How Much Does a Health Mart Pharmacy Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Health Mart Pharmacy franchise cost?

Health Mart Systems, Inc. discloses two separate 2026 Item 7 ranges: $2,470 to $127,970 for an Open Location that converts an existing pharmacy, and $261,870 to $833,870 for an UnOpened Location started by a franchisee that does not own an existing pharmacy when the Franchise Agreement is signed. These are not interchangeable ranges.

Data basis: Health Mart Systems, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued June 18, 2026; Open Locations and UnOpened Locations; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; checked July 17, 2026. FDD citations below are plain text because no matching 2026 FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled public domain. Corporate identity and current U.S. offer context were cross-checked against McKesson's Health Mart business overview and official Health Mart U.S. franchise information.
$2,470–$127,970 Open Location conversion $261,870–$833,870 UnOpened Location start-up

The 2026 FDD includes three months of Monthly Fees and an Additional Funds allowance inside each total. The low conversion range assumes an existing pharmacy already has much of the premises, inventory, licensing, insurance, deposits, and operating infrastructure. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14.

The published amount is also not a single check written on one date. Some cash is committed to outside parties during site preparation and ordering, some is paid under normal supplier terms, and some remains available as an operating cushion. The amount ultimately needed at signing, before opening, and during the first operating months therefore depends on the transaction schedule. A lender may fund certain assets while leaving deposits, professional work, licensing, payroll, and reserves to be covered from other sources.

The low and high bounds should be read as endpoints of the franchisor's disclosed assumptions rather than as two preset packages. A project does not automatically qualify for the low end because it is a conversion, and a start-up does not automatically require every high-end amount at once. Each quote and existing asset should be matched to the corresponding category, while preserving a separate cushion for expenses that cannot be fixed before the site and supplier arrangements are complete.

Cost implication

The $2,470 minimum does not describe the cost of opening a pharmacy from scratch. It reflects a conversion case in which the Open Location already possesses many high-cost assets and operating approvals.

Capital snapshot

The key figures below separate the total Item 7 investment from the franchise fee, ongoing Monthly Fee, working-capital allowance, and financial qualifications.

Initial Franchise Fee $0

No initial franchise fee is charged. Item 5, p. 7.

Monthly Fee $390/month

Exclusive of taxes; begins after the Effective Date. Item 6, p. 8.

Additional Funds $0–$280,000

$0–$40,000 Open; $87,000–$280,000 UnOpened. Item 7, pp. 12–14.

Three Monthly Fees $1,170

Already included in both Item 7 totals. Item 7, p. 12.

Liquidity / Net Worth Not disclosed

The 2026 FDD states no fixed liquid-capital or net-worth threshold.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

Why are the two investment ranges so far apart?

The 2026 FDD separates a pharmacy conversion from a start-up because the assets assumed to exist are materially different. An Open Location is expected to have a lease, inventory, licenses, insurance, deposits, and a pharmacy management system; an UnOpened Location must budget for many of those items.

The conversion range is low only when the operating pharmacy's existing assets meet the system's standards with limited incremental work. The high end allows for more extensive branding, technology, insurance, launch promotion, and a reserve for the first operating period. A buyer should therefore treat the conversion range as an incremental conversion estimate, not as the market value or acquisition price of the underlying pharmacy.

The start-up range assumes a materially different project. It contemplates a site that may need a lease, build-out, new fixtures, opening stock, permits, deposits, insurance, and operating cash before receipts are sufficient to cover expenses. The franchisor states that there is no typical store size; existing units range from 500 to 12,000 square feet. That wide physical range helps explain why a single point estimate would be misleading.

Neither range includes a purchase price for acquiring an existing pharmacy business unless that purchase is otherwise part of the buyer's transaction. Item 10 separately discusses possible financing for such an acquisition, but Item 7 remains an estimate of the investment in the franchised premises and operations under the agreement.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the initial investment?

Item 7 includes the physical conversion or build-out, signage, fixtures, opening inventory, required systems, initial operating expenses, and three months of Monthly Fees. The figures below preserve the separate Open Location and UnOpened Location assumptions.

Premises, branding, equipment, and inventory

For a start-up, the largest asset categories are inventory, leasehold improvements, computer hardware and software, and fixtures and equipment. For a conversion, several low bounds are $0 because the existing pharmacy may already satisfy the requirement.

Item 7 category Open Location UnOpened Location Payment timing / payee
Leasehold Improvements $0–$3,000 $60,000–$115,000 Lump sum as arranged; contractor
Exterior Signage $0–$20,000 $0–$20,000 50% deposit on order; balance on invoice; Health Mart or third-party suppliers
Interior Decor, Signs, Aisle Markers, and Departmental Signs $0–$7,500 $0–$7,500 50% deposit on order; balance on invoice; Health Mart or McKesson
Fixtures and Equipment $0–$5,000 $40,000–$100,000 50% deposit on order; balance on invoice; McKesson or third-party suppliers
Inventory including Merchandise $0 $60,000–$180,000 Net 10 days after semi-monthly billing; McKesson and third-party suppliers
Computer Hardware and Software $0–$45,000 $10,000–$100,000 Lump sum or monthly as arranged; third-party suppliers or McKesson

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. The initial essential branding kit satisfies the minimum branding requirement at no charge except applicable taxes; additional approved signs and décor can increase the amount.

The premises estimate depends on geography, configuration, pre-construction work, labor, materials, and any tenant-improvement allowance negotiated with the landlord. The franchisor does not guarantee an allowance or favorable lease terms. For a conversion, the estimate assumes the existing premises are in good repair; a location that needs substantial corrective work may sit near the high end or incur expenses outside the estimate.

The inventory estimate for a start-up is based on a selling area of 1,000 square feet. The conversion line is $0 because the existing pharmacy is assumed to have stock when the agreement is signed, not because ongoing restocking is free. Prescription and over-the-counter purchasing obligations continue under the applicable distribution arrangement and supplier rules.

Technology is another source of spread. A pharmacy management system is operationally necessary, but the franchisor does not currently prescribe one model. A conversion may already own a suitable system, while a start-up may choose different numbers of workstations, order and inventory tools, pharmacy software, or point-of-sale equipment. Participation in the reimbursement program also requires compatibility with the named switching service.

Opening expenses and the operating reserve

The second group covers insurance, supplies, permits, deposits, launch marketing, the first three Monthly Fees, and Additional Funds. Additional Funds are already included in the official total and must not be added a second time.

Item 7 category Open Location UnOpened Location Basis
Insurance $0–$3,000 $2,000–$10,000 Initial coverage period; quarterly as arranged
Supplies $200–$700 $200–$700 Stationery, business cards, and office supplies
Business Licenses $100 $500–$3,000 Licenses and occupancy permits; local variation
Utility and Lease Security Deposits $0 $0–$1,500 UnOpened assumption includes possible utility and lease deposits
Monthly Fees, first three months $1,170 $1,170 $390 per month
Grand Opening and Initial Advertising and Promotion $1,000–$2,500 $1,000–$15,000 Recommended, not purchased from Health Mart or affiliates
Additional Funds $0–$40,000 $87,000–$280,000 Initial operating period and working capital

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–14. The FDD assumes UnOpened Locations may need one or two months' rent as a lease security deposit, but the displayed Item 7 deposit range is $0–$1,500 and rent is included in Additional Funds under the stated assumptions.

For a conversion, the initial operating period is the first three months after signing. The operator is expected to use its own historical expenses and cash-flow information to decide whether a larger reserve is needed. That assumption makes the published low end especially dependent on the condition and operating history of the existing pharmacy.

For a start-up, the initial period begins when the agreement is signed, includes an assumed 12 to 15 weeks for site work, installation, stock delivery, and required orientation, and continues through the first three months after opening. The reserve covers rent, telephone service, utilities, hourly employee wages and benefits, inventory replenishment, supplies, workers' compensation, professional services, licensing, and working capital. Local staffing choices, credit, competition, economic conditions, and the pace of customer activity can materially change the amount required.

Excluded from Item 7

The start-up reserve includes opening-employee payroll but excludes an owner's draw or salary. It also excludes optional-program charges and payments on loans used to finance opening expenses. Those exclusions matter because the published total should not be treated as a complete personal cash-needs schedule. Source: Item 7, Note 13, pp. 13–14.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

No initial franchise fee is due, and the Franchise Agreement does not require payment to Health Mart Systems, McKesson, or another affiliate before the Effective Date. That does not mean no cash is needed before opening: contractors, landlords, licensing authorities, insurers, and suppliers may require deposits or payments earlier.

Franchise Agreement stageHealth Mart charges no Initial Franchise Fee. The FTC requires delivery of the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate; the FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains this disclosure timing.
Orders and site workLeasehold Improvements are paid as arranged. Exterior Signage, Interior Decor, and Fixtures and Equipment generally require a 50% deposit on order and the balance after invoicing.
Inventory and third-party opening costsInventory purchased through McKesson is shown as net 10 days after semi-monthly billing. Insurance, permits, deposits, supplies, and advertising follow third-party terms.
Effective DateThe Effective Date is the later of activation of access to the Health Mart System for the Drugstore Location or full execution of the Franchise Agreement. The first Monthly Fee follows this date.
Ongoing monthly cycleThe $390 Monthly Fee is due on the 10th day of each month for the preceding calendar month. Optional services and claim-related programs follow their disclosed monthly or on-demand schedules.

The sequence also separates payees. Amounts paid to contractors, landlords, insurers, government authorities, and outside suppliers may be refundable only if the buyer negotiates that right. Payments made to the franchisor, its parent, or affiliates are stated to be non-refundable unless a specific agreement provides otherwise. This distinction is important when deciding which deposits remain at risk if a site, financing arrangement, or transaction does not proceed.

The official membership steps provide current process context, but the payment amounts and deadlines above come from the 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 7–14.

ONGOING AND CONDITIONAL FEES

Which costs continue after opening?

The main required recurring franchise charge is a $390 Monthly Fee, not a percentage royalty disclosed against gross sales. Item 6 also contains optional program charges, merchandise costs, possible future digital or training charges, and event-triggered amounts.

Monthly Fee
$390 per month, exclusive of taxes, due on the 10th day for the preceding month. It includes third-party and affiliate amounts and may be adjusted for increases and changes in Core Services.
Front End Solutions
$50 per month only if a qualified franchisee elects the optional in-store merchandising service.
HealthMart.com Store Details / branded Web Portal
Currently $0. A future fee may use actual cost plus a 10%–30% administrative and overhead margin, with later increases limited by the disclosed CPI-U method.
Merchandise
Then-current McKesson Connect prices and terms. Branded and generic prescription drugs and OTC drugs must be purchased from McKesson under the pharmacy's distribution arrangement while maintaining Good Standing.
MRA and switching
McKesson Reimbursement Advantage is $200–$500 per month based on claim volume if elected. Relay Health Intelligent Network switching fees vary with claim volume and apply when participating in MRA.
Training
Mandatory initial online training currently has no fee. Optional online courses do not exceed $2,200 per person per course; technician programs are up to $1,000 for entry-level training or $2,200 for accredited programming. Travel, lodging, meals, and employee wages remain the franchisee's expense.
Late payment and enforcement
Interest is the lesser of 1.5% per month or the maximum legal rate. Taxes, successful-action attorney's fees, indemnification, supplier inspection, testing, and future required systems can create additional variable obligations.

Required purchasing exposure extends beyond the fixed monthly charge. Item 8 estimates that purchases and leases from the franchisor or its affiliated companies may represent 10% to 90% of the cost to establish the pharmacy and 50% to 90% of ongoing operating costs. Those percentages are not an additional invoice or a forecast of total spending; they describe the potential share of establishment and operating purchases routed through affiliated sources under the supplier structure.

Insurance is required even though the premium cannot be determined from the document. The stated program includes commercial general liability and professional liability, together with coverage required by law or business circumstances such as workers' compensation, property, employers' liability, crime, business auto, and network security or privacy liability. The franchisor may change limits or require added coverage for a location or program, so the Item 7 estimate is only the initial premium range under its assumptions.

System and software obligations can also change after opening. The agreement permits required computer programs, licenses, support, maintenance, upgrades, and modifications at the operator's expense. A current zero charge for a web service or mandatory introductory course therefore should not be read as a permanent contractual cap.

FDD caveat

All charges listed in Item 6 that are payable to the franchisor or affiliated companies are non-refundable. The franchisor retains discretion to revise amounts for cost increases or service changes except where a term sheet or program agreement states otherwise. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–10.

The CPI-U mechanism referenced for possible future digital or course charges uses the U.S. City Average published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. The contractual formula controls; current index data are not a separate charge estimate.

ITEM 10 FINANCING

Does Health Mart disclose financing?

Yes. Item 10 describes financing that McKesson may offer for inventory, signs and fixtures, a new-store start-up, or purchase of an existing pharmacy. Approval is discretionary, actual terms may differ, and Health Mart does not promise that financing will be available.

McKesson financing paths disclosed in the 2026 FDD

These options are specific to pharmacy assets and acquisition paths, which is one reason the capital structure differs from a conventional fixed-fee franchise model.

Initial Inventory

No down payment; up to 100% of the initial purchase for 15 days of projected sales; 3–12 months; 0% interest.

Signs, Fixtures, and Interior Decor

No down payment; up to 100% of initial purchase; 3–6 months; Prime plus 2%, with a 7.25% floor.

New-Store Start-Up Costs

20% down; financing based on collateral coverage up to 80% of purchase price; 2–7 years; Prime plus 2%, with a 7.25% floor.

Purchase of an Existing Pharmacy

20% down; financing based on collateral coverage up to 80% of purchase price; 2–7 years; Prime plus 2%, with a 7.25% floor.

Security can include a blanket UCC/security agreement and a personal guarantee. Default may accelerate the note and constitute a Franchise Agreement default. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 19–20.

The two longer-term options require a stated 20% down payment, but that percentage is not a systemwide cash-qualification threshold. It applies to the financed purchase price under those particular programs, while the amount advanced depends on collateral coverage. The buyer may need additional cash for categories that are not financed, for reserves, and for transaction expenses.

The interest description uses the Prime rate plus two percentage points, subject to the stated floor. Because the Prime rate can change, the disclosure does not establish one fixed interest rate for every borrower or date. The table states no prepayment penalty, but the security package and default provisions are material: a business entity may be required to provide a personal guaranty, and default can accelerate the debt.

Initial stock financing has a narrower purpose and shorter duration than acquisition or start-up financing. It may cover up to the initial purchase associated with 15 days of projected sales, while the décor and fixture program may cover the initial purchase of those assets. Neither option should be treated as funding for the full opening range.

Financing caveat

A disclosed financing path is not an approval promise. The lender may consider credit history, collateral, and other factors, may use different individual terms, and may change prospective terms for later transactions.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

What liquid-capital or net-worth requirement applies?

The June 18, 2026 disclosure does not state a fixed minimum for readily available cash, overall personal wealth, or funds that must be unborrowed. Those concepts therefore cannot be substituted for the Item 7 investment ranges. Financing may still involve a 20% down payment, collateral coverage, credit review, a blanket security interest, and a Personal Guarantee.

Total investment answers what the franchisor estimates may be spent on the location and its initial operating period. A liquidity threshold would answer how much accessible cash an applicant must show, while a net-worth threshold would compare total assets and liabilities. Since the document gives no fixed applicant thresholds, the only supportable conclusion is that the published opening ranges and any lender-specific conditions must be evaluated separately.

The absence of a stated qualification does not mean the project can be completed with the minimum amount in every case. Lease negotiations, supplier deposits, licensing, insurance underwriting, collateral requirements, credit terms, and the condition of an existing store can all create earlier or larger cash demands than the franchisor receives directly.

What should be verified before committing capital?

The material unresolved amounts are property-specific, supplier-specific, and financing-specific. A buyer's capital plan should reconcile the current disclosure assumptions to the exact premises and chosen services without replacing the official ranges with an unsupported midpoint.

A useful reconciliation starts with documents rather than a rounded target. The site file should identify rent commencement, deposits, landlord allowances, construction responsibility, and any work needed before occupancy. Supplier quotations should state taxes, freight, installation, maintenance, replacement, and cancellation terms. Insurance proposals should reflect the actual services, vehicles, employees, and data risks of the operation. Licensing estimates should identify every state and local approval needed for the proposed use.

The funding file should then map each payment to its due date and source. Cash on hand, borrowed proceeds, trade credit, and landlord allowances should not be treated as interchangeable when they are available at different times or restricted to particular purchases. The operating cushion should remain distinct from amounts already committed to deposits or equipment. This schedule is the practical bridge between the published total and the buyer's actual pre-opening cash requirement.

Confirm the format. Determine whether the transaction is an Open Location conversion, an UnOpened Location start-up, or an existing-pharmacy purchase financed under Item 10.
Reconcile existing assets. Document which leasehold improvements, licenses, insurance policies, fixtures, inventory, deposits, and computer systems already satisfy Health Mart standards.
Price required and approved purchases. Obtain current quotes for branding, signage, décor, fixtures, equipment, systems, insurance, and initial Merchandise under Item 8 supplier rules.
Separate Item 7 from optional programs. Do not add Additional Funds twice, and budget separately for MRA, Front End Solutions, optional training, Marketing Edge services, or other elected programs.
Test the initial period. For an UnOpened Location, the FDD assumes 12–15 weeks before opening plus three months after opening; owner salary and loan payments are excluded from Additional Funds.
Review transfer and exit costs. Item 17 discloses no renewal term or renewal fee, but a transfer may require satisfied obligations, training, a Personal Guarantee, and refurbishment to current appearance standards. Termination also requires de-identification and removal of Health Mart signs at the franchisee's expense.

The FTC Franchise Rule explains the 23-item disclosure framework. Health Mart's official franchise site describes the brand relationship, while the 2026 FDD controls the figures and contractual cost obligations summarized here.

DECISION SYNTHESIS

What is the clearest capital takeaway?

The official range for a conversion is $2,470 to $127,970, while the official range for a start-up is $261,870 to $833,870 under the June 18, 2026 disclosure. The difference is primarily the existing asset base: a new operation carries substantial premises, stock, fixture, system, and operating-reserve obligations. There is no upfront brand charge, the recurring fixed charge is $390 per month, and no fixed applicant cash or wealth threshold is stated. The decisive remaining question is which existing assets, outside quotes, optional services, and lender terms apply to the specific premises.