How much does a MaxLiving franchise cost?
MaxLiving discloses two separate U.S. investment ranges, and they should not be blended. A new Franchise Clinic has an Estimated Initial Investment of $207,390 to $537,000. A qualifying Existing Clinic Conversion has an Estimated Initial Investment of $65,950 to $279,500. These figures come from the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document issued October 14, 2025.
The new-clinic range includes a $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, a $40,000 Training Fee, premises and build-out costs, professional equipment, technology, training travel, start-up supplies, and $5,000 to $15,000 of Additional Funds for the initial three-month period. The conversion range assumes an operating chiropractic clinic and uses a different Item 7 cost table. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–15.
- Legal franchisor
- Maximized Living Health Centers, LLC
- FDD basis
- 2025 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued October 14, 2025; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17
- Formats analyzed
- New Franchise Clinic and Existing Clinic Conversion Incentive
- Public brand source
- Official MaxLiving U.S. franchise information
- Information checked
- July 14, 2026
Key cost figures
2025 Item 7 investment ranges by development path
The conversion range is lower, but it applies only to a qualifying existing chiropractic clinic and does not replace the new-clinic range.
Official figures. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. The horizontal scale starts at $0 and uses the same USD basis for both ranges.
What is included in the new MaxLiving clinic investment?
The $207,390 to $537,000 new-clinic range is a complete Item 7 estimate, not simply a franchise fee. Its widest variable is Leasehold Improvements, while Chiropractic or other Professional Equipment is another large premises-dependent obligation. The tables below preserve the 2025 FDD categories and payment timing.
Agreement, site, and premises costs
| Item 7 category | 2025 range | When paid | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $50,000 | Upon signing; before Initial Training | Franchisor |
| Training Fee | $40,000 | Upon signing; before Initial Training | Franchisor |
| Site Selection and Real Estate Services | $3,900–$5,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Security and Utility Deposits | $2,800–$8,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Three Months’ Lease Rent | $9,300–$20,200 | As agreed | Landlord |
| Leasehold Improvements | $13,200–$216,100 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Optional Construction Management Fees | $0–$15,400 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Signage and Branding | $5,090–$14,500 | As incurred | Third parties |
Equipment, pre-opening, and initial operating costs
| Item 7 category | 2025 range | When paid | Cost meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office Equipment, including Furniture and Fixtures | $3,900–$17,000 | As incurred | Workstations, chairs, files, shelving, forms, and stationery |
| Chiropractic or other Professional Equipment | $53,700–$66,500 | As incurred | X-ray, digital imaging, tables, scanners, and related equipment |
| Computer Hardware, Software, and Supplies | $4,000–$12,200 | As incurred | Required Computer System and network connections |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $700–$2,000 | Before opening | Governmental agencies and third parties |
| Professional Fees and Services | $500–$3,000 | As incurred | Legal, accounting, entity setup, background checks, and tax systems |
| Insurance | $1,500–$3,800 | As incurred | Required coverage, including professional liability |
| Travel and Lodging for Initial Training | $10,000–$34,000 | As incurred | Transportation, living arrangements, and food during training |
| Start-up Supplies | $3,800–$14,300 | As incurred | Uniforms, office supplies, initial MaxLiving resource products, and miscellaneous items |
| Additional Funds, initial three-month period | $5,000–$15,000 | As incurred | Initial operating capital; no owner draw or owner compensation included |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $207,390–$537,000 | Official Item 7 total for a new Franchise Clinic | |
Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–15. Item 7 recommends a leased office of approximately 1,600 to 2,000 square feet; local rent, premises condition, construction allowances, and whether equipment is leased or purchased affect actual cost.
Largest non-fee maximums in the new-clinic Item 7 table
This maximum-only comparison identifies where the upper end of the disclosed range is concentrated; it is not a typical budget or a sum of expected costs.
Official maximums only. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–12. All six values use the new Franchise Clinic format and the same USD basis.
Item 7 lists Insurance at $1,500 to $3,800, while the related footnote describes that figure as an estimated monthly insurance cost. The FDD does not resolve how many months are represented inside the Item 7 total. A buyer should obtain the required coverage schedule and written premium quotes before relying on that line item.
Why is the Existing Clinic Conversion range different?
The $65,950 to $279,500 Existing Clinic Conversion range is lower because the 2025 FDD uses a shorter cost table for an operating chiropractic clinic. Eligibility is not automatic: the owner must qualify for and sign the Existing Clinic Conversion Incentive Addendum.
| Conversion Item 7 category | 2025 range | When paid | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $50,000 | Upon signing; before training | Non-refundable payment to franchisor |
| Training Fee | $5,000–$40,000 | Upon signing; before training | $5,000 virtual or $40,000 standard in-person training |
| Three Months’ Lease Rent | $9,300–$20,200 | As agreed | Paid to landlord |
| Leasehold Improvements | $0–$100,000 | As incurred | Depends on changes needed for system standards |
| Signage and Branding | $150–$14,500 | As incurred | Subject to zoning and property restrictions |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $0–$2,000 | Before opening as a Franchise Clinic | Governmental agencies and third parties |
| Insurance | $1,500–$3,800 | As incurred | Required coverage remains applicable |
| Training Travel and Lodging | $0–$34,000 | As incurred | Can be $0 at the low end, consistent with virtual training |
| Additional Funds, initial three-month period | $0–$15,000 | As incurred | Owner compensation excluded |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $65,950–$279,500 | Official Item 7 total for the Existing Clinic Conversion path | |
Source: 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 7–8 and 12–15.
How the conversion cost contract differs from a new clinic
The conversion table does not separately list every asset category in the new-clinic table. That does not establish that future replacement or upgrade costs are zero.
Separately listed for a new clinic
- Site Selection and Real Estate Services
- Security and Utility Deposits
- Office Equipment, Furniture, and Fixtures
- Chiropractic or other Professional Equipment
- Computer Hardware, Software, and Supplies
- Professional Fees and Start-up Supplies
Conversion-specific questions
- Which existing equipment meets current specifications?
- What leasehold work is required before conversion?
- Does virtual training qualify for the $5,000 Training Fee?
- Which signage and Computer System changes are required?
- What costs are outside the conversion Item 7 table?
When is the money paid?
The largest franchisor payments occur at contract signing, while premises, equipment, licensing, insurance, travel, and operating-capital costs are paid as the clinic is developed and opened. The 2025 FDD separates these cash events as follows.
Source: 2025 FDD, Items 5–7 and 11, pp. 7–15 and 27–28.
Which MaxLiving fees continue after opening?
The standard fixed franchisor charges are a $1,850 monthly Royalty Fee and a $400 monthly Marketing Fee. A separate Computer System charge is paid to a third-party vendor. Local marketing is not currently required under the 2025 FDD, but the franchisor reserves the right to impose spending of up to 1.5% of Gross Sales.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | $1,850/month | Within five business days after month-end | Existing Clinic Conversion also pays $1,850; qualified Legacy Clinic and 2025/2026 Renewal participants pay $775 |
| Marketing Fee | $400/month | Within five business days after month-end | Franchisor controls allocation between local and national activity |
| Local Marketing Fee | Up to 1.5% of Gross Sales | Monthly as incurred | Not currently required in the 2025 FDD; may be imposed on the preceding month’s Gross Sales |
| Computer System fee | Greater of $450 or $327 + 8% of Gross Sales collected from patient insurance reimbursement | Monthly | Paid directly to the third-party vendor; maintenance, repairs, upgrades, or updated service contracts may also be required |
Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–11, and Item 11, pp. 27–28. “Gross Sales” is defined in Item 6 and is not the same as profit or cash collected generally.
- Gross Sales
- Total revenue derived from operating the Franchise Clinic, subject to the exclusions and timing rules in Item 6.
- Automatic debit
- Royalty Fees, Marketing Fees, and other amounts owed to the franchisor or affiliates must generally be paid from the clinic’s business operating account by automatic debit.
- Computer System changes
- The franchisor reserves the right to change the required Computer System. The 2025 FDD states there are no contractual limits on the frequency or cost of that obligation.
- Required suppliers
- System standards regulate approved sources for build-out, equipment, supplies, inventory, products, and services. Max 3, LLC is an affiliate and Approved Supplier for specified products and services.
The two fixed monthly franchisor fees total $2,250 by arithmetic: $1,850 Royalty Fee plus $400 Marketing Fee. This derived figure excludes the Computer System fee, any imposed Local Marketing Fee, product purchases, insurance, rent, payroll, and event-triggered charges.
Which fees arise only after a specific event?
Item 6 and Item 17 create additional costs that are not part of ordinary monthly franchisor fees. Some amounts are fixed; others are actual costs or future costs that the FDD does not quantify.
- Successor Fee — $5,000. Due when a successor franchise agreement is executed. It is waived for a qualifying 2025/2026 Franchise Agreement Renewal Incentive participant. Renewal also may require renovation, equipment replacement, current training, and other compliance costs at the franchisee’s expense.
- Transfer Fee — $15,000. Due upon execution of the transferee’s franchise agreement. Item 17 also requires a non-refundable $3,000 transfer-review deposit that is credited toward the Transfer Fee if the transfer closes.
- Origination Fee — $1,500. Due if the franchisee elects financing offered by Maximized Living Health Centers, LLC.
- Relocation Fee — $3,000. Due upon demand when relocation applies. Lease, build-out, signage, permitting, and moving costs may be separate and are not assigned a fixed FDD amount.
- Audit costs — actual costs and expenses. Payable within 10 days after demand if an audit or review shows Gross Sales were understated by 2% or more for the audited period.
- Late Fee — 18% per annum or the maximum legal rate, whichever is less. Accrues from the due date until payment.
- Report Fee — $100. Assessed when required Operations Reports are not submitted by the fifth day of the month, with assessment on the fifteenth day as applicable.
- Collection Costs, Attorneys’ Fees, and Indemnification — actual costs. These arise from noncompliance, collection activity, or covered claims connected to operating the Franchise Clinic.
- Optional Product Purchases — variable. Amounts depend on products, services, and market conditions. Item 6 describes them as optional, while Item 8 separately imposes approved-product and approved-supplier rules for products the clinic does carry.
- Refurbishment — amount not disclosed. The Franchise Agreement permits the franchisor to require refurbishment as often as once every three years, with completion within 90 days, using an approved vendor at the franchisee’s expense.
Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–11; Item 17, pp. 32–36; and Franchise Agreement refurbishment provisions.
How much liquid capital or net worth does MaxLiving require?
The 2025 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold, and the official U.S. franchise page reviewed does not publish one. A prospective franchisee therefore should not treat the Item 7 investment range as a disclosed cash-on-hand requirement. Total Initial Investment, Liquid Capital, Net Worth, and borrowed funds are different measures.
What financing does the FDD disclose?
Item 10 says Maximized Living Health Centers, LLC may, at its discretion, offer direct financing of up to $250,000 for working capital or other general corporate uses connected to the Franchise Clinic. The financing can cover Item 7 costs, including the Initial Franchise Fee, land or construction, lease obligations, and equipment. Approval, amount, and terms depend on the applicant’s credit profile, needs, and the franchisor’s cost and availability of funds.
- Initial structure
- A revolving loan with advances available up to the approved limit.
- Interest
- Prime Rate plus up to 7%; after an Event of Default, 5% above the rate then in effect.
- Conversion
- Generally converts to a term loan 90 days after the Franchise Clinic opens, unless the franchisor does not approve conversion or a default has occurred.
- Origination Fee
- $1,500, plus variable third-party taxes, fees, costs, and expenses associated with loan origination.
- Early prepayment
- Potential premium of 3% within one year of conversion, 2% during the second year, and 1% during the third year, when applicable.
- Security and guarantee
- An all-assets security interest may cover equipment, signage, décor, inventory, lease rights, and potentially real property interests; the franchisee and individual owners guarantee the Financing Documents.
Source: 2025 FDD, Item 10, pp. 18–20. Financing availability is discretionary and is not guaranteed approval or a reduction of the official Item 7 investment.
Financing can change when and from which source cash is paid, but it does not change the disclosed Estimated Initial Investment. It also adds interest, the $1,500 Origination Fee, potential third-party charges, collateral, guarantees, and possible prepayment premiums.
What does the official range not settle?
The 2025 Item 7 totals are planning ranges, not a promise that the clinic can open or operate within a fixed budget. Several obligations remain location-specific, asset-specific, or unquantified.
- Owner compensation is excluded. Additional Funds cover the initial three-month operating period but contain no allowance for an owner’s draw or other owner compensation.
- Costs after three months are not capped. The FDD states a franchisee may need additional funds beyond the initial three-month period.
- Buying real estate changes the equation. Item 7 uses three months of lease rent; a purchase price, down payment, interest rate, and mortgage terms are not fixed in the range.
- Build-out is highly site-dependent. Premises condition, square footage, local construction costs, landlord allowances, zoning, and signage restrictions affect Leasehold Improvements and Signage and Branding.
- Equipment can be leased or purchased. Professional-equipment cost depends on transaction structure and approved specifications.
- Technology can change. Required Computer System maintenance, repair, upgrades, and replacement obligations have no contractual frequency or cost cap.
- Refurbishment is unpriced. The franchisor may require brand-image refurbishment as often as every three years, and renewal or transfer can require further renovation or equipment replacement.
- Minimum liquidity and net worth are not disclosed. Written qualification criteria should be obtained directly before a buyer interprets the Item 7 range as sufficient capital.
What should a buyer verify in the current disclosure package?
What capital picture should a MaxLiving prospect take away?
A new MaxLiving Franchise Clinic carries a verified 2025 Estimated Initial Investment of $207,390 to $537,000; a qualifying Existing Clinic Conversion carries a separate range of $65,950 to $279,500. The difference is driven by the conversion table’s narrower premises and asset categories, plus the optional $5,000 virtual Training Fee. For a new clinic, Leasehold Improvements, professional equipment, training travel, rent, and other site-specific costs create most of the range variation.
After opening, the standard Royalty Fee is $1,850 per month and the Marketing Fee is $400 per month, before the Computer System charge and any conditional obligations. The FDD does not publish minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth, and Additional Funds exclude owner compensation. The central due-diligence issue is therefore not only the official total, but how much unborrowed cash is required for the selected format, local premises, owner support, and costs beyond the initial three-month period.