How much does it cost to open a Great Frame Up franchise?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document lists an Estimated Initial Investment of $113,682 to $233,573 for an Original Store and $46,795 to $127,268 for a Showroom Store. The lower Showroom Store range is not a general stand-alone offer to every new applicant: the FDD describes that format as an additional location available to an existing The Great Frame Up franchisee.
The comparable range for a qualified showroom is $46,795-$127,268. Both official totals include the applicable signing fee, equipment, fixtures, opening inventory, signage, insurance, the required Grand Opening Advertising payment, and an Additional Funds category covering three months. They exclude occupancy costs and the percentage charges that begin after opening. FDD source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 8-11.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Franchise Concepts, Inc., which operates The Great Frame Up as a division and d/b/a. FDD issuance date: April 1, 2026. Formats analyzed: Original Store, Showroom Store, and the Market Unit Addendum development path. Cost evidence comes from FDD Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17 and was checked on July 16, 2026.
The franchisor's official U.S. franchise information confirms that franchise sales are made through delivery of a Franchise Disclosure Document. No matching current disclosure was located on an official franchise-controlled website, so citations below are unlinked and identified by Item and page. The federal Franchise Rule disclosure requirements explain the governing framework.
The official range is not the same as the amount of cash a lender may require, a Liquid Capital threshold, or a Net Worth requirement. The disclosure does not publish minimum financial thresholds. It also does not convert the weekly royalty or marketing charge into an annual dollar amount because both depend on the location's sales.
A buyer should also resist treating the low and high ends as two complete, internally consistent scenarios. Each line item has its own assumptions and timing. The low end of one category may not occur with the low end of another at a particular site, and the published range is not a midpoint, average, or recommended budget.
What are the key fees and capital figures?
The most decision-useful figures are the contract payment, three-month reserve, and percentage-based charges that continue after opening. The figures below come from the April 1, 2026 disclosure and apply only to the stated format or payment basis.
Item 5 also notes that an independently owned art-and-framing store may qualify for a conversion without a franchise fee under certain circumstances. The 2026 disclosure expressly states that it is not an offer under that Conversion Program, so no conversion investment range or waiver should be assumed from this document.
Why is a Showroom Store less expensive than an Original Store?
The showroom uses less equipment and inventory because framing is performed off-premises in the franchisee's main store. Its approved space is also smaller: approximately 800 to 1,200 square feet compared with 800 to 2,000 square feet for the full store. That operating relationship is why the two opening ranges should never be blended.
The smaller format's estimate also assumes that an operating main store can absorb the production work. The disclosure does not quantify any extra machinery, staffing, delivery, or workflow changes that the main store might need to support the additional sales point. Those costs should be verified rather than silently assigned to the showroom estimate.
Each bar begins at the disclosed low estimate and ends at the disclosed high estimate. The common scale runs from $0 to the full-store maximum of $233,573.
Interpretation: the showroom's high estimate is about 54.5% of the full-store maximum, but the smaller format is tied to an existing main operation. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 8-11. Percent-of-scale figures are derived only to position the bars; the labels show the official dollar ranges.
The lower range does not mean a first-time buyer can substitute the smaller format for a full store. Item 1 limits the opportunity to existing franchisees, and the opening estimate assumes reduced equipment and inventory because production occurs at the main location.
One Original Store plus two Showroom Stores creates a staged development obligation
Under the Market Unit Addendum, the franchisee pays $30,000 for the first store plus a $4,000 administrative fee for two showroom locations in one lump sum when signing. The disclosure does not publish one combined opening range for all three locations, so the separate estimates should not be added and presented as a franchisor total.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5; Item 7 Note 2, p. 9. The $34,000 signing total is a derived calculation from the two disclosed components.
What is included in the estimated initial investment?
The opening table includes the applicable signing fee, training travel where applicable, inventory, equipment, fixtures, professional design work, construction, freight, signage, miscellaneous setup expenses, insurance, required opening advertising, and a three-month reserve. It also states that the total includes an estimated $1,000 to $2,000 for consultation with an attorney or business adviser.
Several categories are broad envelopes rather than vendor quotes. For example, the equipment estimate includes the required computer systems, while the construction estimate depends on whether the premises are new or previously occupied, the availability of a landlord allowance, and local building conditions. The buyer's site package should therefore reconcile each quoted contract to the corresponding disclosed category instead of simply comparing one aggregate number.
Written quotes should use a consistent scope, payment date, tax treatment, delivery basis, and contingency assumption so partial proposals are not mistaken for complete commitments.
| Item 7 category | Original Store | Showroom Store | When due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $30,000 | $2,000 | Before execution of the Franchise Agreement |
| Travel and living expenses during initial training | $1,000-$3,800 | $0 | During training |
| Opening Inventory | $5,106-$8,873 | $5,106-$8,348 | Before opening |
| Equipment | $13,084-$35,000 | $8,489-$23,000 | Before opening |
| Fixtures | $10,000-$35,000 | $10,000-$20,000 | Before opening |
| Architect Fee | $0-$10,000 | $0-$10,000 | Before opening, if used |
| Leasehold Improvements | $12,788-$45,000 | $6,000-$25,000 | Before opening |
| Item 7 category | Original Store | Showroom Store | When due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freight and Storage | $3,633-$8,000 | $1,000-$5,000 | Before opening, as incurred |
| In-Store and Store Front Signage | $3,071-$6,000 | $2,000-$4,520 | Before opening |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $1,300-$2,000 | $1,000-$2,000 | As incurred |
| Insurance | $1,200-$2,400 | $1,200-$2,400 | Before opening |
| Grand Opening Advertising | $22,500 | $10,000 | At training |
| Additional Funds - 3 Months | $10,000-$25,000 | $0-$15,000 | After opening, as needed |
| Official Item 7 Total | $113,682-$233,573 | $46,795-$127,268 | Across the applicable opening period |
Source for both tables: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 8-11. Real Estate is listed separately in the FDD and excluded from the official Item 7 total.
The Equipment range already contains required computer systems. For the full-store path, Item 11 separately describes a $1,921-$3,775 point-of-sale system, a $500-$800 art-catalog computer, and an $800-$1,000 laptop for training; these are component disclosures, not amounts to add again to Item 7. The Initial Franchise Fee includes the training program for the franchisee and one other person, while travel, lodging, meals, and other out-of-pocket expenses remain the franchisee's responsibility. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 20 and 22.
Which full-store categories create the widest cost range?
The fixed $30,000 contract payment and $22,500 Grand Opening Advertising payment do not create low-to-high variation. The largest variable ranges are construction, equipment, fixtures, the three-month reserve, and optional professional design work.
The common scale runs from $0 to $45,000, the highest disclosed amount among the selected variable categories.
Interpretation: premises condition, landlord allowance, store configuration, and equipment choices can move the full-store investment materially within the official range. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 8-10. Percent-of-scale figures are derived only for bar placement.
When is the money paid?
The cash requirement is spread across contract signing, training, build-out, opening, and weekly operations. The largest timing trap is that the Grand Opening Advertising payment is due at training, while most premises, equipment, and inventory costs are due before opening.
- Receive and review the disclosure before paying.The current document states that it must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise buying guide explains how to use that review period.
- Pay the contract fee at signing.A new full store pays $30,000. An honorably discharged U.S. military veteran pays $25,000. An existing franchisee purchasing a second franchise or a showroom pays a $2,000 administrative fee instead of another initial franchise fee. Item 5 states that these signing fees are nonrefundable. The disclosed MUA components produce a derived $34,000 signing total: $30,000 for the first location plus $4,000 for the two showroom administrative fees.
- Fund training and the opening-advertising payment.Travel and living expenses are estimated at $1,000-$3,800 for the full-store training path. The required Grand Opening Advertising payment is made at training: $22,500 for the full store and $10,000 for a showroom.
- Pay premises and opening vendors before launch.Opening Inventory, Equipment, Fixtures, Architect Fee where applicable, Leasehold Improvements, Freight and Storage, Signage, Insurance, and most Miscellaneous Opening Costs are paid before opening or as incurred.
- Use the startup reserve during the first three months.The estimate is $10,000-$25,000 for the full store and $0-$15,000 for a showroom. It includes payroll costs, but the disclosure does not say that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included.
- Begin weekly percentage fees after opening.The 6% royalty and marketing payment are due each Monday by ACH based on revenue from the location, excluding sales tax.
For the full store, the $22,500 advertising payment is included in the opening total but is paid at training rather than gradually after opening. Note 12 says $12,500 is spent during the first 16 weeks and another $10,000 during the remainder of the first year.
Which fees continue after the store opens?
The principal continuing obligations are the weekly 6% royalty, the sales-based marketing charge, and the annual software-maintenance cost. A mat-cutter lease is recommended but not required. Percentage fees are based on revenue, not profit, and the disclosuredoes not state an annual dollar amount.
The marketing policy requires recordkeeping. A franchisee who remits 1.5% instead of the contractual 2% must be able to prove, when requested, that another 0.5% was spent locally on approved advertising during the prior calendar year. A premises lease may impose additional advertising obligations, so the local-spend evidence and landlord terms should be reviewed together.
| Fee | Amount or basis | Timing | Payment condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Sales | Each Monday by ACH | Gross Sales include all revenue from the location and exclude sales tax. |
| Marketing Fund Contribution | 2% of Gross Sales | Same as Royalty Fee | Current policy permits 1.5% remittance if the franchisee documents 0.5% of Gross Sales spent on approved local advertising. |
| Lifesaver Annual Maintenance Fee | $600-$800 per year | Monthly as arranged | Paid directly to Quilt Software for point-of-sale software maintenance. |
| Wizard Mat Cutter | $600 or less per month | Monthly as arranged | Paid to Wizard International, Inc.; recommended lease, not required. |
| Trigger | Fee | When due | Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Late Sales Report | $10 per day | With Royalty payments | Charged for each day the Sales Report is late. |
| Transfer | 25% of then-current Initial Franchise Fee | Before transfer or transferee training | No charge for transfer to a corporation the franchisee controls. |
| Audit | Audit cost plus 10% interest | 30 days after billing | Applies if an audit finds at least a 1% Gross Sales understatement for any month. |
| Policy & Procedures Manual Replacement | $500 | Upon reissue | Applies if the manual is lost or destroyed. |
| Vendor or Product Investigation | Out-of-pocket cost | On approval request | May apply when the franchisee asks the Company to review an unapproved vendor or product. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6-7; Item 11, pp. 20-21.
These operating charges should be modeled on separate schedules. The weekly percentages fluctuate with revenue, software maintenance is a fixed annual range paid through monthly vendor billing, and conditional charges arise only after a specified event. Combining all three into one flat annual estimate would obscure the different bases and timing.
What later events can create additional cost?
- Renewal may require remodeling.Item 17 does not list a fixed renewal fee, but renewal can require a remodel, education courses, a release, and a then-current Franchise Agreement with different Royalty Fee or Advertising Fund terms.
- Relocation can reopen premises costs.No relocation fee is stated. A replacement location must meet then-current site criteria, so lease, construction, signage, insurance, and approval-related costs remain variable.
- Technology upgrades are uncapped.Item 11 states there is no contractual limit on the franchisor's ability to require point-of-sale system upgrades, and the FDD cannot estimate future maintenance, update, or upgrade costs.
- Termination creates de-identification obligations.Item 17 requires payment of amounts due, payment of unredeemed gift card balances, and complete de-identification, but it does not provide a fixed dollar estimate.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 20-21; Item 12, p. 24; Item 17, pp. 30-32.
What costs are outside the official opening total?
The most important exclusion is occupancy. The opening total also excludes the weekly royalty and ongoing marketing charge. Those exclusions mean the official range should not be treated as a complete first-year cash budget.
- Real Estate CostsThe total excludes them. Note 3 separately estimates one year of rent, CAM charges, and taxes at $4,800-$80,000 for the full store and $4,800-$48,000 for a showroom.
- Royalty FeeThe 6% sales charge begins after opening and is not included in the opening total.
- Marketing Fund ContributionThe ongoing 2% obligation, or current 1.5% remittance plus documented 0.5% local advertising, is excluded from the opening total.
- Lease-specific advertisingThe premises lease may contain additional advertising requirements that Franchise Concepts, Inc. cannot estimate.
- Owner living expensesThe three-month reserve includes payroll but does not expressly include owner compensation or personal living costs.
- Future system changesRemodeling, technology upgrades, insurance changes, and required program participation may create costs that are not quantified in the opening range.
The $1,200-$2,400 Insurance estimate should be quoted against the required coverage package, including $200,000 Commercial Property Coverage; $1,000,000 each for Commercial General Liability, Umbrella Liability, and Car Coverage; $25,000 for Bailee, Marring and Scratching; and separate on- and off-premises robbery limits. Premiums can vary with the site, landlord requirements, insurer risk assessment, and applicable law. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7 Note 11, p. 11; Item 8, p. 13.
Do not add the separate annual rent range to the opening total and call the result an official total. The franchisor expressly excludes occupancy, and the rent estimate varies by location, lease terms, store area, CAM charges, taxes, and landlord assessments. The SBA's location-cost guidance provides a useful framework for verifying local rent, insurance, wage, utility, license, and permit assumptions without replacing the franchise disclosure.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The official opening range for the applicable format. It is not a promise that the store can open at the low end.
- Initial Franchise Fee
- The contract payment for the franchise rights and included initial training; it is only one part of the total investment.
- Additional Funds
- A three-month startup reserve already included in the official total, not an automatic amount to add again.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or readily available funds. No minimum threshold is stated.
- Net Worth
- Assets minus liabilities. No minimum threshold is stated, and this measure is not the same as cash available to invest.
Does The Great Frame Up finance the investment?
No franchisor financing is disclosed. Item 10 states that Franchise Concepts, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee's note, lease, or obligation. The official franchise website says the Company can connect a prospect with third-party financing sources on request, but that referral assistance is not financing by the franchisor and does not guarantee approval.
A prospective borrower may review the SBA 7(a) loan program, which can support eligible uses such as working capital, real estate improvements, equipment, fixtures, supplies, and changes of ownership. Eligibility, collateral, equity injection, credit standards, and repayment ability are determined by the lender and applicable program rules; the franchise disclosure does not represent that the brand or any applicant qualifies.
The document also does not publish minimum cash, balance-sheet, or non-borrowed-fund requirements. That absence should be treated as an open underwriting question, not as evidence that no equity is needed. Separately, each owner with a 5% or greater interest, and that owner's spouse, must assume the franchisee's obligations personally. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 16; Item 15, p. 29.
Because the franchisor does not state an applicant threshold, a buyer should obtain the lender's required equity injection, post-closing liquidity, collateral, and debt-service reserve in writing. Those underwriting conditions may exceed the low end of the opening range and may require cash that is not spent directly on construction or equipment.
What should a buyer verify before signing?
The cost decision turns on format eligibility, site economics, payment timing, and lender requirements. The current FDD provides the contract range, but several buyer-specific amounts can only be resolved with written quotes and the final agreements.
- Confirm the permitted format.Verify whether the proposal is a full store, an existing-franchisee showroom, a resale, or an MUA development commitment. Do not use the smaller-format range for an independent first unit.
- Reconcile the fee path.Confirm whether the applicable signing payment is $30,000, the $25,000 veteran fee, a $2,000 existing-franchisee administrative fee for a second franchise or showroom, or the derived $34,000 MUA signing total.
- Obtain a complete premises budget.Request lease, CAM, tax, security deposit, landlord assessment, architect, permit, bond, signage, and construction quotes. These are major sources of variation, and occupancy is excluded from the official opening total.
- Separate opening advertising from continuing marketing.The fixed opening-advertising payment is included in the opening estimate, while the continuing sales-based charge is excluded.
- Test the three-month reserve.Confirm which payroll, utilities, supplier, debt-service, and owner-living costs are covered, and whether the lender requires a larger reserve.
- Get technology and vendor quotes.Equipment must meet Company specifications, and future point-of-sale upgrade costs are not capped or estimated in the FDD.
- Model conditional obligations separately.Include potential Transfer Fees, audit costs, late-report fees, relocation work, renewal remodeling, and de-identification expenses only when the relevant trigger is plausible; do not hide them inside the opening total.
The SBA startup-cost framework can help organize one-time and monthly expenses, but the final budget should preserve the disclosure's distinctions between the opening total, the signing payment, the startup reserve, occupancy, and percentage-based continuing charges.
Decision synthesis. The central unresolved question is not the published signing fee; it is the all-in premises and funding plan for the chosen format. The official total is $113,682-$233,573 for a full store or $46,795-$127,268 for a qualified showroom, but occupancy and continuing percentage charges sit outside those ranges.