How Much Does a Newk's Eatery Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 Item 7 investment

How much does a Newk's Eatery franchise cost?

The 2026 Newk's Franchise Company, LLC Franchise Disclosure Document states a Total Estimated Initial Investment of $927,500 to $1,323,350 for one Newk's Restaurant. Item 7 provides one investment range rather than separate totals for inline, end-cap, drive-thru, or smaller-location configurations.

$927,500-$1,323,350

Official 2026 Item 7 range for a Newk's Restaurant, including the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $32,500 to $40,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of operations. Real estate purchase costs are excluded.

Data basis: Newk's Franchise Company, LLC; Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 20, 2026 and amended June 30, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; one Newk's Restaurant range based principally on a 3,200- to 3,600-square-foot prototype, with smaller sites considered. FDD cost references: Item 5, pp. 5-8; Item 6, pp. 8-13; Item 7, pp. 14-17. Information checked July 21, 2026.

No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked. The brand's official U.S. franchise information is linked separately where it supports current qualification and real-estate statements.

Capital snapshot

$40,000 Initial Franchise Fee Due in full when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
$32,500-$40,000 Additional Funds Included in Item 7 for the first three months of operations.
5% Royalty Fee Based on Net Sales and paid weekly by electronic funds transfer.
$750,000 Liquid Assets Screen Current official franchise inquiry threshold; not the Item 7 total.
$1.5 million Net Worth Screen Current official franchise inquiry threshold; not cash available.
What the range includes

What makes up the Newk's Eatery initial investment?

The 2026 Item 7 estimate combines the Initial Franchise Fee, site and construction costs, required fixtures and technology, pre-opening expenses, opening inventory, training-related travel and wages, Grand Opening Advertising, and three months of Additional Funds. The largest stated categories are Leasehold Improvements and Fixtures, Furnishings & Equipment.

Premises, design, and construction

Item 7 category Estimated cost Payment timing Primary payee
Business Licenses & Permits $1,500-$3,000 As incurred State and local agencies
Leasehold Improvements $430,000-$650,000 As arranged Contractors and lessor
Architect Fees $25,000-$45,850 As arranged Approved suppliers
Rent and Utility Deposits $8,000-$16,000 As arranged Lessor and utility companies
Other Professional Fees $5,000-$5,500 As arranged Service providers and contractors
Insurance Deposit $5,000-$10,000 As arranged Insurance providers

Equipment, opening, and working capital

Item 7 category Estimated cost What the FDD says it covers FDD reference
Fixtures, Furnishings & Equipment $330,000-$450,000 Kitchen equipment, furniture, smallwares, computer and point-of-sale systems, and required signage Item 7, pp. 14-16
Initial Inventory of Food and Paper Supplies $12,500-$18,000 Opening Products, paper goods, and supplies Item 7, pp. 14 and 16
Training Expenses $22,500-$30,000 Transportation, lodging, food, and wages for three to four trainees; instruction is provided without charge for up to four people Item 7, pp. 14 and 16
Grand Opening Advertising $15,000 Minimum opening advertising expenditure Item 7, pp. 14 and 16
Additional Funds $32,500-$40,000 Working capital for ongoing expenses during a three-month start-up phase Item 7, pp. 14 and 16-17
FDD caveat

Adding the displayed low-end Item 7 line items produces $927,000, while the FDD states an official low total of $927,500. The document does not explain the $500 difference. This article preserves the FDD's stated Total Estimated Initial Investment and treats the unreconciled difference as an item to verify with Newk's Franchise Company, LLC.

Format and real estate

Do inline, end-cap, drive-thru, and smaller sites have different cost ranges?

No separate Item 7 ranges are disclosed. The official franchise real-estate page identifies inline, end-cap, and drive-thru options, but the 2026 FDD publishes one Newk's Restaurant investment range. Item 7 assumes a prototype of approximately 3,200 to 3,600 square feet and says smaller locations, potentially as small as 2,200 square feet, may be considered depending on market conditions.

One cost contract across flexible real-estate options

The distinction matters because a marketing description of multiple build-out options is not the same as a separate official investment estimate. The official Newk's real-estate information names the configurations, while Item 7 leaves their individual cost effects unresolved.

What is disclosed

One $927,500 to $1,323,350 range, principally based on the current 3,200- to 3,600-square-foot prototype.

What is not disclosed

No distinct inline, end-cap, drive-thru, or 2,200-square-foot investment total, and no format-specific Leasehold Improvements or Equipment range.

Item 7 also excludes the purchase of land and building construction. The estimate assumes a leased shell space with specified basic utilities and building attributes. Landlord work, tenant-improvement allowances, location, labor and material costs, premises condition, local codes, and lease negotiations can move the final cost within or beyond the disclosed range.

Cash milestones

When is the money paid?

The Initial Franchise Fee is paid first, at signing. Most other Item 7 amounts are paid to landlords, contractors, approved suppliers, government agencies, employees, and service providers as the site is secured, built, equipped, staffed, and opened.

Sign the Franchise Agreement. Pay the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee in full. It is fully earned when paid and non-refundable, subject to any applicable Area Development Fee credit or qualifying incentive.
Secure and approve the premises. Arrange lease-related payments, utility deposits, professional fees, permits, architectural services, and the construction contract. Item 11 generally requires a complete site package within six months after signing if no acceptable location is already secured.
Build and equip the Restaurant. Pay Leasehold Improvements and purchase required Fixtures, Furnishings & Equipment, including computer, point-of-sale, and signage components, as arranged or incurred.
Prepare for opening. Fund Initial Inventory, trainee travel and wages, insurance, licenses, permits, and at least $15,000 of Grand Opening Advertising before or around opening.
Carry the start-up phase. Use the $32,500 to $40,000 Additional Funds allowance for operating expenses during the first three months; then begin the ordinary weekly and monthly fee cycle.

The FTC's Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that a prospect must receive the Franchise Disclosure Document at least 14 calendar days before signing a contract or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. Newk's also states that formal franchise offers begin through delivery of an FDD in its official franchise-prospect terms.

Recurring obligations

Which fees continue after a Newk's Eatery opens?

The principal continuing percentage fees are a 5% Royalty Fee, a 1.75% National Marketing Fund contribution, and a 1% Local Advertising requirement, each based on Net Sales as defined in Item 6. Royalty and National Marketing Fund payments are due by the third business day after each week; the local amount must be spent annually.

Continuing fee or spend Amount Basis and timing Cost qualification
Royalty Fee 5% Net Sales; weekly Paid by electronic funds transfer
National Marketing Fund Contribution 1.75% Net Sales; same timing as Royalty Fee Administered by Newk's Marketing Company, LLC
Local Advertising 1% Net Sales; spent annually Paid to local suppliers unless collected in advance
Cooperative Advertising Varies As determined by an applicable cooperative Counts toward local advertising; no cooperative currently exists
Learning Management System $25 monthly Per location; as incurred Paid to an approved supplier
Computer System Fee Varies As needed Reasonable fee based on services, modifications, maintenance, or support
Local Telephone and Online Directories Varies Upon demand Required only when Newk's directs or arranges the advertising
Cost implication

The Computer System obligation has no contractual cap on the number or cost of required changes. Item 11 states that hardware, software, peripheral equipment, communications systems, maintenance, updates, and integrations may need to meet then-current standards.

Area development and incentives

How do multi-unit commitments and 2026 incentives change the upfront fees?

An Area Developer pays an Area Development Fee when the Area Development Agreement is signed: $40,000 for the first Restaurant plus $20,000 for each additional Restaurant. Those amounts are credited toward the Initial Franchise Fees for the applicable Restaurants, but each additional Restaurant ordinarily requires another $20,000 balance when its Franchise Agreement is signed.

2026 development incentive structure

The amended 2026 FDD describes two conditional programs. Eligibility depends on agreement status, development deadlines, opening dates, and compliance; Newk's may modify or discontinue programs.

2026 Program

For an eligible Area Development Agreement and a Restaurant opened by December 31, 2026: the Area Development Fee is $20,000 for the first Restaurant plus $20,000 for each additional Restaurant; the Initial Franchise Fee is reduced to $20,000; Royalty Fee is abated for six calendar months and then reduced to 3% of Net Sales for months seven through twelve.

Early Opening Program

For a non-qualifying Restaurant opened at least one day before its development deadline: the Area Development Fee uses the reduced $20,000-per-Restaurant structure and the Royalty Fee is abated for 16 weeks. The FDD does not state a reduced Initial Franchise Fee under this program.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6-8. The incentive changes specified fees only; it does not reduce construction, equipment, inventory, training, deposits, or Additional Funds.

Financial qualifications and financing

How much liquidity and net worth does Newk's screen for?

The current official franchise inquiry form asks whether a prospect has at least $750,000 in Liquid Assets and a minimum $1.5 million Net Worth. These are supplemental screening figures, not Item 7 cost categories: Liquid Assets represent accessible capital, Net Worth is assets minus liabilities, and neither figure replaces the $927,500 to $1,323,350 Total Estimated Initial Investment.

Total Estimated Initial Investment
$927,500 to $1,323,350 for one Restaurant under 2026 Item 7.
Liquid Assets
$750,000 screening amount shown on the official franchise inquiry form; it is not the same as Net Worth or the full project cost.
Net Worth
$1.5 million screening amount shown on the official franchise inquiry form; it does not mean $1.5 million is available as cash.
Financing
Item 10 states that Newk's does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee notes, leases, or other obligations.

The qualification questions can be reviewed on the official Newk's franchise inquiry page. Item 10's financing disclosure appears on FDD p. 22. A financing relationship or lender approval is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD.

Conditional and later-stage costs

Which fees apply only when a specific event occurs?

Item 6 contains several charges that are not part of the ordinary weekly fee cycle. Their cost depends on a transfer, renewal, relocation, additional training request, noncompliance, audit result, supplier proposal, or termination event.

  • Additional on-site training: currently $250 to $300 per trainer per day, plus out-of-pocket travel, lodging, and food costs, when extra on-site assistance is requested or arranged.
  • Product/Supplier Testing: the reasonable cost of testing and evaluation when an unapproved source is proposed.
  • Transfer Fee: 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee at transfer, subject to specified limited exceptions.
  • Renewal Fee: $5,000 at renewal. The initial Franchise Agreement term is 10 years, with up to three five-year renewal terms if the stated conditions are met.
  • Relocation Fee: $2,500 when an approved relocation occurs, in addition to the actual premises, construction, equipment, lease, and moving costs.
  • Mystery Customer evaluation: variable, capped at $500 per year.
  • Late Fee and Interest: 5% of the overdue amount plus 1.5% per month, subject to the maximum lawful rate.
  • Franchisee Advisory Council dues and assessments: amounts and timing determined by the council.
  • Audit Expenses: audit, accounting, and legal costs when an audit finds an understatement of 3% or more, plus the underpayment and applicable interest.
  • Insurance Procurement: Newk's cost to obtain coverage if the franchisee fails to maintain required insurance.
  • Securities Offering review: reimbursement of legal, accounting, and other evaluation costs for a proposed public or private offering.
  • Default, enforcement, and indemnification: variable costs and attorneys' fees arising from default, enforcement, termination, or covered third-party claims.
  • Liquidated Damages: after a termination for cause, the average monthly Royalty Fees from the preceding 12 months multiplied by the lesser of 36 months or the months remaining in the term, due 15 days after termination.
Future capital obligation

The Franchise Agreement requires ongoing repairs, upgrades, refurbishments, and replacements. At Newk's request, remodeling, redecoration, and refurnishing may be required at the franchisee's expense no more often than once every five years unless the lease requires it sooner. The 2026 FDD does not state a dollar range for this obligation.

Excluded or unresolved amounts

What costs are not fully resolved by the official range?

The Item 7 total is an official starting range, not a fixed-price project contract. Several site-specific, optional, or later-stage obligations are excluded or not separately quantified.

  • Land and building purchase: excluded because Item 7 assumes leased premises; property acquisition and new-building costs are not estimated.
  • Security deposits and real estate taxes: excluded from the Rent and Utility Deposits estimate.
  • Alcohol-related licenses and outdoor seating permits: excluded because requirements and fees vary by jurisdiction and outdoor seating is not mandatory.
  • Optional or larger signage: excluded when it exceeds the required signage included within Fixtures, Furnishings & Equipment.
  • Format-specific cost effects: not separately disclosed for inline, end-cap, drive-thru, or smaller locations.
  • Additional Funds beyond three months: not estimated; Item 7 states that more working capital may be necessary during or after the start-up phase.
  • Owner compensation: Item 7 does not state whether the Additional Funds estimate includes a salary or draw for an owner.
  • Future technology and remodel costs: required changes may occur, but the FDD provides no overall cap or forecast.

The FTC Franchise Rule describes the disclosure framework, while the brand's official franchise questions contact is the appropriate source for a current FDD, amendments, a site-specific budget, and reconciliation of the Item 7 low-end arithmetic.

Decision summary

What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?

Use $927,500 to $1,323,350 as the 2026 official Total Estimated Initial Investment for one Newk's Restaurant, not as a guarantee that every format or site will fit within the range. The main disclosed cost drivers are Leasehold Improvements and Fixtures, Furnishings & Equipment; the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component; and the $32,500 to $40,000 Additional Funds allowance is already included for three months.

The separate $750,000 Liquid Assets and $1.5 million Net Worth screening figures measure financial capacity, not project cost. After opening, the ordinary percentage obligations are the 5% Royalty Fee and the advertising requirements, with technology, supplier, transfer, renewal, relocation, default, and remodel charges applying as disclosed or triggered. The most important unresolved question is how the proposed site and real-estate format translate into a complete site-specific budget, because the FDD does not publish separate inline, end-cap, drive-thru, or smaller-site totals.