How much does a Lawn Doctor franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $135,820 to $163,902 to start one Lawn Doctor Business in the United States. The range is for the standard new-franchise package disclosed by the franchisor and includes the signing fee, first-month setup costs, opening inventory, training expenses, and an operating reserve for the first three months.
Data basis: Lawn Doctor, Inc., a New Jersey corporation; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 28, 2026; one Lawn Doctor Business operating lawn-care services and the Holiday Lighting Heroes service line; FDD Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 18, 2026.
Primary cost references: 2026 FDD Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 6, pp. 7–13; Item 7, pp. 13–16. No matching 2026 FDD copy was verified on a franchisor-controlled public website, so FDD Item and page citations are not linked. The official U.S. franchise website is linked only for supplemental franchise information.
Public pages on the official franchise website do not currently agree with the April 28, 2026 FDD. The official franchise homepage displays $150,070 to $177,052, the franchise investment page displays the same range, and the official FAQ displays $133,475 to $149,027. This article uses the newer 2026 FDD range. A buyer should reconcile any website figure against the exact FDD and amendments delivered before signing.
Which Lawn Doctor cost figures matter most?
The four figures below answer different questions: the signing fee is the principal execution payment, the operating reserve is already inside the opening range, the weekly percentage fee continues after opening, and the liquidity threshold is a candidate qualification rather than the total investment.
Sources: 2026 FDD Items 5–7, pp. 6–16; official Lawn Doctor candidate profile, checked July 18, 2026. The current official page states $60,000 minimum liquidity but does not state a net-worth threshold.
A useful capital worksheet should keep these concepts in separate columns. One column should show payments due before opening, another should show amounts expected during the early operating period, and a third should show continuing obligations that begin only after activity starts. This prevents a common budgeting error: treating a screening requirement as though it were the full amount needed to fund the business.
The same worksheet should distinguish cash from financed purchases. A disclosed range can include a first payment on an asset even though the remaining contractual payments continue for years. Approval for financing is also separate from the amount shown in the opening estimate. Credit terms, deposits, taxes, and supplier conditions can therefore change the amount that must be available at each milestone without changing the label attached to the disclosure range.
What does the disclosed opening budget include?
The investment table combines the signing payment with vehicle, software, inventory, training, insurance, home-office or rental-space costs, the holiday-lighting setup, and an operating reserve. It is not simply the license charge. The low and high endpoints are disclosure boundaries, not a prediction that every buyer will land at one endpoint.
Signing and core operating setup
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $114,950–$118,000 | When the Agreement is signed | Lawn Doctor, Inc. |
| Service Vehicle | $1,800–$2,500 | First monthly lease payment | Approved supplier |
| Turf Tamer Power Seeder shipping | $0–$1,000 | Upon shipment, if applicable | Lawn Doctor, Inc. |
| Computer Software | $225–$500 | Initial and monthly payments | Designated supplier |
| Computers | $0–$2,000 | As agreed | Suppliers |
| Opening lawn-care inventory | $2,000 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Rental Space | $0–$1,000 | First monthly payment | Landlord |
| Bookkeeper | $325–$400 | Monthly | Designated supplier |
Training, seasonal service, and working capital
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | Basis or timing | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Training Expenses | $2,500–$4,000 | Per attendee | Travel and related supplier expenses |
| Sales Support Resources | $200–$450 | Monthly | Supplier resources |
| Insurance | $800–$1,000 | Monthly estimate | Required coverage; provider terms vary |
| Opening Holiday Lighting Inventory | $0–$5,000 | As incurred | Lighting and décor materials |
| Holiday lighting Start-Up Equipment Package | $0–$2,800 | As incurred | Tools, ladders, and safety equipment |
| Uniforms | $250–$600 | As incurred | Required apparel |
| Vehicle Tracking and Telematics | $50–$100 | Monthly | Vehicle monitoring service |
| Additional Funds | $12,720–$22,552 | Pre-opening and first 3 months | Marketing, employees, transportation, utilities, vendors, and specified monthly costs |
Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 13–16. The investment disclosure states that, except for security deposits, the listed amounts are nonrefundable.
The low endpoint is not a complete “lean plan,” and the high endpoint is not a recommended contingency budget. Each endpoint is assembled from multiple assumptions. A home-based operator may still incur a higher training bill, while a buyer who rents storage may spend less on another supplier category. The correct use of the table is to identify each assumption that applies to the proposed territory and then obtain current written quotes.
The purpose of this exercise is not to select one headline figure and stop. It is to convert broad disclosure assumptions into a dated cash schedule supported by contracts, invoices, and written supplier proposals. That approach exposes timing gaps, optional purchases, deposits, taxes, and expenses that may be refundable only under limited conditions.
The operating reserve deserves separate attention because it is already included in the disclosed total. Adding it again would double-count the same allowance. At the same time, the stated period is not a promise that the business will cover its own expenses afterward. Payroll timing, seasonality, local insurance terms, fuel, utilities, and the opening month can change how quickly cash is used. Personal living expenses are not identified as part of the reserve and should be planned separately.
On a common $0 to $5,000 scale, Holiday Lighting Inventory and Training Expenses have the widest disclosed ranges among the smaller setup categories.
Official FDD figures; no midpoint or “typical” amount is plotted. Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 13–16.
Which brand-specific choices change the opening budget?
Two brand-specific cost forks materially affect the opening range: whether the assigned area receives the proprietary seeder and whether the seasonal service launches immediately.
Turf Tamer Power Seeder
Where the franchisor determines seeding is not suitable, the seeder is removed. That changes the signing payment and eliminates the related shipping and continuing lease obligation.
Holiday Lighting Heroes
The low end assumes no immediate inventory or Start-Up Equipment Package for the seasonal service. Launching it at opening moves those supplier purchases into the pre-opening cash schedule.
The vehicle line covers the first lease payment, not the vehicle’s entire financed cost. The financing disclosure separately describes a recommended Reddick Spray truck in certain climates with an approximate $120,000 to $135,000 vehicle cost and a possible down payment. A buyer considering that truck should obtain a transaction-specific quote and verify how the down payment fits the delivered investment assumptions.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 13–16; Item 10, pp. 21–23. The official opportunity-types page confirms that Lawn Doctor markets single-territory and multi-territory paths, but it does not publish separate current opening totals for those paths.
What does the $118,000 Initial Franchise Fee include?
For the standard seeder-included package, the signing payment consists of four exact components. The support component is larger than the license component, which is why quoting only the license charge materially understates the amount due at execution.
Exact 2026 Item 5 components for the seeder-included package; percentages are rounded to one decimal and reconcile to 100.0%.
Official FDD facts; percentages are derived arithmetic from exact compatible components. Source: 2026 FDD Item 5, pp. 6–7, and Item 7, pp. 13–16.
Qualified U.S. military veteran, minority, Green Industry, and First Responder candidates may receive a 10% reduction in the license component; the reductions cannot be combined. The incentive does not reduce the support component, equipment deposits, or other opening costs. A qualified employee of a franchisee with five years of system experience may receive a separate $10,000 reduction.
When is the money paid?
The largest payment is due at signing, but the opening budget is paid across several milestones. Treating the full range as one check obscures which amounts are immediate, which are supplier payments, and which are reserved for early operations.
At signing: pay the applicable signing fee to the franchisor and execute the proprietary equipment leases. The payment includes the applicable equipment deposits.
Before initial training: finalize the leases and arrange travel. At least the principal owner must attend; up to two people may participate.
As equipment and systems are activated: pay applicable shipping, computer and software costs, the first vehicle payment, telematics, insurance, bookkeeping, uniforms, and opening inventory.
When operations begin: the monthly technology charge starts. Weekly percentage payments apply to the preceding week’s collected receipts under the contractual definition.
During the first three months: the operating reserve covers specified expenses, including labor, marketing, second- and third-month vehicle, software, rental-space, and technology payments. It is already included in the opening total.
One year after initial training: the monthly proprietary-equipment payments begin under the lease provisions.
Sources: 2026 FDD Items 5, 6, 7, and 10, pp. 6–16 and 21–23. The official franchise process page describes the disclosure and approval sequence but does not replace the payment dates in the 2026 FDD.
A practical payment calendar should list the payee, due date, refundability, financing status, and tax treatment for every line. This matters because a supplier invoice due at delivery creates a different cash need from a deposit due at execution or a charge that begins after operations. It also makes it easier to identify amounts that are only estimates and amounts fixed by contract.
Timing should be checked again immediately before execution. Training dates, shipment dates, vehicle delivery, software activation, and the planned opening month can move cash requirements forward or backward. A change in sequence does not necessarily change the official total, but it can materially change the amount that must be available in a particular week.
What fees continue after Lawn Doctor opens?
The continuing obligations include a percentage payment, marketing requirements, technology and software charges, vehicle costs, and proprietary-equipment payments. Percentage obligations use the disclosure’s contractual collection basis; they should not be converted into annual dollars without a buyer-specific assumption.
| Continuing fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty and Service Fee | 10% of Net Revenues | Weekly | Based on collections from the preceding week |
| Technology Fee | $150/month initially | Monthly after opening | Scheduled to become $250 after cumulative Net Revenues reach $1,000,000; contractual cap is $500/month |
| Out-of-Territory Royalty Fee | 15% of outside-Territory Net Revenues | Weekly | Paid in addition to the base weekly percentage fee |
| Marketing Fund | Maximum 5% of Net Revenues | Weekly | National and regional contributions are coordinated so the combined amount does not exceed 5% |
| Annual Advertising / Marketing Commitment | Greater of $30,000 or 10% of Net Revenues | Each calendar year | Unspent amount is due to the franchisor within 60 days after year-end |
| Holiday Lighting Heroes Advertising / Marketing | Greater of $6,000 or 5% | 50% in November; 50% in December | 5% is based on prior-year holiday-lighting receipts under the defined basis; obligation begins in the second full operating year |
| Turf Tamer Stand-On Applicator Lease | $335.40 + sales tax | Monthly for 84 months | Payments begin 365 days after initial training |
| Turf Tamer Power Seeder Lease | $339.20 + sales tax | Monthly for 72 months | Applies only where the Power Seeder is included; payments begin 365 days after initial training |
Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 7–13; Item 10, pp. 21–23.
The percentage obligations should be read together rather than added mechanically. Some marketing contributions are credited against a broader local spending duty, while an outside-area charge is expressly imposed in addition to the base weekly payment. The result depends on where customers are located, which fund applies to the territory, and whether the required local spending has already been completed and documented.
Fixed monthly charges also begin on different dates. Some start when the business becomes operational, some follow software activation, and the proprietary equipment schedule is deferred. A buyer comparing funding proposals should therefore ask for a month-by-month schedule rather than a single “monthly overhead” figure. That schedule should also separate taxes, optional programs, supplier charges, and costs that change by season.
Which supplier-based monthly costs are also disclosed?
- Lawn-care software
- Currently $225 per month under the investment disclosure’s software footnote.
- Holiday Home Concepts software
- Approximately $130 per month for the seasonal service.
- Serviceminder software
- Approximately $54 or $189 per month, depending on in-season or off-season status.
- QuickBooks Online
- Currently $85 per month, plus required computer hardware, connectivity, and consumables.
Which charges apply only after a trigger?
$5,000 only if a late-season opening franchisee elects the optional program.
Currently $0 because the Call Center is not operational; the contractual ceiling is $1,000 per month.
75% of the then-current Initial License Fee charged to a franchisee new to the system.
$25,000 if the franchisor engages a third-party broker or consultant to assist with a sale.
Up to $2,000 annually, excluding the attendee’s third-party travel and attendance costs.
Current policy is 1% monthly interest, subject to a maximum of 1.5% per month; late weekly-fee reports add 1% of the amount due per month, and rejected electronic transfers add $20.
Actual audit cost if an audit finds at least a 3% Net Revenues understatement or required reports are not furnished.
$500 per day for failing to provide requested inspection materials; $250 per item and occurrence for unauthorized advertising.
Customer complaint payments, taxes imposed on the franchisor, indemnification, attorneys’ fees, and enforcement costs vary by circumstance.
No fixed renewal fee is stated in Item 6, but Item 17 requires refurbishing and re-equipping each Service Vehicle and repairing or replacing equipment to obtain a successor franchise.
How much cash is required, and what can be financed?
The current official candidate page states a minimum liquidity requirement. That qualification is not the same as the opening-investment range, and it does not establish that the balance will be financed. The current disclosure does not state a net-worth minimum in the cost Items.
The franchisor directly finances its proprietary equipment through mandatory leases. The financing Item also discloses an indirect vehicle program with Isuzu Finance of America for the Reddick Spray truck recommended in certain climates. The lender program is subject to credit approval; the official Isuzu Finance product information describes commercial truck loan and lease structures generally, while the brand-specific terms are in the financing Item.
The 2026 disclosure contains two different seeder lump-sum lease amounts: Item 6, p. 10 states $19,750, while Item 10, p. 21 states $20,400. The monthly payment of $339.20 plus sales tax is consistent. Do not average the two lump-sum figures; obtain a written correction or current lease schedule before choosing a lump-sum payment.
For the Reddick Spray truck, the financing Item states an approximate vehicle cost of $120,000 to $135,000, a down payment of 0% to 15% depending on creditworthiness, an estimated high down payment of approximately $15,000, a 72-month lease estimate of $2,050 per month, or 72-month purchase-financing payments of $1,765 to $2,017. The disclosed effective annual percentage rate was 6.5% to 9.95% as of September 15, 2025, so a current quote is necessary.
Liquidity is best understood as a screening test for readily available funds, not as a promise that the candidate has enough money to complete the opening. Borrowing can reduce the immediate cash paid for an asset, but it creates later payments and may require a deposit, personal support, or other lender conditions. The approval decision belongs to the lender or lessor, not to the disclosure table.
A funding plan should also preserve a buffer outside the business estimate. The disclosure covers specified business expenses for a limited early period, while household expenses, income taxes, debt service unrelated to the business, and unexpected personal costs are separate. Keeping those amounts outside the acquisition budget makes it easier to see whether the business can be funded without relying on money reserved for ordinary living needs.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 10, pp. 21–23; Isuzu Finance of America; official Lawn Doctor financing FAQ.
Does a second territory use the same cost range?
No separate opening total is disclosed for a multi-territory commitment, conversion, resale, or additional business. A buyer should not multiply the single-business range or substitute a reduced fee without confirming the exact agreement, equipment package, support package, and required assets.
A qualified existing operator may be offered an additional business for a $25,000 signing fee, payable in full when the new agreement is executed. That reduced amount does not include the standard training, support, and supplies provided to a new franchisee, so it is not a complete second-business budget.
The official website describes single-territory and multi-territory opportunity types, but the 2026 FDD remains the controlling source for the actual fee contract offered to a specific buyer.
Source: 2026 FDD Item 5, p. 7.
What should be confirmed before signing?
The most important due-diligence task is to reconcile the delivered 2026 FDD, any state amendments, the Franchise Agreement, equipment leases, and supplier quotes into one payment schedule. The FTC’s Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how Items 5 through 7 separate initial fees, ongoing costs, and opening investment; the FTC Franchise Rule page describes the federal disclosure framework.
Cost synthesis: The verified April 28, 2026 disclosure provides one opening range for the standard business package. The main variables are seeding equipment, seasonal-service launch timing, vehicle structure, training attendance, premises, and supplier quotes. After opening, percentage charges, marketing duties, technology, software, vehicles, and equipment remain separate obligations. The internal lease discrepancy and conflicting public website ranges should be corrected in writing before payment.