How much does a Mountain Mike’s Pizza franchise cost?
A single Mountain Mike’s Pizza Restaurant has a 2026 Estimated Initial Investment of $356,000 to $993,946, excluding the cost of purchasing real estate. Mountain Mike’s Pizza, LLC also offers an Area Development Agreement for at least three restaurants. That development path is disclosed at $487,750 to $1,041,361 to begin development and establish the first restaurant, but it is not the full cost of opening all three restaurants.
The April 13, 2026 FDD range covers the standard endcap or inline Restaurant model, generally 2,200 to 3,500 square feet. The largest variables are Leasehold Improvements and Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment. The separate Area Development range is $487,750-$1,041,361 and does not represent three complete build-outs.
Data basis: legal franchisor Mountain Mike’s Pizza, LLC; Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 13, 2026; single Restaurant and minimum three-Restaurant Area Development Agreement programs; FDD cover and Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 14, 2026. No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked Item and page references. The franchisor’s official investment page publishes the current $356,000-$993,946 Item 7 range.
What is included in the $356,000 to $993,946 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines the Initial Franchise Fee, Restaurant premises work, required Operating Assets, opening inventory, professional and training expenses, and three months of Additional Funds. It is a single-Restaurant estimate, and the official total should not be reconstructed by mixing the low amount from one site scenario with the high amount from another.
Premises, design, and Operating Assets
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 disclosed range | Payment timing | Primary range driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leasehold Improvements | $66,548-$497,000 | As incurred | Premises size, condition, location, construction costs, and tenant allowance. |
| Architectural and Engineering Fees | $17,000-$26,000 | As incurred | Structural work, permitting variances, and patio design. |
| Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment | $144,843-$238,000 | As incurred | Whether usable equipment remains at an acquired premises. |
| Signage | $8,647-$24,000 | As incurred | Site and landlord requirements. |
| POS/Electronic Information System | $8,262-$17,900 | As incurred | Required hardware, software, and installation configuration. |
| Three Months’ Rent | $30,000-$36,000 | On signing lease or sublease | Premises size, condition, trade area, location, and leasing demand. |
| Décor Package | $5,000-$12,000 | As incurred | Interior signage, graphics, pictures, and other décor. |
Franchisor payments, opening stock, and working capital
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 disclosed range | Payment timing | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $7,500-$30,000 | On signing Franchise Agreement | Varies by first unit, existing ownership, and Area Development terms. |
| Opening Inventory, Uniforms, and Supplies | $14,000-$30,046 | As incurred | Food, materials, smallwares, uniforms, car toppers, and opening supplies. |
| Marketing Fee | $8,000 | $4,000 at agreement; $4,000 at lease | Restaurant opening marketing program. |
| Training Expenses for one required attendee | $2,500-$5,000 | As incurred | Travel and living expenses; training itself has no additional fee for the required trainees. |
| Professional Fees | $1,100-$4,000 | As incurred | Legal and other professional advisors. |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $21,600-$35,000 | As incurred | Telecom, network cabling, digital menus, security, utilities, licenses, permits, accounting, and insurance premiums. |
| Additional Funds - 3 months | $21,000-$25,000 | As incurred | Initial operating expenses including payroll, but not owner draw or salary. |
Except for a security deposit, the FDD states that no expense in the Item 7 table is refundable. The Initial Franchise Fee, Development Fee, and Marketing Fee are also described as non-refundable under their applicable terms.
The low and high columns should be read as boundaries around different site conditions, not as two ready-made budgets. A location needing limited structural work and retaining usable assets may sit closer to the lower side, while a larger or more complex site can move several categories upward at the same time. Cash timing also matters: a landlord contribution may reduce the net construction cost but may be paid only after invoices or milestones, leaving the owner to fund a larger temporary outlay. Before committing to a site, align contractor bids, equipment quotes, lease deadlines, permit assumptions, and vendor deposits on one calendar. The disclosure does not say that every approved site can be opened at the minimum or that the maximum is a cap on every circumstance.
Floating bars show the official low and high estimates on a common $0-$500,000 scale.
Interpretation: Leasehold Improvements create most of the disclosed spread, while Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment are the next largest fixed-asset category. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14-16; the same current ranges appear on the official Item 7 investment chart.
The official total excludes real estate purchase costs and the cost of constructing a building on purchased property. Impact fees, water fees, similar development fees, and financing fees also may fall outside the estimate. Item 7 mentions a potentially refundable security deposit but does not give it a separate range, so the lease cash requirement should be confirmed before relying on the Three Months’ Rent line.
When is the money paid?
The initial capital is paid in stages rather than as one check. The first binding payments go to Mountain Mike’s Pizza, LLC when the Franchise Agreement is signed; lease, construction, equipment, inventory, and working-capital payments follow as the site is secured and developed.
The 2026 FDD cover states that the disclosure must be received at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or payment is made. The FTC franchise buying guide explains this federal disclosure period.
The standard first-Restaurant Initial Franchise Fee is $30,000, subject to verified existing-owner, veteran, or Area Development terms. A new Restaurant also pays the first $4,000 installment of the non-refundable Marketing Fee.
The remaining $4,000 Marketing Fee is due. The Item 7 Three Months’ Rent amount of $30,000-$36,000 is paid as the lease or sublease specifies.
Leasehold Improvements, Architectural and Engineering Fees, Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment, Signage, POS/Electronic Information System, and Décor Package costs are paid to outside suppliers as agreed and incurred.
Opening Inventory, Uniforms, Supplies, training travel, professional fees, licenses, permits, insurance, and other opening costs are funded. Item 11 estimates 9 to 15 months from agreement signing to opening and requires all amounts then due, completed training, approved development, and evidence of insurance before opening.
The $21,000-$25,000 Additional Funds estimate supports initial operating expenses, including payroll. It excludes any draw or salary for the owner and may not be enough if working-capital needs continue beyond three months.
The official investment page currently reproduces the 2026 total range but lists the $8,000 Marketing Fee as a lump sum due at signing. The April 13, 2026 FDD is more specific: $4,000 is due at Franchise Agreement signing and $4,000 at lease execution. This article follows the current FDD timing; a buyer should have Mountain Mike’s confirm the payment schedule in the final agreements.
How does the franchise fee change for veterans and multi-unit development?
The standard Initial Franchise Fee for a first Mountain Mike’s Pizza Restaurant is $30,000. An existing franchisee with a controlling interest in another Restaurant pays $15,000. A qualified U.S. Armed Forces veteran may receive a $15,000 reduction from the $30,000 fee, subject to the FDD’s ownership, honorable-discharge, evidence, and pre-signing disclosure conditions.
Bars use the $30,000 standard first-Restaurant fee as the common maximum.
Interpretation: the discounted amount depends on the buyer’s status and development contract. Veteran and multi-unit reductions should not be assumed to stack unless the signed documents say they do. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5-6; Item 7, p. 15.
How the Area Development deposits work
For a minimum three-Restaurant schedule, the Development Fee is paid when the Area Development Agreement is signed. The deposits are credited against later Initial Franchise Fees; they are not three complete Restaurant investments.
First-time Mountain Mike’s owner
- At Area Development Agreement signing
- $41,250
- Calculation
- $30,000 first unit + $7,500 second-unit deposit + $3,750 third-unit deposit
- Later balances
- $7,500 at second Franchise Agreement; $3,750 at third
- Derived total franchise fees for three units
- $52,500
Existing controlling Mountain Mike’s owner
- At Area Development Agreement signing
- $22,500
- Calculation
- $15,000 first unit + $3,750 second-unit deposit + $3,750 third-unit deposit
- Later balances
- $3,750 at second Franchise Agreement; $3,750 at third
- Derived total franchise fees for three units
- $30,000
These are derived calculations from Item 5’s deposit and balance schedule. They exclude each Restaurant’s Marketing Fee, lease, construction, equipment, inventory, training travel, and working capital. The Area Development Agreement sets the final number of Restaurants and development deadlines.
Which fees continue after the Restaurant opens?
The continuing cost contract is broader than the 5% Royalty Fee. A Restaurant also may pay the Marketing Fund, an Advertising Cooperative, annual training-platform fees, required technology subscriptions, payment-processing charges, telephone service, and designated-supplier costs.
Core recurring fees in Item 6
| Recurring fee | Amount or basis | Due | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of weekly Gross Sales | Automatic debit each Friday | $500 minimum per week may apply if the Restaurant does not open on time. |
| Marketing Fund | Up to 1% of weekly Gross Sales | Automatic debit each Friday | Current FDD states “up to,” not a fixed annual dollar amount. |
| Advertising Cooperative | Up to 2% of weekly Gross Sales | Automatic debit each Friday | Franchisees may agree to contribute more. |
| Online Training Program and LMS | $295 annually | As incurred | Subject to increase; account is required through Mountain Mike’s University. |
| Punchh mobile app and loyalty program | $109-$139 monthly | As incurred | Item 6 also expresses this as $27.25-$34.75 weekly. |
| Franchise System Website and Intranet | Up to $50 monthly | As incurred | May be charged if the Marketing Fund does not cover it; not currently charged in the FDD. |
Gross Sales is the FDD-defined fee base: generally all revenue received or receivable from Restaurant operations, including business-interruption insurance proceeds, rental income, and customer charges for menu items delivered through third-party services, less specified taxes, refunds, and credits. The franchisor’s official franchise FAQ summarizes the royalty and marketing charges, but the 2026 FDD controls the exact “up to” language and payment mechanics.
The required technology and payment stack
Item 11 discloses recurring vendor charges that are not fully captured by the $109-$139 Punchh fee. These amounts should be budgeted separately without adding the opening POS range twice.
| Required system or service | Disclosed charge | Basis | Cost note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adora POS software | $850 monthly | Fixed subscription | Required approved POS software. |
| Adora software service | $120 monthly | Fixed service fee | Separate from the software subscription. |
| Adora caller ID integration | $10 monthly | Fixed add-on | Required integration charge. |
| Backup wireless internet | $15 monthly | Conditional | Applies when network equipment is not purchased from Sangoma. |
| Adora online ordering | $0.50-$1.00 per online order | Usage based | Maximum $640 per month. |
| Telephone services | About $65-$120 monthly | Then-current rates | Through SimpleVoIP, Sangoma, or SafeHaven. |
| Valutec gift card program | $5 monthly plus transaction fees | Subscription and usage | Required gift-card participation. |
| Heartland payment processing | About $45 monthly plus transaction charges | Subscription and usage | Also approximately $370 plus tax per device and a $75 setup fee; transaction charges are separately disclosed. |
Heartland’s disclosed transaction charges are approximately $0.04 plus 0.15% per transaction, plus $0.10 per online order; an American Express charge of 0.52% plus the interchange rate may apply. Adora system maintenance and upgrades may cost from $0 to approximately $1,000 per year depending on elected services, and the franchisor may require future system changes and upgrades.
These vendor disclosures should not be collapsed into one fixed monthly total. Some charges are subscriptions, some depend on usage, some apply only under a particular hardware choice, and several are expressly subject to change. The safer comparison is a line-by-line quote showing setup, hardware, implementation, taxes, connectivity, maintenance, transaction pricing, and cancellation terms. Current order forms also should identify which features are mandatory at opening and which can be added later. This avoids understating the cash needed at launch or treating a variable operating charge as though it were a fixed commitment.
Required insurance is another variable obligation. The FDD calls for specified liability coverages generally carrying minimum limits of $1,000,000 per occurrence, an additional $1,000,000 Umbrella Excess Liability policy, workers’ compensation required by law, and $1,000,000 of employer’s liability coverage. Premiums are not stated as a fixed amount and depend on the carrier, payment terms, and the insured’s history.
Item 8 says designated and approved purchases represent almost 100% of the purchases and leases needed to establish and operate the Restaurant. Required categories include the POS system, payment processing, core food products, soft drinks, chemicals, kitchen equipment, smallwares, branded paper, loyalty and gift-card programs, music, television, telephone, and internet systems. Vendor prices and future System Standards can therefore change the operating cost structure even when the royalty rate does not change.
Which fees arise only after a transfer, renewal, default, or other event?
Item 6 contains several event-triggered fees that do not belong in the initial Item 7 total. They become relevant when ownership changes, the agreement renews, reports or payments are late, standards are not met, or Mountain Mike’s must provide extra services or enforce the Franchise Agreement.
| Trigger | Disclosed fee | Payment timing | Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Controlling transfer | $30,000 new franchisee; $15,000 existing franchisee | Half with request; half before completion | Only half is refundable; no fee for transfer to an entity the owner controls. |
| Non-controlling ownership transfer | $2,500 | With approval request | Non-refundable. |
| Transfer marketing fee | $8,000 | At closing | Applies with controlling transfer. |
| Renewal | 50% of then-current Initial Franchise Fee | When successor agreement is signed | Restaurant also must be remodeled to then-current standards. |
| Additional training or assistance | $200-$1,200 | 15 days after billing | May apply to extra trainees, new managers, refresher courses, or special assistance; the FDD says it has not yet been charged. |
| Audit | $500-$5,000; may be higher | 15 days after billing | Understatement over 2% or failure to provide required records. |
| Testing | $50-$800 | 15 days after billing | For proposed products or supplier inspection. |
| Non-Compliance Fee | $500-$2,000 per deviation | Within 5 days of notice | Escalates for repeated or substantially similar deviations. |
| Re-Inspection Fee | Currently $250 | As incurred | May apply after a failed inspection. |
| Late amount or late report | $100 service charge plus interest | 15 days after billing | The service charge applies per late payment or report; interest applies when an amount is more than 7 days late and is the lesser of 1.5% monthly or the highest lawful contract rate. |
These entries describe contingent exposure, not a prediction that each charge will occur. Their practical value is in showing where reporting calendars, approval procedures, insurance renewals, payment controls, and operating inspections can create avoidable cash demands. The uncapped or circumstance-based obligations deserve separate contract review because the table cannot convert them into a dependable reserve amount. A buyer should identify who monitors each trigger, what notice and cure period applies, and whether the governing agreement or a state addendum changes the remedy.
Renewal and transfer can create capital obligations beyond the stated fee. Item 17 requires a renewing owner to remodel the Restaurant under then-current standards. A transfer also may require remodeling, expansion, replacement of improvements and Operating Assets, or other modifications. The FDD does not quantify those future project costs.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7-13; Item 17, pp. 40-44.How much liquid capital and net worth does the franchisor require?
The franchisor’s current public screening language states a $150,000 Liquid Capital requirement and a $450,000 Net Worth requirement. These are qualification thresholds, not substitutes for the $356,000-$993,946 Estimated Initial Investment.
Liquid Capital is cash or readily available funding; Net Worth includes assets less liabilities and is not the same as cash available to pay construction invoices. No separate dollar minimum for Non-Borrowed Funds is disclosed in the reviewed 2026 FDD or current official qualification pages. If the franchisee is an entity, all owners must sign the Guaranty and Assumption of Obligations, creating personal contractual exposure for the entity’s obligations.
The official financial requirements FAQ also mentions good credit and credit history. Those supplemental screening statements are dated by this article’s July 14, 2026 check because they are not stated as dollar requirements in Items 5-7 of the FDD.
Does Mountain Mike’s finance the investment?
No. Item 10 states that Mountain Mike’s Pizza, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. The official investment page says the franchise team may introduce candidates to lending partners, but an introduction is not franchisor financing, loan approval, or a guarantee. Item 7 also excludes financing fees from the Estimated Initial Investment.
Sources: official Mountain Mike’s Pizza franchise investment page and FAQ, checked July 14, 2026; 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 16; Item 10, p. 22.What should be confirmed before relying on the official range?
The most important verification work is site-specific. The official range is wide because the premises, landlord contribution, used equipment, local development charges, technology configuration, and development contract can materially change when and how much cash is required.
The central capital distinction is this: $356,000-$993,946 is the 2026 single-Restaurant Estimated Initial Investment; $150,000 Liquid Capital and $450,000 Net Worth are current public screening thresholds; and the 5% Royalty Fee plus marketing, technology, supplier, and conditional charges continue or arise separately. The unresolved number most likely to change a buyer’s budget is the approved site’s net Leasehold Improvements after any landlord allowance, together with any real estate, building, impact-fee, financing-fee, and security-deposit amounts outside or unclear in Item 7.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Mountain Mike's Pizza Franchise?
- How Does Mountain Mike's Pizza Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Mountain Mike's Pizza Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Mountain Mike's Pizza Franchise?
- How Much Does a Mountain Mike's Pizza Franchise Owner Make?