How much does a Learning Express franchise cost?
The March 23, 2026 Learning Express, Inc. Franchise Disclosure Document gives two separate U.S. investment ranges. A new standard Learning Express Store has an Estimated Initial Investment of $202,516 to $386,016. A qualifying existing independent retailer entering the Conversion Program has an Estimated Initial Investment of $25,375 to $119,516. These ranges must not be blended because the Conversion Store estimate assumes that the operator already has premises, equipment, inventory, insurance, and working capital that meet the franchisor's requirements.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Learning Express, Inc., a Massachusetts corporation. FDD issuance date: March 23, 2026. Formats analyzed: new standard Store and Conversion Store. Principal cost sources: Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, 12, and 17. Information checked July 23, 2026.
No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked Item-and-page references. The official Learning Express franchise investment page is used only for clearly labeled supplemental information.
Capital snapshot
Metric sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7 and Item 11, FDD pages 11–18 and 28–29.
Why are the standard and conversion ranges so far apart?
The Conversion Program is not a lower-cost version of a new build. It is a different cost contract for a qualified existing independent retail store. The 2026 FDD assigns several conversion categories a $0 low end because acceptable assets or operating capital may already be in place.
The bar position shows the low end; bar length shows the span to the high end. Scale: $0 to $400,000.
Interpretation: the lower Conversion Store range depends on existing usable assets; it is not evidence that a buyer can open a new store for the conversion amount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, FDD pages 14–19.
What is included in the $202,516 to $386,016 standard-store range?
The standard-store estimate includes the franchise fee, premises and build-out costs, the required computer configuration, signage, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, professional and training expenses, Opening Inventory, Grand Opening Marketing, Gift Card Program setup, first-year Insurance, and three months of Additional Funds.
Only categories with a disclosed low-to-high range are plotted. Scale: $0 to $180,000.
Interpretation: Opening Inventory is the largest disclosed variable category. Its range depends on store size and opening timing; the FDD says a fourth-quarter opening requires more inventory. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, FDD pages 14–16.
Agreement, premises, and store systems
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | When paid | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $40,000 | $5,000 with Reservation Agreement; $35,000 balance at Franchise Agreement signing | p. 14 |
| Lease & Leasehold Improvements | $0–$50,000 | As incurred before opening | pp. 14–15 |
| Computer Equipment & Software | $6,141 | As incurred before opening | pp. 14–15 |
| Signage | $5,000–$15,000 | As incurred before opening | pp. 14–15 |
| Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment | $30,000–$45,000 | As incurred before opening | pp. 14–16 |
The standard computer estimate assumes two point-of-sale registers and one backroom workstation, required software, and delivery, but excludes taxes. The Store is generally expected to lease approximately 2,000 to 3,000 square feet. The FDD cites possible base rent of $20 to $50 per square foot or more, plus $8 to $15 per square foot or more for common-area maintenance, insurance, and taxes; those figures are lease context, not a separate calculated startup total. One- or two-month deposits for rent, security, and utilities may also be required. The official franchise FAQ explains the brand's triple-net lease terminology and site-selection process.
Launch inventory, marketing, and operating cushion
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | What the amount covers | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Organizational and Training Costs | $1,500–$6,000 | Attorney/accountant fees plus training transportation, living costs, and salaries | pp. 14–16 |
| Opening Inventory | $100,000–$180,000 | Initial merchandise; varies by store size and opening season | pp. 14–16 |
| Grand Opening Marketing | $7,500 minimum | In-store events plus print and digital marketing | pp. 15–16 |
| Initial Gift Card Program Setup Fees | $375 + shipping | Gift cards, merchandise-credit cards, fixture, and signage | pp. 15–16 |
| Insurance | $2,000–$6,000 | Estimated first-year premium; required coverage depends on state and lease | pp. 15–16 |
| Additional Funds | $10,000–$30,000 | Three months of rent, initial payroll, operating expenses, and minimum checking balance | pp. 15–16 |
| Official Total Estimated Initial Investment | $202,516–$386,016 | Official total; Gift Card Program shipping remains variable | p. 15 |
What does a Conversion Store actually have to fund?
A Conversion Store pays a $20,000 franchise fee and a $2,500 minimum Grand Opening Advertising amount, then funds only the upgrades and additions needed to bring the existing business into the Learning Express System. The 2026 disclosed total is $25,375 to $119,516.
The $0 lines are existing-asset assumptions, not free obligations
The franchisor may still require compliant premises, hardware, software, fixtures, insurance, inventory, and Working Capital. A $0 low end means the FDD expects an acceptable asset may already exist.
| Other Conversion Store category | 2026 amount | FDD treatment | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $20,000 | Due before opening; Item 5 also describes a $5,000 Reservation Fee structure | Item 5, pp. 11–12; p. 17 |
| Organizational and Training Costs | $1,500–$6,000 | Professional fees and training-related travel, living costs, and salaries | pp. 17–18 |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $2,500 minimum | Print, in-store events, and digital marketing | pp. 17–18 |
| Initial Gift Card Program Setup Fees | $375 + shipping | Required Gift Card Program setup | pp. 17–18 |
| Insurance | $0 incremental | Existing compliant coverage is assumed; actual required insurance is not free | pp. 17–19 |
| Additional Funds | $0 incremental | Existing sufficient Working Capital is assumed | pp. 17–19 |
| Official Conversion Total | $25,375–$119,516 | Separate format-specific range | p. 18 |
When is the money paid?
For a standard Store, the franchisor fee begins before the site and opening costs: $5,000 is paid with the Reservation Agreement, and the $35,000 balance is paid when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Most third-party opening costs are then paid as incurred before opening or when invoiced.
- Reservation Agreement: $5,000The Reservation Fee is the first $5,000 of the standard $40,000 fee. It is refundable if the buyer cannot secure an accepted site within 180 days; once the Initial Franchise Fee is fully paid, it is non-refundable.
- Franchise Agreement: $35,000 standard balanceThe remaining $35,000 is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Item 5 describes a reservation-and-balance structure for franchisees, while the conversion table labels its $20,000 fee as a lump sum due before opening; a conversion buyer should confirm the exact schedule in writing.
- Premises, systems, and training: as incurred before openingLease deposits, Leasehold Improvements, Computer Equipment & Software, Signage, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, professional fees, training travel, and Insurance are paid to the relevant landlord, contractor, supplier, professional, travel provider, or insurer.
- Inventory and launch: as ordered or invoicedOpening Inventory is paid under vendor terms. Direct Deal Program orders, when elected, are non-cancellable and payable before shipment. Grand Opening Marketing and Gift Card Program setup are paid as incurred or invoiced.
- After opening: monthly and event-triggered obligationsRoyalty Fee payments are monthly. Other fees are charged as invoiced, when an event occurs, or under third-party contract terms.
The FDD anticipates approximately 90 to 180 days from Franchise Agreement signing to opening, depending on site availability, financing, ordinances, and delivery and installation of equipment, inventory, signage, and fixtures. The official franchise FAQ separately says the build-to-open period is generally about 12 weeks after the lease and Franchise Agreement are signed, while site search can take longer. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7, 10, and 11, FDD pages 11–18 and 23–29.
Which fees continue after a Learning Express Store opens?
The principal recurring franchisor charge is the Royalty Fee: the greater of 5% of Gross Receipts or $1,500 per month, per location. Gross Receipts include revenue from the main Store, Temporary Locations, fundraisers, local fairs, and online sales, excluding good-faith refunds and taxes collected and paid to a government authority.
| Ongoing cost entity | Amount or basis | Timing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of 5% of Gross Receipts or $1,500/month | Monthly | Item 6, pp. 12–14 |
| Local advertising and promotion | Minimum 3% of Gross Receipts | Ongoing local spend | Item 11, p. 27 |
| Learning Express National Advertising Fund | Up to 1% of Gross Receipts | Monthly if activated; 60 days' notice | Items 6 and 11, pp. 12 and 27 |
| Email, Social Media, Text and Loyalty Marketing Service | $25–$400/month | As invoiced | Item 6, p. 12 |
| POS and back-office licensing, maintenance, updates, or upgrades | Estimated $1,800–$3,600/year | Annual/ongoing third-party costs | Item 11, pp. 28–29 |
| Payment by Credit Card | 3.5% of invoice amount | When an invoice to the franchisor is paid by credit card | Item 6, p. 12 |
| Annual Convention and Toy Fair travel | Not quantified | Annual attendance at the franchisee's expense | Item 11, pp. 27–28 |
The FDD says the franchisor has never charged the 1% Advertising Fund contribution but reserves the right to begin after 60 days' notice. The 3% local advertising requirement is separate from both that potential contribution and the initial Grand Opening Marketing amount. Item 6 fees payable to the franchisor are generally collected by electronic funds transfer and are non-refundable.
Which charges apply only when something happens?
- Additional Assistance: travel, lodging, and labor expenses, as invoiced, if the Store needs a considerable level of extra support.
- Audit Costs: the cost of examination when an audit is necessary because timely and accurate information or payment was not provided.
- Transfer Fee: $20,000, payable by the buyer on or before the transfer date.
- Hold Over: $100 per day if the franchise continues operating after expiration.
- Late Payment Interest: the lesser of 3% per month or the maximum rate allowed by law; the FDD states California's limit is 10% annually.
- Direct Deal Program: the Store's share of optional inventory orders, with no franchisor markup; payment is due before shipment.
- Costs, Attorneys' Fees, and Indemnification: variable amounts when the contractual enforcement or third-party claim conditions in Item 6 apply.
Other third-party operating costs are outside the Item 6 franchisor-fee table, including rent, utilities, marketing software, music subscription, payroll, inventory replenishment, and insurance renewals. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 8, and 11, FDD pages 12–14, 19–21, and 27–29.
How much liquid capital or net worth does Learning Express require?
The official franchise investment page, checked July 23, 2026, states a minimum net worth of $500,000 and $150,000 in liquid assets. However, that page explicitly bases its investment table on the 2025 FDD, and the March 23, 2026 FDD does not state a liquid-capital or net-worth threshold. Treat the website figures as current supplemental screening language that requires written confirmation, not as part of the 2026 startup total.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The format-specific startup range: $202,516–$386,016 for a standard Store or $25,375–$119,516 for a Conversion Store.
- Liquid Assets
- Official-site screening language of $150,000, checked July 23, 2026. Liquid assets are not the same as the disclosed startup total or Net Worth.
- Net Worth
- Official-site screening language of at least $500,000, checked July 23, 2026. Net Worth is not cash immediately available to pay opening costs.
- Personal Guarantee
- Each person with a 5% or greater ownership interest must guarantee the Franchise Agreement obligations. A spouse or domestic partner must also sign the Guaranty of Performance and a non-disclosure/non-competition agreement, subject to applicable law.
Does Learning Express finance the franchise?
No. Item 10 states that the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee loan, lease, or other obligation. If the franchisee obtains a loan, the franchisor requires a copy of the loan documents. It may also guarantee payment of initial merchandise inventory, except inventory paid by credit card, to provide time to establish vendor credit; the franchisee remains solely responsible for paying vendors under negotiated terms.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 10, FDD page 23; official Learning Express financial requirements, checked July 23, 2026.
Which costs can arise at transfer, renewal, relocation, or a second location?
Item 6 fixes the Transfer Fee at $20,000, but the larger future cost uncertainty is compliance with then-current System Standards. Transfer and renewal can require Store upgrades, and the FDD does not state a fixed remodel or refurbishment amount.
- Transfer: budget the $20,000 Transfer Fee plus any cost to upgrade the Store to current System Standards.
- Renewal: no separate Renewal Fee is listed in Item 6, but renewal requires an upgraded Store, current payables, a general release, and a then-current Franchise Agreement that may contain different royalty or territory terms.
- Relocation: no fixed Relocation Fee is disclosed. Prior written consent is required, and the franchisee bears the new-site, lease, construction, signage, equipment, and moving obligations.
- Additional Store: an existing franchisee pays a $20,000 franchise fee for an additional location, before the location-specific opening costs.
- Temporary Location: no additional franchise fee is charged while the location meets the temporary-location conditions. If it no longer qualifies, a separate then-current Franchise Agreement and that additional fee are required.
- Trademark changes: if the franchisor modifies or discontinues a mark, the franchisee must comply, including changing signage or branded materials, without reimbursement.
The franchise term is 10 years, with two possible successive 10-year renewal terms if conditions are met. The official Learning Express resale page can identify whether the franchisor is publicly listing existing Stores, but the purchase price of a resale is not a disclosed new-store amount and must be evaluated separately. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 6, 12, 13, and 17, FDD pages 11–14 and 30–37.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the official range?
The central decision is format-specific: a new standard Store requires $202,516 to $386,016 under the 2026 FDD, while a Conversion Store requires $25,375 to $119,516 only when existing assets satisfy the Conversion Program assumptions. The largest standard-store variability comes from Opening Inventory, Lease & Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, and Additional Funds.
- Confirm whether the proposed project is a standard Store, Conversion Store, additional location, Temporary Location, or resale; each creates a different cost contract.
- Obtain current written quotes for lease deposits, build-out, Signage, computer taxes and shipping, Opening Inventory, Insurance, and Gift Card Program shipping.
- Ask the franchisor to reconcile the 2026 FDD with the official site's 2025 investment table and confirm the current $500,000 Net Worth and $150,000 liquid-asset screening figures.
- Build a separate personal reserve because Additional Funds exclude the owner's benefit, and do not add Additional Funds a second time because they are already included in the standard startup total.
- For a Conversion Store, obtain a written asset-acceptance and upgrade schedule before relying on any $0 incremental line.
- Review the current FDD and Franchise Agreement at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate, as explained by the FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise.
The practical distinction is straightforward: the franchise fee buys the franchise rights, the Estimated Initial Investment covers the disclosed startup categories, liquid assets and Net Worth are separate qualification measures, and the Royalty Fee, local advertising spend, technology upkeep, and conditional Item 6 charges continue or may arise after opening.