How much does a Great Harvest Bread Co. franchise cost?
A prospective U.S. franchisee should plan around the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document range of $591,742 to $871,077 to open one Great Harvest Bakery Cafe. A minimum two-outlet development arrangement is disclosed at $631,742 to $911,077, but that multi-unit figure is not the full cost of constructing two complete Bakery Cafes; it is the single-outlet Item 7 budget with the $80,000 Development Fee replacing the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
This is the March 23, 2026 Item 7 range for a Great Harvest Bakery Cafe. It includes the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory, $12,000 Grand Opening Marketing, and $25,625 to $48,170 of Additional Funds for three months.
Source basis: 2026 FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 17–20.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Great Harvest Franchising, LLC. FDD issuance date: March 23, 2026. Cost paths analyzed: one Great Harvest Bakery Cafe and a minimum two-outlet Multi-Unit Development Agreement. Primary disclosures: Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 20, 2026. No matching public copy of the 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD references below are unlinked Item/page citations. The brand's current official U.S. franchise information describes one Bakery Cafe, multiple-unit and non-traditional build options, but the 2026 FDD provides Item 7 ranges only for the Bakery Cafe and the multi-unit development path.
Key cost figures
What is included in the $591,742 to $871,077 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines the Initial Franchise Fee with premises, construction, equipment, technology, inventory, opening marketing, professional services, insurance and the first three months of Additional Funds. It does not mean every dollar is paid to Great Harvest Franchising, LLC; most Item 7 payments go to landlords, contractors, equipment suppliers, government agencies, insurers and other third parties.
Premises, construction and operating assets
| Item 7 category | 2026 range | Payment timing and payee |
|---|---|---|
| Premises Deposits | $4,500–$7,000 | As required by the landlord or utility provider. |
| Leasehold Improvements | $270,000–$375,000 | As required by contractors and other suppliers during build-out. |
| Signage | $4,059–$15,321 | As required by approved suppliers. |
| Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment | $215,550–$315,000 | As required by approved suppliers. |
| Computer Systems | $2,209–$4,200 | Up-front required hardware and software purchase. |
| Insurance | $3,000–$5,000 | Annual premium estimate, paid before opening. |
2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20; Item 8, pp. 20–21.
Franchise, training and opening-capital categories
| Item 7 category | 2026 amount | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $40,000 | Franchise rights and included instruction/materials for up to two initial trainees. |
| Your Training Expenses | $2,049–$10,300 | Transportation, lodging and meals for up to two people; tuition is included in the Initial Franchise Fee. |
| Initial Inventory | $10,000–$26,586 | Flour, produce, ingredients, beverages, packaging, cleaning supplies and disposables for up to one to two weeks. |
| Grand Opening Marketing | $12,000 | Opening advertising beginning at least 15 days before opening and continuing through 90 days after opening. |
| Professional Fees | $2,250–$10,000 | Entity formation and legal/accounting review of the FDD, Franchise Agreement, lease and related matters. |
| Licenses and Permits | $500–$2,500 | Occupancy, operating and construction approvals before opening or as required. |
| Additional Funds — 3 months | $25,625–$48,170 | Rent, utilities, insurance, initial payroll and payroll taxes, technology fees, additional marketing and additional inventory after opening. |
2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20; Item 11, pp. 23–29.
Leasehold Improvements and Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment account for most of the disclosed dollar range. The leasehold estimate assumes a roughly 2,200–2,400 square-foot vanilla-box space with adequate electrical, plumbing and HVAC systems; demolition, deficient infrastructure or a prior tenant's layout can move the project outside those assumptions.
Which Item 7 categories create the widest capital exposure?
The largest disclosed ranges are construction and equipment. Smaller categories still matter for cash timing, but they do not explain as much of the difference between the low and high ends of the 2026 Item 7 total.
Scale: $0 to $400,000. Each line shows the disclosed low and high amount; exact ranges appear at right.
Official figures: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17–20. The bar positions are derived by dividing each disclosed amount by the $400,000 chart scale.
How should the tenant improvement allowance be treated?
The 2026 FDD's tenant-improvement discussion is unusually important because it can change the amount of cash that must be carried before reimbursement. Item 7 says a franchisee may receive an average allowance based on 2025 openings, paid back by the landlord within 90 days after opening, but it also warns that the project may require the total amount up front and that no allowance would increase overall project cost.
2026 FDD, Item 7, footnote 10, pp. 19–20.
The Item 7 table labels the total as excluding a tenant improvement allowance, while footnote 10 also describes the estimate as representative of project cost after allowances. Do not net an assumed allowance against the capital plan without a signed lease provision that states the amount, reimbursement conditions and payment date.
How does the two-outlet development path change the cost?
The minimum two-outlet development range is exactly $40,000 higher at both ends than the single-unit range because the Item 7 table substitutes an $80,000 Development Fee for the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee. Every other disclosed Item 7 category is repeated at the same amount.
Scale: $0 to $1,000,000. The multi-unit total reflects the development arrangement's entry budget, not the full construction cost of two completed outlets.
Official totals: 2026 FDD cover and Item 7, pp. 17–20. Bar positions are derived by dividing each total by the $1,000,000 chart scale.
The multi-unit Item 7 table should not be read as a two-store construction budget. It includes one set of premises, build-out, equipment, inventory and Additional Funds. A buyer should obtain a unit-by-unit development budget for the second outlet and any later outlet before signing the Multi-Unit Development Agreement.
How is the $80,000 Development Fee paid?
For the required minimum of two Bakery Cafes, the 2026 FDD states that the total Development Fee is $80,000 and is fully earned and nonrefundable. The more detailed Item 5 schedule divides the payment into two cash events.
-
1
At execution
Sign the Multi-Unit Development Agreement and the first Franchise Agreement, and pay $60,000. A $40,000 credit satisfies the first outlet's Initial Franchise Fee.
-
2
Second outlet commitment
Sign the then-current Franchise Agreement for the second outlet within 12 months, consistent with the development schedule.
-
3
Second payment trigger
Pay the remaining $20,000 when the second outlet's lease is signed or its mandatory opening date arrives, whichever occurs first.
2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 10–11; Item 7, pp. 18–20.
Item 7 footnote 10 refers once to a $891,077 multi-unit high end, while the FDD cover and Item 7 total table state $911,077. The table's category structure also supports $911,077 because the multi-unit range is the single-unit range plus the $40,000 fee difference. This article therefore preserves the cover/table total and flags the footnote inconsistency for written confirmation.
When is the startup money paid?
Great Harvest's startup capital is paid in stages rather than as one check. The Initial Franchise Fee is due at signing, while most of the Item 7 total is paid to third parties during site acquisition, construction, purchasing and the first three operating months.
-
1
Franchise Agreement signing
Pay the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee in cash or available funds. It is fully earned and nonrefundable. A qualifying military applicant may receive the current FDD's reduced $36,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
-
2
Site control and deposits
Identify an acceptable site within 120 days. Premises and utility deposits are paid as required; failure to secure an approved site within 210 days, unless extended, can create a default.
-
3
Build-out and required purchases
Pay Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, Signage, Computer Systems, permits and insurance as contractors, suppliers, agencies and insurers require payment.
-
4
Training and opening preparation
Pay transportation, lodging and meals for up to two trainees. Purchase Initial Inventory and begin the $12,000 Grand Opening Marketing program at least 15 days before opening.
-
5
Opening through month three
Use the included $25,625 to $48,170 Additional Funds for the listed post-opening expenses. The FDD estimates a typical 9–12 months from agreement signing to opening and treats failure to open within 365 days as a default.
2026 FDD, Items 5, 7 and 11, pp. 10–11, 17–20 and 23–24.
Which fees continue after the Bakery Cafe opens?
The continuing cost contract includes weekly percentage fees, a monthly local-marketing minimum, technology expenses and possible cooperative advertising. These obligations are separate from the initial investment except where Item 7 expressly includes an initial payment or the first three months of technology fees inside Additional Funds.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing and interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Sales | Due Tuesday for the prior Monday–Sunday calendar week. |
| Brand Fund Contribution | 2.5% of Gross Sales | Due on the same weekly schedule as the Royalty Fee. |
| Required Minimum Expenditure for Local Marketing and Advertising | 2% of Gross Sales or $500, whichever is greater | Monthly, paid to third parties; advertising requires prior approval. |
| Advertising Cooperative | Share of actual cost | Only if a cooperative is formed. Item 11 permits a credit of up to 50% of the local-marketing requirement. |
| System Technology Fee | Actual cost + 10% administrative fee | Monthly if imposed for system technology; separate vendor subscriptions and maintenance can also apply. |
2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–16; Item 11, pp. 25–28.
- Gross Sales
- All sales at or from the outlet and sales made under the Franchise Agreement, without deductions for delivery costs or write-offs, excluding specified sales taxes, documented refunds and documented promotional discounts. Gift-card purchases are excluded when sold but included when redeemed.
- Missing sales report
- The franchisor may collect 120% of the last Royalty Fee and the Brand Fund may collect 120% of the last contribution, then settle the difference after sales are reported.
- Electronic payment
- The franchisee must authorize electronic transfers for Royalty Fees and Brand Fund Contributions; late, interest and insufficient-funds charges can apply.
The 2026 FDD contains two different recurring software ranges: Item 7 footnote 4 says $175–$400 per month, while Item 11 states a current software access fee of $300–$700 per month. In addition, an older official franchise FAQ displays a 3.5% Marketing/Brand fee, whereas the 2026 Item 6 Brand Fund Contribution is 2.5% and the separate local-marketing minimum is 2% or $500. Obtain the current vendor schedule and written fee worksheet before modeling monthly cash needs.
Which events can trigger additional fees?
Item 6 includes a broad set of event-triggered charges. They are not part of the normal weekly percentage-fee schedule, but several can be material during a transfer, relocation, default, compliance problem or required training event.
Payment and reporting failures
A $200 Late Charge, interest at 12% of the overdue amount or the legal maximum, and a $50 Insufficient Funds Fee per occurrence may apply.
Local-marketing shortfall
If the required local-marketing amount is not spent, Great Harvest may collect the shortfall and either charge a $1,000 Administrative Fee to advertise on the outlet's behalf or deposit the amount into the Brand Fund.
Relocation, architect and contractor review
An approved relocation triggers a $5,000 Relocation Fee. Using the franchisee's own architect or contractor may trigger a $2,500 Architect's Review Fee and a $2,500 Contractor Management Services Fee.
Training and temporary management
Additional or replacement initial trainees cost $2,500 each; additional courses may cost up to $500 per person per course; a convention or business meeting may cost up to $1,000 per person. Remedial training is currently $500 per trainer day plus expenses. Interim management is $500 per day plus wages, travel and living expenses.
Renewal and transfer
The Successor Term Fee is $7,500. The standard transfer fee is 75% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee; it falls to 50% for an existing franchisee in good standing, $1,500 for specified internal/control-neutral transfers, or $3,500 for specified family transfers after death or permanent disability.
Audit, standards and supplier review
If an audit finds Gross Sales understated by 2% or more, the franchisee pays the examination cost and related expenses. An Operational Standards Violation Fee is $50–$500 per occurrence. Unapproved-item or supplier evaluation costs are actual inspection/testing costs. Back-of-house inspections can be up to $700 per visit; mystery-shopping evaluations can be up to $250 per quarter.
Insurance and default exposure
Insurance reimbursement includes the franchisor's payment plus a 10% administrative fee and expenses. Default termination can trigger liquidated damages of up to 24 months of Royalty Fees and Brand Fund Contributions. Breach of confidentiality or noncompetition can trigger $100,000 plus attorneys' fees, along with indemnification, enforcement costs and applicable taxes.
2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11–16; Item 17, pp. 34–40.
The $7,500 Successor Term Fee is only one renewal expense. Item 17 also requires the outlet to repair, upgrade or replace equipment and other Bakery Cafe assets to then-current specifications, so the refurbishment obligation may exceed the stated fee.
Does Great Harvest disclose liquid capital, net worth or financing?
The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth requirement. Item 10 also states that Great Harvest Franchising, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation.
An older official Bakery Cafe startup-facts page displays a $150,000 liquid, unencumbered cash criterion. That page also displays an outdated $35,000 franchise fee, while the March 23, 2026 FDD requires $40,000. The $150,000 figure should therefore be treated as an unconfirmed website criterion, not as a verified current FDD requirement.
Request a dated written statement of the current Liquid Capital, Net Worth, non-borrowed-fund and personal-guarantee criteria. Keep those qualifications separate from the $591,742–$871,077 Item 7 investment range: a liquidity screen is not the same as total project cost, and Net Worth is not cash available for construction or working capital.
What does the financing disclosure mean?
Any lender financing would be arranged independently and remains subject to lender underwriting. The U.S. Small Business Administration's loan overview explains that SBA-backed loans are made and approved by participating lenders, not guaranteed to a franchise applicant. The separate SBA Franchise Directory is an eligibility tool for lenders and is not an endorsement or assurance of financing.
2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 23.
What should a buyer confirm before relying on the cost range?
The official range is a disclosure framework, not a location-specific contractor bid or lender-approved budget. The most important unresolved questions are the tenant improvement allowance, technology charges, unit-by-unit multi-unit costs and the current financial-qualification screen.
Match the exact development path
Confirm whether the transaction is one Bakery Cafe, a minimum two-outlet Multi-Unit Development Agreement, a resale, or a non-traditional concept. The 2026 Item 7 table does not publish a separate non-traditional range.
Reconcile the landlord contribution
Obtain the signed tenant improvement allowance, disbursement conditions and expected reimbursement date; do not subtract the FDD's 2025 average from required cash automatically.
Get the current technology schedule
Resolve the FDD's $175–$400 versus $300–$700 monthly software-access discrepancy and list all vendor subscriptions, System Technology Fees, maintenance and upgrade obligations.
Budget every outlet separately
For multi-unit development, obtain a separate site, build-out, equipment, inventory and Additional Funds budget for each required outlet, plus the mandatory development schedule.
Confirm current qualification thresholds
Ask Great Harvest Franchising, LLC to state the current Liquid Capital, Net Worth and non-borrowed-fund standards in writing because the 2026 FDD does not disclose them and legacy official pages contain older fee figures.
Request the latest disclosure and updates
The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how Items 5–7 work and recommends obtaining the most current disclosure before signing. The FTC Franchise Rule requires a 23-item disclosure document and governs delivery timing.
Capital takeaway
For one Great Harvest Bakery Cafe, the verified 2026 starting point is $591,742 to $871,077, including $25,625 to $48,170 of Additional Funds for three months. The dominant variables are Leasehold Improvements and Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment. The buyer must also carry continuing obligations of a 5% Royalty Fee, a 2.5% Brand Fund Contribution, and monthly Local Marketing of 2% of Gross Sales or $500, whichever is greater. The most consequential open item is not the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee; it is whether the lease, build-out, technology schedule and unit-by-unit development budget fit within the disclosed assumptions.
Current brand-controlled overview of build options, real estate support and development positioning.
Official guidance on delivery, updates and requests for the most recent disclosure.
Official program uses and eligibility framework; lender approval remains separate from franchisor approval.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Great Harvest Bread Co. Franchise?
- How Does the Great Harvest Bread Co. Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Great Harvest Bread Co. Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Great Harvest Bread Co. Franchise?
- How Much Does a Great Harvest Bread Co. Franchise Owner Make?