Lil’ Kickers requires an estimated initial investment of $40,050 to $64,785 for a traditional program or $24,450 to $50,785 for a Micro program. Those are the two 2026 Item 7 ranges, and both exclude real property. They assume the franchisee generally already owns, leases, or operates an arena or similar facility.
The format matters: Micro Lil’ Kickers is $24,450–$50,785, while a traditional Lil’ Kickers Program is $40,050–$64,785. The official totals include three months of Additional Funds but do not include a new arena, real-property acquisition, or a stated insurance premium. Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.
Legal franchisor: Lil’ Kickers Inc. FDD issuance: April 13, 2026 Formats: traditional and Micro Lil’ Kickers Programs Primary disclosures: Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17 Checked: July 17, 2026. The franchisor’s official U.S. franchise information describes the current program, and the Wisconsin active-registration record lists Lil’ Kickers Inc. through April 14, 2027. State availability remains subject to applicable filings and effective dates.
Capital snapshot
Why do the traditional and Micro cost ranges differ?
The main fixed difference is the Initial Franchise Fee: $25,000 for a traditional Lil’ Kickers Program and $15,000 for a Micro Lil’ Kickers Program. Equipment, signs, and decorating also carry a lower disclosed range for Micro, at $6,900 to $12,500 rather than $12,500 to $16,500. Most other Item 7 categories use the same range for both formats.
2026 Item 7 total investment ranges by program format
Floating bars show each official low-to-high range on a common $0 to $70,000 scale. Real property is excluded.
Micro reduces the disclosed low end by $15,600 and the high end by $14,000, principally because of the lower franchise fee and equipment range. Those differences are derived arithmetic, not separate franchisor estimates.Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.
A Micro program is not merely the traditional range with a discount. It has a separate Franchise Fee, a separate equipment range, a non-exclusive territory, and a later conversion charge if Lil’ Kickers Inc. offers conversion to a traditional program. The conversion charge is the difference between the then-current Initial Franchise Fee and the $15,000 already paid.
What does the initial investment include?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines amounts paid at signing, pre-opening purchases, launch-period technology and marketing, and a three-month operating cushion. It does not treat the franchise fee as the full cost of entry.
Signing and pre-opening costs
| Item 7 expenditure | Traditional | Micro | When paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | $25,000 | $15,000 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement |
| Technology Set-up Fee | $500 | $500 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement |
| Initial Training Program travel and living expenses | $0–$5,000 | $0–$5,000 | As airlines, hotels, and restaurants require |
| Equipment, signs, and decorating costs | $12,500–$16,500 | $6,900–$12,500 | After the first week of classes if paid to Lil’ Kickers; otherwise as incurred |
| Inventory to begin operating | $1,000–$3,000 | $1,000–$3,000 | After the first week of classes if paid to Lil’ Kickers; otherwise as incurred |
Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. Item 5, pp. 5–6, provides the fee definitions and refund terms.
Launch-period costs and operating cushion
| Item 7 expenditure | Traditional | Micro | Basis or timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marketing Fee — initial three months | $1,050–$3,600 | $1,050–$3,600 | Initial amount due at signing; monthly thereafter |
| DaySmart Recreation — initial three months | $0–$885 | $0–$885 | Monthly upon beginning operations |
| Security deposits, prepaid expenses, and working capital | $0–$1,000 | $0–$1,000 | As incurred |
| Additional Funds — three months | $0–$10,000 | $0–$10,000 | As payroll and operating expenses occur |
| Total, excluding real property | $40,050–$64,785 | $24,450–$50,785 | Official Item 7 total |
Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–14. Additional Funds cover staff salaries and operating expenses for the first three months and exclude an owner’s salary or draw.
Item 7 and the Item 6 fee table use a Marketing Fee range of $350 to $1,200 per month, producing a three-month maximum of $3,600. Item 11 and one Item 6 footnote instead state a maximum of $850 per month, or $2,550 for three months. The Item 7 total uses the higher disclosed amount. A buyer should obtain the current Marketing Fee in Schedule 2 and a written pricing proposal before signing rather than assume either maximum applies to the selected market and campaign. Sources: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 5, p. 5; Item 6, pp. 7 and 9; Item 7, p. 12; Item 11, pp. 19–20.
When does the cash leave the buyer’s account?
The largest contractual payment occurs at signing, but the Item 7 range is paid in stages. Lil’ Kickers Inc. generally requires Electronic Funds Transfer for franchisor fees and monthly payments, while travel, suppliers, employees, and insurance carriers are paid on their own schedules.
At Franchise Agreement signing
Pay the $25,000 traditional or $15,000 Micro Franchise Fee, the $500 Technology Set-up Fee, and the initial three months of Marketing Fees. The FDD permits installment treatment for the Franchise Fee and Technology Set-up Fee only in limited circumstances and for no longer than one year.
During training and pre-opening
Pay attendee travel, meals, and lodging as incurred; arrange required insurance; and acquire required equipment and supplies at least two weeks before classes. Initial Training has no separate tuition fee, but travel can be $0 to $5,000.
At launch and after the first week of classes
DaySmart Recreation begins billing monthly when operations start. Purchases owed to Lil’ Kickers for equipment and inventory are due after the first week of classes; other approved suppliers are paid under their terms.
Through the first three months
Use the disclosed Additional Funds for staff salaries and operating expenses as they occur. The prepaid Marketing Fee covers the initial three-month commitment; DaySmart Recreation charges and the Royalty Fee are paid monthly during operations.
After opening and at annual checkpoints
Pay the Royalty Fee monthly by the 10th day of the next month, reconcile any annual minimum shortfall, and pay the $1,000 annual Training Fee on January 1 after the first year. An adjacent-territory option, when offered, renews annually for $1,000 to $10,000.
The official Lil’ Kickers onboarding timeline places equipment setup and DaySmart onboarding around four weeks before launch and the open house around two weeks before the inaugural season. Contractual due dates remain controlled by the Franchise Agreement and FDD.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, Marketing Fee, DaySmart Recreation fee, and annual Training Fee. They use different payment bases, so they should not be combined into one percentage.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 9% of Gross Sales | Monthly by the 10th day of the next month | Annual minimums apply even when percentage-based payments are lower |
| Marketing Fee | $350–$1,200 per month in Item 6 table | Monthly by the 10th | Market and campaign dependent; the FDD contains a conflicting $850 maximum elsewhere |
| DaySmart Recreation | $295 per facility per month; $125 per remote location | Monthly on the 10th | Facility fee is waived if the full commercial version is already purchased |
| Annual Training Fee | $1,000 per year | January 1 after the first year | At least one qualifying representative must attend annual training |
Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–10; Item 11, pp. 19–25. The official marketing support page, software and technology page, and leadership and training page describe the corresponding operating systems but do not replace the FDD fee terms.
Minimum annual Royalty Fee amounts
Bars compare the disclosed annual minimums, not the full royalty obligation. The 9% of Gross Sales calculation still applies each month.
If monthly Royalty Fee payments do not reach the applicable annual minimum, the franchisee pays the shortfall with the next monthly payment after year-end.Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 6, pp. 6 and 9; Item 12, pp. 26–27.
- Gross Sales
- Aggregate revenue connected with the Franchised Business, including registration fees, classes, camps, parties, qualifying facility memberships, field trips, local sponsorships, and business-interruption insurance proceeds.
- Excluded from Gross Sales
- Good-faith refunds, sales or equivalent taxes collected and remitted to government, and manufacturer or supplier rebates.
- Payment mechanism
- Royalty and Marketing Fee payments are made by Electronic Funds Transfer from an operating deposit account maintained at a national bank.
What can push the project cost beyond Item 7?
The largest unresolved variable is the facility. Item 7 lists Real Property and the annual insurance premium as “N/A” because the estimate assumes that a franchisee generally already owns, leases, or operates an established arena or similar facility. A buyer starting without a suitable venue is evaluating a materially different capital project.
The official range is an arena-first cost model
The FDD separates the Lil’ Kickers program investment from the cost of acquiring, renting, building, or substantially improving the underlying sports facility.
Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 7, footnote 4, pp. 13–14. These are franchisor disclosures about facility scenarios, not additions to the official Item 7 range.
Insurance premium: Item 7 does not state an amount. Required coverage includes property, workers’ compensation and employer liability, comprehensive general liability, and business interruption insurance. Limits include at least $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate for general liability, subject to higher legal requirements.
Computer and communications hardware: Item 7 assumes an existing computer. Item 11 states a standard desktop or laptop generally costs $500 to $1,500, with estimated maintenance of $100 to $300 per year and possible replacement every three to five years.
Owner compensation: Additional Funds cover the first three months of staff salaries and operating expenses but exclude an owner’s salary or draw.
Deposits, licenses, and local requirements: The $0 to $1,000 line assumes an established facility. A different lease, jurisdiction, or venue arrangement may create costs not resolved by the disclosed range.
Required supplier purchases: Item 8 identifies Lil’ Kickers Inc. as the current approved supplier for uniforms, equipment, signs, and marketing materials, and DaySmart Recreation as the required software source. The FDD estimates required franchisor purchases at 70% to 80% of establishment cost, excluding the arena or location.
The franchisor’s official support-services overview explains the operational support around launch. It does not price a buyer’s property, construction, lease, insurance, or local permitting obligations.
Which fees arise only when a specific event occurs?
Item 6 includes several charges that are not part of ordinary monthly operations. Their relevance depends on supplier choices, territory decisions, compliance, transfer activity, system changes, or termination circumstances.
New product or supplier review: $2,000 to $4,000 at evaluation, capped at Lil’ Kickers Inc.’s actual review costs.
Adjacent-territory option and right of first refusal: $1,000 to $10,000 at signing and on each anniversary while the optional right remains in effect.
Micro-to-traditional conversion: the difference between the then-current Initial Franchise Fee and the $15,000 Micro fee already paid, due at conversion.
Interest or late fees: 8% per year or the maximum lawful rate, whichever is less, on overdue amounts.
Audit Fee: $1,000 to $5,000 when an audit finds an understatement of at least 3%, plus the underpaid amount and interest.
System Modifications: $0 to $10,000 as required for new equipment, fixtures, software, curricula, trademarks, or similar system changes.
Additional Training: $500 to $2,000 at the time of optional training, marketing, management consultation, or other assistance.
Franchise Transfer Fee: estimated or actual franchisor costs, not to exceed $5,000, payable before transfer approval.
Some event-triggered liabilities are not capped dollar fees. Indemnification covers all costs, including reasonable attorneys’ fees. A qualifying termination can trigger liquidated damages based on 1.2 times the prior 12-month average monthly Royalty Fee multiplied by the greater of months remaining or 12. Transferring a location to a competitive operator can trigger damages equal to the previous 12 months of Gross Sales. Relocation is at the franchisee’s expense, with possible reimbursement of Lil’ Kickers Inc.’s legal, accounting, or other assistance costs.
Item 17 states a standard five-year term and does not disclose a separate fixed renewal fee. Renewal requires payment of all monetary obligations, compliance with current qualifications and training, and signing the then-current Franchise Agreement, whose terms may differ. Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Items 6 and 17, pp. 8–10 and 33–39.
Does the FDD state a liquid-capital minimum or offer financing?
No separate Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds minimum is disclosed in the 2026 FDD. That absence does not convert the Item 7 total into a cash-qualification requirement: Estimated Initial Investment, Additional Funds, Liquid Capital, and Net Worth are different concepts.
Item 10 states that Lil’ Kickers Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee’s obligations. A lender’s underwriting, collateral, down-payment, and personal liquidity standards therefore sit outside the franchisor’s disclosed financing terms.
An individual owning 25% or more of a franchisee entity may be required to guarantee all Franchise Agreement obligations, and the individual’s spouse may also be required to sign. This is a liability commitment, not a disclosed liquid-capital threshold. Source: 2026 Lil’ Kickers FDD, Item 9, p. 18; Item 15, p. 32.
The Federal Trade Commission’s franchise buying guide explains how the FDD, Franchise Agreement, and professional review fit into pre-purchase due diligence.
What is the cost decision in practical terms?
The verified 2026 entry range is $40,050 to $64,785 for traditional and $24,450 to $50,785 for Micro, with the Initial Franchise Fee accounting for the largest fixed format difference. The decisive uncertainty is not the $500 Technology Set-up Fee or the first three months of DaySmart Recreation; it is whether the buyer already controls a suitable arena and can satisfy the unpriced real-property, insurance, computer, and local operating requirements.
A complete capital plan should therefore keep four figures separate: the applicable Item 7 total, the amount payable to Lil’ Kickers Inc. or its affiliate, the three-month Additional Funds allowance, and the continuing Royalty Fee, Marketing Fee, DaySmart Recreation fee, and Training Fee obligations. The unresolved Marketing Fee maximum should be confirmed in the current Schedule 2 before payment.