How much does a NaturaLawn of America franchise cost?
NaturaLawn of America, Inc. states an Estimated Initial Investment of $77,500 to $152,650 for one U.S. lawn care service business operating in a Licensed Territory. The 2026 FDD says that range excludes real estate acquisition costs and any increase in the Initial License Fee for a territory larger than the standard demographic guidelines.
Official total stated in the March 31, 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14–15. It includes the Initial License Fee, first-year advertising and marketing, deposits, equipment, technology, training travel, and Additional Funds. The published low end does not reconcile with the listed minimum line items, so it should not be treated as a fully reconciled cash budget.
Data basis: legal franchisor NaturaLawn of America, Inc.; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 31, 2026; one Licensed Territory service-business format; FDD Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17; information checked July 14, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was found on an official franchise-controlled public website, so FDD references below are unlinked and identify the Item and printed page.
The brand's official U.S. franchise information confirms that franchise opportunities remain available, but the current FDD controls where its financial figures conflict with website copy.
$39,500 for a standard new territory; a qualified conversion may receive a discount.
Mandatory approved advertising and marketing in the first operating year.
Included in Item 7; the initial operating phase may last six months or more.
Paid weekly on the FDD definition of Gross Sales.
A funding qualification, not an amount included in the investment total.
Sources: 2026 FDD cover page; Item 5, pages 10–11; Item 6, pages 12–13; Item 7, pages 14–15.
What is included in the $77,500 to $152,650 investment range?
The 2026 Item 7 range combines the Initial License Fee with operating assets, deposits, training travel, first-year marketing and Additional Funds. It is a single disclosed range for the Licensed Territory model; NaturaLawn does not publish separate Item 7 totals for freestanding, inline, mobile or nontraditional formats.
Largest maximum amounts in 2026 Item 7
Bars encode only the maximum disclosed amount for six compatible Item 7 categories; exact official ranges appear at right. The scale runs from $0 to $80,000.
Interpretation: first-year advertising and marketing is the largest quantified category, with a maximum more than twice the maximum Initial License Fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, page 14. This chart uses official maximums; it does not imply a typical spending level.
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial License Fee | $19,500–$39,500 | At Franchise Agreement execution | NaturaLawn of America, Inc. |
| Opening Inventory | $0–$5,000 | As incurred | Franchisor and suppliers |
| Lawn Care Equipment Purchases | $1,500–$4,000 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Vehicle, purchase or six-month lease cost | $0–$3,000 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Office Furniture & Equipment | $0–$5,000 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Computer & Technology Expenses | $0–$1,000 | As incurred | Franchisor and suppliers |
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Estate Improvements | Not estimated | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Training Expenses | $0–$1,150 | As incurred | Travel and lodging suppliers |
| Licenses | $250–$500 | As incurred | State authorities |
| Professional Fees | $1,250–$2,000 | As incurred | Lawyers and accountants |
| Lease Deposits | $2,000–$3,500 | As incurred | Landlord and utilities |
| Insurance Deposit | $1,500–$3,500 | As incurred | Insurers |
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | Coverage | Important limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Annual Advertising and Marketing | $60,000–$80,000 | First operating year | Approved campaigns and materials; spending varies by marketing plan |
| Additional Funds | $1,500–$4,500 | Initial phase of six months or more | Already included in Item 7; the FDD does not state that owner compensation is included |
The total excludes the cost of acquiring real estate and any additional Initial License Fee for a larger-than-standard Licensed Territory. The FDD expects an office and warehouse of approximately 1,500 to 2,500 square feet in an industrial or commercial area, but it does not estimate the real estate or improvement amount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14–15.
Why does the stated low end need written clarification?
The 2026 FDD contains three material cost inconsistencies. The official $77,500 low-end total should therefore be read as a stated disclosure figure, not as a reconciled line-item budget.
Item 7 arithmetic: adding the listed minimum amounts produces $87,500 before any Real Estate Improvements, while the Item 7 total row and FDD cover state $77,500. The high-end line items add to $152,650 and match the stated high total. The FDD does not explain the $10,000 low-end difference.
- Opening Inventory: Item 5, page 11 states an estimated initial cost of $7,250 to $15,000 for optional additional supplies and equipment, while Item 7, page 14 lists $0 to $5,000. The FDD does not reconcile the two ranges.
- Line of credit: Item 7 states access to $150,000 to $250,000, while the Item 9 obligation table on page 18 states $75,000 to $125,000. The official franchise opportunity page, checked July 14, 2026, states $150,000.
- Public website investment table: the official franchise investment page still shows a $57,500 to $122,650 total and a $29,500 new-startup fee. Those website figures conflict with the March 31, 2026 FDD and should not replace it.
A prospective franchisee should request a corrected Item 7, amendment or signed written clarification covering the low-end total, Opening Inventory and current credit-line requirement before relying on the figures for financing or cash planning.
When is the money paid?
The largest fixed payment to NaturaLawn of America, Inc. is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Most other Item 7 amounts are paid to suppliers as incurred, while the first-year marketing obligation is spent through an approved annual plan.
Optional territory reservation
A $10,000 nonrefundable Reservation Fee is due when the Territory Reservation Agreement is signed. It is credited toward the Initial License Fee only if the Franchise Agreement is signed at least six weeks before the next new-franchisee training class; otherwise it is forfeited. Source: Item 5, pages 10–11.
Franchise Agreement execution
The Initial License Fee is paid in full as a nonrefundable lump sum. The standard new-territory fee is $39,500, subject to a conversion discount or a larger-territory increase. A qualifying Reservation Fee credit reduces the amount still due; it is not a second fee added to the Item 7 total.
Pre-opening and supplier payments
Equipment, vehicle costs, office assets, technology, deposits, insurance, licenses, professional fees and training travel are generally due as incurred. The franchisor must approve the site before a lease or property purchase is signed. Source: Items 7 and 11, pages 14–15 and 19.
Initial operating period
The $60,000 to $80,000 first-year advertising and marketing amount is spent under an approved plan. Additional Funds of $1,500 to $4,500 are included in Item 7 for an initial phase that may last six months or more; Item 7 says its amounts cover about 12 months after signing.
Which fees continue after opening?
The core recurring charges are a weekly Service Fee and a separate weekly Advertising Fee. Other percentage charges apply only to Ice Melt Gross Sales or sales outside the Licensed Territory. These rates are not additive because they use different transaction bases.
Percentage fees disclosed in 2026 Item 6
Bars compare the disclosed percentage rate only. Each row names its own Gross Sales basis; the scale runs from 0% to 15%.
Interpretation: the 15% rate is a conditional charge on revenue generated outside the Licensed Territory, not the ordinary Service Fee. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 12–13.
| Fee | Amount | Timing | Basis and condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Service Fee | 9% | Weekly by electronic transfer | Gross Sales, defined as collected payments and prepayments, excluding government taxes and customer refunds |
| Renewal-term Service Fee | 7% or 9% | Weekly | May fall to 7% after renewal if the prior full calendar year reached at least $500,000 and continuing conditions are met |
| Advertising Fee | 1% | Weekly by electronic transfer | All Gross Sales; separate from the local advertising and marketing spending requirement |
| Ice Melt Fee | 5% | Weekly by electronic transfer | Gross Sales from Ice Melt activity |
| Outside-territory Service Fee | 15% | As collected through weekly fee reporting | Gross Sales from NaturaLawn products or services sold outside the Licensed Territory without the ordinary territorial basis |
How much local marketing is required after the first year?
The separate 1% Advertising Fee does not replace the local spending requirement. Item 11 states that at least $60,000 must be spent in each of the next four years, followed by percentage-based minimums once annual Gross Sales reach $500,000.
| Period or disclosed Gross Sales band | Minimum spending basis | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|
| Years 2 through 5 | At least $60,000 annually | Item 11, page 26 |
| $500,000 to $600,000 | 10% of Gross Sales | Item 11, page 26 |
| $600,000 to $750,000 | 9% of Gross Sales | Item 11, page 26 |
| $750,000 to $1,000,000 | 8% of Gross Sales | Item 11, page 26 |
| $1,000,000 to $1,500,000 | 7% of Gross Sales | Item 11, page 26 |
| $1,500,000 to $2,000,000 | 6% of Gross Sales | Item 11, page 26 |
| $2,000,000 and above | 6% of Gross Sales | Item 11, page 26 |
Failure to spend the required advertising and marketing amount can keep the Service Fee at 9% or cause a 7% renewal-term rate to increase to 9% for the remainder of the license term. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, page 26.
How can territory size or an existing lawn care business change the Initial License Fee?
The standard Initial License Fee is $39,500. It may rise when the Licensed Territory exceeds NaturaLawn's demographic guidelines, or fall when a qualified existing application-based lawn care business receives a conversion discount.
NaturaLawn's territory-and-conversion fee formula
The territory surcharge is excluded from the stated Item 7 total. The conversion discount applies only to qualifying application work such as fertilization, weed, disease and insect control, aeration and seeding; mowing, landscaping, irrigation and other non-application services do not count for the discount calculation.
| Verified annual application-business revenue | Initial License Fee discount | Resulting fee from $39,500 |
|---|---|---|
| $25,000–$49,999 | $2,500 | $37,000 |
| $50,000–$99,999 | $5,000 | $34,500 |
| $100,000–$149,999 | $7,500 | $32,000 |
| $150,000–$199,999 | $10,000 | $29,500 |
| $200,000–$249,999 | $12,500 | $27,000 |
| $250,000–$299,999 | $15,000 | $24,500 |
| $300,000–$349,999 | $17,500 | $22,000 |
| $350,000 or more | $20,000 | $19,500 |
The resulting-fee column is a derived calculation from the official $39,500 standard fee and the Item 5 discount schedule. NaturaLawn may verify the existing business by audit. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, page 11.
Which required purchases can continue outside the Item 7 range?
Required technology subscriptions, approved-supplier purchases and later specification changes can create continuing costs. NaturaLawn provides a computer and some software as part of the Initial License Fee, but the franchisee pays for additional hardware, user subscriptions, email licensing, security software and required upgrades.
| Technology entity | Disclosed amount | Basis | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| WorkWave/RealGreen Service Assistant 5 | $132; $74; $69; $58 | Per user per month: first user; users 2–5; users 6–9; users 10+ | Items 7 and 11, pages 15 and 24 |
| Microsoft 365 email license | $100 or $175 | Per year for Basic or Standard license | Item 11, page 25 |
| Barcode scanner | About $200 | One-time hardware | Items 8 and 11, pages 16 and 25 |
| HP LaserJet printer | About $500 | One-time hardware | Items 8 and 11, pages 16 and 25 |
| Antivirus and antimalware | About $30 each | Annual service estimate | Items 8 and 11, pages 16 and 24 |
Item 8 estimates that required purchases and leases represent 80% to 90% of purchases and leases used to establish the business and less than 5% during operation. The franchisor may receive supplier rebates or remuneration ranging from 1% to 16% of the cost of certain equipment, products, promotional materials or paper products. The official purchasing and technology support description explains the centralized purchasing structure, but the FDD governs the required-source obligations.
How much liquidity or financing access is required?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum Net Worth figure. Item 7 states that a buyer needs access to a $150,000 to $250,000 line of credit in addition to the stated investment total, but Item 9 states a conflicting $75,000 to $125,000 range. The franchisor's website states $50,000 in cash liquidity and access to a $150,000 line of credit.
- Cash liquidity: the official ownership-requirements page, checked July 14, 2026, states $50,000. This is not the same as the Estimated Initial Investment.
- Line of credit: Item 7 states $150,000 to $250,000; Item 9 states $75,000 to $125,000; the official website states $150,000. A written current requirement is necessary.
- Net Worth: no minimum is stated in the 2026 FDD or on the reviewed official qualification page. The official franchise application asks for a Net Worth statement but does not state a threshold.
- Financing: Item 10 states that NaturaLawn of America, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. Third-party financing may be available only if the applicant qualifies.
A line of credit is borrowing capacity, not cash already included in Item 7. A buyer should model debt service separately and confirm whether the current credit requirement is a minimum approval condition, an operating reserve, or both.
Which fees can be triggered later?
Item 6 includes late-payment, audit, transfer, training and meeting-related charges. These amounts are not part of the ordinary Item 7 opening range unless an initial payment is specifically included there.
- Past-due interest: 1.8% per month or 21.6% per year on overdue amounts, capped by applicable law.
- Delinquent Service Fee charge: $100 per week for each week the Service Fee remains past due after the first seven days.
- Insufficient electronic-transfer funds: the amount due plus a 5% administrative fee may be charged to the designated credit card.
- Inspection and audit: the franchisee pays the expense if Gross Sales are understated by more than 4%.
- Mandatory meeting nonattendance: Item 6 lists $1,500 for the first year and states that a Service Fee below 9% may increase to 9% for the remaining term.
- Extra training or support at the franchisee's location: actual reasonable travel and living expenses for franchisor personnel, when the optional service is requested.
- Transfer: $10,000 before transfer, subject to possible annual Consumer Price Index adjustment; specified transfers to the franchisee's own legal entity or immediate family after death or incapacity are exempt.
- Indemnification and enforcement: actual costs, expenses and potentially attorney's fees may be payable when the contractual trigger occurs.
Does renewal create another disclosed fee?
Item 17 does not list a separate renewal fee. The initial term is five years, with up to three additional five-year terms subject to the renewal conditions. Equipment and machinery must meet then-current standards, and the franchisee must sign the then-current Franchise Agreement, which may contain materially different terms. Those compliance costs are not quantified. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 17, pages 31–33.
What should be verified before signing or paying?
The main due-diligence task is to convert the FDD's stated ranges into a current, internally consistent payment schedule for the exact Licensed Territory and applicant profile.
- Request a corrected Item 7 reconciliation showing why the listed minimums total $87,500 while the official low total is $77,500.
- Resolve the Opening Inventory range by obtaining a current written list and price quote that explains Item 5's $7,250 to $15,000 versus Item 7's $0 to $5,000.
- Confirm the current line-of-credit requirement because Item 7, Item 9 and the official website do not agree.
- Document the territory calculation, including qualifying household count, median-income criterion and any $0.55-per-household surcharge.
- For a conversion, confirm eligible revenue, audit methodology and the exact Initial License Fee discount before signing.
- Obtain a first-year marketing calendar showing when the $60,000 to $80,000 is expected to be spent and which vendors receive payment.
- Price the unestimated premises obligation for the expected 1,500-to-2,500-square-foot office and warehouse, including leasehold work, rent and utility deposits.
- Confirm current software and supplier prices because WorkWave/RealGreen user rates and technology specifications may change at renewal or when standards are updated.
The Federal Trade Commission's Franchise Rule guidance explains the disclosure framework. The 2026 FDD states that it must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or a payment is made to the franchisor or an affiliate.
What is the practical cost conclusion?
NaturaLawn of America, Inc. officially states a $77,500 to $152,650 initial investment for the 2026 Licensed Territory offer, with first-year advertising and marketing of $60,000 to $80,000 as the largest quantified category. That total is separate from the stated line-of-credit access requirement, the weekly 9% Service Fee, the separate 1% Advertising Fee and later conditional charges.
The upper end of Item 7 reconciles to the listed categories, but the lower end does not. Real estate is unestimated, larger territories can increase the Initial License Fee, conversions can reduce it, and the FDD contains unresolved conflicts for Opening Inventory and credit access. The most important next document is therefore a corrected, territory-specific cost schedule—not a midpoint or unofficial estimate.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to NaturaLawn of America Franchise?
- How Does the NaturaLawn of America Franchise Work?
- How to Start a NaturaLawn of America Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a NaturaLawn of America Franchise?
- How Much Does a NaturaLawn of America Franchise Owner Make?