How Much Does a Grease Monkey Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Grease Monkey franchise cost?

The 2026 Grease Monkey Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $708,057 to $2,284,321 to establish and begin operating one three-bay Grease Monkey Center under current brand standards. That is the official opening total for a single agreement, not the price of a multi-unit commitment and not a separate conversion estimate.

$708,057-$2,284,321

Official 2026 Estimated Initial Investment for one three-bay Center. The range includes the $39,900 standard upfront fee and $35,000-$75,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. That reserve is already inside the total and should not be added again.

The cover states that $39,900 to $49,900 of the total may be paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. The upper amount reflects the possible $10,000 Grand Opening Costs when the franchisor elects to provide those services. Most construction, real estate, equipment, inventory and working-capital payments go to third parties. Source: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 10-12; Item 7, pp. 16-20.

Legal franchisor
Grease Monkey Franchising, LLC, a Colorado limited liability company
Document basis
U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 7, 2026; no matching public FDD was verified on an official franchise-controlled domain
Applicable format
One three-bay Grease Monkey Center using current brand standards; Multi-Unit Agreement fees are disclosed separately
Cost sections reviewed
Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17
Information checked
July 15, 2026; see official Grease Monkey U.S. franchise information

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $39,900 Standard new single-Center fee; due in full at signing.
Additional Funds $35,000-$75,000 Included in the total; first three months; excludes owner salary or draw.
Cash Available to Invest $400,000 Current official-site qualification; may be met individually or with partners.
Net Worth $600,000 Current official-site qualification; not the same as spendable cash.
Royalty Fee 6.0% The disclosed revenue base from the previous month; due on the 10th.
Minimum Multi-Unit Fee $35,000 Minimum three-Center commitment; separate from the first Center investment.

FDD metrics: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 10-12; Item 6, pp. 12-16; Item 7, pp. 16-20. Qualification metrics: official qualification page, checked July 15, 2026.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the official investment range?

The 2026 opening table contains 15 line items. The largest are the building, off-building site preparation and installed equipment categories. The official low and high line items reconcile exactly to the published $708,057 and $2,284,321 totals.

Premises, design and equipment

Cost category Official range When due Paid to
Real Estate $24,000-$125,000 As specified in the lease Third parties
Building Work $350,000-$1,200,000 As incurred Third parties
General Site Work $75,000-$450,000 As incurred Third parties
Due Diligence, Permits, Design and Plans $25,000-$80,000 As incurred Third parties
FF&E Package & Installation $87,250-$200,100 As incurred Third parties

The installed-equipment package includes storage tanks, installation, tools, vacuum, radiator-flush equipment, furniture, a transmission-fluid machine, air-conditioning equipment, tire-rotation equipment and service-pit covers.

Franchise, opening and initial operating costs

Cost category Official amount When due Paid to
Initial Franchise Fee $39,900 When the Franchise Agreement is signed Franchisor
Grand Opening Costs $10,000 As incurred; when the location is secured if franchisor provides services Franchisor or third parties
Initial Inventory $25,000-$35,000 As incurred Third parties
Signs $20,000-$40,000 As incurred Third parties
Supplies $3,000-$5,000 As incurred Third parties
Initial Training - Travel & Lodging Expenses $3,300-$6,000 As incurred Third parties
Computer Hardware and Software $7,500-$10,000 As agreed Third parties
Point of Sale Maintenance Fee $1,107-$3,321 As agreed Third parties
Prepaid Expenses $2,000-$5,000 As agreed Third parties
Additional Funds - three months $35,000-$75,000 As incurred Third parties

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 16-20. Prepaid Expenses include utility deposits, business-license fees, a 25% deposit on first-year insurance premiums and other prepaid items. Additional Funds include payroll, taxes, utilities, advertising, rent, accounting, professional fees and other operating expenses not covered by operating receipts; owner compensation is excluded.

The low end is not labeled as a normal or expected budget, and the high end is not a contractual ceiling. Each endpoint combines a consistent set of assumptions across the line items. A buyer should therefore compare bids and lease terms to the individual rows instead of selecting a midpoint and treating it as a replacement forecast.

The published total answers how much the whole project may require under the stated assumptions; it does not answer how much must remain liquid on any particular date. The signing payment, lease obligations, contractor deposits and equipment orders can be due at different times. A funding plan should map each binding commitment, deposit, progress invoice and final payment to the date when it becomes payable.

COST IMPLICATION

The lease assumption matters. The lease line assumes three months of rent plus a security deposit equal to one month of rent. The disclosure separately states that buying land for a three-bay Center may cost approximately $600,000 to $1,500,000. A land purchase is not the same cost contract as the lease-based $24,000-$125,000 line and can move the buyer outside the published total.

RANGE DRIVERS

Which costs create most of the $1.58 million spread?

Construction and off-building site preparation create most of the difference between the low and high estimates. The disclosure ties those ranges to site condition, center size, location, utility connections, demolition, concrete work, remodeling and the extent needed to meet Grease Monkey standards.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

Cash is not paid as one lump sum. The standard upfront fee is due at signing, while the lease, construction, equipment, inventory and working-capital amounts are paid over the site-development and opening period.

Sign the Franchise AgreementPay the applicable upfront fee in full. The standard new single-Center fee is $39,900 and is nonrefundable. A minimum Multi-Unit Fee is also due at signing when a Multi-Unit Agreement is used.
Secure an approved locationLease deposits and rent follow the lease. If the franchisor elects to provide opening-promotion services, the $10,000 Grand Opening Costs are due when the location is secured.
Design, permit and build the CenterBuilding Work, General Site Work, plans, permits and FF&E are generally paid as incurred or as agreed with third parties.
Prepare for openingPay for signs, Initial Inventory, supplies, computer hardware and software, training travel and lodging, insurance deposits and other prepaid expenses.
Fund the first three monthsUse the disclosed $35,000-$75,000 three-month reserve for operating expenses. The official total also contains an initial technology-maintenance allowance.

The disclosure says the typical period from signing or paying fees to opening is nine to 18 months. A conversion of an existing lubrication center usually takes two to six months, depending on the required premises, equipment and system changes. A Center must open within 270 days after site approval and no later than 18 months after the Franchise Agreement unless an extension applies. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 27-28.

For capital planning, the sequence matters as much as the total. Some payments become committed when contracts are signed, while others are drawn over construction and stocking. Several phases can overlap, so the amount still held in cash may fall faster than a simple month-by-month schedule suggests.

There is also a difference between an estimate and a payable contract. The disclosure gives planning ranges, but a signed lease, construction agreement, equipment order or loan note determines the actual amount, deposit schedule, change-order process and remedies for delay. Those documents should use the same site scope and opening calendar so that one contract does not assume work or timing omitted by another.

PAYMENT TIMING

The development period can expose the buyer to rent, financing and construction carrying costs before opening. The opening table does not provide a separate carrying-cost line beyond its lease, deposit and three-month reserve assumptions, so the lease and lender documents must be checked for costs that start before operations.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

A new 2026 agreement carries a 6.0% royalty payment, a current 0.5% system advertising contribution and a minimum 4.0% local advertising commitment. Each percentage uses the same disclosed revenue base, but the local requirement is spending in the market rather than a royalty paid to the franchisor.

Recurring payments

Royalty - 6.0% of Gross RevenuesDue on the 10th day of each month for the previous month.
Advertising Contribution - 0.5%Due with the Royalty; may be raised to 1.0% of Gross Revenues.
Local Advertising Commitment - 4.0%Minimum monthly Gross Revenues-based local spend. Approved cooperative payments are credited toward this commitment.
POS Maintenance Fee - $193-$369 per monthPaid to the approved vendor; optional modules and services can increase the amount.

Other periodic obligations

Biennial convention - currently $1,200 per personThe registration fee is charged even if the required attendee does not attend; additional attendees cost extra.
Technology upgrades and supportThe franchisee pays installation, maintenance, repairs, upgrades and replacement costs. Item 11 states no contractual frequency or cost limit.
Approved-source purchasesThe supplier section estimates approved or specified purchases at 60%-80% of establishment cost and 20%-30% of operating cost; those percentages are supplier-restriction estimates, not extra charges added to the opening total. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, p. 23.

Gross Revenues broadly includes amounts from sales connected with the Center, whether cash or credit. The stated exclusions include the discount off regular retail price for coupons or promotions and sales or service taxes collected from customers and remitted to the taxing authority. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, p. 15.

The percentage charges are calculated before deducting payroll, rent, supplies, debt service or other operating costs. The local advertising amount should be budgeted separately from the system fund because it is spent under approval rules and can include qualifying cooperative payments.

For monthly cash control, the payment date and the measurement period should be tracked separately. The royalty and system contribution are due after the month whose activity creates the charge. Local spending occurs as campaigns are purchased, while the technology vendor bills under its own agreement. This timing can create several payments in the same week even though they arise under different obligations.

DEVELOPMENT PATH

How does a multi-unit commitment change the upfront cost?

A Multi-Unit Agreement requires a commitment to open at least three Grease Monkey Centers. The buyer pays the applicable Initial Franchise Fee for the first Center and a minimum $35,000 Multi-Unit Fee for the second and third Centers when the agreements are signed.

Grease Monkey minimum three-Center development structure

The development payment is composed of $20,000 for the second Center and $15,000 for the third. Each further committed Center adds $15,000. The payment is nonrefundable, even if a Center is not opened, but the applicable portion is credited to the later franchise fee when the Center is developed according to schedule.

18 months

Typical deadline to open the first Center.

36 months

Typical deadline to open the second Center.

54 months

Typical deadline to open the third Center.

Important boundary: the $35,000 chart is only the minimum development payment. It does not include the separate investment needed to develop each Center, and the agreement does not grant a protected development area.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 11-12; Item 7, pp. 20-21.

A credit against a later franchise fee is not a refund of the development payment. Missing a deadline can leave the payment nonrefundable while the buyer still has lease, professional and site-search costs. The schedule should be tested against the time required to approve and build each location.

Fee reductions are conditional

The standard $39,900 upfront fee is not the only Item 5 amount, but the reductions are narrow. An existing compliant franchisee securing a new additional location may pay $20,000. An existing compliant franchisee converting an operating independent business may pay $10,000. An eligible U.S. military veteran, first responder or qualifying spouse may pay $29,900 for a single Center, subject to documentation and at least 50% ownership. Discounts cannot be combined, may be changed or discontinued, and do not reduce construction, real estate, equipment or working-capital costs.

Official-site difference: the financial information page, checked July 15, 2026, describes $20,000 for a Conversion Owner's first converted location and $10,000 for each additional converted location. Item 5 of the April 7, 2026 disclosure states the $10,000 conversion fee for an existing compliant franchisee adding an open and operating independent business. This article preserves the FDD wording; a conversion buyer should obtain the applicable fee in writing before signing.

CONDITIONAL COSTS

Which fees can be triggered after the initial investment?

Item 6 adds fees that arise only after a transfer, renewal, payment default, compliance event, extra training request or supplier review. They are outside the basic opening total unless an initial payment is expressly listed there.

Ownership and contract events

Transfer Fee - $10,000A $1,000 nonrefundable deposit is due with the transfer application and the remainder at the approved transfer. An unopened Center under a Multi-Unit Agreement is $2,000 per Center; the fee may rise with CPI.
Transferee Training Fee - $2,500Due before the transfer, plus the transferee's travel and lodging for up to two trainees.
Renewal Fee - $0-$5,000The current fee is $5,000. With at least six months' notice, it is waived for the disclosed 15-year successor agreement or reduced to $2,500 for the disclosed five-year term with an automatic five-year extension.
Transfer Assistance Program - $5,000Applies only if franchisor assistance is requested and is additional to any broker commission, finder fee or similar charge.

Compliance, payment and support events

Additional Training - $500 per trainer per dayMay apply to extra people, new personnel, refresher courses, advanced courses or special assistance, plus the franchisee's travel costs.
Noncompliance Service Charge - $1,000 per eventMay be imposed for a standards or Franchise Agreement violation, depending on the type of noncompliance.
Insurance procurement - cost plus 20%If required insurance is not maintained, the franchisor may buy coverage and charge the premium plus a 20% administration charge.
Supplier and Product Evaluation - approximately $100-$500May apply when the franchisor inspects a product, service or proposed supplier nominated by the franchisee.
Late payment and audit exposureLate charge: $25. Interest: the lesser of 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate. Audit costs can be charged when Gross Revenues are understated by more than 2% or records and reports are not supplied.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 13-16; Item 17, pp. 43-46. Professional fees, indemnification, insufficient-funds charges and broker fees vary by circumstance and are not capped as fixed startup amounts.

FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth is required?

As checked July 15, 2026, the official franchise site lists $400,000 of cash available to invest and $600,000 of Net Worth. The site says the cash threshold may be met individually or with partners. These are current screening qualifications, not extra Item 7 line items and not a replacement for the $708,057-$2,284,321 opening range.

The 2026 disclosure itself does not publish a numeric Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold in Items 5, 6 or 7, although it requires existing franchisees seeking additional Centers to satisfy then-current qualification standards. The website figures are therefore an official supplemental fact that should be rechecked when applying. That balance-sheet measure reflects assets minus liabilities; it is not the same as cash available to fund deposits, construction draws and early operating expenses. See the current qualification page.

The screening test and the project budget answer different questions. Meeting a minimum screen does not establish that the applicant can fund a site near the top of the opening range, absorb a change order or satisfy a lender's required equity contribution. Conversely, a valuable asset that supports the balance-sheet test may not be readily convertible into money when a contractor invoice or equipment deposit is due. The website's statement that the available-cash amount may be met with partners also does not specify ownership percentages, guarantee terms or how each person's funds must be documented. Those details belong in the application, financing commitment and signed agreements.

A practical funding schedule should separate money already available, loan proceeds expected at closing, construction draws released later and the reserve intended for the first operating months. It should also identify which expenses are eligible for financing and which must be paid from the buyer's own funds. This prevents the same dollars from being counted once toward qualification and again as though they remain untouched for later invoices.

Item 10 says the franchisor does not offer direct or indirect Financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. The equipment disclosure says third-party financing may be available to a creditworthy applicant, but availability depends on creditworthiness, collateral, lender policies and market conditions. That is not a promise of approval.

The investment range also does not state how much of the project may be borrowed or what equity contribution a lender will require. A financing proposal therefore needs to be reconciled against the payment dates, the lease obligations and any costs that a lender excludes from eligible project uses.

Sources: official Grease Monkey financial information, checked July 15, 2026; 2026 FDD, Items 5-7, pp. 10-20; Item 10, p. 26; Item 7 financing notes, pp. 17-19.

A lender may also require reserves, collateral, guarantees, interest during construction or evidence that overruns can be funded. None of those buyer-specific terms can be inferred from the disclosed range. They belong in the loan commitment and should be compared with the contractor draw schedule and the deadline for opening.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The initial-investment table lists $1,107-$3,321 for the Point of Sale Maintenance Fee and says the investment includes the first three months. The fee table and technology section state a current ongoing vendor fee of $193-$369 per month. Those figures do not reconcile through simple three-month multiplication. Confirm the assumed number of licenses, terminals, services and billed months before relying on either amount. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17 and 19; Item 6, p. 13; Item 11, p. 32.

Buyer verification checklist

Confirm the site contractIdentify whether the budget uses a lease, land purchase, ground lease or landlord-funded tenant improvements. The official total assumes leased real estate.
Obtain a location-specific construction scopeSeparate building construction from off-building site preparation, utility connections, demolition, permits, design, steel-sensitive equipment and zoning-driven sign costs.
Reconcile technology chargesAsk the approved POS vendor to state equipment, software, maintenance, module, installation and upgrade charges by month and terminal.
Test the three-month operating reserveConfirm that payroll, rent, utilities, local advertising, insurance and professional-fee assumptions fit the selected market; owner salary is not included.
Separate single-unit and development paymentsDo not add a minimum development payment to one Center's opening total and assume it covers the later Centers' construction and opening costs.
Use the current documentsThe federal disclosure timing rule generally requires the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing or payment. Review the current agreements and applicable state addenda, not a directory summary.
CAPITAL TAKEAWAY

What is the practical cost boundary?

The verified 2026 range is $708,057 to $2,284,321 for one leased, three-bay Center using current standards. Construction and site preparation are the main variables; land ownership can create a different real-estate contract; the operating reserve covers only the first three months and excludes owner compensation; and percentage, technology and conditional charges continue beyond opening. The official site's current cash and balance-sheet screens do not replace the project budget. The most important unresolved questions are the location-specific construction scope, the lender's required equity contribution and the POS assumptions behind the initial disclosed amount.