How much does a HomeTeam Inspection Service franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document lists two different U.S. investment ranges: $65,100 to $91,800 for a new HomeTeam Franchise and $42,600 to $59,300 for a converted HomeTeam Franchise. The conversion range applies to an eligible existing home-inspection business; it should not be used as the budget for a new operation.
These are the official 2026 Item 7 totals. Both ranges include the Initial Franchise Fee, the $14,800 Start-up Package Fee and $2,000 to $4,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. They exclude real estate, a vehicle purchase or lease, personal living expenses, owner compensation, finance charges and several circumstance-dependent costs.
Data basis: The legal franchisor is The HomeTeam Inspection Service, Inc., an Ohio corporation. The FDD issuance date is April 1, 2026. Cost analysis uses Item 5, pp. 3-4; Item 6, pp. 4-7; Item 7, pp. 7-11; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. The document covers a new HomeTeam Franchise and a converted HomeTeam Franchise, each offered with Limited, Standard or Premium territory pricing. Information was checked July 16, 2026. A matching 2026 FDD was not located on an official franchise-controlled website, so FDD citations below are unlinked. Current public information is available on the official HomeTeam U.S. franchise website.
Key cost figures
The Initial Franchise Fee changes by territory size and by whether the buyer is opening a new franchise or converting an existing inspection business. The other primary Item 7 categories use the same disclosed ranges for both paths.
The conversion range is $22,500 lower at both endpoints because the converted Initial Franchise Fee is one-half of the corresponding new-franchise fee.
Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 7, pp. 7-11. Bars use a common $0-$91,800 scale and plot the official low and high endpoints.
What is included in the initial investment?
The Item 7 total contains seven cost categories. Only the Initial Franchise Fee differs between the new and converted opening paths; the Start-up Package Fee and the remaining disclosed ranges are the same.
| Item 7 category | New franchise | Converted franchise | Payment timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $45,000-$65,000 | $22,500-$32,500 | Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed, subject to approved franchisor financing for eligible new franchises. |
| Start-up Package Fee | $14,800 | $14,800 | Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed. |
| Administrative Costs | $500-$1,000 | $500-$1,000 | As incurred before opening; includes bank deposits, initial telephone deposits and incorporation fees. |
| Travel & Living Expenses While Training | $1,000-$2,000 | $1,000-$2,000 | As incurred at training; includes travel, lodging, food, wages and workers' compensation for attendees. |
| Insurance (estimated annual cost) | $1,800-$4,000 | $1,800-$4,000 | Typically before the policy effective date, unless the insurer permits installments. |
| Permits, Licenses & Professional Memberships | $0-$1,000 | $0-$1,000 | As incurred before opening. HomeTeam pays the initial state licensing training cost for one person when approved third-party training is used. |
| Additional Funds - 3 months | $2,000-$4,000 | $2,000-$4,000 | As expenses are incurred for payroll, initial supplies and operating expenses. |
| Official Item 7 total | $65,100-$91,800 | $42,600-$59,300 | Does not include real estate costs. |
Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 7, pp. 7-11. The official totals are preserved; Additional Funds are already included and must not be added again.
The $14,800 Start-up Package Fee is the second-largest fixed payment and is due at signing. It includes two tablets, specified hardware and software, marketing materials, a tool package, apparel and business-card allowances, six months of the Digital Marketing Package, nine months of FrontOffice and a $2,500 Vehicle Branding Allowance. Package contents may change with availability. Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 5, pp. 3-4 and Item 8, pp. 12-14.
What does Additional Funds actually cover?
The $2,000 to $4,000 Additional Funds estimate covers payroll expenses, initial supplies and operating expenses during the first three months. It is part of the Item 7 total, not a separate amount to stack on top of $65,100 to $91,800 or $42,600 to $59,300.
The FDD does not say the three-month amount covers owner compensation or personal living expenses. It also warns that local economic conditions, wages, competition, management and the pace of early operations can change the amount required. Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 7, pp. 8-11.
How does territory size change the franchise fee?
The Initial Franchise Fee rises with the number of owner-occupied households in the territory. A converted franchise pays one-half of the new-franchise fee at each disclosed territory tier.
All bars use the same $0-$65,000 scale. The territory tier changes the fee due at signing; it does not change the $14,800 Start-up Package Fee.
Up to 50,000 households
50,001-100,000 households
100,001-150,000 households
Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 5, pp. 3-4. Geometry reflects the exact disclosed Initial Franchise Fees.
The HomeTeam FDD reserves the right to designate a territory with more than 150,000 owner-occupied households and charge a higher Initial Franchise Fee. A buyer considering a custom territory should not assume that $65,000 is the maximum contractual fee. Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 5, p. 4.
The veteran benefit is not a cash discount. An honorably discharged U.S. military veteran may receive an additional 15% of owner-occupied households in the territory. The Initial Franchise Fee and other Item 7 amounts are not stated to decrease. Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 5, p. 4.
When is the money paid?
The largest cash event occurs when the Franchise Agreement is signed. The Initial Franchise Fee and the $14,800 Start-up Package Fee are due then, while insurance, licensing, administrative and training-related costs follow before opening or during training.
-
1
At signing
Pay the applicable Initial Franchise Fee and the $14,800 Start-up Package Fee. Both are described as non-refundable. If rare franchisor financing is approved for a new franchise, the down payment and promissory note are executed at signing.
-
2
Before opening
Pay Administrative Costs, obtain required insurance before the policy effective date, and pay applicable permits, licenses and professional memberships. HomeTeam must be named as an additional insured on specified policies.
-
3
During initial training
HomeTeam does not charge an initial training fee, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, meals, wages and workers' compensation for attendees. The FDD estimates $1,000 to $2,000.
-
4
During the first three months
Use the included $2,000 to $4,000 Additional Funds allowance for payroll, initial supplies and operating expenses as those costs arise.
-
5
After opening
Weekly Royalty Fees and Branding Contributions are paid by electronic transfer. The $229 monthly Digital Marketing Fee begins after the six included months; the optional FrontOffice fee begins after the nine included months if service continues.
Sources: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Items 5-7, pp. 3-11 and Item 11, pp. 16-23. The official HomeTeam ownership path separately describes licensing, business setup and training support.
How the $2,500 Vehicle Branding Allowance works
The allowance is inside the $14,800 Start-up Package Fee, but the cost of buying or leasing a qualifying vehicle is outside Item 7. That distinction can make the official investment total materially lower than the cash a buyer actually needs for transportation.
Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 8, pp. 12-13; vehicle acquisition or lease cost exclusion stated in Item 7, pp. 9 and 11.
Which fees continue after opening?
The recurring cost structure combines percentage fees based on Gross Sales with fixed technology and marketing charges. The Royalty Fee and Branding Contribution are collected weekly, while the Digital Marketing Fee, Technology Fee and certain software or service charges are monthly or usage-based.
| Ongoing fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weekly Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Sales collected weekly | Wednesday by electronic funds transfer | Monthly refunds apply annual tiers: 6% on the first $500,000; 5.5% on $500,001-$750,000; 5% on $750,001-$1,000,000; and 4% on $1,000,001 and over. |
| Weekly Branding Contribution | 3% of Gross Sales | Wednesday by electronic funds transfer | An annual minimum is tied to the applicable Minimum Annual Gross Sales threshold. |
| Digital Marketing Fee | $229 per month | Monthly after six included months | Premium territories extending more than a 50-mile radius from the initial office address require an additional Digital Marketing Package and address. |
| Technology Fee | $100 per month, plus $10 per additional phone number | Monthly by electronic funds transfer | Covers the required HomeTeam phone-system technology and assigned number; amount may change. |
| Inspection Support Network | $3.20 or $4.30 per inspection, minimum $35 per month | Usage-based under the selected plan | Required web-based management software supplied by Porch.com, Inc.; total monthly cost varies with inspection volume. |
| FrontOffice | $1,050-$1,550 per month in Item 6 | After nine included months, if continued | Optional service; fee depends on coordination complexity and call volume and may increase with 30 days' notice. |
Sources: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 6, pp. 4-7 and Item 11, pp. 18-21. Percentage fees are shown only on their disclosed Gross Sales basis; no annual dollar estimate is implied.
How do the minimum annual fee obligations work?
HomeTeam collects the Weekly Royalty Fee at 6% and the Weekly Branding Contribution at 3%. If the amounts paid during a 12-month period are below 6% and 3% of the territory's Minimum Annual Gross Sales threshold, the franchisee pays the difference within 15 days after the opening anniversary. These are contractual fee bases, not forecasts of expected sales.
| Territory | Year 1 threshold | Year 2 threshold | Year 3 and later |
|---|---|---|---|
| Limited | $25,000 | $50,000 | $75,000 |
| Standard | $50,000 | $85,000 | $125,000 |
| Premium | $75,000 | $125,000 | $250,000 |
Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 6, Note 3, pp. 6-7. HomeTeam also reserves termination or territory-reduction rights for failure to meet the contractual threshold.
How much liquid capital and net worth does HomeTeam require?
The FDD does not state a Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. The current official investment page separately lists a $25,000 Liquid Capital Requirement and a $100,000 Net Worth Requirement. Those qualification figures are not part of the Item 7 investment total and should not be treated as interchangeable.
The same official HomeTeam investment information states that a 720 or higher credit score is part of its stated SBA-financing assistance criteria. Loan approval remains a lender decision.
What financing does the 2026 FDD actually disclose?
Under rare circumstances, The HomeTeam Inspection Service, Inc. may finance up to 50% of the Initial Franchise Fee for a new franchise. Converted HomeTeam Franchises are not eligible. The note bears 12% annual interest for no more than 48 months, payments begin on the first day of the month after the Franchise Agreement is signed, and a personal guarantee is required.
| Territory | Minimum down payment | Maximum note | Monthly payment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Limited | $22,500 | $22,500 | $586.62 |
| Standard | $27,500 | $27,500 | $716.98 |
| Premium | $32,500 | $32,500 | $855.85 |
Source: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 10, pp. 15-16. All examples use 12% APR and a 48-month term. There is no prepayment penalty; a payment more than 10 days late carries a $25 charge.
The public website uses the phrase “SBA-approved,” while Item 10 more narrowly says HomeTeam will enter the SBA's prescribed universal addendum and may assist with funding sources. The FDD also says HomeTeam does not guarantee third-party obligations. A buyer should verify the lender, loan structure, down payment, collateral and approval conditions rather than treating website qualification language as a financing commitment.
Which fees arise only after a specific event?
Several Item 6 charges do not occur every month, but they can be material when a transfer, renewal, late payment, audit or reporting failure occurs.
Transfer: the then-current fee is $10,000, or currently $5,000 if the transfer is to another HomeTeam franchisee. It is due before completion of the transfer. The seller also pays broker commissions, and the transferee must purchase the Start-up Package.
Renewal: $2,500 is due at least six months before the Franchise Agreement expires. The initial term is 10 years; the renewal agreement can contain materially different terms. The FDD states no other renewal investment is required apart from this fee, but refresher training may be required.
Annual convention: the then-current fee is payable every year regardless of attendance. The 2025 example was $1,250 for one person and $1,750 for two, excluding travel. Item 11 states payment is made in May, June and July of the preceding year or in full by July.
Late payment: $20 applies when payment is more than five days late. After more than 30 days, interest is 18% annually or the highest lawful rate, whichever is lower.
Failure to report Gross Sales: the FDD permits a 25% late fee plus 125% of the Royalty Fee and Branding Contribution from the last reported period.
Audit or inspection: the franchisee reimburses the cost when an audit finds Gross Sales understated by 3% or more for a weekly period, or when the review resulted from missing records or reports.
Insufficient funds: $25 plus bank and transaction charges applies when an electronic debit is denied or charged back.
Taxes, reimbursement and indemnification: applicable sales or use taxes are added to fees. Costs advanced by HomeTeam can be reimbursable with 18% interest, and indemnification obligations vary with the claim or expense.
Sources: 2026 HomeTeam FDD, Item 6, pp. 4-7; Item 11, p. 23; and Item 17, pp. 29-32.
What is not resolved by the official investment range?
The Item 7 range is not a complete personal cash requirement. It omits several costs that depend on the buyer's assets, location, staffing, insurance and financing decisions.
Vehicle acquisition or lease: the $2,500 Vehicle Branding Allowance does not cover the full cost of obtaining a qualifying vehicle.
Real estate: Item 7 expressly excludes real estate costs. HomeTeam recommends beginning from a home office, subject to local rules, and later using modest office space as the business develops.
Personal living expenses and owner compensation: neither is included. The FDD says the buyer needs other cash, credit or liquid assets for living expenses and operating losses.
Financing costs: interest, finance charges and debt service are outside Item 7.
Workers' compensation and other legally required insurance: these are excluded from the $1,800 to $4,000 insurance estimate.
Technology changes: required software user fees, support, upgrades and replacement systems can change, and the FDD places no stated cap on future computer upgrade costs.
Local licensing and compliance: the $0 to $1,000 line may not capture all legal, accounting, qualification, permit or authorization costs in a particular jurisdiction.
Definitions that prevent common cost mistakes
- Total Initial Investment
- The Item 7 range for opening the specified franchise format. It includes Additional Funds but excludes the listed omissions above.
- Initial Franchise Fee
- One component of the total, ranging from $45,000 to $65,000 for a new franchise or $22,500 to $32,500 for a converted franchise.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or readily available funds used as a qualification measure. The official website states $25,000; it is not the same as Total Initial Investment.
- Net Worth
- Assets minus liabilities. The official website states $100,000; Net Worth is not the same as cash available for startup spending.
- Additional Funds
- $2,000 to $4,000 included in Item 7 for the first three months of specified operating expenses.
The federal disclosure framework requires franchisors to furnish prescribed information before a franchise sale. The current text of 16 CFR Part 436 sets the disclosure requirements, and the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the rule's structure. These government materials do not verify HomeTeam's figures; the 2026 FDD remains the controlling source for the disclosed cost contract.
What capital question should a prospective franchisee resolve?
The verified starting point is $65,100 to $91,800 for a new HomeTeam Franchise or $42,600 to $59,300 for a converted HomeTeam Franchise. The main contractual driver is the Initial Franchise Fee, which changes by Limited, Standard or Premium territory. The largest unresolved cash issues are the qualifying vehicle, personal living expenses, workers' compensation, local compliance, financing costs and any real estate expense.
A buyer should reconcile those exclusions against the applicable territory proposal, confirm whether franchisor financing is actually offered, and separate the official website's $25,000 Liquid Capital Requirement and $100,000 Net Worth Requirement from the Item 7 investment range. HomeTeam's official U.S. market information can identify whether the contemplated territory is currently presented as available, but the executed Franchise Agreement and current FDD control the amount and timing of payments.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to HomeTeam Inspection Service Franchise?
- How Does HomeTeam Inspection Service Franchise Work?
- How to Start a HomeTeam Inspection Service Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a HomeTeam Inspection Service Franchise?
- How Much Does a HomeTeam Inspection Service Franchise Owner Make?