2026 ITEM 7 INVESTMENT
How much does a Gold's Gym franchise cost?
A new 25,000-square-foot Gold's Gym Facility requires an estimated initial investment of $2,356,000 to $5,162,000. That is the official range in Gold's Gym Franchise LLC's May 13, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document for the standard U.S. Facility model. It includes the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee and three months of Additional Funds, but excludes the purchase of real estate and optional Studio Program costs that Item 7 identifies separately.
Estimated Initial Investment for a newly constructed 25,000-square-foot Gold's Gym Facility. The official total reconciles to the Item 7 line items and excludes real estate purchase costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12-16.
Legal franchisor: Gold's Gym Franchise LLC. Document: 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued May 13, 2026. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 1, 8, 10, 11 and 17. Applicable offer: a Gold's Gym-branded health club, called a Gold's Gym Facility, plus optional Gold's Fit and Gold's Burn Studio Programs and a separate Development Rights Agreement. Information checked July 14, 2026. The brand's current U.S. offer is also described on the official Gold's Gym franchise page.
Corporate identity reference: Gold's Gym Franchise LLC identifies RSG Group USA Inc. as its immediate parent and RSG Group GmbH as its ultimate parent in the 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 1-3. RSG Group also identifies Gold's Gym as a portfolio brand on its official Gold's Gym brand profile.
The official franchise webpage displayed a lower $1,793,500-$4,537,000 range when checked July 14, 2026. Because that webpage figure does not match the later May 13, 2026 FDD, this article uses the 2026 FDD for the investment, fee floors and payment terms. A prospective franchisee should ask Gold's Gym Franchise LLC to reconcile the webpage before relying on it.
The disclosed range is a project-cost envelope, not a statement that the entire amount is due on signing or that a lender will fund every category. Deposits and agreement payments arrive early, while contractor draws, equipment invoices and opening expenses follow the development schedule. The disclosure does not prescribe a lender draw sequence or state how much equity must remain unborrowed.
The low and high bounds also belong to one defined model: a newly constructed 25,000-square-foot facility. A smaller site, a larger site or a conversion may produce different bids, but the current disclosure does not publish a second complete range for those circumstances. The safest comparison is therefore between the buyer's site-specific budget and the stated assumptions, rather than between unrelated website estimates.
Capital snapshot
Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed; normally nonrefundable.
Included in Item 7 for the first three months after opening; excludes owner draw or salary.
Greater of 5% of monthly Facility Gross Revenue or $2,000 per month.
Greater of 2% of monthly Facility Gross Revenue or $1,350 per month.
For a two- to five-Facility commitment; later franchise-fee credits apply.
WHAT THE RANGE INCLUDES
What is included in the 2026 Gold's Gym initial investment?
The Item 7 total covers the Initial Franchise Fee, premises-related payments, construction, exercise equipment, signage, opening inventory, technology, pre-opening marketing, miscellaneous opening costs and three months of Additional Funds. The low and high totals are the exact sums of the disclosed line-item bounds. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12-16.
Agreement, rent and build-out
| Expenditure | Disclosed amount | When paid | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $40,000 | When signing the Franchise Agreement | Paid to Gold's Gym Franchise LLC; a qualified first-time Veteran may receive the separate Item 5 reduction. |
| Three months' rent | $52,500-$320,000 | Under the lease or sublease | Based on a newly constructed 25,000-square-foot Facility; site size, condition, location and demand drive the range. |
| Lease security deposit | $17,500-$110,000 | When signing the lease or sublease | Typically refundable if lease obligations are satisfied; terms remain landlord-specific. |
| Leasehold Improvements and construction | $1,500,000-$3,125,000 | As incurred | Item 7 assumes $60-$125 per square foot. A landlord may fund part of the work, depending on the lease. |
Veteran Discount: a qualifying new franchisee receives a 20% reduction of the Initial Franchise Fee, from $40,000 to $32,000, for the first Franchise Agreement only. The veteran must have an honorable discharge or release, and a business entity must be more than 50% veteran-owned. The reduction does not apply to later Franchise Agreements, existing franchisees, renewals or extensions. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5-6.
Equipment, signage and systems
| Expenditure | Disclosed amount | When paid | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Selectorized equipment and free weights | $425,000-$850,000 | As incurred | The FDD cites $17-$34 per square foot for this equipment category. |
| Cardiovascular equipment | $160,000-$275,000 | As incurred | The FDD recommends at least 35 cardiovascular machines; leasing instead of purchasing may change cash timing. |
| Signage | $40,000-$85,000 | As incurred | Covers exterior and interior signs; optional studio-add-on signs are outside the base range. |
| Initial inventory, other equipment and supplies | $7,000-$40,000 | As incurred | Includes printed materials, office supplies and opening inventories of vitamins, supplements and sportswear. |
| Computer System and Gym Management System | $10,000-$25,000 | As incurred | Includes the first three months of ongoing Gym Management System fees in the official estimate. |
Training, launch and working capital
| Expenditure | Disclosed amount | When paid | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Training travel and living expenses | $4,000-$7,000 | As incurred | Initial instruction for two people has no additional training fee, but travel and living expenses still apply; more attendees may add fees. |
| Advertising and marketing | $50,000-$120,000 | Before and after opening | Includes an approved membership presale program, grand-opening activity and local marketing during the first months. |
| Miscellaneous opening costs | $10,000-$65,000 | As incurred | Includes licenses, legal and accounting expenses, utilities and deposits, insurance and prepaid expenses. |
| Additional Funds - three months | $40,000-$100,000 | After opening, as incurred | Covers startup operating expenses such as payroll, laundry, janitorial services and miscellaneous supplies, but not owner compensation. |
How do selected major Item 7 ranges compare?
Leasehold Improvements dominate this selected comparison. The chart uses the same $0-$3.125 million scale for six decision-relevant variable categories and displays every plotted low and high value.
Official figures; no midpoint or assumed budget is plotted. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12-16.
The $2,356,000-$5,162,000 total does not include buying land or a building, constructing a building on purchased real estate, finance charges, interest, debt service, or the optional Studio Program equipment and signage described separately. A conversion of an existing health club may cost less, but the 2026 FDD does not provide a separate conversion range.
These bounds should not be treated as interchangeable menu prices. The lower construction figure may depend on a favorable building condition or landlord contribution, while the lower rent figure may come from a different market. A site budget should preserve the assumptions behind each quote and should not combine unrelated low values merely to reproduce the official minimum.
The three-month operating allowance is already included in the total. Adding it again would overstate the published range. Conversely, the allowance is not a promise that three months will be sufficient: the disclosure expressly says startup expenses may exceed the estimate, and it excludes any draw or salary for the owner.
CASH MILESTONES
When is the Gold's Gym startup money paid?
The capital is not paid as one check. The Initial Franchise Fee is due at signing, lease payments follow site approval and lease execution, construction and equipment costs arise during development, and Additional Funds are used during the first three months after opening. The FDD estimates about 180 days from signing to opening if an accepted site and signed lease already exist, or about 12 to 18 months if the franchisee still needs to find a site. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7 and 11, pp. 5-6, 12-16 and 24-35.
-
1Sign the franchise documents.
Pay the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee. If applicable, pay $500 per optional Studio Program and the $10,000-$40,000 Development Fee when the related addendum or agreement is signed.
-
2Secure an accepted site and lease.
Pay the lease security deposit when the lease or sublease is signed, then pay rent under the lease. If no accepted site exists at signing, the FDD generally requires site acceptance and an accepted lease within nine months.
-
3Fund construction and Operating Assets.
Leasehold Improvements, exercise equipment, signage, inventory, the Computer System and the Gym Management System are paid to contractors and approved or designated suppliers as incurred.
-
4Pay training and presale expenses.
Travel and living expenses arise during management training. The approved membership presale program normally occurs during the 60 days before the soft opening and requires $25,000 within the disclosed marketing budget.
-
5Carry the first three operating months.
Use the included $40,000-$100,000 Additional Funds range for disclosed startup expenses. Royalty and Marketing Contribution payments begin based on Gross Revenue recognized from presale through the month before the first payment.
For cash planning, the most important distinction is between committed cost and immediate cash. A signed lease can create obligations before construction begins, equipment deposits may precede delivery, and presale spending occurs before member workouts start. The official timeline therefore supports a month-by-month sources-and-uses schedule rather than a single opening-date balance.
The FDD cover states that a prospective franchisee must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the sale. The disclosure framework is described in the FTC Franchise Rule and the current 16 CFR Part 436.
FORMAT-SPECIFIC COSTS
How do Studio Programs and multi-unit rights change the capital commitment?
Gold's Fit, Gold's Burn and a Development Rights Agreement create separate obligations that should not be blended into the standard Facility range. Studio Programs are optional add-ons with equipment, technology, signage, training and software costs. Development rights require an upfront fee for a two- to five-Facility schedule, while each Facility still carries its own Item 7 investment.
Two distinct cost paths outside the base Facility table
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 5-6 and 12-16.
Optional Gold's Fit and Gold's Burn
- $500 Initial Studio Program Fee per program.
- Approximately $30,000 of Gold's Fit equipment and/or $31,000 of Gold's Burn equipment.
- Approximately $4,700-$5,200 of extra Studio Program signage, depending on the programs selected.
- Approximately $8,000 of Gold's Fit A/V equipment and/or $9,000 of Gold's Burn A/V equipment.
- Approximately $500 of additional information-technology components.
- Training is $250 per trainee; field-based instruction requires at least five trainees ($1,250) plus $1,500-$3,000 of estimated instructor travel.
The first three months of studio software, $300-$750 in the FDD estimate, are included in Additional Funds. The other listed optional expenditures are not included in the standard Facility total.
Development Rights Agreement
The fee is paid in a lump sum when the Development Rights Agreement is signed and is nonrefundable. Gold's Gym Franchise LLC then applies $10,000 credits against the Initial Franchise Fee for each later agreement after the first, up to the Development Fee paid.
The credits affect payment allocation; they do not eliminate the separate capital required to develop each Gold's Gym Facility.
ONGOING FEES
Which Gold's Gym fees continue after opening?
The two principal recurring payments are a Royalty Fee and a Marketing Contribution, each subject to a monthly minimum. They are normally withdrawn on the monthly Payment Day, currently the 15th. A local Cooperative contribution and approved local marketing may create additional marketing obligations, while Gym Management System and payment-processing charges are paid to the approved supplier. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 11, pp. 7-12 and 24-35.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | What matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of 5% of Gross Revenue or $2,000/month | Monthly, currently the 15th | Begins with Gross Revenue recognized during presale and operation. |
| Marketing Contribution | Greater of 2% of Gross Revenue or $1,350/month | Monthly, currently the 15th | Paid to the Marketing Fund; separate from the Marketing Spending Requirement. The rate may increase after the vote specified in the FDD. |
| Cooperative contribution | Up to 3% of Gross Revenue | As the Cooperative determines | Applies only if a Cooperative is established for the Facility's area. |
| Marketing Spending Requirement | Up to 3% of quarterly Gross Revenue | Each calendar quarter | Covers approved local marketing and Cooperative contributions; the Marketing Contribution does not count toward it. |
| Gym Management System support | $300-$500/month | Under supplier agreement | FDD estimate for maintenance, support, upgrades and updates; payment processing is approximately 3% of billed revenue. |
| Studio reservation software | $200/month | While participating | Required only for an optional Studio Program. |
Monthly minimum floors in the 2026 FDD
These bars compare fixed minimums on a common $0-$2,000 monthly scale. The percentage formula controls whenever it produces a higher payment.
Official monthly minimums, not estimated annual costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7-12.
Gross Revenue is broadly defined and includes revenue recognized during membership presale. The limited stated exclusions include collected and remitted sales or use taxes and bona fide refunds or credits provided during the calculation month. The FDD does not permit converting these percentage fees into a projected annual dollar amount without actual Facility Gross Revenue.
The minimum floors matter most during low-volume months because they remain payable even when the percentage calculation would be lower. They should be modeled as monthly contractual obligations, not multiplied into a claimed annual cost for an unknown operation. Cooperative and local-spending requirements also need separate tracking because one payment does not automatically satisfy the other.
CONDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS
Which fees arise only after a transfer, default or other event?
Item 6 includes several fees that are not part of normal monthly operations but can become material when a specific event occurs. Some are fixed; others reimburse actual costs or use a contractual formula. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7-12.
$2,500 for a non-control transfer or $10,000 for a control transfer, due before completion.
50% of the then-current standard Initial Franchise Fee; the FDD's current example is $20,000.
$500 per default per month while the default remains uncured.
$100 administrative fee plus 1.5% monthly interest or the highest lawful rate, whichever is lower.
Franchisor cost, estimated at $300-$500 per inspection, when reinspection or an evaluation is required.
Franchisor cost, estimated at $500-$5,000, for evaluation, travel and testing.
Actual out-of-pocket costs incurred to inspect a proposed new site, invoiced when relocation is requested.
Audit costs may apply after late reporting or a 2% or greater understatement; insurance premiums and costs apply if the franchisor obtains required coverage.
3% of Gross Revenue plus direct out-of-pocket costs if the franchisor temporarily operates the Facility under specified circumstances.
Termination Damages vary under the Franchise Agreement formula; the FDD does not provide a single fixed dollar amount.
Additional, supplemental or refresher training is currently $500 per person per session. Annual convention registration is currently $500, plus required travel and living expenses.
Item 6 also requires reimbursement of certain costs and attorneys' fees arising from non-compliance and indemnification amounts based on actual liability and costs. Except where the FDD states otherwise, Item 6 fees are nonrefundable.
Several of these obligations cannot be priced at the application stage because they depend on later conduct, third-party invoices or the remaining contract term. They belong in a contingency register rather than in the opening subtotal. A fixed transfer charge can be scheduled precisely; an uncapped remodel, indemnification claim or termination formula cannot.
Renewal, relocation and Facility Upgrades remain open-ended
The Franchise Agreement term is 10 years. One successor franchise may be available if the stated conditions are met, but the franchisee must satisfy then-current standards, pay the applicable renewal fee and may have to renovate, remodel, expand or relocate the Facility. Item 8 also allows Gold's Gym Franchise LLC to require one substantial Facility Upgrade during the term, including replacement of a material portion of Operating Assets. The 2026 FDD does not state a dollar cap for these capital expenditures. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 8 and 17, pp. 17-21 and 46-50.
FUNDING QUALIFICATIONS
Does Gold's Gym state a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. The official franchise application asks applicants to select Liquid Capital and Net Worth bands, but those fields are screening ranges, not published approval thresholds. They should not be treated as substitutes for the $2,356,000-$5,162,000 Estimated Initial Investment.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The Item 7 range for opening and carrying a standard Facility through the initial three-month operating period.
- Liquid Capital
- Cash or readily available funds. The official franchise application displays bands below $400,000, $400,000-$1,000,000 and above $1,000,000, but does not label one band as a minimum.
- Net Worth
- Assets less liabilities, not the same as cash available for construction, equipment and opening expenses. The application displays bands below $1,000,000, $1,000,000-$3,000,000 and above $3,000,000 without stating a minimum.
- Financing
- Item 10 states that Gold's Gym Franchise LLC offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. The official webpage says the franchise team can assist through a lender network, but the lender makes the credit decision and approval is not guaranteed.
Because no approval threshold is published, the application bands should be read as information requested by the franchise team, not as evidence that a particular band is sufficient. A prospective owner still has to reconcile available cash, pledged collateral, construction contingencies and the timing of debt proceeds with the complete site budget.
The Item 7 total also excludes finance charges, interest and debt service. A borrower therefore needs a financing model that keeps those costs separate from the franchisor's official startup range. For interpretation of disclosure obligations, the FTC's Franchise Rule Compliance Guide explains the federal disclosure framework; it does not validate a particular applicant's capital structure.
BUYER VERIFICATION
Which cost assumptions should be verified before signing?
The main unresolved variables are the site, landlord contribution, construction scope, equipment acquisition method, optional Studio Programs, local marketing structure and future system upgrades. These points determine whether a buyer lands near the low end or high end of the FDD range, or incurs costs outside it.
A usable verification schedule should identify the responsible payee, the document that creates the obligation, the due date, the refund terms and the condition that changes the amount. It should also separate signed commitments from preliminary quotations and note which quotations expire before the expected construction draw. This prevents an apparently complete budget from omitting deposits, freight, installation, professional services or later change orders that were not included in a vendor's headline price.
- Confirm the applicable Facility plan. Item 7 assumes a newly constructed 25,000-square-foot Facility; the official website describes broader domestic footprints, and a conversion has no separate disclosed range.
- Price the accepted lease. Verify base rent, deposit, tenant-improvement allowance, delivery condition, rent commencement and responsibility for structural work.
- Reconcile the construction estimate. Test the approved plans against the FDD's $60-$125 per-square-foot Leasehold Improvements range and identify work outside the contractor quote.
- Separate purchase and lease cash flows. Item 7 notes that leasing exercise equipment can change the disclosed equipment cost pattern.
- Document every optional studio election. Add the applicable the selected studio fees, equipment, A/V, signage, training, travel and software without double-counting the first three software months already included in Additional Funds.
- Identify required suppliers. Item 8 estimates that approved, designated or specification-based purchases represent about 85%-95% of establishment purchases and about 75% of operating purchases.
- Check local marketing mechanics. Determine whether a Cooperative exists and distinguish its contribution and approved local spending from the separate Marketing Contribution.
- Model post-opening technology and future capital work. Include Gym Management System support, payment processing, possible system replacement and the uncapped Facility Upgrade, renewal, remodel or relocation obligations.
The largest disclosed variable is Leasehold Improvements, but the largest unpriced exposure may be real estate purchase, financing, or a later required Facility Upgrade. Those obligations are not resolved by selecting the low end of the official Item 7 range.
CAPITAL TAKEAWAY
What is the practical Gold's Gym cost conclusion?
The verified 2026 startup range is $2,356,000 to $5,162,000 for the standard newly constructed 25,000-square-foot Gold's Gym Facility, excluding real estate purchase and specified optional Studio Program costs. Construction, exercise equipment and site economics drive most of the range. The $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component, and neither Liquid Capital nor Net Worth is stated as a fixed minimum in the current FDD.
After opening, the franchisee pays a Royalty Fee equal to the greater of 5% of Gross Revenue or $2,000 per month and a Marketing Contribution equal to the greater of 2% of Gross Revenue or $1,350 per month, plus applicable local marketing, technology and event-triggered obligations. The decision-critical question is therefore not only whether the buyer can fund the official total, but whether the site plan, lease, financing and optional program choices remain within the documented capital structure.