rather than different storefront formats. Two packages have no initial volume commitment; three pair a higher fee with a stated volume and fulfillment period.
Each bar is scaled against the $72,000 OW 25 fee. The smaller line under each package shows its initial monthly account volume and fulfillment period.
For levels above OW 25, availability depends on the area. The price is $72,000 plus three times each increase in account volume; the document's OW 30 example is $87,000. The fulfillment period adds 150 days for each additional $5,000 of account volume.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 5–8; Item 11, pages 22–24. The bars compare franchise fees, not total startup costs.
Package equipment difference: The franchisor provides an initial equipment and supply kit at no additional charge for every listed package except OW P. The investment table nevertheless includes $0 to $5,000 for Additional Equipment and $0 to $500 for Additional Supplies because a franchisee may need items beyond the supplied kit.
The fee disclosure also states a 10% veteran discount on the franchise fee and says temporary promotions may reduce that fee, commonly by $2,000 to $5,000; 2025 promotions ranged from $500 to $5,000. These reductions apply to the franchise fee, not automatically to insurance, technology, working capital, or other Cost categorys. Sales tax on the fee is the franchisee's responsibility.
When does an OpenWorks franchisee pay the startup money?
The largest fixed payment is due at signing, before the account-volume commitment is fulfilled. Other startup costs occur before opening or as the franchisee acquires required insurance, technology, uniforms, equipment, and business registrations.
Do not treat the 240- to 780-day fulfillment period as extra time to pay the franchise fee. The fee is due at signing. The fulfillment period is the time the franchisor has, after pre-opening requirements are completed, to offer the cumulative account volume for OW 7, OW 10, or OW 25. The operations section says a franchise may begin with at least one accepted account before the full package volume has been offered.
Source: FDD Items 5, 7, and 11, pages 5–31. The operations section says signing-to-opening may range from one day to six or more months depending on readiness and account availability.
Which OpenWorks fees continue after opening?
The main continuing charges are percentage-based deductions from Gross Revenue. Item 6 defines Gross Revenue as the total amount paid by customers for services in the accounting period, without reduction for taxes or any other purpose.
| Continuing fee | Amount and basis | Timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 15% of Gross Revenue | Monthly | $300 monthly minimum disclosed; not currently collected |
| Advertising Fund Fee | 2.5% current; up to 3% of Gross Revenue | Monthly | Deducted from funds remitted by OpenWorks |
| Technology and Innovation Fee | 0.5% current; up to 2% of Gross Revenue | Monthly | May increase on 30 days' written notice or Manual amendment |
| General Liability Insurance Program | Currently 3.6% of Gross Revenue | Monthly | Only if enrolled or if the franchisor enrolls a franchisee who lacks required insurance; unavailable in New York |
| Workers' Compensation Insurance Program | Varies by state | Monthly | Only if the franchisee lacks separate coverage and joins the sponsored program; unavailable in New York |
The system does not require a separate local advertising program. Its required billing and collection service is the mechanism through which monthly fees and authorized third-party payments are deducted from customer receipts.
Which fees are triggered by a specific event?
Conditional charges can be substantial even though they are not part of the normal monthly percentage stack. The trigger matters as much as the amount.
Source: FDD Items 6, 8, and 11, pages 8–28.
Does OpenWorks disclose financing or a minimum cash requirement?
The document does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. It also does not disclose direct franchisor financing for the franchise fee. The official franchise page likewise says the franchisor does not directly finance that fee and may connect applicants with third-party financing partners.
- Marketing Fee financing
- The franchisor may finance part of an additional-account Marketing Fee at its discretion: up to 24 monthly installments, 12% annual interest unless reduced, and a minimum down payment equal to 20% of the additional billing volume.
- Equipment financing
- The franchisor may finance the full equipment purchase price at 12% annual interest over 12 equal monthly payments, with the equipment serving as collateral.
- Personal guaranty
- Principals' and spouses' personal guaranties cover a marketing-fee note. A default can accelerate the full unpaid amount and create collection costs and attorneys' fees.
- Third-party lenders
- Item 10 names Guidant Financial and LENDZEE as recommended lenders and discloses compensation to OpenWorks, but The franchisor does not guarantee third-party loans or leases.
The fee disclosure says the 10% veteran discount is deducted from the amount financed, while the financing section does not describe franchise-fee financing and the current official franchise page says the franchisor does not directly finance the Initial Franchise Fee. The 10% discount is an official FDD fact, but a buyer should obtain written confirmation of how it is applied in the current transaction.
Source: FDD Items 5 and 10, pages 5–21. Official franchise information checked July 16, 2026.
Which renewal, transfer, and system-change costs matter later?
The disclosed renewal and transfer fees are fixed or bounded, but the new agreement and future operating standards can create less predictable costs. The initial term is 10 years, with up to two additional 10-year successor terms if the renewal conditions are met.
| Later cost obligation | Disclosed amount | When it applies | Cost uncertainty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Renewal Fee | $2,500 | On signing the successor Franchise Agreement | The then-current agreement may have higher royalties, advertising contributions, or other fees |
| Account Transfer Fee | $50 per Account | Transfer of one or more, but less than substantially all, Accounts | franchisor approval required |
| Franchise Transfer Fee | $1,000–$2,500 | Partial co-owner transfer or controlling transfer to a new owner | Buyer qualification, training, assumed notes, and unpaid obligations may also affect closing |
| Technology updates and upgrades | Not capped | When needed to meet OpenWorks or third-party specifications | Item 11 states no contractual limit on frequency or cost |
| Modified standards and specifications | Not disclosed | When the franchisor changes operating standards or the Manual | Item 16 requires conformity at the franchisee's expense |
Source: FDD Items 6, 11, 16, and 17, pages 9–39.
What should be verified before treating the range as a cash budget?
The $4,250 to $134,480 range is the starting disclosure, not a buyer-specific cash requirement. A complete budget must preserve the selected package, state-specific insurance, the buyer's existing assets, and costs excluded from Item 7.
Cost synthesis: The system has a low disclosed entry point because the model is home-based and two packages carry no account volume, but the upper end rises sharply with the package fee, optional office costs, equipment, insurance, and working capital. The most important distinctions are that the franchise fee is only one component of the total, no fixed Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold is disclosed, and recurring percentage fees continue after opening.