How Much Does a Howard Johnson Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a Howard Johnson franchise cost?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should plan around two very different 2026 Howard Johnson investment ranges. For a 100-room conversion facility, Howard Johnson International, Inc. discloses an Estimated Initial Investment of $349,981 to $3,307,038. For a 100-room new construction facility, the range is $8,975,135 to $11,896,542. Neither range includes the cost of purchasing or leasing real estate.

$349,981–$3,307,038 conversion
$8,975,135–$11,896,542 new build

These are separate 2026 FDD Item 7 ranges for 100-room hotels, not one blended range. The conversion estimate assumes the franchisee already owns the Facility; the new-construction estimate excludes land. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 41–48.

Data basis: Howard Johnson International, Inc., a subsidiary of Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC and ultimately Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 31, 2026; cost analysis based on Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17; information checked July 19, 2026. The official Howard Johnson development page identifies both new construction and conversion as available formats.

No matching 2026 FDD copy was located on an official Wyndham-controlled public page, so FDD citations in this article are unlinked Item-and-page references rather than links to a third-party document.

100-room conversion $349,981–$3,307,038 2026 Estimated Initial Investment; existing Facility assumed owned.
100-room new construction $8,975,135–$11,896,542 2026 Estimated Initial Investment; land excluded.
Initial Fee Greater of $35,000 or $350/room The $2,500 Application Fee is credited if the application is approved.
Royalty 5.0% of GRR Paid monthly from the Opening Date.
Additional Funds $130,042–$195,637 Included in Item 7 for the first three months after opening.
Published liquidity threshold Not disclosed The 2026 FDD does not state a numeric Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum.
Format difference

Why are the conversion and new-construction ranges so far apart?

The difference comes mainly from the asset being developed. The 2026 conversion range assumes an existing hotel is already owned, while the new-construction range includes Facility Construction of $7,278,765 to $9,425,545 and a Construction Contingency of $363,938 to $471,277. A conversion can still require extensive Facility Improvements, but its Item 7 range begins at zero for several property-condition categories.

Cost implication

The low end of the conversion range is not a generic “cheap hotel conversion.” It assumes an existing Facility in strong condition, with several architectural, renovation and technology categories at or near zero. A property improvement plan can move the project sharply toward the upper end.

Item 7 new build

What is included in the 100-room new-construction estimate?

The 2026 new-construction estimate includes franchise payments, design and construction, technology, furniture, signage, opening inventory, pre-opening wages and three months of Additional Funds. The largest disclosed cost entity is Facility Construction, but the total also includes multiple six-figure supporting categories.

Development, contract and technology costs

Howard Johnson 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 41–44. Amounts apply to a 100-room new-construction Facility.

Item 7 expenditure Disclosed range When paid
Initial Fee, including Application Fee $35,000 $2,500 with application; balance at Franchise Agreement signing
Photos $2,450–$6,500 As incurred after opening
Training Tuition $5,100–$6,600 As incurred after opening
Training Expenses $3,200–$5,500 Third-party costs before opening; franchisor or affiliate charges after opening
Market Study $5,000–$15,000 Before construction
Architecture, Design and Engineering; environmental work; permits, licenses, deposits and related fees $246,535–$437,100 As incurred before opening
Facility Construction $7,278,765–$9,425,545 As incurred before opening
Construction Contingency $363,938–$471,277 As incurred; calculated as 5% of Facility Construction
Technology Systems $69,632–$71,632 As incurred before opening

Premises, opening and working-capital costs

Item 7 expenditure Disclosed range When paid
Property Management Set-Up and Installation $6,000–$22,100 Before opening
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment $458,750–$615,536 As incurred before opening
Signage $20,000–$80,000 As incurred before opening
Opening Inventory $222,734–$243,692 As incurred before opening
Insurance $22,500–$65,000 Lump sum before opening
Grand Opening Advertising $3,000–$14,500 As incurred before opening
Pre-Opening Wages $83,293–$148,888 As incurred before opening
Miscellaneous Non-Tangible Asset Costs $19,196–$37,035 As incurred before opening
Additional Funds for 3 Month Initial Period $130,042–$195,637 As incurred after opening

Official total: $8,975,135 to $11,896,542. The FDD also presents a Total Cost per Room of $89,751 to $118,965 for the 100-room model. That per-room figure is part of the FDD table; it does not include land.

Item 7 conversion

What is included in the 100-room conversion estimate?

The 2026 conversion estimate is driven by the existing property's condition. Facility Improvements range from $0 to $1,712,500, while Architecture, Design and Engineering and related fees range from $0 to $125,000. Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment can range from $116,268 to $615,536.

Conversion development and integration costs

Howard Johnson 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 45–48. Amounts apply to a 100-room conversion Facility.

Item 7 expenditure Disclosed range When paid
Initial Fee, including Application Fee $35,000 $2,500 with application; balance at Franchise Agreement signing
Photos $2,450–$6,500 As incurred after opening
Training Tuition $2,850–$6,600 As incurred after opening
Training Expenses $1,200–$3,500 Third-party costs before opening; franchisor or affiliate charges after opening
Temporary Signage $0–$1,250 Before opening, if permanent signage is not installed in time
Architecture, Design and Engineering; environmental work; permits, licenses, deposits and related fees $0–$125,000 As incurred before opening
Facility Improvements $0–$1,712,500 As incurred before opening
Conversion Contingency $0–$85,625 As incurred; calculated as 5% of Facility Improvements
Technology Systems $1,500–$71,632 As incurred before opening

Conversion equipment, opening and working-capital costs

Item 7 expenditure Disclosed range When paid
Property Management Set-Up and Installation $6,000–$22,100 Before opening
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment $116,268–$615,536 As incurred before opening
Signage $15,000–$80,000 As incurred before opening
Opening Inventory $6,794–$243,692 As incurred before opening
Insurance $22,500–$65,000 Lump sum before opening
Grand Opening Advertising $3,000–$14,500 As incurred before opening
Miscellaneous Non-Tangible Asset Costs $7,377–$22,966 As incurred before opening
Additional Funds for 3 Month Initial Period $130,042–$195,637 As incurred after opening

Official total: $349,981 to $3,307,038. The FDD's Total Cost per Room is $3,500 to $33,070 for the 100-room conversion model. The official Wyndham conversion page also directs prospective owners to the applicable brand's Item 7 for detailed conversion ranges.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

Howard Johnson's cost schedule is staged. The first required payment is the non-refundable Application Fee, while the largest property, construction and equipment payments are generally made to third parties as the project advances. Several training and photography charges are incurred after opening, and Additional Funds cover the first three operating months.

  1. Application submissionPay the $2,500 Application Fee. If Howard Johnson approves the Franchise Application, this amount is credited toward the Initial Fee; if the application is not approved, the fee is forfeited.
  2. Franchise Agreement signingPay the balance of the Initial Fee, calculated as the greater of $35,000 or $350 per guest room. For the 100-room Item 7 models, the disclosed Initial Fee is $35,000 including the Application Fee.
  3. Development and pre-opening periodPay architecture, construction or improvements, contingency, technology, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, Signage, Opening Inventory, insurance and other project costs as incurred. New construction may also require a Market Study before construction and Pre-Opening Wages.
  4. At least 30 days before openingPay the Property Management System Set-Up and Implementation Fee: $6,000 for SynXis or $11,000 to $22,100 for OPERA, plus applicable interface costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 6, pp. 27 and 35–36.
  5. Opening and first three monthsRecurring Fees begin on the Opening Date. Photos and parts of Training Tuition may be billed after opening. The Item 7 Additional Funds range of $130,042 to $195,637 is already included in the official total and covers the first three months.
Payment timing

Additional Funds are not an extra amount to add on top of the Item 7 total. They are one of the line items already included in both official investment ranges.

Ongoing fees

Which Howard Johnson fees continue after opening?

The core recurring percentage charges are a 5.0% Royalty, a 1.5% Room Sales Charge and a 2.0% Marketing Contribution, each based on Gross Room Revenues and generally due monthly by the third day of the following month. These are not the only continuing charges: technology, loyalty, reservation-channel, training and optional service fees can also apply.

Core fee Amount and basis Timing
Royalty 5.0% of Gross Room Revenues Monthly, by the third day after the month in which GRR accrues
Room Sales Charge 1.5% of Gross Room Revenues Same due date as Royalty
Marketing Contribution 2.0% of Gross Room Revenues Same due date as Royalty

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 28–29. Gross Room Revenues is the FDD-defined fee base and is not the same as all hotel revenue.

Derived calculation

The three disclosed core percentage fees total 8.5% of Gross Room Revenues when added arithmetically: 5.0% + 1.5% + 2.0%. This derived figure excludes every reservation, loyalty, technology, service and event-triggered fee.

Technology, reservation and program charges

The following cost entities can materially change the ongoing bill. Some are mandatory, some apply only to qualifying reservations, and some are optional services. They should not be treated as one universal percentage.

Fee or program Disclosed amount Basis or trigger
PMS Monthly Support and Service Fee $734–$1,050/month SynXis, OPERA Foundation or OPERA Standard; amount depends on room count
OPERA Cloud Premium PMS support $13.25/room/month Premium OPERA level
Wyndham Connect Plus Fee 3.5% of GRR for each booked reservation Reservations booked through the required WCP service
Loyalty Program Charge 4.25%–5.5% Amounts on which members earn points or other program currency
Digital Pay-For-Performance Commission Currently 7%; up to 10% of GRR Consumed reservations generated through the PFP program
GDS, Third Party Channel and Internet Booking Fees $2.08/reservation for each applicable channel Reservation transaction basis; channel-specific charges can apply
Agency Commissions Up to 20% of GRR Qualifying consumed reservations through agencies and related channels
Member Benefits Commissions Up to 10% of GRR Reservations booked and consumed through the Member Benefits Program
Continuing Education $600/year Required access to continuing education materials and support
Chain Conference Fee $2,000 first attendee; $1,750 each additional attendee Conference currently held about every 18–24 months; billed even if required attendance is missed

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 30–36. Fixed-dollar fees may be adjusted under the Franchise Agreement, and several channel charges may change with third-party costs.

Optional service fees

Standard RMS
0.75% of Gross Room Revenues, with a $645 monthly minimum and $1,395 monthly maximum.
Premium RMS
1.0% of Gross Room Revenues, generally with a $1,450 monthly minimum and $2,450 monthly maximum; $3,500 monthly for Facilities with annual GRR of $3,000,000 or more.
Premium Plus RMS
$5,425 per month.
Remote Sales Service
$1,500 per month.
Mobile Operations Program
$0.60 per guest room per month; currently optional, but the FDD permits future mandatory adoption on notice.
Emergency Safety Device
$35 per month for Mobile Operations Program users who select the optional feature.
Conditional obligations

Which fees arise only after a transfer, delay, default or other event?

Item 6 contains several potentially significant charges that do not arise in ordinary monthly billing. The applicable trigger matters as much as the stated amount.

Transfer or relicense: currently the greater of $35,000 or $350 per guest room, generally due when a Transfer occurs. The transferee also submits an application. An Administrative Assignment is $5,000 including the Application Fee; an assignment to a financial institution or receiver is $7,500 including that fee.
Renewal: the Franchise Agreement provides no contractual renewal right. If both parties elect to continue, the franchisee signs the then-current agreement and pays the then-current Relicense Fee, currently calculated under the Initial Fee formula. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 17, pp. 75–76.
Opening deadline extension: $5,000 if Howard Johnson grants an extension for new construction or conversion; if assessed, due within 10 days of the Opening Date.
Custom design or post-opening PIP: Custom Interior Design Review Fee currently $6,000; Property Improvement Plan Fee currently $1,500 per request.
Reinspection: $3,000 to $5,500 plus reasonable inspector travel, lodging and meal expenses after a failed required quality or improvement inspection.
Late or disrupted payment: interest at the lesser of 1.5% per month or the maximum legal rate; $100 returned-check fee; $160 paper-check processing fee; $4,000 reconnection fee if Central Reservation System service is suspended.
Early termination: Liquidated Damages use the greater of $2,000 per authorized guest room or a formula based on average monthly Royalty, Marketing Contribution and Room Sales Charge, subject to the remaining term and other FDD conditions.
Failure to de-identify: $2,000 per day after termination until de-identification obligations are completed to the franchisor's satisfaction.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 28–41, and Item 17, pp. 75–81. State-specific addenda can alter enforceability.

Capital qualification and financing

Does Howard Johnson publish a liquid-capital or net-worth requirement?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a numeric Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum for a Howard Johnson applicant. It does require adequate financial liquidity and resources to perform the Franchise Agreement, and significant owners generally sign a Personal Guaranty. Depending on ownership structure and state law, spouses may also be required to sign guaranty or financing documents.

Howard Johnson's disclosed financing structure is conditional, not a general promise of funding.
Initial Fee deferralHoward Johnson may defer some or all of the Initial Fee in its discretion, usually for about 90 days or until opening, whichever occurs first. The franchisee and owners sign an Initial Fee Note.
Development IncentiveA discretionary loan may be offered for new construction or conversion. It is typically funded after opening and forgiven over the Franchise Agreement term, but the unamortized balance becomes repayable after an early termination or Transfer, with a 10% Development Incentive Acceleration Fee.
Third-party financing supportA lender may request a Three-Party Agreement or Comfort Letter, but the franchisor has no obligation to issue one. Item 6 lists a current $1,000 fee per request.

Item 10 also describes the Women Own the Room Development Incentive, targeted at $2,500 per guest room and capped at 50% of the franchisee's equity investment, subject to majority women ownership and approval. Wyndham's official Women Own the Room page describes enhanced capital support and reduced Initial Franchise Fee availability for qualifying new-construction and conversion projects.

The BOLD Support program provides tailored support for qualifying Black entrepreneurs and may include a Development Incentive. The official BOLD program page describes enhanced capital support, lender introductions and certain preferred-partner discounts. Neither program guarantees approval or replaces the applicant's required equity and project funding.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 54–57. The general Wyndham hotel-franchise cost guidance distinguishes the FDD's initial and continuing fee disclosures from property acquisition and other project costs.

Item 7 exclusions

Which costs are not fully resolved by the official range?

The Item 7 totals are not complete real-estate acquisition budgets. They also contain assumptions and exclusions that require project-specific quotes. The most important unresolved items are below.

Land, property purchase price and lease cost: excluded from both totals. The conversion table assumes the franchisee already owns the Facility.
Rent and debt service: excluded from Additional Funds, even though Additional Funds include labor costs and the Recurring Fees paid after opening.
Local development charges: impact fees, site evaluation fees, geotechnical reports and civil engineering fees are excluded from the architecture and related-fee estimates.
Taxes, freight and installation: excluded from specified Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, Opening Inventory and Signage estimates.
Insurance not captured by the Item 7 estimate: workers' compensation, employer's liability, business interruption and other policies are excluded from the stated insurance range, although separate coverage requirements apply.
PMS interfaces and future upgrades: optional or required interfaces can add cost, and the Franchise Agreement does not cap the cost or frequency of future replacement hardware or software obligations.
Property-condition scope: a conversion's Property Improvement Plan, existing systems, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, and Opening Inventory condition determine whether several categories remain near zero or approach their maximums.
Supplier and procurement charges: approved procurement service providers may charge an estimated 11% to 17% of Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment purchased; required and approved suppliers can also affect quotes.
Buyer verification

Before treating either Item 7 range as a financing target, reconcile the current Property Improvement Plan or construction scope, real-estate cost, excluded local fees, tax and freight, required insurance quotations, PMS configuration, lender requirements and the exact amount of owner equity. The FTC franchise buyer guide explains how Items 5 through 7 should be reviewed alongside costs that the FDD may not quantify.

Capital synthesis

What capital distinction matters most?

The main distinction is between the Estimated Initial Investment, the Initial Fee, the applicant's available liquidity and the fees that continue after opening. For a 100-room Howard Johnson, the Initial Fee is only one $35,000 line in much larger 2026 Item 7 ranges. The conversion range depends heavily on the existing Facility's renovation scope; the new-construction range is dominated by Facility Construction and excludes land. No numeric Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum is published, so the unresolved capital question is the amount of equity and liquidity Howard Johnson and the applicant's lender will require for the specific property and financing structure.