How much does a Godfather's Pizza franchise cost?
Godfather's Pizza has four separate U.S. investment ranges, not one interchangeable startup figure. The January 16, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued by Godfather's Pizza, Inc. estimates $711,450-$1,344,340 for a new full-service restaurant, $525,450-$903,075 for a new delivery/carryout restaurant, $155,525-$366,000 for a new convenience store or other non-traditional location, and $159,850-$652,840 to purchase an existing company-operated location.
The correct capital figure depends on the unit format and transaction. A full-service build, a delivery/carryout build, a non-traditional Express unit, and a purchase from GPI have materially different premises, equipment, inventory, and financing assumptions.
Data basis: legal franchisor Godfather's Pizza, Inc.; U.S. FDD issued January 16, 2026; Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, 12, and 17. The startup tables cover full service, delivery/carryout, non-traditional, and existing-unit purchase formats. Information and public pages were checked July 20, 2026.
No matching public 2026 FDD was found on the franchisor's website when checked. FDD references in this article therefore remain unlinked by Item and page. Current format descriptions and financial qualifications are available as official franchise information. On the check date, that page's program cards match the current investment ranges, but a lower FAQ block still displays older approximate figures and a different delivery/carryout fee; the current FDD controls the figures below.
Total investment ranges by unit format
The bars use a $0-$1,344,340 scale. Each segment begins at the disclosed minimum and ends at the disclosed maximum; no midpoint or typical cost is inferred.
What is included in each official investment range?
The 2026 startup totals include franchisor payments, advertising, equipment, opening inventory, three months of rent, buildout, insurance, miscellaneous opening costs, signs, initial training, and a three-month operating allowance. The amounts differ sharply by format, and the existing-unit table includes buildout in its equipment amount.
Franchisor and early opening payments
These amounts explain the checks paid to the franchisor or the first fixed pre-opening categories. The development fee is stated as $3,000 per location; the official new-unit totals use a three-location development assumption.
| Cost entity | Full service | Delivery/carryout | Non-traditional | Existing unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Development Fee Per location under the development contract |
$3,000/unit | $3,000/unit | $3,000/unit | Not applicable |
| Initial Franchise Fee | $0-$25,000 | $0-$20,000 | $0-$7,500 | $0-$25,000 |
| Site Submission Deposit | $3,000 | $3,000 | $3,000 | Not applicable |
| Continuing Fee Deposit | $0-$5,000 | $0-$5,000 | $0-$1,000 | $0-$5,000 |
|
Advertising Includes initial promotional kit |
$2,000-$10,000 | $2,000-$10,000 | $2,000-$10,000 | $2,000-$10,000 |
| Insurance | $9,450-$29,040 | $9,450-$25,775 | $7,625-$20,700 | $9,450-$29,040 |
|
Misc. Opening Costs Security deposits, utility costs, incorporation fees |
$12,500 | $12,500 | $12,500 | $12,500 |
Initial-fee reductions: GPI may reduce the initial fee to encourage additional development. An honorably discharged U.S. veteran who meets GPI's normal financial and operational qualifications may receive a $10,000 reduction from the maximum fee for a full-service or delivery/carryout location. The disclosed veteran program addresses the full-service and delivery/carryout maximum fees; it does not state a non-traditional reduction. No fee reduction lowers the other startup categories. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 5-6.
Premises, equipment, inventory, and operating runway
The largest range drivers are the physical restaurant and the first three months of operations. The three-month rent and three-month allowance are already inside the official total; they should not be added a second time.
| Cost entity | Full service | Delivery/carryout | Non-traditional | Existing unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment | $225,000-$400,000 | $175,000-$300,000 | $50,000-$130,000 | $25,000-$300,000 |
| Opening Inventory | $34,000-$73,000 | $25,000-$70,000 | $6,000-$15,000 | $9,000-$15,000 |
|
Lease of Real Estate Three months |
$12,000-$50,000 | $5,000-$20,000 | $3,000-$4,500 | $7,400-$36,000 |
| Leasehold Improvements | $300,000-$500,000 | $180,000-$300,000 | $24,000-$32,000 | Included with equipment |
| Signs | $10,000-$20,000 | $10,000-$20,000 | $5,000-$15,000 | $0-$12,500 |
| Initial Training | $4,500-$7,800 | $4,500-$7,800 | $3,400-$5,800 | $4,500-$7,800 |
|
Additional Funds Three months; includes payroll and food costs |
$90,000-$200,000 | $90,000-$100,000 | $30,000-$100,000 | $90,000-$200,000 |
Largest disclosed full-service cost ranges
This chart isolates six full-service categories on a $0-$500,000 scale to show which startup lines create most of the disclosed capital spread.
For the full-service format, buildout and equipment together account for the two largest disclosed ranges. A site-specific construction scope and approved-equipment quote are therefore more decision-useful than treating the $1,344,340 ceiling as a universal budget.
Why does the Area Development Fee need a separate check?
The 2026 FDD states a normally non-refundable Area Development Fee of $3,000 per location, generally paid in one lump sum when the development contract is signed and usually credited against initial fees. Item 7 says each new-unit total assumes three locations, but Item 12 states that the development contract requires at least five traditional locations or three non-traditional units. GPI also may require a developer to open one full-service unit before adding delivery/carryout or non-traditional units.
The three-location total assumption
$3,000 per location, usually due at development contract signing. The amount may vary with the size and location of the development area.
The FDD cover describes a $3,000 Development Fee for one location in the higher figure for each new-unit category.
The new-unit totals reconcile only when $9,000 is included, reflecting three locations at $3,000 each.
The FDD states at least five traditional locations or three non-traditional units under the development contract.
The cover summary, the startup-table arithmetic, and the development minimum do not align. The disclosed totals mathematically use $9,000, so preserve those official totals, but request a written calculation for the exact Development Fee, number of committed locations, fee credits, and opening schedule before using the range for a multi-unit capital plan.
When is the startup money paid?
Godfather's Pizza does not collect the entire startup total at one moment. Franchisor payments occur at defined contract or approval events, while rent, construction, equipment, inventory, insurance, signs, and operating expenses are paid to landlords, contractors, vendors, employees, suppliers, and utilities as incurred.
Development agreement signing: when applicable, the Development Fee is paid in a lump sum at $3,000 per committed location. It is normally non-refundable and is usually applied to initial fees for agreed locations.
Site submission: pay the $3,000 Site Submission Deposit when a proposed site is submitted. GPI returns it if the site is rejected, credits it to the initial fee if the location opens within one year after approval, and may retain it if the location does not open within that period.
Franchise Agreement delivery: the initial fee is due within five days after the agreement is received for signature. The maximum is $25,000 for full service, $20,000 for delivery/carryout, and $7,500 for that non-traditional format.
Initial fee payment: the Continuing Fee Deposit is paid with the initial fee: up to $5,000 for a traditional location, including delivery/carryout, and up to $1,000 for that non-traditional format. GPI may waive it in specified circumstances.
Training: any $1,000-per-person traditional training fee or $500-per-person non-traditional fee is due before training begins. The franchisee also pays travel, meals, lodging, and workers' compensation insurance. The training line assumes fees for two trainees.
Buildout and opening: equipment is generally paid when ordered; construction and advertising are paid as incurred; inventory, insurance, signs, and miscellaneous opening costs are paid as purchased; rent is monthly; the three-month allowance is spent during the first three months.
Which fees continue after the restaurant opens?
The central recurring obligation is the Continuing Fee. For a traditional location, including delivery/carryout, the 2026 FDD separates it into a Royalty Fee equal to the greater of 3.25% of Net Sales or $175 per week, plus Service Compensation on the same basis. For a non-traditional unit, each component is the greater of 3.25% of the same sales base or $75 per week. Combined, the two disclosed components equal 6.5% of that base, subject to a $350 traditional or $150 non-traditional weekly minimum.
Net Sales include sales through third-party aggregators and exclude sales taxes and certain cash collections already counted when credit was extended. Continuing Fees are due on the Wednesday after each week ends.
| Ongoing cost | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing Fees | Two 3.25% components on the disclosed sales base, each subject to a weekly minimum | Weekly, Wednesday after the week ends | $175 minimum per component for traditional; $75 per component for non-traditional |
| Advertising expenditure | 5% of weekly Net Sales | Ongoing | Applies to full service, delivery/carryout, and non-traditional units |
| Advertising Fund Contribution | Up to 2% of weekly Net Sales unless increased by majority vote | Weekly if the fund is established | Payments to the fund or a cooperative reduce the ordinary 5% advertising expenditure |
| Cooperative Advertising | Pro rata share of media cost | When media outlets require payment | Some markets may require total advertising spending above 5% |
| POS software | About $325/month traditional or $300/month non-traditional, plus $10/month per location for Live Maps | Monthly | Item 11 estimate; vendor pricing can change |
| Marketing materials and rewards programs | Actual vendor or GPI charges | As incurred | Can include extra promotional items, loyalty program operation, and reward redemption costs |
Deposit replenishment: the amount needed to restore the initial deposit is due within ten days after notice.
Audit: the franchisee pays the audit cost when an audit finds an underpayment of 5% or more; GPI pays when the underpayment is below 5%.
Late payment: interest accrues from the due date at the highest legal open-account business-credit rate, capped at 1.5% per month.
Rejected payment: a $25 fee applies to each dishonored check or failed electronic funds transfer.
Tax reimbursement: the franchisee reimburses specified state taxes assessed against GPI on initial or continuing fees, due within 30 days after notice.
Reduced-fee default trigger: if a franchisee is paying below 6.5%, specified defaults or a competing food operation can permit GPI to raise the Continuing Fee to 6.5% of the disclosed sales base.
Indemnification: the franchisee must reimburse GPI's costs for covered claims arising from operation of the location.
How much liquid capital and net worth are required?
The 2026 FDD does not state a Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. The current official franchise page separately publishes a $350,000 minimum Net Worth and says $200,000 should be liquid for Traditional, Delivery/Carryout, and Express candidates. It excludes a personal residence and personal property from that threshold and excludes retirement accounts from the liquid amount.
That $200,000 liquidity figure is a qualification threshold, not the full cash cost of a restaurant and not a statement that GPI will finance the balance. The official site's Express label corresponds to the FDD's convenience store or other non-traditional franchise format. Godfather's Pizza To Go is described separately as a licensed program, not one of the four GPI franchise cost ranges; the official Express format page provides additional format and equipment context.
What financing does Godfather's Pizza disclose?
GPI discloses two limited financing paths, both subject to its credit standards. It does not arrange outside financing.
Existing-unit assets
GPI may finance up to 100% of the cost of buildout, furnishings, fixtures, and equipment for an existing unit sold to the franchisee. The term may be one to five years at an annual interest rate of 2%-18%.
Fee deferral
GPI may permit a new or existing franchisee to defer the fee or pay it in installments for up to six months, generally to encourage multi-unit development. Interest may apply.
Security and guaranties
Existing-unit asset financing requires a Promissory Note and security interest in financed assets. Owners may have to sign a Personal Guaranty. The note may be prepaid without a prepayment penalty, but default can accelerate the balance.
The most recent financing of existing-location assets disclosed in Item 10 carried a 5.5% annual rate. The FDD also illustrates, rather than promises, that financing $50,000 at 12% for five years would produce a $1,112.23 monthly principal-and-interest payment.
Financing availability does not reduce the official investment range. It changes payment timing and creates interest, security, and guaranty obligations. Approval, rate, term, and eligible assets remain conditional.
Which obligations can exceed or outlast the startup estimate?
The disclosed startup range is not a cap on every cost the franchisee may face. Several required assets and operating obligations remain site-specific, vendor-priced, or uncapped.
Operating runway: The disclosed allowance covers three months and includes payroll and food costs. The FDD does not state that owner compensation, personal living expenses, or a longer operating shortfall is included.
Real estate: the disclosed real-estate line is three months of rent. It does not separately price a land or building purchase, tenant allowance, financing cost, or lease guaranty.
Codes, permits, and site conditions: the franchisee is responsible for current and future local, state, and federal codes. Licenses and permits do not have a separate quantified startup line.
Required suppliers: GPI estimates that approved-source purchases and leases constitute 80% of establishment purchases and 80% of operating purchases. Ovens, mixers, dough sheeters, warmers, smallwares, and food products may have approved-source restrictions.
Technology: Item 11 estimates $15,000-$20,000 for new POS hardware at full-service and delivery/carryout locations, about $1,500 for a computer, about $250 for a tablet, $1,500-$13,000 for digital menu boards, and $2,100 plus shipping and tax for a non-traditional product-labeling system.
Upgrades: GPI may require computer-system upgrades or updates during the term, with no contractual limit stated for frequency or cost.
Training travel: The training estimate assumes approximately $150-$250 per day for food and lodging for each trainee, plus variable travel expense; later manager, supervisor, or refresher training can add fees and travel costs.
Approved promotional and rewards programs: additional materials, vendor charges, shipping, storage, loyalty-program operations, and reward-redemption costs may be payable outside the initial opening kit.
What changes at renewal, transfer, or an existing-unit purchase?
The Initial Investment does not resolve later contract events. Renewal, transfer, refurbishment, relocation, and asset financing can create separate obligations.
Renewal
The initial Franchise Agreement term is five years. The first renewal fee is $2,000 for full-service and delivery/carryout locations and $1,000 for non-traditional units, due before renewal. Renewal also can require refurbishment or relocation at an undisclosed cost and a new agreement with different fees.
Transfer
The Transfer Fee is $5,000 for traditional, delivery/carryout, and non-traditional units, due before completion. The transferee also must pay the applicable deposit, and either party may have to complete required repair or maintenance items.
Existing unit
The existing-unit range shown above applies only when purchasing a company-operated restaurant from GPI. Equipment and buildout are combined at $25,000-$300,000, signs may need replacement, and GPI financing may be available for specified assets.
Which figure should a prospective franchisee use?
Use the single 2026 range that matches the intended format, then test every major category against the proposed site, approved equipment package, lease, training plan, and development contract. Do not substitute the $200,000 published Liquid Capital threshold for the Estimated Initial Investment, and do not add the three-month allowance twice.
The most important unresolved issue is the exact development commitment: Item 7 assumes three locations for the development payment, while the development section states a five-location minimum for a traditional Area Development Agreement. The next largest uncertainties are buildout, equipment, real-estate terms, required technology, and the length of operating capital needed beyond the disclosed three months.