How Much Does a Miracle-Ear Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a Miracle-Ear franchise cost?

The 2026 Miracle-Ear, Inc. Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $120,000 to $402,500 for a new U.S. Miracle-Ear Center. That is the Item 7 total for a new franchise location using the minimum $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee. It is not merely the price of the franchise license, and a larger-population Territory can raise the Initial Franchise Fee above the amount used in the published range.

$120,000–$402,500

Estimated Initial Investment for a new Miracle-Ear Center under the 2026 FDD. The total includes the $30,000 minimum Initial Franchise Fee and $30,000 to $80,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months of Center operations. Source: 2026 Miracle-Ear, Inc. FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–16.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Miracle-Ear, Inc., a Minnesota corporation. FDD issuance date: March 31, 2026. Main cost sources: Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Applicable format: a new Miracle-Ear Center in an assigned U.S. Territory. Information checked July 21, 2026.

The brand's official U.S. franchise information continues to describe new-business and conversion opportunities, and the Wisconsin active franchise-registration list shows Miracle-Ear, Inc. with an expiration date of March 31, 2027. No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references in this article are cited by year, Item and page without a document link.

Key cost figures

$30,000+
Initial Franchise Fee

Minimum for a Territory of up to 250,000 people; population can increase it.

$30k–$80k
Additional Funds

Included in Item 7 for the first three months of Center operations.

$48.80 / $30.15
Royalty

Per Miracle-Ear hearing aid / per AudioTone Pro, not a sales percentage.

At least 10%
Local Advertising

Required expenditure measured against the FDD definition of Net Sales.

Up to $570/mo.
CRM Program Fee

Varies with database size and is capped per Center per month.

$5k–$50k
Renovation Estimate

Per store when required, no more than once every seven years.

Territory and center economics

Why does Item 7 show both a Location Total and a Total?

Miracle-Ear's 2026 FDD separates the cost of establishing a location from the total investment required to become a franchisee. Item 7 lists a Location Total of $88,000 to $367,500 and a Total of $120,000 to $402,500. The FDD says one Franchise Agreement covers the existing and future Centers in the assigned Territory, while some costs are incurred once at the franchise level and others arise by location.

The $120,000 to $402,500 Total is the appropriate headline range for a new franchisee. The $88,000 to $367,500 Location Total is not a substitute for it. Item 5 also makes the Initial Franchise Fee population-based: a $20,000 License Fee plus a Territory Fee of $4,000 per 100,000 people, prorated, with a minimum $10,000 Territory Fee for a Territory of up to 250,000 people. That produces the $30,000 minimum used in Item 7.

Cost implication

For a Territory above 250,000 people, add the applicable population-based increase to the minimum Initial Franchise Fee. The published Item 7 Total uses $30,000, so a larger Territory can push the required investment above $402,500 even before local construction or operating costs change. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 8–9; Item 7, pp. 14–16.

Payment timing

When is the startup money paid?

The 2026 FDD places the largest payments across four cash milestones rather than on one opening date. The Franchise Agreement triggers the Initial Franchise Fee, premises and equipment costs build before opening, and Additional Funds are used through the first three months. The franchisor currently charges no separate fee for the initial franchise-training program, but the franchisee pays travel and living expenses.

At Franchise Agreement signing

Pay the entire Initial Franchise Fee in a lump sum. Item 7 also lists Signage and Opening Inventory as due when the Franchise Agreement is signed, with lump-sum or installment payment methods depending on the supplier arrangement. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 8–9 and 14–15.

Before initial training

Incur $2,000 to $5,000 of Travel and Living Expenses before attending initial training. Miracle-Ear does not currently charge tuition for the initial franchise-training program, but the franchisee pays attendee travel and living costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, p. 14; Item 11, pp. 30–31.

During site preparation and before opening

Pay prepaid business and location expenses, Real Property and Build Out Costs, and Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment as incurred. The premises may be 400 to 1,500 square feet, and cost depends on condition, design, landlord reimbursement and whether an existing hearing-aid practice is being converted. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14–16.

Before opening and through month three

Use the $30,000 to $80,000 Additional Funds allowance for initial wages and fringe benefits, insurance premiums, rent, marketing, taxes, office and cleaning supplies, and telephone setup. Inventory beyond the separate Opening Inventory line is excluded. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 15–16.

The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that a prospective franchisee must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a contract or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. Miracle-Ear's official franchise process page also identifies FDD review before Franchise Agreement execution.

New center, conversion or acquisition

How can an existing hearing-aid business change the investment?

The Item 7 table is expressly for a new Miracle-Ear franchise location, but the FDD recognizes conversions and acquisitions as different cost circumstances. A conversion may reduce leasehold-improvement and equipment spending when the buyer already has suitable premises, furniture or clinical equipment. Those assets still must be updated to Miracle-Ear's current design and equipment standards.

New Miracle-Ear Center

Use the full $120,000 to $402,500 Item 7 Total as the official starting range, subject to a higher population-based Initial Franchise Fee.

Conversion of an existing practice

Build Out Costs and Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment may be lower when compliant assets already exist, but upgrades to current Miracle-Ear standards remain the franchisee's expense.

Existing outlet acquisition

The new-location table does not cover the purchase of an existing franchise. A company-owned location asset purchase should generally fall within the disclosed ranges, but goodwill may be an additional amount.

The brand's official franchise-opportunities page distinguishes starting a business from transitioning an existing practice. Its official business-support page describes the Territory and system tools, but neither page replaces the 2026 Item 7 cost contract.

Buyer verification

For a conversion or acquisition, obtain a written schedule separating the franchise fee, asset purchase price, goodwill, required upgrades, new inventory and working capital. The 2026 FDD does not provide one combined conversion or resale total.

Recurring system charges

Which Miracle-Ear fees continue after opening?

Miracle-Ear's principal ongoing charges are based on hearing-aid units, Net Sales, database size and location type. The Royalty is not disclosed as a percentage of sales: it is $48.80 for each Miracle-Ear hearing aid and $30.15 for each AudioTone Pro. Local Advertising Expenditures must equal at least 10% of Net Sales, using the FDD's defined sales basis.

Fee entity Amount and basis Payment timing How to read it
Royalty $48.80 per Miracle-Ear hearing aid; $30.15 per AudioTone Pro When payment for the hearing aid is due Per-product charge, subject to the Item 6 annual adjustment rule.
Local Advertising Expenditures At least 10% of Net Sales Spent by June 30 and December 31 Includes qualifying National Marketing Fund and regional cooperative amounts.
National Marketing Fund Contribution $76 per wholesale unit; $25 per refurbished retail unit Generally within 30 days of invoice May increase by $1 once in any 12-month period.
CRM Program Fee Varies; not more than $570 per Center per month As invoiced Based on customer-database size.
Sycle.net Access Fee $104.15 monthly per full-time or part-time location; $41.21 per service location 10 days after each month-end Annual CPI adjustment and vendor pass-through provisions apply.
IHS Membership $2 per hearing aid sold When hearing-aid payment is due Added to the accounts-receivable charge and remitted to IHS.
NOAH License Fee $65 per location Within 30 days of invoice One-time iNOAH integration/license charge, subject to pass-through change.
Miracle-Ear Foundation Donation $1 per hearing aid ordered With hearing-aid payment Voluntary; declining it does not trigger a late charge.

Source: 2026 Miracle-Ear, Inc. FDD, Item 6, pp. 9–14. “Net Sales” means total revenues and receipts from products and services at or through the Center, less returns, allowances, discounts, cancellations and sales tax.

Advertising basis

Do not add the National Marketing Fund Contribution and every cooperative payment on top of 10% as though each were a separate sales percentage. The FDD says NMF contributions and qualifying cooperative advertising count toward the required Local Advertising Expenditures. Any six-month shortfall may become payable to Miracle-Ear.

Conditional and later-stage fees

What cost obligations can be triggered after opening?

Transfer, renovation, customer-experience updates, late payment and late renewal notice can create material costs outside the opening budget. These charges are not part of the recurring royalty calculation and should be modeled only when their contractual trigger applies.

Transfer Fee

$5,000 for transfer of a majority or controlling interest, or $2,000 for transfer of a minority and non-controlling interest, payable before Miracle-Ear approves the transfer.

Maintenance, Refurbishment and Renovation

Current estimated renovation cost is $5,000 to $50,000 per store each time. Miracle-Ear cannot require renovation more than once every seven years, but the FDD warns that future costs may exceed the stated range.

Experience Enhancements

Up to $5,000 per Center for minor equipment or technology updates, no more than once every two years.

Late Charges

The lesser of 10% per annum or the maximum rate permitted by law when amounts due to Miracle-Ear are not timely paid.

Late Renewal Notice Fee

Up to $5,000 per week if the franchisee misses the renewal-notice process and later changes the election. The weekly amount is tied to average weekly product purchases for the preceding 12 months.

Insurance reimbursement and optional programs

Insurance reimbursement varies if Miracle-Ear pays a required premium for the franchisee. The optional Demo Program currently costs $109 to $149 per demo unit, and other optional service fees vary by election.

Source: 2026 Miracle-Ear, Inc. FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–14; renewal and transfer context in Item 17, pp. 40–44.

Capital qualifications and financing

Does Miracle-Ear disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

The 2026 FDD does not state a standardized Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum in Items 5 through 10. Figures shown by franchise directories should therefore not be treated as current Miracle-Ear FDD requirements. The disclosed Estimated Initial Investment and any lender underwriting are separate from a franchisor-published liquidity threshold.

Item 10 does describe financing that Miracle-Ear may provide in its sole discretion to qualified franchisees. For a new Territory or new location, a promissory note may cover up to 100% of the Initial Franchise Fee or the asset purchase price for a new Center, potentially including equipment, fixtures, Opening Inventory and supplies, for up to 60 months or another approved term. An experienced hearing-instrument operator may also be considered for up to four months of working capital or for conversion-renovation financing.

Financial Assistance Promissory Note

The FDD states an annual percentage rate of 6% or another rate designated by Miracle-Ear, generally with equal monthly principal-and-interest payments over 60 months, no prepayment penalty, a Personal Guarantee for entity owners and a security interest in business assets.

Acquisition Program Promissory Note

For conversion of a competing hearing-aid business, the note may use five annual installments, ten annual installments or another approved structure. Its fixed rate is tied to the then-current mid-term Applicable Federal Rate; the FDD's 4.46% figure is specifically dated March 2025 and is not a current-rate promise.

SBA eligibility is not loan approval

The SBA Franchise Directory effective July 14, 2026 includes Miracle-Ear, but SBA states that directory placement is not an endorsement and does not ensure business success. A lender must still approve the borrower and loan.

FDD caveat

Financing changes the timing and source of cash; it does not reduce the Item 7 investment. It can also add interest, Personal Guarantee exposure, collateral requirements, acceleration rights, late fees and enforcement costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 21–23.

Exclusions and variables

What does the official investment range leave unresolved?

The Item 7 Total is a national FDD estimate, not a property-specific construction quote or a guarantee that three months of Additional Funds will be sufficient. The largest unresolved amounts depend on Territory population, premises condition, conversion assets, state licensing and the buyer's operating plan.

Territory population

Confirm the census population used for the Territory Fee and calculate the Initial Franchise Fee above the $30,000 minimum when applicable.

Premises and landlord contribution

Obtain approved plans, construction bids, lease deposits and any tenant-improvement reimbursement before relying on the $20,000 to $200,000 Build Out range.

Existing assets and required upgrades

For a conversion, identify which sound booth, audiometer, Real-Ear-Measurement equipment, computers, furniture, fixtures and signs meet current specifications.

Licensing and professional costs

Item 7 includes licenses and registrations within Prepaid Expenses, but state cost and timing vary. Miracle-Ear publishes an official state licensing overview for selected states.

Owner compensation and working-capital duration

Additional Funds name initial wages and fringe benefits but do not separately identify owner compensation. The allowance covers three months, not an unlimited operating period.

Inventory and acquisition goodwill

Inventory beyond Opening Inventory is excluded from Additional Funds. Goodwill for an existing business may be additional, and the Item 7 table does not price an existing franchise resale.

The FTC Franchise Rule defines the disclosure framework, while the International Franchise Association's Miracle-Ear profile corroborates the 10% veteran discount. Under the 2026 FDD, that discount applies only to the Initial Franchise Fee; it does not reduce Build Out Costs, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, Opening Inventory or Additional Funds.

Capital synthesis

What capital decision follows from the 2026 FDD?

Use $120,000 to $402,500 as the verified starting range for a new Miracle-Ear Center with the minimum $30,000 Initial Franchise Fee, then adjust upward for a larger Territory and property-specific requirements. Keep four amounts separate: the population-based Initial Franchise Fee, the full Estimated Initial Investment, the $30,000 to $80,000 of Additional Funds for three months, and the recurring or conditional Item 6 fees after opening.

The main opening-cost uncertainty is Real Property and Build Out Costs at $20,000 to $200,000. The main continuing obligations use several different bases: per hearing aid, per Center, per location, Net Sales and event triggers. The unresolved buyer question is therefore not the published total alone, but which Territory, premises, conversion assets, financing terms and post-opening fee bases will apply to the signed Franchise Agreement.