A prospective U.S. licensee should plan around an official estimated initial investment of $66,943,304 to $120,359,169 for a 200-room Kimpton hotel. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document says this equals $334,717 to $601,796 per guest room, excludes land, contingency funds, finance charges, interest and debt service, and may be exceeded. The disclosed range covers both New Development and Conversion projects, but the actual Conversion cost can vary substantially with the existing building and required Property Improvement Plan.
For the FDD’s 200-room Kimpton hotel model. The range includes construction, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, Operating Supplies & Equipment, technology, professional services, brand and restaurant development, and three months of Additional Funds. It does not include land or several financing and contingency costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 55–63.
Legal franchisor: IHG Franchising, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 2, 2026. Offer analyzed: a U.S. Kimpton hotel, modeled in Item 7 at 200 guest rooms, with New Development and Conversion paths. Items reviewed: Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked: July 14, 2026.
IHG does not publish the matching 2026 FDD as a direct public file on its development site. The figures below therefore cite the 2026 FDD by Item and page without a document link. The official Kimpton development page confirms that the brand works with new-build and adaptive-reuse projects, while IHG’s franchise disclosure request resource explains how Americas prospects can request current disclosure materials.
Key cost figures
The snapshot separates the per-room reference, the application payment, the combined three-month operating reserve and the principal continuing charges; none of these figures is interchangeable with the full opening range.
What is included in the Kimpton initial investment?
The 2026 Item 7 estimate is a property-development budget, not merely the up-front fee. The FDD calls that initial payment the Application Fee rather than an Initial Franchise Fee. Building Construction is the dominant category, followed by Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, Professional Fees, Operating Supplies & Equipment and the initial operating reserve. Item 7 also includes hotel-specific technology, brand identity work, Restaurant & Bar concept development and opening support.
The low and high endpoints should be read as the boundaries of one national disclosure model, not as “standard” and “premium” packages. The franchisor says suburban projects have historically tended toward the lower half of the ranges and urban projects toward the upper end, but it does not promise that any particular site will fit that pattern. Local labor availability, material pricing, building condition, utilities, soil and environmental conditions, code work, amenities and development delays can move a project beyond the published figures. The table also says the result can be higher than the stated maximum, so the upper endpoint is not a contractual cap. Source: 2026 FDD, pp. 56–57 and 63.
The per-room figures are a second way to describe the same 200-room model; they are not a formula that automatically prices a smaller or larger property. Several categories do not change in direct proportion to room count, and the restaurant, meeting-space, public-area and back-of-house program can materially affect the scope. A smaller property may still require substantial common-area, kitchen, design, technology and professional work, and the table does not state how each category changes as room count changes. A prospect therefore needs a property-specific estimate rather than multiplying the disclosed per-room number by a proposed room count and treating the product as the official budget.
Property, construction and core systems
The physical-property categories create most of the disclosed opening requirement, while land remains unestimated and technology is separated into several supplier and system lines.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 disclosed amount | Payment timing | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | $100,000 | With application | 55 |
| Property Improvement Plan Fee | $0–$12,000 | Before application when applicable | 55 |
| Land | Not estimated | As incurred | 55, 57 |
| Building Construction | $51,249,000–$94,182,000 | As incurred | 55, 57 |
| Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment | $7,303,300–$11,127,000 | As incurred | 55, 57 |
| Operating Supplies & Equipment | $1,613,950–$2,421,000 | As incurred | 55, 57 |
| Property Management System Equipment | $34,000–$78,000 | Invoiced before installation | 55, 58 |
| IHG Connect hardware and bandwidth | $24,000–$49,000 hardware; $450–$1,800 bandwidth | Before installation / as required | 55, 58 |
| Entertainment, security and other technology | $253,881–$317,575 | As required by affiliate or suppliers | 55, 58–59 |
Professional, training and pre-opening expenses
These amounts are paid to several providers at different milestones and include material costs that are not part of the building, furnishings or opening-supplies rows.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 disclosed amount | Payment timing | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Next-Gen Payment Solution | $223–$794 | As required by suppliers | 55 |
| Training Expenses | $5,500 core; $6,500–$9,500 GM onboarding; up to $5,000 additional | Within 30 days of invoice / as incurred | 55 |
| Opening Date Extension Fee | Up to $6,000 plus expenses | Within 30 days of invoice | 55 |
| Market Feasibility Study | $0–$50,000 | As required by service provider | 55 |
| Licenses and Permits | Not estimated | As incurred | 55, 60 |
| Professional Fees | $3,590,000–$6,574,000 | As incurred | 56, 60 |
| Security Deposits | $2,500–$25,000 | As incurred | 56, 60 |
| Insurance | $60,000–$300,000 or higher | Before opening | 56, 60 |
| Hotel Photography | $45,000–$80,000 | At opening | 56, 60–61 |
Brand, restaurant and initial operating funds
The final opening phase adds identity, commercial, food-and-beverage and early-operation obligations, including two reserve lines that are already included in the stated total.
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 disclosed amount | Payment timing | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primary Identification Sign | $10,000–$80,000 | As required | 56, 61 |
| Pre-Opening Support Fee | $20,000–$35,000 | Invoiced within 60 days of ground break; due within 30 days | 56, 61 |
| Commercial, Digital & Communications Set Up | $0–$150,000 | As incurred | 56, 61 |
| Design & Brand Concept Development Support Fee | $75,000–$150,000 | Provider schedule varies | 56, 61–62 |
| Hotel Agency Brand Development | $100,000–$200,000 | Not separately stated in the Item 7 table | 56 |
| Restaurant & Bar Concept Development Fee | $75,000–$150,000 | At opening or major renovation | 56, 62 |
| Restaurant & Bar Brand Identity and Market Research | $25,000–$50,000 per branded venue | At opening or major renovation | 56, 62 |
| Kimpton R&B Services & Transitions Program | $0–$50,000 plus trainee/trainer expenses | Before opening | 56 |
| Restaurant & Bar Additional Funds | $750,000–$1,150,000 | As incurred during first three months | 56, 63 |
| Hotel Additional Funds | $1,600,000–$3,000,000 | As incurred during first three months | 56, 63 |
Three boundaries in the table deserve special attention. First, the building line covers a broad range that encompasses ground-up and conversion work, but it does not price the site itself or every local compliance issue. Second, furnishings and opening supplies include substantial restaurant, kitchen, public-area and guestroom requirements, yet the disclosure separates many digital, security and payment systems into their own lines. Third, professional services include architects, engineers, designers, accountants, attorneys and technical consultants, with the actual amount depending on the project structure and the contracts negotiated with those providers.
The line items should not be recombined casually. Some are fixed, some are ranges, some are zero when a condition does not apply, and others are expressly unestimated. The technology description in the initial-fee discussion also uses a broader custom-quote range that may overlap with several technology rows in the opening table. The safest reconciliation is to map each vendor quote to one disclosed category, identify any bundled installation or training, and then preserve the franchisor’s official total rather than creating a new total from incompatible endpoints. This avoids counting the same hardware, deployment service or training expense twice.
Construction drives most of the disclosed spread. The bars show official low-to-high ranges, not recommended allocations.
Source: Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 55–56. Exact official ranges are printed beside each bar. The two panels use different labeled scales; bar lengths must not be compared across panels, and the categories are not necessarily additive at either endpoint.
The official total excludes land, contingency funds, construction-loan interest, lender charges, appraisal costs, taxes, debt service and other amounts the franchisor says it cannot estimate. A site budget that equals the top of Item 7 is therefore not automatically a complete sources-and-uses plan.
When does a Kimpton licensee pay the money?
The cash requirement is staged from application through the first three operating months. Item 5 states that, unless a fee has a different rule, initial charges are payable in full before opening, fully earned when paid and nonrefundable. Construction, professional and supplier payments are made as incurred, while continuing charges generally begin after opening. Separately, the FDD cover says the disclosure must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a binding agreement or pays IHGFL or an affiliate. The FTC Franchise Rule overview and the current 16 CFR Part 436 provide the federal disclosure framework.
The timing creates several different cash exposures. The application payment is made before the project is approved and has a limited refund rule before a decision. By contrast, most charges paid after approval are earned when received and are not refundable. Third-party construction and design invoices then follow contract milestones rather than one franchisor invoice. Technology suppliers commonly require payment before shipment or deployment, while insurance, deposits, permits, photography and signage fall closer to construction completion or opening. This means the disclosed total is not the amount due on the day the license is signed, but the owner must still demonstrate a credible path to fund the entire development.
The first three months require a separate operating focus. The two reserve lines are already part of the official total and cover such items as opening advertising, payroll, royalties, system-service charges, hardware and software support, utilities and supplies. They should not be added again on top of the total. At the same time, the disclosure warns that the reserves may not cover every expense or last until the property reaches a stable operating pattern. The appropriate cash schedule therefore shows which amounts are included in the opening estimate, when each is expected to be paid, and which lender-controlled or owner-funded contingency remains outside it. Source: 2026 FDD, pp. 24–27 and 55–63.
The investment table describes a 200-room hotel and lists $100,000 for the application, which matches the stated per-room formula at 200 rooms. However, its first note says that line is for a 300-room hotel; the formula would produce $150,000 at 300 rooms. Preserve the official total, but obtain written clarification of the applicable room count and charge before relying on that line. A second cross-reference also needs confirmation: the opening table lists up to $6,000 plus expenses for an opening-date extension, while the construction-extension schedule states $10,000 for a delay of more than six and up to 12 months, or one-half of the application charge for a longer delay.
Why do restaurant, bar and design costs matter so much here?
Kimpton’s cost contract treats the hotel’s identity and food-and-beverage venues as separate development workstreams. The 2026 FDD assumes one primary all-day dining venue, requires IHGFL approval of the final concepts and branding, and states that additional Restaurant & Bar venues create further concept-development and identity costs.
This structure is more detailed than a single restaurant allowance. The concept work addresses the story, market positioning, food and beverage program, service style, mood, uniforms and operating approach. The identity work covers naming, logos and collateral. Physical construction, kitchen equipment, furniture, smallwares, point-of-sale systems and opening inventory remain in other categories. A project with a lobby bar, rooftop venue, pool outlet or separate specialty restaurant can therefore create additional design and operating work even when the building footprint is already reflected in the construction plans.
The disclosure also permits an approved third party to manage a venue under a lease or similar arrangement, but that possibility does not eliminate brand approval or property-standard obligations. The owner must establish which party pays for concept creation, identity, build-out, systems, employee preparation, pre-opening promotion and the initial operating period. A lease may shift selected expenses contractually, yet the hotel licensee remains responsible for ensuring that the venue satisfies the applicable standards. The project budget should show those responsibilities explicitly rather than assuming that every restaurant-related amount will be borne by an operator.
The following amounts sit inside or alongside the Item 7 development plan and are not interchangeable with Building Construction or Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment.
The amount also depends on whether the Restaurant & Bar operation is run directly or through an approved third-party company, how many venues are branded, and which menu, photography, recruiting, uniforms, music, website, training and pre-opening marketing work is required. Those variables explain why the $750,000 to $1.15 million food-and-beverage operating reserve is separate from the $1.6 million to $3 million hotel operating reserve.
Which Kimpton fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing charges cover rooms, food and beverage, system services, loyalty participation, technology, distribution, training and quality programs. Most monthly amounts are payable by the 15th day of the following month through the required payment system. The percentage fees below use different revenue definitions and should not be combined into one headline percentage.
The percentages are applied to separate pools. The rooms-based definition includes many charges connected with guestroom rental and generally does not permit deductions for commissions, credit-card costs, chargebacks or uncollectible amounts. The food-and-beverage definition covers restaurant, bar, banquet, catering and related receipts. Loyalty assessments apply only to the qualifying categories described for those programs, while distribution and booking charges arise from specific channels or transactions. Adding the percentages together would therefore produce a misleading rate because the denominators are not the same and some charges apply only when a particular booking source or program is used.
Continuing technology expenses also have different durations. Some are ongoing throughout the term, some are annual subscriptions, some apply only during an initial deployment period, and some return at a replacement or renewal cycle. The property may also need local connectivity, cabling, interfaces, support and hardware that are not fully captured by a headline per-room rate. A useful operating schedule separates fixed monthly charges, per-room charges, per-user charges, transaction charges, annual subscriptions and periodic replacement obligations. That structure makes it possible to verify invoices without converting a percentage-based obligation into an unsupported annual dollar estimate.
| Continuing obligation | 2026 amount or basis | Timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Rooms Revenue | Monthly | Item 6, pp. 28, 38 |
| F&B Royalty | 1% of Gross Food and Beverage Sales | Monthly | Item 6, pp. 28, 38 |
| Services Contribution | 3% of Gross Rooms Revenue | Monthly | Item 6, pp. 28, 39 |
| IHG One Rewards Contribution | 4.55% of Qualifying Full Folio Revenue | Monthly | Item 6, pp. 28, 40 |
| IHG Business Rewards Contribution | 1.365% of qualifying room and meeting revenue | Monthly | Item 6, pp. 28, 40 |
| Technology Services Fee | $17.75 per room per month | Monthly | Item 6, pp. 30, 44 |
| IHG University core subscription | $5,500 annually | Within 30 days of invoice | Item 6, pp. 33, 49 |
| Kimpton Blog Dedicated Feature | Minimum $600 per year | At least annually | Item 6, p. 29 |
| Skai Bid Platform Management | 1.39% of paid media spend | Varies | Item 6, p. 29 |
| Capital Reserve, if imposed | Up to 5% of Gross Revenue | Funded monthly | Item 6, pp. 34, 50 |
The system-services percentage may be raised by up to one percentage point in a year after 30 days’ notice, with no further discretionary increase for 24 months and no more than two percentage points of discretionary increases over the term. The per-room technology charge may rise by no more than 10% at the beginning of a fiscal year, while the cloud-property-system solution charge may rise by no more than 5% annually after notice. Local marketing programs and required promotions vary with the actual program and are additional to the fixed blog and media-platform charges shown above. Source: 2026 FDD, pp. 39 and 44–45.
Per-room rates are multiplied by 200. For disclosed ranges, the chart plots the high end. It is not a total technology budget because provider choices, overlap and conditional services can change the bill.
Source: Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 30–32 and 44–46. Derived calculations: $17.75 × 200 = $3,550; $9.00 × 200 = $1,800; $0.36 × 200 = $72; and up to $13.20 × 200 = $2,640 for the listed in-room entertainment components. Range-based items use the disclosed maximum.
Transaction and program fees depend on the booking or event
These charges arise only when the identified reservation channel, digital program, meeting lead or related transaction is used, and each keeps its own basis and cap.
Source: Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 29–35. Amounts are presented on their disclosed basis and are not added into a single monthly total.
Program participation also changes the timing of cash outflows. A booking charge is incurred only when the stated reservation or event condition occurs, while a required annual program may generate an invoice regardless of how often an individual feature is used. Opt-out rights exist for certain programs but not for others, and opting out can remove access to the associated channel. The table and notes should be reviewed together because caps, exclusions and mutually exclusive connection fees can alter the amount billed. The disclosed conflict in the TMC cap is a concrete example of why the current invoice rules and program terms should be confirmed before forecasting these charges.
Technology is a material recurring category because Kimpton hotels must use designated systems, approved integrations and periodic refresh cycles. IHG’s official digital systems overview describes the broader owner technology platform, while the FDD controls the specific fees and replacement obligations. IHG Connect software licenses renew every five years and can range from $1,000 to $200,000; hardware refreshes generally arise around year eight and can range from $13,000 to $217,000. PMS hardware and software must be refreshed every 60 months under Item 5.
Does Kimpton disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
No standard minimum is stated in the 2026 FDD. The Guaranty form contains blank fields for an aggregate net-worth requirement and liquid-assets requirement, indicating that the amount can be set for the specific transaction rather than published as one systemwide threshold. The FDD also does not state a standard Non-Borrowed Funds requirement.
That absence should not be read as an absence of underwriting. A hotel project of this size ordinarily requires evidence that the ownership group and any guarantor can fund equity, absorb overruns and satisfy lender conditions, but the disclosure does not publish a single number that applies to every applicant. The amount can depend on the site, room count, development path, ownership structure, management arrangement, debt package and scope of guarantees. Any figure provided during the application process should be identified as a transaction-specific condition rather than described as a systemwide minimum.
A separate representation in the agreement refers to a federal disclosure exemption for certain established, high-net-worth entities. That clause concerns whether an exemption is available under federal rules; it is not presented as the ordinary financial qualification for every buyer. Similarly, blank amounts in the guaranty should not be filled with the opening range or with a lender’s equity requirement. Net worth, liquid assets, project equity, non-borrowed funds and total development cost measure different things and should remain separate in the capital plan.
Item 10 says IHG Franchising, LLC does not offer a formal direct or indirect financing program. IHGFL, Six Continents Hotels, Inc. or General Innkeeping Acceptance Corporation may make a loan or guaranty on a case-by-case basis, subject to internal approvals, but the prospective licensee remains responsible for arranging adequate financing for development, opening and operations. A possible case-specific loan is not guaranteed financing.
The funding plan therefore needs to cover more than the amount paid to the franchisor and its affiliates. It must address the site, construction draws, professional contracts, supplier deposits, opening costs, excluded financing expenses and any required reserve or completion support. Loan proceeds may also be subject to conditions, retainage or reimbursement procedures that do not align perfectly with vendor due dates. The disclosure provides no promise that an affiliate will bridge a shortfall or guarantee a third-party loan, so a conditional discussion with an affiliate should not be treated as committed capital until definitive documents are executed.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 75; License, p. 164; Guaranty, p. 196.
Which costs can arise later or only after a triggering event?
Several material obligations are not ordinary monthly fees. They arise from a Conversion, ownership change, delayed construction, quality failure, technology refresh, capital renovation, transfer, default or termination. These charges can be significant even when they are not included in the opening range.
These obligations are best treated as triggers rather than averaged into a routine annual estimate. A property that opens on schedule and remains compliant will not incur every extension or default assessment, while a conversion with extensive upgrades may incur substantial work beyond the administrative charge itself. The stated fee is often only the cost of review, inspection or processing; it does not replace the construction, replacement, professional or travel expense caused by the underlying event. For example, a renovation inspection charge is separate from the cost of the renovation, and a room-addition application charge is separate from any required upgrade to the existing property.
Long-term asset planning is particularly important because the agreement can require replacements on a timetable and can require earlier work to maintain standards. A reserve of up to the stated percentage, when imposed, is a funding mechanism rather than a cap on future capital expenditures. The owner must contribute more when the reserve is insufficient. The absence of a contractual renewal right also matters: the original term does not guarantee that a later re-license will be offered, or that its commercial and improvement conditions will match the original transaction.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 34–42 and Item 17, pp. 95–98.
IHG’s hotel lifecycle information describes ongoing development and operating support, and its procurement overview explains the broader approved-supplier framework. The FDD remains the controlling source for the specific required products, supplier restrictions, refresh intervals and fees.
What should be verified before relying on the official range?
The most important work is converting the 200-room national disclosure into a property-specific sources-and-uses schedule without treating excluded or conditional amounts as zero. The current FDD, License, PIP, technology quotes, approved design scope and financing term sheet should reconcile to one project budget.
A practical reconciliation uses three views of the same project. The first is a category view that assigns every contract and quote to one opening-cost line. The second is a timing view that shows application, design, construction, deployment, opening and early-operation cash needs by month or milestone. The third is a responsibility view that identifies the payee and whether the owner, management company, restaurant operator, lender or another party is contractually responsible. Differences among the three views expose omissions, duplicate allowances and payments that are due before financing proceeds become available.
The low and high endpoints should also be tested as complete scenarios rather than mixed selectively. Using the low construction figure with the high operating reserve, or choosing the low end of each unrelated range, does not produce an official scenario. Conditional zero-dollar entries must be tied to a documented reason that the service is not required. Unestimated amounts need a separate placeholder supported by site-specific evidence. The final schedule should retain the official published total as a reference point while clearly showing every adjustment made for the proposed property.
How much capital should a prospective Kimpton licensee expect to arrange?
The verified starting point is the 2026 Item 7 range of $66,943,304 to $120,359,169 for a 200-room hotel, including three months of Hotel and Restaurant & Bar Additional Funds. The largest disclosed variable is Building Construction, while professional services, FF&E, OS&E, technology and Kimpton-specific design and Restaurant & Bar programs add separate layers. Land, financing costs, contingency and several transaction-specific items remain outside the range.
For capital planning, the lower endpoint should not be interpreted as the minimum cash needed for every project, and the upper endpoint should not be treated as a maximum exposure. Both are disclosure estimates for the stated model. The owner’s actual requirement is the funded total of the property-specific development schedule, early operating cash, excluded items and any lender or guaranty conditions, with payment dates aligned to construction and supplier contracts.
The opening range, application payment, transaction-specific capital tests and continuing charges answer different questions. The FDD publishes the first two, leaves the transaction-specific liquidity and net-worth figures open, and imposes continuing percentage, per-room, transaction, technology and conditional charges after opening. The unresolved room-count note for the application payment and the conflicting TMC annual caps should be clarified before the final capital plan is approved.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Franchise?
- How Does Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Franchise?
- How Much Does a Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Franchise Owner Make?