How much does a Koala Insulation franchise cost?
A single-territory Koala Insulation franchise requires an estimated initial investment of $194,885 to $241,736 under the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The range applies to one standard Territory with a baseline population of 200,000. It includes $50,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months, but it assumes financing for the required Equipment and Vehicles rather than paying their full purchase price upfront.
2026 FDD, Item 7, one Territory. The estimate includes the Initial Franchise Fee, financed equipment cash outlay, launch marketing, pre-opening setup costs and three months of Additional Funds. It excludes an owner's salary or draw and may increase if the buyer pays equipment in full, rents commercial office space, acquires a separate sales vehicle or commits to multiple Territories.
Data basis: Koala Insulation Franchisor, LLC; 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued January 23, 2026; Item 5, pp. 13-15; Item 6, pp. 15-21; Item 7, pp. 21-24; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information was checked July 15, 2026. FDD references are cited by Item and page because no matching 2026 FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled public page.
The franchisor identifies the official U.S. Koala Insulation website. The disclosure framework is governed by the FTC Franchise Rule.
One 200,000-person Territory; due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Cover-page amount included within the total initial investment.
Three months of staff salaries and operating expenses; no owner salary or draw.
One fee covers up to four contiguous Territories under the 2026 schedule.
Based on Gross Sales; the disclosed maximum is 2%.
The 2026 FDD does not state minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds.
What is included in the $194,885 to $241,736 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines five practical cost blocks: entry payments to Koala Insulation Franchisor, LLC; the financed cash requirement for Equipment and Vehicles; Initial Advertising/Marketing; setup and compliance costs; and $50,000 of Additional Funds. The widest uncertainty sits in equipment financing and in the collection of local setup expenses.
Each bar shows a low-to-high range. A narrow vertical marker indicates a fixed disclosed amount. The groupings are derived only by summing compatible Item 7 line items.
Interpretation: Equipment, Vehicles and GPS form the largest cost block at the high end, while the setup block has the widest spread. The derived group lows total $194,885 and the group highs total $241,736, matching the official Item 7 range. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 21-24.
Core entry, equipment and launch expenditures
These payments establish the Territory, fund the required Koala Rigs and Pickup Truck under the FDD's financing assumption, and support the opening marketing period.
| Item 7 category | Low | High | Payment timing / payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $49,500 | $49,500 | At Franchise Agreement signing; Koala Insulation Franchisor, LLC |
| Training Expenses | $500 | $5,000 | As incurred; transportation, lodging and meals for two trainees |
| Equipment and Vehicles | $54,835 | $73,886 | Before launch; franchisor and lender |
| GPS Tracking Systems | $350 | $600 | Before launch; suppliers |
| Insurances | $3,500 | $6,000 | Before launch; insurers |
| Initial Advertising/Marketing | $26,000 | $30,000 | As required by providers; includes disclosed opening-period obligations |
| Technology Activation Fee | $5,000 | $5,000 | Before launch and within 10 days of billing; franchisor |
Setup, premises and initial working capital
The remaining Item 7 categories depend more heavily on local conditions and the buyer's operating choices. A home office is permitted; the Rent estimate only covers a possible parking or office cost for three months and does not price a commercial build-out.
| Item 7 category | Low | High | What the FDD says it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Professional Fees | $2,500 | $6,000 | Bookkeeping, accounting, legal review and entity formation as needed |
| Rent (parking location/office) | $0 | $4,000 | Three-month estimate; commercial deposits, build-out and prepaid rent can be additional |
| Office Expense | $500 | $1,250 | Optional home-office furniture, fixtures and supplies |
| Computer, Phone and Technology Systems | $1,700 | $5,500 | Computer, tablet, phone, printer/scanner, software and connectivity |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $500 | $5,000 | Federal, state and local requirements |
| Additional Funds - 3 Months | $50,000 | $50,000 | Staff salaries and operating expenses; owner salary or draw excluded |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $194,885 | $241,736 | Official one-Territory total |
Item 5 calls the $5,000 payment the Custom Marketing and Services Activation Fee, while Item 7 calls it the Technology Activation Fee and directs the reader back to Item 5. It is one pre-opening payment already included in the Item 7 total, not two separate $5,000 charges.
Why is the Item 7 equipment amount lower than the full equipment price?
The $54,835 to $73,886 Equipment and Vehicles line is an estimated upfront cash requirement, not the full purchase price of the Koala Rigs and Pickup Truck. The 2026 FDD assumes a 20% deposit, a 60-month financing term at 9%, and three monthly payments. The actual deposit, interest rate and term may differ.
Financed cash outlay versus full asset price
Koala Rigs are supplied solely by Koala Insulation Franchisor, LLC. A required truck may be purchased from another supplier if it meets the franchisor's specifications. Item 5 states that the disclosed Parts, Equipment/Vehicle Fees and consumables are non-refundable, while Item 8 states that the franchisor does not provide equipment financing.
A compliant sales vehicle is required beginning in month 13. Item 7 assumes the franchisee will use an existing vehicle. If a vehicle is acquired under the FDD's illustrative financing assumptions, the disclosed cash amount is $5,495 to $8,994; the full disclosed vehicle price is $22,000 to $36,000. Those amounts are not added to the official one-Territory total.
The GPS Tracking Systems estimate of $350 to $600 covers three months of service for the Koala Rigs. The disclosed monthly estimate is approximately $30 to $60 per vehicle. Item 8 estimates that 90% to 100% of establishment purchases and ongoing leases or purchases will be subject to approved-supplier requirements or franchisor specifications, so current vendor quotes and replacement terms are material to the buyer's budget.
Source: 2026 Koala Insulation FDD, Item 7, pp. 21-23; Item 8, p. 27.When does a Koala Insulation franchisee pay the money?
The largest cash commitments occur at Franchise Agreement signing and before launch. Marketing obligations begin before opening, Additional Funds are consumed during the first three months, and minimum Royalty Fee amounts begin in month 7 even though the Percent-Based Royalty can apply earlier.
Franchise Agreement signing
Pay the $49,500 Initial Franchise Fee for one Territory. The fee is generally fully earned and non-refundable, except for the limited training-failure refund described in Item 5, which deducts $5,000 and requires a release.
Equipment commitment and pre-launch invoices
Fund the Equipment and Vehicles deposit and initial loan payments, GPS Tracking Systems, Insurances, Computer, Phone and Technology Systems, permits and other setup costs. Pay the $5,000 Technology Activation Fee before launch and within 10 days of billing.
Opening marketing period begins
Spend at least $2,500 per month on Opening Advertising beginning one month before opening and continuing for five months after opening. This obligation is in addition to Ongoing Local Marketing.
Opening through the first three months
Ongoing Local Marketing begins immediately upon opening. The $50,000 Additional Funds estimate covers staff salaries and operating expenses during the first three months, but excludes the owner's salary or draw.
Month 7 and later
The Minimum Royalty Fee schedule becomes non-zero, while the greater-of Royalty Fee formula remains in effect. The Technology Fee, Brand Fund Contribution, Ongoing Local Marketing and approved bookkeeping requirement continue according to Item 6.
When multiple contiguous Territories are purchased together and institutional funding is pending, the franchisor may allow the buyer to pay the full fee for Territory 1 plus at least $5,000 for each additional Territory at signing. The balance is due at the earlier of 90 days after signing or receipt of funding. This installment option is discretionary, and the initial payment is non-refundable.
How do multiple Territories change the Initial Franchise Fee?
The 2026 FDD discounts the incremental Initial Franchise Fee when contiguous Territories are purchased at the same time. The first Territory costs $49,500, the second $40,000, the third $35,000, and each of Territories 4 through 10 costs $30,000. The one-Territory Item 7 range should not be applied unchanged to a multi-territory acquisition.
The discounted amount applies only when the Territories are purchased at the same time. Each standard Territory has a baseline population of 200,000.
Interpretation: The cumulative Initial Franchise Fees are $89,500 for two Territories, $124,500 for three, $154,500 for four and $334,500 for ten. Additional population may be purchased for $0.25 per person. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 13-14.
Multi-territory buyers also face operating-cost changes that are not captured by the fee discount. Item 8 states that a franchisee purchasing five or more Territories may be required to purchase a second Koala Rig. The monthly Technology Fee for up to four contiguous Territories equals the then-current fee for one Territory, but the Minimum Royalty Fee is calculated for each Territory.
Which franchise-fee reductions are disclosed?
| Program | Disclosed reduction | Key conditions |
|---|---|---|
| VetFran Discount | 15% | Honorably discharged qualified veteran; one Territory, one use. The franchisor states that it participates in the IFA VetFran program. |
| Existing Franchisee: Additional Territory Discount | 20% | At least 18 months of operation and compliance; one additional Territory; no third-party broker. |
| Existing Franchisee: Additional Concept Discount | 20% | Qualified franchisee of an Empower Brands affiliate after at least two compliant years; one affiliated-brand Territory. |
| Discount for Employees of Franchisees | 10%-50% | Qualified employee with two to ten or more consecutive years of employment; subject to franchisor conditions. |
The VetFran Discount is the only disclosed discount that may be combined with another discount. For the VetFran or employee discount, a transfer or reduction below a 75% ownership interest during the first three years can require immediate repayment of the discounted franchise-fee amount. The franchisor also reserves the right to reduce the fee periodically in specific circumstances.
Source: 2026 Koala Insulation FDD, Item 5, pp. 13-15; Item 8, p. 27.Which Koala Insulation fees continue after opening?
The continuing cost structure is led by a greater-of Royalty Fee, Ongoing Local Marketing, the Brand Fund Contribution and the Technology Fee. The Royalty Fee cannot be summarized as one percentage because Item 6 compares aggregate Minimum Royalty Fees with a tiered Percent-Based Royalty on combined Gross Sales.
| Fee or obligation | Amount / basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of aggregate Minimum Royalty Fees or Percent-Based Royalty on combined Gross Sales | Monthly, by the 10th day | Paid by electronic funds transfer; late sales reporting can trigger a 150% estimated debit subject to adjustment |
| Opening Advertising | At least $2,500 per month | One month before opening and five months after | Paid in addition to Ongoing Local Marketing |
| Ongoing Local Marketing | Greater of $2,000 or 5% of Gross Sales per month, plus agency management fees | As incurred from opening | No disclosed maximum |
| Brand Fund Contribution | Currently 1% of Gross Sales; maximum 2% | Same as Royalty Fee when paid to franchisor | Separate from local marketing |
| Technology Fee | $344 per month | Same as Royalty Fee | One fee covers up to four contiguous Territories |
| Bookkeeping Services | Approved vendor required for first year; franchisor/affiliate currently $350 per month plus $55 per extra support hour | Monthly | Franchisor may increase its charge to $500 per month and $100 per additional hour |
| Computer and Software Expenses | Varies | As incurred | Based on then-current Technology System standards and designated vendors |
How does the Royalty Fee formula work?
The monthly Royalty Fee is the greater of the total Minimum Royalty Fees for all Territories or the Percent-Based Royalty calculated on aggregate Gross Sales. The following minimums are stated per Territory; a multi-territory franchisee multiplies the applicable amount by the number of Territories.
| Months after opening | 1 Territory | 2 Territories | 3 Territories | 4 Territories | 5+ Territories |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0-6 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| 7-12 | $1,083.33 | $975.00 | $866.67 | $758.33 | $650.00 |
| 13-24 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,191.67 | $1,083.33 |
| 25-36 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 |
| 37+ | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 | $1,218.75 |
| Aggregate Gross Sales | Percent-Based Royalty Fee |
|---|---|
| Up to $1,000,000 | 6.5% of Gross Sales |
| $1,000,001-$2,000,000 | 5% of Gross Sales |
| $2,000,001-$3,000,000 | 4.5% of Gross Sales |
| $3,000,001 and above | 3.5% of Gross Sales |
A $0 Minimum Royalty Fee during months 0-6 is not a royalty holiday. The Percent-Based Royalty remains part of the greater-of calculation. A Large Account, defined as a single project with Gross Sales above $25,000, is subject to a 4% Percent-Based Royalty.
For a month in which combined Gross Sales exceed $18,750 multiplied by the number of Territories, the minimum does not apply and the percentage calculation governs. The annual true-up requires at least $1,000,000 of Aggregate Gross Sales for one to four Territories, $1,500,000 for five to seven, or $2,000,000 for eight or more. A qualifying overage becomes a credit against future amounts, not a cash refund.
Source: 2026 Koala Insulation FDD, Item 6, pp. 15-21.Which fees arise only after a transfer, default or special request?
Item 6 contains event-triggered charges that are not part of the $194,885 to $241,736 opening range. These amounts matter when ownership changes, reports or payments are late, the franchisor must correct noncompliance, or the franchisee requests extra services.
Greater of 20% of the then-current Franchise Fee or $10,000. Half is due with the transfer request and is non-refundable; the balance is due at closing. Broker or franchise sales organization fees can be additional.
Greater of 25% of the Franchise Fee or $5,000 per Territory, due before signing the then-current Franchise Agreement. Renewal also can require updates to Koala Rigs and any Franchise Location.
$50 per day or part of a day for each late payment or report, plus 1.5% interest per month from the due date or the maximum permitted by law.
Full audit cost and related expenses if an irregularity greater than 5% is found or required reports are not submitted, in addition to unpaid amounts.
Currently $100 per day per violation after a 10-day cure period, plus reasonable inspection, reinspection and correction expenses when applicable.
If the franchisor obtains required coverage because the franchisee does not, reimbursement equals the cost plus 10% and interest.
Possible charges include $5,000 per additional trainee in stated circumstances, $250 per trainer per day plus expenses for training at the franchisee's location, $500 per day plus expenses for additional opening assistance, and $500-$750 per person plus materials and travel for required programs.
Actual out-of-pocket supplier or product evaluation costs are payable whether or not approval is granted. Additional advertising and promotional materials are currently $250-$500.
Costs and attorneys' fees vary. The liquidated-damages formula uses average monthly Royalties and Brand Fund Contributions for the preceding 12 months, multiplied by up to 24 months or the remaining term and discounted to present value.
Does the 2026 FDD state Liquid Capital, Net Worth or financing requirements?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Those concepts therefore should not be substituted for the official Total Estimated Initial Investment. A buyer still needs enough accessible capital to meet signing, pre-launch and early-operating obligations, but the FDD does not publish a separate qualification number.
- Total Estimated Initial Investment
- $194,885-$241,736 for one Territory under the Item 7 assumptions.
- Initial Franchise Fee
- $49,500 for the first 200,000-person Territory; only one component of Item 7.
- Additional Funds
- $50,000 already included in Item 7 for the first three months; not an amount to add again.
- Liquid Capital and Net Worth
- No minimum figures are stated in the 2026 FDD.
What financing does the franchisor disclose?
Item 10 says that, in limited and special circumstances, the franchisor may finance up to 80% of the Initial Franchise Fee for qualifying existing franchisees for up to 24 months. The rate is four percentage points above the prime rate in effect on the Franchise Agreement date. The Federal Reserve H.15 release is an official reference for the bank prime loan rate.
The disclosed note has no prepayment penalty and requires no security interest. A late installment can produce a charge equal to 10% of the late payment or acceleration of the balance; after the stated notice and cure period, interest can rise to the maximum legal rate, capped at 18%, with collection costs. The franchisor says it provides no other direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee third-party notes, leases or obligations.
Franchise-fee financing and equipment financing are separate. The first is a limited Item 10 program for qualifying existing franchisees; the second is an Item 7 assumption involving a lender. Neither is a promise that a new buyer will receive approval or the modeled terms.
What should be verified beyond the official Item 7 total?
The official range is a one-Territory opening estimate, not a complete cap on every cash obligation. The most important unresolved amount is the buyer's actual equipment financing package because the FDD's $54,835 to $73,886 equipment line depends on assumed debt terms.
Compare the full $219,500-$295,750 disclosed price range with the lender's actual deposit, term, rate and payment schedule.
Commercial deposits, build-out costs and prepaid rent are outside the $0-$4,000 Rent line when a buyer chooses commercial space.
Item 7 assumes an existing compliant vehicle. Acquisition can add the disclosed financing outlay or full purchase price.
The Initial Franchise Fee discount does not resolve extra crews, Additional Funds, insurance, vehicles or the possible second Koala Rig at five or more Territories.
The $50,000 three-month estimate includes staff salaries and operating expenses but excludes the owner's salary or draw.
Labor, permits, insurance, professional fees, software, agency management fees, supplier costs and commercial premises can vary without a disclosed local cap.
The Franchise Agreement can require fees, repairs, replacements and updates to the business, Koala Rigs or location after opening. Future system changes may also require spending that is not capped in the opening estimate.
The practical capital distinction is straightforward: $194,885 to $241,736 is the 2026 one-Territory Item 7 estimate; $49,500 is the Initial Franchise Fee; $50,000 is Additional Funds already inside that total; and the 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum. The FTC's consumer guide to buying a franchise explains how to use the FDD and compare its assumptions with the buyer's own contracts and local quotes.
Source: 2026 Koala Insulation FDD, Items 5-8, 10 and 17.