How Much Does a Long John Silver's Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a Long John Silver's franchise cost?

There is no single valid opening-cost range. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document separates three U.S. Restaurant formats, excludes real estate from every official total, and includes the applicable Initial Franchise Fee.

Estimated Initial Investment - 2026 FDD Item 7
Three format-specific ranges

Traditional in-line/end-cap: $1,092,500-$2,720,000. Traditional freestanding: $1,872,500-$4,160,000. Non-Traditional: $665,500-$2,430,000. All three totals exclude real estate and already include $50,000-$130,000 for the first three operating months.

Data basis: legal franchisor Long John Silver's, LLC; U.S. FDD issued June 24, 2026; Traditional in-line/end-cap, Traditional freestanding, Non-Traditional, and Development Agreement disclosures. Cost research uses Item 5 (pages 8-9), Item 6 (pages 10-13), Item 7 (pages 13-21), Item 10 (page 28), cost-relevant parts of Item 11 (pages 28-38), and Item 17 (pages 45-51). Information was checked July 21, 2026.

A matching 2026 FDD was not located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD references in this article are plain-text Item/page citations rather than clickable FDD links. The brand's official U.S. franchising page describes franchise support, and the official Long John Silver's terms identify Long John Silver's, LLC as the operator of the brand's digital services.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $35,000 / $20,000 Traditional / Non-Traditional; due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Additional Funds $50,000-$130,000 Included in Item 7; covers the first three months of operations.
Initial Technology $60,000-$125,000 Format-dependent Computer Systems and Digital Technology range.
Liquid Capital / Net Worth Not disclosed No numeric threshold appears in the 2026 FDD or official franchise page checked.
Format economics

Why does the required investment change so much by Restaurant format?

Construction or upfitting is the largest disclosed source of variation. The 2026 Item 7 range reaches $3,000,000 for a new 2,250-square-foot Traditional freestanding Restaurant, while a Non-Traditional Restaurant may use 800 to 3,500 square feet in a convenience store, food court, travel plaza, college, airport, stadium, or another limited-format venue. A conversion of an existing food-service space may reduce renovation costs, but the FDD does not publish a separate conversion total.

Premises, build-out, equipment, and systems

Item 7 category Traditional in-line/end-cap Traditional freestanding Non-Traditional
Real Estate / Lease Expenses or Leasing Costs Not included Not included Varied; not included
Construction Costs / Construction-Upfitting Costs $500,000-$1,500,000 $1,250,000-$3,000,000 $250,000-$1,500,000
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment $200,000-$350,000 $225,000-$350,000 $175,000-$350,000
Signage / Awnings $50,000-$200,000 $50,000-$200,000 $20,000-$175,000
Computer Systems and Digital Technology $90,000-$125,000 $95,000-$125,000 $60,000-$80,000

Franchise, opening, training, and working-capital costs

Item 7 category Traditional in-line/end-cap Traditional freestanding Non-Traditional
Initial Franchise Fee $35,000 $35,000 $20,000
Pre-Opening Salaries, Training, and Assistance $72,500-$115,000 $72,500-$115,000 $72,500-$115,000
Start-up Inventory $35,000-$45,000 $25,000-$35,000 $15,000-$20,000
Grand Opening Advertising Planning and Development Fee $20,000 $20,000 $0-$10,000
Soft Costs $40,000-$200,000 $50,000-$150,000 $3,000-$30,000
Additional Funds - three months $50,000-$130,000 $50,000-$130,000 $50,000-$130,000

Item 7 source: Traditional Restaurant table and notes, pages 13-17; Non-Traditional Restaurant table and notes, pages 17-21. The official totals appear in the range chart above; site terms, optional features, and landlord contributions can change how individual line items are paid.

Approved-purchase effect: Item 8 states that 90%-95% of purchases associated with constructing and establishing the Restaurant, and 90%-95% of ongoing operating purchases, must be bought from Long John Silver's, its affiliates, or approved suppliers, or otherwise conform to its standards. Approved furniture, fixtures, equipment, food, packaging, signs, and technology may cost more than unapproved alternatives. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pages 21-26.

Range drivers

Which disclosed cost categories create the widest capital spread?

Building work creates the widest spread. The premises table shows a much larger high-end construction allowance for a new freestanding site than for the other formats, while equipment, pre-opening support, and the initial operating reserve are closer across formats.

Cost implication

The format decision is principally a premises-and-construction decision, not a franchise-fee decision. Site work and building configuration create far more variation than the difference between the two initial fees.

What does Additional Funds cover?

The $50,000-$130,000 Additional Funds line is already inside each official Item 7 total. It covers inventory and required insurance costs for three months, plus manager salary and crew wages for the first three months of operations. Required insurance includes workers' compensation, comprehensive general liability, and building/equipment coverage at replacement cost. The FDD does not separately state that owner compensation, debt service, or personal living expenses are included. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 16-17 and 20.

Cash timing

When is the franchisee expected to pay the money?

The cash requirement is staged from disclosure and contract signing through construction, opening, and monthly or quarterly operations. The sequence below separates payments to Long John Silver's, LLC from third-party project costs and from ongoing percentage fees.

  1. Disclosure period before signing or payment

    The FDD states that it must be received at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or money is paid to Long John Silver's, LLC or an affiliate. The same timing rule is explained in the FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule materials.

  2. Development Agreement signing, when applicable

    A developer pays $17,500 for each Restaurant authorized under the Development Agreement, with a minimum commitment of two Traditional Restaurants. The fee is fully earned and non-refundable when paid. The 2026 Item 7 example assumes a $35,000 Development Fee for two Restaurants.

  3. Franchise Agreement signing

    The Initial Franchise Fee is $35,000 for a Traditional Restaurant or $20,000 for a Non-Traditional Restaurant. The Grand Opening Advertising Planning and Development Fee is $20,000 for Traditional or $0-$10,000 for Non-Traditional. Initial Technology and Support Services charges are approximately $2,400. These franchisor charges are generally fully earned and non-refundable when due.

  4. Site, build-out, equipment, and pre-opening period

    Real estate or lease expenses, Construction Costs, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, Signage/Awnings, Computer Systems and Digital Technology, training travel, Start-up Inventory, and Soft Costs are paid as agreed or as incurred. Long John Silver's does not negotiate the lease or finance the initial investment.

  5. Opening and the first three operating months

    Additional Funds of $50,000-$130,000 are used as incurred for inventory, insurance, manager salary, and crew wages during the initial three-month operating period. This amount is included in the official Item 7 total.

  6. Recurring post-opening payments

    Royalty and Advertising fees are due monthly by the 20th of the following month. The Digital Transaction Fee is paid quarterly. POS, back-of-house, network, Voice of the Customer, and other technology charges are paid monthly or annually according to the applicable vendor or Technology and Support Services Agreement.

Does Long John Silver's finance the opening costs?

No. Item 10 states that Long John Silver's, LLC does not directly or indirectly arrange financing for the initial investment or continuing operation and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. Certain approved vendors may offer financing for products or equipment, including digital equipment, but the FDD does not identify guaranteed terms or approval standards. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, page 28.

Timing sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pages 8-9; Item 6, pages 10-13; Item 7, pages 13-21; Item 10, page 28; Item 11, pages 28-38.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the Restaurant opens?

The core continuing charges are format-specific Royalty and Advertising rates, plus technology and transaction charges. The monthly percentage fees use Gross Receipts, generally Restaurant revenue after the exclusions stated for sales taxes, certain discounts, and other identified items.

Continuing fee Amount or basis Timing FDD reference
Digital Transaction Fee 3.5% of Gross Receipts from digital transactions Quarterly Item 6, pages 11-13
Genius Cloud POS software $120 per month, subject to vendor pricing and other charges Monthly invoice Item 11, page 33
Macromatix BOH $91 per month, subject to vendor or system changes Monthly invoice Item 11, page 33
Interface network package $299 per month; $4,348 installation; 36-month term Contract schedule Item 11, page 33
FiServ kiosk transaction charge $0.03 per kiosk transaction Per transaction Item 11, page 34
Voice of the Customer $288-$400 annual charge per Restaurant Paid in advance monthly Item 6, page 12

The required Interface package is a named cost relationship in the 2026 FDD. Interface Systems separately describes the brand's managed network, wireless backup, and VoIP deployment in its Long John Silver's Network of the Future case study. That public page confirms the supplier relationship but does not replace the current FDD fee schedule.

Source conflict

Item 6 lists LJS Technology and Support Services Agreement charges of up to $2,000 annually, while Item 11 separately estimates approximately $4,500-$5,000 in subsequent annual charges depending on services used and installed, excluding per-transaction expenses. Because the two disclosures are not presented as one reconciled total, a buyer should obtain the current Technology and Support Services Agreement, its exhibits, and a location-specific vendor quote before finalizing the operating budget.

Which fees are triggered by a transfer, default, remodel, or special request?

Transfer: generally $5,000 for the first Franchise Agreement and $2,500 for each additional agreement in the same transaction; a specified affiliate-transfer structure uses $2,000 for each additional agreement with a $10,000 cap.

Food Safety reassessment: currently $183-$250 plus applicable taxes after a failed assessment or refused entry.

Remodel Re-Opening Advertising Promotion Fee: $5,000 per remodel, due at least 30 days before reopening.

Equipment Purchasing Administrative Fee: not more than 5% of the equipment cost when Long John Silver's buys approved equipment in bulk for resale.

Testing unapproved products or equipment: Long John Silver's actual testing costs, due as incurred.

Audit: audit costs, travel, accounting and legal fees, plus interest when an understatement or underpayment is 3% or more.

Late payment: the lesser of the maximum permitted by Kentucky law or 1.5% per month from the due date until paid.

Insurance placement: Long John Silver's costs plus a reasonable administrative fee if it places required coverage after the franchisee fails to do so.

Indemnification and legal costs: variable actual costs, including legal fees and court costs, may be owed for covered claims; Long John Silver's actual attorney fees and costs may also be due after termination for default.

Special local advertising: requested local marketing plans or materials are charged at cost, including reasonable overhead.

Rent paid to Long John Silver's or an affiliate: variable amounts may apply when the franchisor, an affiliate, or a designee is the direct landlord or sublessor.

Liquidated Damages after certain defaults: the prior 12 months' Gross Receipts multiplied by two times the applicable royalty rate.

Conditional-fee source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 10-13, and Item 17, pages 45-51.

Multi-unit commitment

How does a Development Agreement change the capital commitment?

A Development Agreement requires at least two Traditional Restaurants, but the 2026 Item 7 Development Agreement total includes only the first Restaurant plus the Development Fee. It is not the full cost of building every Restaurant required by the Development Schedule.

Development Agreement cost contract

The Development Fee is $17,500 for each Restaurant authorized. The Item 7 example assumes the minimum two-Restaurant commitment and therefore shows a $35,000 Development Fee. A $17,500 development-fee credit is applied against the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee for the applicable Restaurant when its Franchise Agreement is signed.

2 Restaurants Minimum Traditional Restaurant commitment.
$17,500 each Development Fee paid when the Development Agreement is signed.
$1,110,000-$4,177,500 Item 7 Development Agreement total for the fee plus the first Restaurant only, excluding real estate.
FDD caveat

The displayed Development Agreement range cannot be treated as a two-unit development budget. Each additional Restaurant requires a separate Franchise Agreement and its own applicable opening investment.

Which 2026 incentives may reduce selected costs?

The disclosed incentives apply to qualifying new Traditional Restaurants and reduce only specified cost obligations. They do not reduce construction, equipment, real estate, training, technology, inventory, or every other Item 7 category.

Veterans Incentive

$5,000 inventory support

For a qualifying U.S. veteran who owns a majority interest in the new Traditional Restaurant.

One new unit

One-year royalty abatement

Also up to three percentage points of Advertising Fee abatement for one year if the Restaurant opens within 12 months and remains compliant.

Two new units

Two-year royalty abatement

Also up to three percentage points of Advertising Fee abatement for one year, subject to opening and compliance conditions.

Three or more units

Three-year royalty abatement

Also up to three percentage points of Advertising Fee abatement for one year, subject to the disclosed Development Agreement conditions.

Incentive source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pages 3-4, and Item 5, page 9. The $20,000 Grand Opening Advertising Planning and Development Fee still applies to the qualifying Traditional Restaurants described in these programs, and full Royalty and Advertising Fees resume after the abatement period.

Excluded and unresolved costs

What does the official Item 7 total not fully resolve?

The disclosed total is not a complete site-specific cash requirement because real estate is excluded and several obligations can exceed the listed ranges. These unresolved amounts are material enough to price separately before relying on the headline investment range.

Real estate and lease economics: Item 7 excludes real estate costs. The Traditional Restaurant notes state that unimproved property may cost $650,000-$1,100,000 or more and land rent may range from $3,000-$15,000 or more per month, but these are not additions that can be mechanically combined with the official total.

Drive-thru changes: a cash window, double drive-thru lane, or second lane is excluded from the construction estimate and may add $80,000-$120,000 or more.

High-rise signage: an interstate sign may place Signage/Awnings at the top of, or in limited cases above, the disclosed range.

Technology upgrades: the Access and Polling Agreement places no stated limit on the frequency or cost of required POS and connected-technology updates.

Renewal and modernization: a Traditional Restaurant renewal requires renovation and modernization to then-current standards, but the 2026 FDD does not state a fixed renewal or remodel amount. A Non-Traditional Restaurant generally has no renewal option.

Financial qualification threshold: the Request for Consideration requires financial information, but the FDD and official franchising page do not disclose a numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum. If the franchisee is an entity, its owners must sign a Personal Guaranty.

Personal cash needs: Additional Funds include operating inventory, required insurance, manager salary, and crew wages for three months, but owner compensation and personal living expenses are not separately identified.

Buyer verification

Do not collapse the three official ranges into one financing target. The correct target depends on one format, one approved site, current landlord terms, current technology specifications, and the buyer's separate liquidity plan.

What should be verified before a capital plan is finalized?

Confirm that the franchisor's current FDD and any quarterly updates still use the June 24, 2026 fee schedule before signing.

Obtain site-specific land, lease, construction, permit, utility, signage, and drive-thru proposals without blending them into another Restaurant format's range.

Reconcile the current Technology and Support Services Agreement, Genius Cloud POS, Macromatix BOH, Interface package, kiosks, digital menu boards, and transaction charges.

Confirm in writing whether any Veterans, New Unit Development, or Multi-Unit Development Incentive applies and which fee line it reduces.

Price transfer, remodel, renewal-modernization, insurance, audit, and default-triggered obligations separately from the opening budget.

State registration tools can help confirm whether a current filing is effective in a registration state. The California DFPI franchise resources explain the state's franchise filing system, while the Minnesota Department of Commerce registration lookup provides access to public franchise registration information and documents.

Capital synthesis

What is the most defensible capital takeaway?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should use only the 2026 Item 7 range that matches the approved Restaurant format, then price real estate and excluded site features separately. The initial fee and three-month operating reserve are already inside the applicable total. Continuing percentage and technology charges begin on their stated schedules, while a Development Agreement creates a multi-unit obligation even though its displayed total covers only the first Restaurant and the development payment.