How Much Does a Michelin Commercial Service Network Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Michelin Commercial Service Network franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates that one Michelin Commercial Service Network Service Center requires a total initial investment of $189,000 to $4,252,500. Of that amount, $21,000 to $554,500 is disclosed as payable to Michelin Retread Technologies, Inc. or its affiliates. The Initial Franchise Fee itself is only $2,500; most of the range comes from premises, MCSN Equipment, the computer system, software, inventory and the first three months of working capital.

Estimated Initial Investment
$189,000–$4,252,500

2026 FDD Item 7 range for a Service Center. The total includes the $2,500 Franchise Fee and $50,000 to $300,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months, but it excludes debt service and may not resolve all location-specific costs.

Data basis: Michelin Retread Technologies, Inc., a Delaware corporation and the legal franchisor; Michelin Commercial Service Network Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 30, 2026; FDD Item 5, pages 5–6; Item 6, pages 6–7; Item 7, pages 7–10; Item 10, page 13; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 11 and 17. Information checked July 19, 2026. The FDD presents one combined Service Center investment range rather than separate ranges for named facility formats.

The current official Michelin Commercial Service Network page describes the network and its service model. No matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD references below are plain-text Item and page citations rather than clickable FDD links.

Key cost figures

The most decision-useful figures separate the one-time Franchise Fee from the premises, equipment, affiliate-payable and working-capital ranges that determine the actual capital requirement.

Initial Franchise Fee $2,500

Per Franchise Agreement, due at signing and non-refundable.

Paid to franchisor or affiliates $21,000–$554,500

Included within the total initial investment, per the 2026 FDD cover.

Site development $10,000–$3,000,000

Per Service Center; varies with premises, market, size and condition.

Opening MCSN Equipment $2,500–$500,000

Per Service Center and due before opening.

Additional Funds $50,000–$300,000

Working capital for the first three months per Service Center.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $189,000–$4,252,500 range?

The 2026 Item 7 total is the sum of nine disclosed expenditure categories. Most categories are allocated per Service Center. The Franchise Fee is per Franchise Agreement regardless of the number of Service Centers, and the FDD states that certain MCSN Software license fees are per franchise rather than per location.

Premises, equipment and opening assets

These four per-Service-Center categories create most of the fixed-asset exposure, with Site Development producing the largest spread between the low and high totals.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range Payment timing and payee FDD reference
Site development $10,000–$3,000,000 As incurred; contractors Item 7, pp. 7–9
ERS inventory requirement $5,000–$100,000 As incurred; Michelin North America, Inc. Item 7, pp. 8–9
Opening availability of MCSN Equipment $2,500–$500,000 Before opening; MCSN and other suppliers Item 7, pp. 8–9
Computer system $100,000–$140,000 As incurred; vendor Item 7, pp. 8–10

Franchise, training, software and working-capital costs

These five categories cover the franchise contract, personnel preparation, required systems, launch-period brand identification and the first three months of operating liquidity.

Item 7 expenditure 2026 range Payment timing and payee FDD reference
Franchise Fee $2,500 Lump sum at signing; MRTI Items 5 and 7, pp. 5 and 7
Travel, living and related initial-training expenses; ongoing training $5,000–$50,000 As incurred; travel and lodging providers Item 7, pp. 7–9
MCSN Software $12,000–$150,000 As incurred; MRTI, designated supplier or licensor, or MNA Item 7, pp. 8–9
Initial advertising and brand identification $2,000–$10,000 As incurred; local advertising agency Item 7, pp. 8–9
Additional Funds — three months $50,000–$300,000 As incurred; employees, suppliers, utilities and others Item 7, pp. 8–10
PREMISES EXPOSURE

Why can site development move the investment range by nearly $3 million?

Site development is the largest source of variation because the 2026 FDD uses one $10,000 to $3,000,000 range for different premises conditions rather than publishing separate new-build, conversion or existing-facility totals. The franchisee is responsible for developing a suitable Service Center when it does not already own or lease compliant premises.

The Service Center premises decision

The FDD recommends premises of at least 5,000 square feet, depending on the type of Service Center. Improvements may be needed for facility-format requirements and for alignment, computer balancing, wheel refurbishing, mounted-wheel delivery and secure covered storage.

$10,000 Disclosed low end for site development or improvements.
$3,000,000 Disclosed high end, affected by location, condition, size and local real estate.
5,000 sq. ft. Recommended minimum premises size, subject to Service Center type.
FORMAT DIFFERENCE

The FDD acknowledges different Service Center types and facility requirements but does not give separate Item 7 totals for them. A buyer should not treat the low end as a conversion quote or the high end as a required new-build amount; both are endpoints of one combined range. Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 8–9.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The first fixed payment is the $2,500 Franchise Fee at signing. Most other payments occur as the Service Center is developed, equipped and staffed, while the MCSN Equipment amount is specifically due before opening and Additional Funds are used during the first three months.

Sign the Franchise Agreement

Pay the non-refundable $2,500 Franchise Fee to Michelin Retread Technologies, Inc. The fee applies regardless of how many Service Centers are covered by the agreement. Source: 2026 FDD Item 5, page 5, and Item 7, page 7.

Develop the premises and incur pre-opening costs

Site development, training travel, ERS inventory, MCSN Software, initial advertising and the computer system are generally paid as incurred to contractors, vendors, travel providers, MRTI, Michelin North America, Inc. or designated suppliers. MRTI does not charge for initial training, but the franchisee pays attendee travel, lodging, meals and wages.

Make MCSN Equipment available before opening

The $2,500 to $500,000 equipment range is due before opening. Required assets may include service trucks, alignment equipment, computer balancing equipment, wheel-refurbishing equipment, mounted-wheel-delivery equipment and computer hardware or software.

Fund the first three months of operation

Use the $50,000 to $300,000 Additional Funds allowance for disclosed working-capital categories. The Item 7 software estimate also reflects a three-month period, and the $2,000 to $10,000 initial advertising amount is recommended for the first 90 days.

Item 7 states that payments to MRTI are non-refundable. Refundability of third-party payments depends on the payment terms agreed with that third party.

ONGOING COST CONTRACT

What continues after opening if Item 6 does not disclose a royalty percentage?

The 2026 FDD does not list a Royalty Fee, national advertising-fund contribution or fixed local-marketing percentage in Item 6. That does not mean the post-opening cost structure is zero. Continuing obligations include MCSN Software charges, required technology and equipment updates, supplier purchases, insurance, ERS dispatch charges, technician certification, supplemental training and conditional contractual fees.

COST IMPLICATION

Do not substitute a generic automotive-franchise royalty assumption. The disclosed contract is driven more heavily by required systems, assets, suppliers and event-triggered charges than by a stated percentage royalty. Source: 2026 FDD Items 5, 6, 8 and 11.

MCSN Software has continuing charges—and two different disclosed ranges

Item 5 estimates a one-time MCSN Software license of $10,000 to $30,000 per Service Center and additional software fees of about $6,000 to $22,000 per year. Item 7 Note 5 instead describes a one-time license reasonably anticipated at $5,000 to $35,000 per franchisee, plus monthly and device fees estimated at $6,000 to $27,500 per year; its Item 7 table uses $12,000 to $150,000 as the estimated software cost for a three-month period.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The Item 5 and Item 7 software ranges are not identical, and the allocation basis changes from “per Service Center” in Item 5 to “per Franchisee” for the one-time license in Item 7 Note 5. The Item 7 total should remain unchanged, but a prospective franchisee should obtain a written location-by-location software quote and payment schedule before relying on either sub-range. Sources: 2026 FDD Item 5, pages 5–6, and Item 7, pages 8–9.

Advertising obligations are limited but not absent

Item 11 says there is no required national advertising-fund contribution. Item 7 recommends—but does not require—spending $2,000 to $10,000 per Service Center during the first 90 days on advertising and brand identification. Required decals, signs and logos must meet MCSN standards. MRTI may later establish local or regional advertising cooperatives; if one is established for the area, participation and contributions under the cooperative bylaws would be mandatory.

Technology, suppliers, training and dispatch can continue to change

The franchisee must keep the computer system in good condition and install additions, modifications, replacements and MCSN Software updates at its cost. The FDD places no specific contractual limit on the frequency or cost of computer upgrades. Approved-supplier requirements apply to equipment, fixtures, services, supplies and signs, and Eagle Tele-Services is identified as the required centralized after-hours ERS dispatch provider. The franchisee pays the provider for referred after-hours calls. The provider’s role is described on the Eagle Tele-Services dispatch-services page.

Initial training is currently scheduled within 36 weeks after the Franchise Agreement date, and at least one manager or key service person at each Service Center must currently obtain MRTI certification within 52 weeks. Service technicians must be TIA certified as prescribed by MRTI, and third-party training may be required for non-MRTI equipment. The Tire Industry Association Commercial Tire Service training page explains the relevant training framework, but the FDD—not the public training page—controls the franchisee’s certification obligation.

WORKING CAPITAL

What do Additional Funds cover, and what is excluded?

The 2026 FDD includes $50,000 to $300,000 of Additional Funds within the official Item 7 total. It is not an extra amount to add on top. The allowance covers the first three months of operations per Service Center.

Included categories: professional fees, organizational expenses, utility deposits, salaries, general operating expenses, premises lease payments, payroll, facility expenses, insurance, security, repairs, maintenance and other costs.

Refundability: certain deposits may be refundable, while other third-party payments depend on the agreed payment terms.

Express exclusion: debt service is not included in the Additional Funds estimate.

Unresolved point: Item 7 refers to salaries and payroll but does not expressly state whether compensation for an owner-operator is included.

EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7

Debt service must be budgeted separately. Because the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee notes, leases or obligations, borrowing terms are outside the disclosed investment range. Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, page 10, and Item 10, page 13.

FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

Does Michelin disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?

No numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold is stated in the 2026 FDD. The franchise application allows MRTI to determine whether an applicant is financially qualified, and owners of a franchisee entity may be required to sign a Personal Guaranty covering financial and other obligations.

Item 10 states that Michelin Retread Technologies, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. A financing relationship therefore should not be inferred from the Michelin brand, supplier relationships or any equipment-license arrangement.

Total Initial Investment: $189,000 to $4,252,500 for the disclosed Service Center opening scenario.

Liquid Capital: no numeric minimum disclosed in the 2026 FDD; it is not the same as the Item 7 total.

Net Worth: no numeric minimum disclosed; net worth is not cash available to fund development.

Personal Guaranty: may bind owners personally, jointly and severally, to the franchisee entity’s obligations.

CONDITIONAL FEES

Which charges can arise after opening or during a change in ownership?

Item 6 contains mostly variable or event-triggered charges rather than routine percentage fees. These amounts cannot be converted into a standard annual cost because the trigger, invoice or actual expense controls what is paid.

Transfer: the then-current standard assignment fee is due when the franchise is transferred. Item 17 also permits conditions such as upgrading the Service Center premises, training the transferee and providing at least 60 days’ notice.

Late payment: interest is the lesser of 24% annually or the maximum legal rate, accruing from the original due date until paid in full.

Special assistance and supplemental training: per diem charges or reasonable training charges may apply when requested or required.

Alternative supplier evaluation: MRTI may charge out-of-pocket inspection and supervision expenses when evaluating a proposed alternative brand or supplier.

Insurance procurement: if the franchisee fails to maintain required insurance and MRTI obtains it, the franchisee owes the premium plus procurement-service costs.

Default, claims and legal matters: attorneys’ fees, other enforcement costs and indemnification obligations vary with the event and are due as incurred.

Taxes and local advertising materials: actual taxes and invoiced point-of-sale or marketing materials are payable as incurred.

Item 17 provides for an initial term of up to 10 years and automatic five-year renewal unless either party gives at least six months’ notice of non-renewal. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate Renewal Fee, but renewal may require a release and the then-current Franchise Agreement. Transfer can also force premises upgrades, creating a cost beyond the assignment fee.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be verified before relying on the official range?

The official range is broad enough that a buyer needs a Service Center-specific cost schedule. The most important verification work is not estimating a midpoint; it is resolving which end of each official category applies to the proposed premises, equipment package, number of locations and software configuration.

Premises scope: confirm whether the site is already compliant, requires a conversion or improvement program, or involves a purchase and major development; identify the permits, building-code work, lease obligations and facility-format requirements.

Location count: separate per-franchise charges from per-Service-Center costs. The $2,500 Franchise Fee is not multiplied by location count, while most Item 7 categories are.

Software quote: reconcile the different Item 5 and Item 7 license ranges, monthly fees, device fees, location counts and billing-in-advance terms in writing.

Equipment schedule: identify required service trucks, alignment, balancing, wheel-refurbishing, mounted-wheel-delivery, storage and computer assets, plus whether each item is purchased, leased or licensed.

Supplier and dispatch costs: request current approved-supplier terms, ERS dispatch charges, required inventory levels and any alternative-supplier evaluation costs.

Training and certification: price travel, lodging, wages, TIA certification, supplemental training and manufacturer training for non-MRTI equipment.

Working-capital exclusions: add financing costs and clarify whether owner compensation, refundable deposits and any local cooperative contribution are covered by the proposed funding plan.

The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how to review an FDD and agreement before committing capital. The FTC Franchise Rule page describes the federal disclosure framework; neither source verifies Michelin’s numbers, which come from the 2026 Michelin Commercial Service Network FDD.

CAPITAL SYNTHESIS

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The verified opening range is $189,000 to $4,252,500 for one Service Center, including $50,000 to $300,000 of Additional Funds for three months. The most important range driver is Site Development at $10,000 to $3,000,000, followed by MCSN Equipment, the computer system, software and inventory. The $2,500 Initial Franchise Fee is a small part of the capital requirement.

The FDD does not disclose a percentage Royalty Fee, a required national advertising-fund contribution, a numeric Liquid Capital minimum or a numeric Net Worth minimum. It does disclose continuing software and technology costs, approved-supplier obligations, ERS dispatch charges, insurance, certification, supplemental training and conditional transfer, late-payment and enforcement fees. The decisive unresolved questions are the premises scope and the current software-and-equipment configuration for the proposed Service Center.

Official MCSN information Michelin-controlled description of the U.S. commercial service network.
FTC franchise buyer guide Government guidance for reviewing disclosure documents and agreements.
TIA Commercial Tire Service training Official information about commercial tire technician training.
Eagle Tele-Services dispatch information Provider description for the after-hours commercial-trucking dispatch service.