How much does an LMI franchise cost?
Leadership Management, Inc. discloses an Estimated Initial Investment of $20,000 to $27,500 for one LMI Franchise. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document describes a non-site-specific service business: LMI does not require office space, real estate improvements, furniture, fixtures, equipment, a computer system, or a cash-register system.
The official 2026 Item 7 range for an LMI Franchise. It includes the $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee, training travel, Miscellaneous Opening Costs, and $3,000 to $9,000 of Additional Funds for a one-to-three-month start-up period.
Data basis: legal franchisor Leadership Management, Inc.; Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 15, 2026; one LMI Franchise format; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, and 17; checked July 19, 2026. Principal references: Item 5 page 10, Item 6 page 11, Item 7 pages 12–13, Item 10 page 16, Item 11 pages 17–19, Item 15 page 25, and Item 17 pages 27–28.
The document is also consistent with the franchisor’s Waco headquarters shown on the official LMI contact page. Wisconsin’s active franchise registrations list Leadership Management, Inc. with an expiration date of March 22, 2027. No matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations in this article are intentionally unlinked Item-and-page references.
What is included in the $20,000 to $27,500 estimate?
The 2026 Item 7 total contains four cash categories. The largest fixed component is the Initial Franchise Fee. The largest source of range variation is Additional Funds, which covers operating cash and miscellaneous start-up costs during the initial one-to-three-month period.
| Item 7 category | Minimum | Maximum | Payment timing and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $15,000 | $15,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing; payable to LMI. Item 7, page 12. |
| Travel Expenses | $1,000 | $2,000 | As incurred for the training session; paid to independent vendors. Item 7, pages 12–13. |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $1,000 | $1,500 | As incurred; may include utility deposits, incorporation fees, advertising costs, and similar start-up items. Item 7, pages 12–13. |
| Additional Funds | $3,000 | $9,000 | As incurred for working capital during a one-to-three-month start-up period. Item 7, pages 12–13. |
| Official Estimated Initial Investment | $20,000 | $27,500 | Official Item 7 total for one LMI Franchise. |
The scale runs from $0 to $15,000. Exact disclosed amounts remain printed on each row.
Interpretation: Additional Funds create $6,000 of the $7,500 spread in the total Item 7 range. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 12–13. The statement is a derived comparison of compatible disclosed low and high bounds; the plotted amounts are official FDD figures.
Item 7 says a franchisee with an existing ongoing business may need only nominal additional working capital of approximately $2,000. The FDD does not publish a separate revised total for that circumstance, so the official $20,000 to $27,500 range should not be recalculated or replaced with an unofficial lower total.
When is the money paid?
The largest payment is tied to Franchise Agreement signing. A prospective franchisee may pay the full $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee or, if direct financing is available and approved, pay $5,000 and execute a promissory note for the $10,000 balance.
Both routes concern the same $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee. The chart compares only the cash due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Interpretation: the financing route reduces signing-day cash for the Initial Franchise Fee by $10,000, but it does not reduce the fee itself. The financed balance is $10,000 at 0% interest, disclosed as $278 monthly for 36 months. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 10, pages 10 and 16.
Before signing or paying LMI
The current FDD must be furnished at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment. That timing is stated in the 2026 FDD and in 16 CFR Part 436.
At Franchise Agreement signing
Pay $15,000 in full, or pay at least $5,000 and execute the Item 10 promissory note for the $10,000 balance. LMI must receive the signed agreement and franchise payment before operation begins.
During initial training and start-up
Travel Expenses of $1,000 to $2,000 and Miscellaneous Opening Costs of $1,000 to $1,500 are paid as incurred. Initial one-on-one training at the Waco home office is scheduled within 30 days after full execution of the Franchise Agreement.
Across the first one to three months
Use the disclosed $3,000 to $9,000 of Additional Funds for operating cash, deposits, licenses, advertising costs, and other miscellaneous start-up needs.
After opening
Royalty payments are due on the 15th day of each month for the prior month’s applicable revenues, using an authorized draft from the designated bank account.
Which LMI fees continue after opening?
The principal recurring charge is the Royalty Fee. The 2026 FDD defines it as 6% of sales to customers after subtracting the cost of any LMI Product delivered in connection with the sale; the royalty is capped at $10,000 per calendar year. The FDD also discloses required product purchases and event-triggered charges.
| Fee or obligation | Amount or basis | When it applies | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of the disclosed net basis; maximum $10,000 per calendar year | Due monthly on the 15th for the prior month | Item 6, page 11 |
| Required product purchases | At then-current LMI franchisee prices | Products used or sold must come from LMI unless written consent is given | Item 8, pages 13–14 |
| Annual product purchase minimum | $2,500 | Each calendar year after the first full calendar year begins | Item 15, page 25 |
| Renewal Fee | $1,500 | At the five-year renewal point, subject to renewal conditions | Items 6 and 17, pages 11 and 27 |
| Transfer Fee | $5,000 | Before an approved transfer; no fee for a transfer to a family member or a controlled corporation | Items 6 and 17, pages 11 and 28 |
| Meeting registration | $50 to $500 per person | Before certain special meetings or seminars | Item 6, page 11 |
| Training-related travel | $500 to $1,500 estimated | When attending training in Waco; franchisee pays its own travel | Item 6, page 11 |
- Royalty basis
- Sales to customers less the cost of LMI Product delivered in connection with the sale; 6% is applied to the net difference.
- Advertising fund
- None disclosed. Item 11 states there is no advertising program and no advertising fund.
- Renewal term
- Consecutive five-year periods may be available if the Franchise Agreement has not been terminated for violations and the renewal conditions are met.
- Transfer exception
- The $5,000 Transfer Fee does not apply to a transfer to a family member or to a corporation controlled by the franchisee.
The absence of an Advertising Fund does not mean advertising costs are zero. Item 7 expressly allows advertising costs within Miscellaneous Opening Costs and Additional Funds, while Item 11 says franchisee-created advertising must receive LMI approval.
Why is LMI’s product-purchase obligation a separate cost issue?
The Item 7 range does not quantify future inventory or product purchases. Item 8 identifies LMI as the only approved supplier for its products, estimates that 100% of course and related product purchases are required to come from LMI, and states that the franchisor furnishes a current wholesale price list.
The ongoing product-cost contract
This obligation is distinct from the Initial Franchise Fee and the Royalty Fee. It affects cash needs after opening because product prices are set by the then-current confidential price list, not by a fixed amount in Item 7.
The FDD does not disclose a fixed annual product budget beyond the $2,500 minimum. A buyer therefore needs the current price list and a product-order schedule to determine how much cash required purchases may consume. The official brand’s partnership information confirms that LMI uses independent licensed representatives, but it does not replace the 2026 FDD’s U.S. fee and supplier terms.
Which common start-up costs are not required by LMI?
The 2026 FDD assigns $0 to Real Estate and Improvements because LMI does not require a franchisee to purchase, rent, or lease office space, equipment, furniture, or fixtures. Item 8 and Item 11 also state that no computer system, computer service, or cash-register system is required.
The FTC franchise due-diligence guide explains why a prospective franchisee should separately investigate local and professional costs that an FDD range may not fully resolve.
Does LMI offer financing or disclose a cash minimum?
LMI offers direct financing for up to $10,000 of the Initial Franchise Fee, subject to fund availability and the prospective franchisee’s credit rating. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate Liquid Capital minimum, Net Worth minimum, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement.
| Item 10 term | Disclosed condition | Buyer interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Down payment | $5,000 | Cash due toward the $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee at signing. |
| Amount financed | $10,000 | Does not finance Travel Expenses, Miscellaneous Opening Costs, or Additional Funds. |
| Interest and term | 0%; up to 36 months | The FDD states monthly payments of $278 for 36 months. |
| Prepayment | No penalty | The note may be prepaid at any time. |
| Security | Promissory Note, Security Agreement, and assignment of the Franchise Agreement as collateral | Default can cause acceleration, collection costs, and termination of the Franchise Agreement. |
| Approval | Availability of funds and credit rating | Financing is not guaranteed. |
A $5,000 signing payment is not the same as the capital needed to launch. Even with Item 10 financing, the franchisee still needs cash for training travel, opening costs, Additional Funds, and any personal or local expenses outside Item 7.
What should a prospective LMI franchisee verify before signing?
The official starting point is $20,000 to $27,500, but the decisive cash question is whether the buyer will pay the Initial Franchise Fee in full or finance $10,000, and how much working capital and product-purchase cash the buyer’s circumstances require.
Cost synthesis: the 2026 LMI Franchise is structured without a required physical outlet, which removes a major real-estate category from Item 7. The remaining capital contract centers on the $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee, $1,000 to $2,000 of training travel, $1,000 to $1,500 of Miscellaneous Opening Costs, and $3,000 to $9,000 of Additional Funds. After opening, the buyer must distinguish the 6% Royalty Fee, required purchases from LMI, the $2,500 annual purchase minimum, and later Renewal, Transfer, meeting, and travel charges.