How much does a Jersey Mike's franchise cost?
The 2026 U.S. disclosure for one standard retail-shopping-center restaurant gives an Estimated Initial Investment of $436,176 to $1,162,228. The range does not cover international, Non-Traditional Venue, standalone, or drive-thru locations.
2026 investment total for one restaurant. It includes the Development Fee, Initial Franchise Fee, premises and build-out costs, equipment, opening inventory, technology, training expenses, Grand Opening Advertising, and Additional Funds for the first three months. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 17–20.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: A Sub Above, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 10, 2026. Cost analysis uses Item 5, pages 9–10; Item 6, pages 10–17; Item 7, pages 17–20; Item 10, pages 25–26; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 11, and 17. Information checked July 21, 2026.
The Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions active-registration list identifies the legal franchisor with an expiration date of April 10, 2027. No matching 2026 disclosure was verified on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD Item and page citations in this article are intentionally unlinked.
Capital snapshot
The 2026 figures below separate the main contract payments, the initial operating cushion, and the core percentage charges for the standard disclosed restaurant format.
What is included in the official investment range?
The 2026 $436,176–$1,162,228 range is the complete official estimate for the standard disclosed restaurant format, not just the $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee. The largest variables are premises construction, equipment, signage, professional services, permits, training travel, and the operating cushion included as Additional Funds.
Agreements, premises, and construction
For the 2026 standard format, these rows show the early contract payments and the site-related categories that create most of the disclosed variation.
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | When paid | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Development Fee | $10,000 | Signing the Area Development Agreement | 17–18 |
| Initial Franchise Fee | $20,000 | Signing the Franchise Agreement | 17–18 |
| Rent, CAM, taxes, lease and utility security deposits | $10,579–$19,848 | As arranged; estimate includes first three months | 17–19 |
| Architectural Fees | $8,412–$29,827 | As incurred | 17 |
| Leasehold Improvements | $147,495–$658,581 | As arranged with landlord or contractors | 17, 19 |
Equipment, inventory, and launch expenses
The 2026 standard-format estimate separately covers the operating assets, opening stock, insurance, training-related outlays, launch advertising, and branded signs and graphics.
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | When paid | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment, Furniture, and Small Wares | $138,434–$159,872 | As arranged | 17, 19 |
| Initial Inventory | $13,805–$25,797 | As arranged | 17, 19 |
| Insurance | $4,125–$21,670 | As arranged | 17, 19 |
| Training travel, lodging, meals, and staff salaries | $14,299–$27,879 | As incurred | 17, 19 |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $10,000 | Signing the Franchise Agreement | 17, 19 |
| Exterior Signage | $12,087–$38,838 | As arranged | 17, 19 |
| Interior Branding and Graphics | $3,507–$10,419 | As incurred | 17, 19 |
Technology, professional costs, and working capital
The remaining 2026 categories cover required systems, advisers, permits, office and security items, and the first three months of the standard-format operating period.
| Cost entity | 2026 amount | When paid | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Uniforms, office equipment and supplies, TVs, stereo, and security system | $6,116–$19,458 | As incurred | 18, 20 |
| POS System | $7,500–$15,000 | As incurred | 18, 20 |
| POS System connection to private network | $4,500 | Before opening | 18, 20 |
| POS License Fee | $2,000–$4,000 | Before opening | 18, 20 |
| Initial Credit Card Processing Software Fee | $750 | Before opening | 18, 20 |
| Professional Fees | $4,577–$28,234 | As incurred | 18 |
| Business Licenses and Permits | $500–$25,000 | As incurred | 18 |
| Additional Funds for three months | $17,490–$32,555 | As incurred during initial operations | 18, 20 |
Official total: $436,176–$1,162,228. Additional Funds are already included and must not be added a second time.
How should the disclosed range be read?
The low and high are planning boundaries in the franchisor's estimate; they are not a prediction that a particular project will finish near either endpoint. A prospect should not substitute a midpoint for a site-specific budget, because the premises may require very different construction work, utility upgrades, landlord coordination, permitting, and professional support. The useful question is therefore not which endpoint appears more likely in the abstract, but which assumptions match the approved location and the written proposals available before contracts become binding.
The official total should also remain intact when the line items are analyzed. It is not appropriate to select the low value from some rows, the high value from others, and present the resulting arithmetic as a new franchisor estimate. Some estimates depend on the same underlying site facts, and the disclosure may reflect rounding, actual historical observations, or assumptions that are not visible in a simple sum. For that reason, the published total is the controlling range, while the individual rows show where verification effort should be concentrated.
Only a portion of the total is paid directly to the franchisor. Most of the capital is expected to move to a landlord, contractors, designated or approved suppliers, insurers, professional advisers, employees, and government authorities. That distinction affects timing and documentation: contract payments can become non-refundable at signing, while many third-party amounts are paid under leases, purchase orders, construction draws, invoices, deposits, or payroll schedules. A complete funding plan should map each expected payment to its payee, due date, refundability, and supporting quote rather than treating the entire range as immediately payable cash.
The operating cushion is part of the published total, but its scope is limited to the initial period defined in the disclosure. It is intended to address the gap between incoming receipts and operating outlays during that period. Personal living costs, financing payments, and compensation for an owner who manages the restaurant are outside that estimate. Those exclusions do not change the official total; they identify separate obligations that may affect how much capital a particular owner needs to have available.
Leasehold Improvements create the largest single line-item spread. Bars use a common $0–$658,581 scale and show the official low and high values.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 17–20. Values are official ranges; bar positions are proportional renderings, not additional franchisor estimates.
The Leasehold Improvements range alone spans $511,086, a derived difference between the disclosed low and high. The disclosure says the amount can rise with local contract costs, site condition, HVAC, hood exhaust, grease-interceptor work, or a freestanding build, and can fall when a landlord provides a construction allowance.
When is the money paid before and after opening?
The franchisor does not require the full official total as one check. Contract fees are concentrated at the development-agreement and location-agreement stages, while premises, construction, equipment, inventory, and professional costs are paid to landlords, contractors, suppliers, insurers, and public authorities as arranged.
The sequence matters because the earliest contractual payments can be earned when the relevant agreement is signed, even if a site is never opened. By contrast, many larger third-party expenditures become due only as a lease is finalized, design work proceeds, construction reaches a billing milestone, equipment is ordered, or the opening date approaches. A buyer evaluating available cash should therefore prepare a dated schedule rather than assuming that every dollar must be funded on the same day. The schedule should show committed cash, borrowed proceeds, landlord reimbursements, deposits, and payment approvals separately.
Site control is a particularly important dividing line. The location agreement follows delivery of an accepted lease for the premises, which means lease economics and the build-out scope should be understood before the next non-refundable contract payments are made. A landlord allowance or free-rent period may reduce cash pressure, but it does not automatically change the contractual amount owed to the franchisor. Likewise, delayed reimbursement from a landlord can create a temporary funding need even when the final net construction cost is lower.
-
Receive and review the current FDD
The FTC Franchise Rule generally requires delivery at least 14 calendar days before a prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise explains this review period.
-
Sign the Area Development Agreement
Pay the non-refundable Development Fee of $10,000 multiplied by the number of restaurants committed. The agreement is required even for one restaurant. Item 5, page 9.
-
Secure an accepted lease and sign the Franchise Agreement
For each approved location, pay the $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $10,000 Grand Opening Advertising Fee. A resale of an existing Franchised Restaurant does not carry the Grand Opening Advertising Fee. Item 5, pages 9–10.
-
Fund the build-out and pre-opening systems
Pay premises, construction, equipment, inventory, signage, insurance, training travel, permits, and professional costs as arranged. Before opening, pay the franchisor the $4,500 network connection, $2,000–$4,000 POS License Fee, and $750 Initial Credit Card Processing Software Fee. Item 7, pages 17–20.
-
Carry the initial operating period
The official total includes $17,490–$32,555 of Additional Funds for three months. It covers the estimated gap between revenue and operating expenses, including employee salaries, but excludes debt service, living expenses, and an owner-manager's salary. FDD page 20.
The Development Fee does not replace the Initial Franchise Fee
The 2026 disclosure creates two separate payment relationships. The development agreement establishes the commitment; each later location agreement covers one approved premises. No part of the Development Fee is credited against the Initial Franchise Fee.
Historical fee variation. Item 5 reports that during fiscal 2025 the franchisor charged a reduced $8,500 Initial Franchise Fee to certain existing franchisees acquiring or obtaining rights to develop additional restaurants. The current disclosure does not present that amount as a generally available current incentive.
Which fees continue after opening?
The core ongoing percentage obligations are a 6.5% Continuing Royalty Fee and current Fund Contributions totaling 5% of Gross Receipts. These amounts are generally paid weekly by ACH, while monthly technology and program fees and transaction-based charges continue separately. The franchisor may increase the combined Fund Contributions to no more than 6% of Gross Receipts on 90 days' notice; some Non-Traditional Venue operators may pay reduced contributions or none.
Both rows use a common 0%–6.5% scale. The marker on Fund Contributions shows the disclosed 6% combined cap.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 10 and 15–16. The current 11.5% combined current percentage amount is a derived sum of the 6.5% royalty and 5% current Fund Contributions; transaction, technology, and other fees are separate.
| Recurring fee | Amount or basis | Payment timing | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing Royalty Fees | 6.5% of Gross Receipts | Weekly; frequency may change | 10 |
| Corporate Advertising and Development Fund | Currently 1% of Gross Receipts | With royalty payments | 10, 15 |
| National Media Fund | 4% of Gross Receipts | With royalty payments | 10, 15 |
| POS Software License and Support Package | Currently $395/month; may rise to $795/month | First day of each month | 12 |
| Secure Network Fee | $39.85/month | First day of each month | 12 |
| Gift Card Program | $9.50/month | First day of each month | 12 |
| Usage-based or optional fee | Amount or basis | Trigger | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teamworx Software Fee | $59.99/month | Only when the optional labor-management software is used | 12 |
| Third-Party Delivery Fee | $6–$9 small order; $29–$41 large order | Per delivery, varying by distance | 12 |
| Online Ordering Fees | $0.2921 per transaction + 3.74% of the sale | Each online transaction | 12 |
| Third-Party Order Fees | $0.2921 per transaction | Each third-party transaction | 12 |
| Text Message Fees | Currently $0.025 per message | Local messages sent to customer lists | 13 |
How should recurring charges be budgeted?
The continuing charges fall into three cash-flow patterns. Percentage amounts are generally swept on the reporting cycle tied to receipts. Fixed technology and program charges are billed monthly. Transaction and delivery charges arise only when the relevant channel is used, so their dollar effect depends on actual activity rather than a disclosed annual amount. Keeping those patterns separate prevents a fixed monthly charge from being confused with a percentage assessment or a per-order cost.
The payment basis is as important as the stated rate. The contractual definition is broader than counter sales alone and includes specified off-premises activity and certain other proceeds, subject to the listed deductions. Because the denominator is contract-defined, a local accounting category or a lender's reporting label may not produce the same result. The operating budget and bookkeeping setup should therefore preserve the definition used for weekly reporting and automatic withdrawals.
Several listed amounts are described as current and may change when third-party provider costs change or when the franchisor exercises a contractual right. A buyer can use the disclosed figures to understand the present fee structure, but should confirm the then-current schedule immediately before signing and again before opening. The same review should identify which charges are collected by the franchisor, which may be collected directly by a designated vendor, and which optional service can be declined.
No defensible annual dollar total can be produced from the fee table alone. A percentage requires a compatible receipts figure, and a per-transaction charge requires transaction volume and channel mix. This article therefore leaves those obligations in their disclosed units. That approach preserves the contractual basis and avoids importing an unsupported operating forecast into a capital-cost analysis.
Gross Receipts includes restaurant sales, off-site and catering sales, and certain insurance proceeds, less specified taxes, refunds, discounts, and coupons. Percentage fees should not be converted into annual dollar estimates without a compatible official sales figure, so this cost article keeps them on the disclosed Gross Receipts basis.
Which later events can create additional charges?
Item 6 adds event-triggered costs that are not part of the ordinary weekly royalty and advertising cycle. Some are fixed fees; others reimburse actual costs, depend on a default, or use a contractual formula.
Item 6 states that fees are generally imposed by and payable to the franchisor, are non-refundable unless noted, and may not be uniform for every franchisee. Remodeling and transfer-refurbishment terms are summarized from the 2026 FDD, Item 16, page 42; Item 17, pages 43–47; and Franchise Agreement Sections 8 and 18. Source for the remaining trigger amounts: Item 6, pages 10–17.
These event-driven obligations should be modeled by trigger rather than averaged into a routine monthly expense. A relocation creates a different combination of charges from a transfer; a renewal can require both a contract payment and physical updates; a reporting discrepancy can produce interest and audit reimbursement; and a default can activate formulas whose result cannot be known at the outset. Separating the scenarios makes it clear which amounts are fixed, which reimburse actual expense, and which depend on facts that occur later.
Some of the largest future obligations have a ceiling but no expected amount. A contractual cap is not a statement that the full amount will be required, and it is not a prediction of what a specific site will need. It identifies the maximum exposure permitted by the cited provision. The practical verification step is to inspect the remaining contract term, the age and condition of the premises, the current system specifications, and any written notice of required work before a transfer, successor term, or major update is priced.
Does the official range apply to every format?
No. The official range excludes international, Non-Traditional Venue, standalone, and drive-thru locations. This special venue category can include airports, stadiums, hospitals, military installations, casinos, college campuses, theme parks, and highway rest stops, but the disclosure does not provide a separate investment range for those venues.
- Premises assumption
- A retail shopping-center restaurant of approximately 1,000–2,000 square feet.
- Current official site criteria
- The official Jersey Mike's site-requirements page identifies 1,200–1,800 square feet and says shared pads, outparcels, and end caps are preferred, while visible inline locations are acceptable.
- Format-specific uncertainty
- Do not apply the standard low or high to a Non-Traditional Venue, standalone building, or drive-thru without a current written format-specific disclosure and site budget.
- Required suppliers
- Item 8 requires designated or approved sources for major equipment, proprietary food products, graphics, uniforms, POS systems, and other operating inputs. The official real-estate photo page illustrates multiple site types but does not publish separate investment ranges.
The official website's narrower 1,200–1,800-square-foot site target does not replace the FDD's 1,000–2,000-square-foot investment assumption. A buyer should reconcile the exact approved site, landlord work letter, utility capacity, HVAC, hood, grease-interceptor, signage, and contractor scope before treating any point inside the official range as applicable.
A site description is not a format-specific cost disclosure. Photographs, preferred footprints, and real-estate criteria can help identify what the brand is seeking, but they do not establish the price of construction, equipment, utilities, or occupancy for a particular premises. Where the disclosure expressly excludes a format, the standard range should be treated as inapplicable until the franchisor provides written terms and the necessary third-party proposals for that format.
The lease can also shift timing without eliminating the underlying work. A tenant-improvement allowance may reimburse qualified construction after invoices and lien waivers are submitted, while free rent may reduce early occupancy payments. Neither arrangement necessarily funds deposits, design work, equipment orders, permit charges, or overruns when they become due. The relevant cash question is therefore the peak amount that must be advanced before reimbursements arrive, not simply the eventual net amount after landlord contributions.
For an existing restaurant purchase, the acquisition price is a separate negotiated amount and is not supplied by the standard opening range. The absence of the new-opening advertising payment does not make a resale equivalent to a new unit. Transfer conditions, required refurbishment, training, lease assignment, licenses, inventory, and closing adjustments can create a different cost contract that must be reviewed on its own documents.
Are financing or minimum liquidity requirements disclosed?
The 2026 disclosure does not disclose a general minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold for all applicants. It also says the franchisor does not generally provide or guarantee financing. The official total therefore should not be confused with a disclosed cash-on-hand requirement.
Coach Rod Smith Program financing
The 2026 Item 10 describes a limited program for managers of existing restaurants who are nominated by senior management and selected at JMFS's discretion. JMFS may finance up to 100% of development costs, may instead require the participant to contribute up to 20%, and may permit the Initial Franchise Fee to be financed.
| Financing term | 2026 disclosure | FDD page |
|---|---|---|
| Eligibility | Nominated managers of existing restaurants; selection is discretionary | 25 |
| Development-cost coverage | Up to 100%, or 80% when JMFS requires a contribution of up to 20% | 25 |
| Interest rate | Fixed 6%–10.5%, depending on qualifications | 25 |
| Repayment term | Five years; amortization may be five or seven years, with a balloon after five years if seven-year amortization is used | 25 |
| Payment start | Earlier of 60 days after opening or the applicable 12- to 24-month note anniversary | 25 |
The financing is not guaranteed approval, is not a general public applicant program, and involves a Promissory Note, guaranties, a security interest in restaurant assets, and possible collection costs after default. The current Jersey Mike's Subs Inc. SEC Form S-1 separately corroborates the latest standard $10,000 Area Development Agreement fee, $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee, 6.5% royalty, and 5% advertising-fund contribution structure.
Because no verified current Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or non-borrowed-funds minimum is published in the reviewed official sources, any applicant-specific capital threshold should be obtained in writing and compared separately with the official total, lender equity requirement, personal guaranty exposure, and three-month Additional Funds estimate.
Capital qualification and project funding answer different questions. A qualification standard tests an applicant's balance sheet or accessible funds, while the opening estimate describes categories expected to establish and begin operating the location. A lender may then add its own equity contribution, collateral, reserve, guaranty, and disbursement conditions. None of those layers should be inferred from the published investment range when the disclosure does not state them.
The limited manager program does not establish a general financing offer. Selection is discretionary, the amount financed can vary by location, and the documents can impose personal liability and a security interest. A prospective borrower should compare the timing of loan advances with construction draws, landlord reimbursements, opening delays, and the start of repayment. Approval for a franchise and approval for financing are separate decisions, and neither should be assumed from eligibility to apply.
When a public minimum is absent, the most reliable approach is to request a written, current qualification statement from the franchisor and a written term sheet from the proposed lender. Those documents can then be compared with the payment schedule and the excluded personal obligations. This avoids treating net assets as spendable cash or treating borrowed proceeds as though they were available without conditions.
What should be verified before relying on the range?
The official range is broad enough that the approved premises and contract structure matter more than a midpoint. The most important verification work is to tie the current FDD to a specific lease, unit format, development commitment, supplier quote set, and funding plan.
- Confirm the exact unit format. Obtain written confirmation that the proposed location is covered by the standard range rather than a Non-Traditional Venue, standalone, drive-thru, resale, or other arrangement.
- Reconcile landlord economics. Separate rent, security deposits, tenant-improvement allowance, free-rent periods, utility capacity, and required HVAC, hood, and grease-interceptor work.
- Price every required system. Verify the current register count, POS hardware, POS License Fee, network connection, secure network charge, software package, online-ordering charges, signage, graphics, and designated-supplier quotes.
- Keep Additional Funds inside the total. Do not add $17,490–$32,555 twice; separately budget debt service, living expenses, and owner salary because the disclosure excludes them.
- Separate contract fees from available cash. The $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee, $10,000 Development Fee, Total Initial Investment, Liquid Capital, Net Worth, lender equity, and personal guaranties are different concepts.
- Review future-event costs. Model transfer, successor-franchise, relocation, reopening advertising, refurbishment, technology replacement, training, late-payment, audit, and default-related obligations from Items 6 and 17.
The final review should reconcile four documents that may use different labels for related cash needs: the current disclosure, the signed lease and work letter, the construction and supplier proposals, and the lender's closing conditions. Differences should be resolved in writing before a non-refundable payment or major order is made. A number appearing in one document should not be assumed to cover a differently defined obligation in another.
Particular attention should be paid to timing gaps. Deposits and orders may be due before borrowed funds are advanced; reimbursements may arrive only after proof of completion; and the initial operating cushion may be consumed while ordinary bills continue. A schedule that shows the earliest due date, responsible payee, available source of funds, and reimbursement date for each material obligation gives a clearer capital picture than a single total alone.
Decision synthesis. The verified 2026 cost contract for one standard Jersey Mike's restaurant is $436,176–$1,162,228, including $47,250–$49,250 paid to the franchisor and $17,490–$32,555 of Additional Funds for the first three months. Leasehold Improvements are the dominant range variable. After opening, the core percentage obligations are 6.5% of Gross Receipts for Continuing Royalty Fees and a current 5% for Fund Contributions, plus monthly, transaction-based, and event-triggered charges. The unresolved capital question is not the official total; it is how the approved site's build-out, lender equity, applicant-specific liquidity standard, and excluded owner obligations fit together.