How Much Does a Go Mini's Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a Go Mini's franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $759,024 to $1,247,125 to establish and operate one Go Mini's storage-and-moving franchise through about its first three months. The range applies to the disclosed single-location model, normally serving a territory of about 800,000 people, with the high end allowing for added territory up to about 1.2 million people and higher asset costs. The brand's official franchise investment information currently publishes the same total range.

$759,024-
$1,247,125

Estimated Initial Investment, 2026 FDD Item 7. This total already includes a $15,000 to $25,000 three-month operating reserve. It is not the upfront territory payment, a liquidity threshold, or an annual operating-cost estimate.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Go Mini's Franchising, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 17, 2026. Cost model: one operating location with a population-based territory; reduced upfront-fee terms exist for qualifying U.S. veterans and certain converting container dealers, but the FDD does not publish a separate conversion Total Initial Investment range.

Primary disclosures reviewed: Item 5, p. 5; Item 6, pp. 6-10; Item 7, pp. 10-14; cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 18, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD Item/page citations in this article are unlinked.

How to read the range

The low and high totals are the arithmetic sums of the low and high values in the disclosure table. They are not two preselected packages, and the FDD does not identify a midpoint, average, or typical budget. A buyer may land near the low end for one category and near the high end for another, so the official total is best used as a boundary for reviewing assumptions rather than as a quote.

Several assumptions can push a specific invoice beyond a listed category. The document expressly warns about a larger territory, a site above roughly 30,000 square feet, rent above the stated rate assumption, voluntary launch advertising above the minimum, and working capital needs that continue beyond the initial operating period. Vehicle financing can reduce cash paid at opening, but it does not erase the vehicle obligation or later payments.

What the official total does not settle

The published total is a planning boundary, not a promise that every buyer will need the same amount of cash on the same day. Some obligations can be financed, leased, paid in installments, or supported by refundable deposits. That changes the payment calendar, but it does not necessarily change the amount owed over time. A lower opening-day payment can therefore coexist with a larger stream of later payments, interest, lender charges, or lease obligations.

The disclosure does not specify a buyer's loan rate, required equity contribution, collateral package, lender fees, closing costs, personal-guarantee terms, or approval probability. Those details depend on the borrower and lender. A useful funding schedule should therefore separate purchase price, cash due before opening, debt-funded amounts, deposits that may be returned, and reserves that remain available after opening. Treating all five as one number can make a plan look better funded than it is.

The premises estimate also assumes that a suitable site can be found, approved, leased, and prepared within the contract deadlines. The franchisor identifies size, zoning, access, security, and lease terms as relevant considerations, but it does not provide a local quote for every condition that may arise. Search costs, repeated site reviews, professional advice, and work required by a landlord or local authority may affect the buyer's cash calendar even when no separate amount is listed.

The initial operating reserve is limited to roughly the first three months under the stated assumptions. It is not described as a personal household reserve, and it should not be assumed to cover the owner's living expenses, income taxes, debt service, or every unexpected repair. The document also does not create a continuing replacement reserve for vehicles, equipment, or containers. Those items should be tracked separately from the opening total so that startup funding is not confused with long-term operating liquidity.

Finally, the disclosure reflects a particular issue date. Supplier pricing, notices of permitted fee increases, state-specific addenda, lease terms, and outside financing conditions can change before a contract is signed. The buyer should reconcile the current disclosure, the final contract package, current supplier quotations, and the lender's closing statement on one dated worksheet before committing funds.

Key cost figures

Paid to franchisor or affiliate $690,975-$913,375 Amount stated on the 2026 FDD cover, driven mainly by the required container order.
Royalty Fee 8% of Gross Sales Higher of the percentage or a $400 monthly minimum; a reduced conversion rate may apply.
Technology Fee $225/month Per location, with a disclosed 5% annual increase provision.

Sources: 2026 Go Mini's FDD cover; Item 5, p. 5; Item 6, pp. 6-9; Item 7, pp. 10-14.

Item 7 investment

What is included in the initial investment range?

The disclosed total includes the upfront territory payment, population-based charges, premises costs, the required initial container purchase, a vehicle, technology, training-related travel, required coverage, launch advertising, and a three-month reserve. The largest disclosed line item is the Go Mini's Containers category, not the franchise fee.

Agreement and premises costs

Item 7 category Amount When paid
Initial Franchise Fee $85,000 On signing the Franchise Agreement
Fee for additional territory $0-$40,000 On signing the Franchise Agreement
Rent for 3 months and lease security deposit $30,000-$102,000 On signing the lease and monthly
Utility Deposits $500 When utility services are opened
Leasehold Improvements $0-$10,000 At the start of and during construction
Signage $500-$2,000 Before construction starts

Containers and operating assets

The FDD requires branded containers and an approved vehicle. The official portable storage business model describes the 12-foot, 16-foot, and 20-foot container sizes; the disclosure table, rather than the marketing page, supplies the cost range.

Item 7 category Amount When paid
Go Mini's Containers $604,800-$787,200 Before opening
Equipment and fixtures $5,000 Before opening
Office and supplies $500-$1,000 Before opening
Computer hardware, software set-up fee, and first-year credit-card processing annual fee $599-$1,500 Before opening
Transport Vehicle(s) $5,250-$160,000 Before opening
Travel, Salary, Living Expenses - Training $0-$3,250 As incurred

Compliance, launch, and initial operating period

Item 7 category Amount When paid
Go Mini's Technology Fee $675 Monthly; represents the first three months
Business licenses and permits $200-$1,000 Before opening
Professional fees $1,000-$5,000 Before signing the Franchise Agreement
Forming an entity $0-$5,000 Before or near signing
Insurance $1,000-$4,000 Before opening
Grand Opening Advertising $6,000 From before opening through 60 days after opening
Other costs $3,000 Before opening
Additional Funds - 3 Months $15,000-$25,000 As needed; retained in the franchisee's possession

Two low-end footnotes do not match the table. The table lists Utility Deposits at $500, while the Leasehold Improvements note refers to a $200 utility-service deposit. The table lists Insurance at $1,000-$4,000, while the insurance note refers to an $800 low estimate. The official $759,024 low total reconciles to the table values of $500 and $1,000, so those table amounts are preserved here; a buyer should confirm the current low-end assumptions in writing.

FDD caveat

Do not add the three-month reserve on top of the official total. The $15,000-$25,000 working-capital range is already included in $759,024-$1,247,125. It covers about three months of expenses such as employee salaries, fuel, and other startup-phase operating costs; the FDD says more may be required if expenses are high or sales are low. It does not state that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included in that reserve.

Territory pricing

How does territory size change the franchise fee?

For the standard offer, the Initial Franchise Fee is $85,000 for about 800,000 people and increases by $10,000 for each additional 100,000 people. The high-end scenario models up to $40,000 of added territory charges, corresponding to about 1.2 million people. Go Mini's says it uses U.S. Census Bureau data to estimate population; Census Bureau QuickFacts is the government data tool identified for population statistics.

U.S. veteran fee
$68,000 for the first approximately 800,000 people, plus the standard added-population charges.
Converting dealer fee
$50,000 for approximately 800,000 people if the dealer has operated another container concept for more than one year and owns at least 80 containers; added-population charges still apply.
Smaller territory
The franchisor may consider fewer than 800,000 people and reduce the fee by $10,000 per 100,000 people, although Item 5 recommends at least 800,000 for a stand-alone franchise.
Above 1.2 million people
The document warns that the additional-territory line can exceed its $40,000 high estimate if the franchisor approves a larger population.

The official franchise fee and royalty FAQs confirm the $85,000 base fee and $10,000 population increment. The official U.S. territory availability page identifies markets to discuss, but it does not replace the population and cost terms in the current FDD.

Format difference

The veteran and converting-dealer reductions apply only to the upfront territory payment, not every startup category. Because the 2026 FDD does not publish a separate conversion total, a buyer should not subtract the fee discount or the value of already-owned containers from the official total and present the result as a franchisor estimate.

Container obligation

Why are container purchases the defining cost obligation?

The initial container requirement is clear: 96 units for an approximately 800,000-person territory, plus six for each additional 100,000 people. The disclosed category is $604,800 to $787,200, based on different mixes of 12-foot, 16-foot, and 20-foot units. The franchisor is the required source for new branded containers.

Initial container economics disclosed in 2026

96 containersInitial minimum at approximately 800,000 people.
+6 containersFor each additional 100,000 people above 800,000.
48 per 100,000Long-term minimum container target stated in Item 6.

The ongoing-fee table estimates unit prices are up to $5,700 for a 12-foot container, up to $7,300 for a 16-foot container, and up to $8,200 for a 20-foot container. These are container prices, not the full cost of a territory or the complete initial order.

Source conflict

The annual purchase cadence needs written clarification. Item 6, p. 7 says that after year one the franchisee must buy at least 12 containers per year for each 100,000 people until reaching 48 containers per 100,000. The adjacent Minimum Container Purchases table on pp. 9-10 says 96 containers annually in years two and beyond, and its 1.2-million-person illustration increases by 96 per year. Those statements are not arithmetically identical for territories above 800,000. A prospective franchisee should obtain a written, territory-specific schedule before treating future container purchases as fixed.

Other container-related charges include a 5% commission when used containers are bought or sold through the franchisor's brokerage process, split equally between buyer and seller, and the purchase price of container parts and other required supplies. Item 8 also states that required purchases from the franchisor or designated sources can include price markups.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 5, p. 5; Item 6, pp. 7, 9-10; Item 7 Notes 7 and 21, pp. 12-14; Item 8, pp. 14-16.

Payment timing

When is the startup money paid?

The cash commitment begins before and at signing, then shifts to the lease, site work, containers, vehicle, coverage, and launch expenses before opening. New franchisees are required to sign a lease within three months and open within six months after signing the Franchise Agreement, subject to any extension the franchisor chooses to grant.

Before signing: budget $1,000-$5,000 for Professional Fees and $0-$5,000 for Forming an Entity. The startup table places both at or before the contract stage.

At signing: pay the standard $85,000 fee and any $0-$40,000 added-territory charge. The fee is generally nonrefundable, subject to the limited refund provisions described below.

By the premises milestone: obtain approval, sign the lease within three months, fund the lease deposit and rent, activate utilities, and pay for Leasehold Improvements and Signage as work begins.

Before opening: fund the container order, approved vehicle, required equipment, office setup, computer and software setup, licenses, permits, and coverage. Initial training must be completed to the franchisor's satisfaction at least 30 days before opening.

Opening through month three: fund at least $6,000 of Grand Opening Advertising from one month before opening through 60 days after, pay the first $675 of technology charges, and retain $15,000-$25,000 of Additional Funds for the initial operating period.

The brand's official franchise ownership process describes the pre-agreement evaluation stages. The contractual payment sequence, deadlines, and refund rules come from the 2026 FDD and Franchise Agreement.

Payment timing

If the franchisor terminates because the franchisee fails to obtain a location, complete training, or open within the required period, the Initial Franchise Fee may be refunded but $10,000 is retained. Item 5 otherwise states that the fee is fully earned when paid and generally nonrefundable.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 5, p. 5; Item 7, pp. 10-14; Item 11, pp. 17-23.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after opening?

The recurring fee structure combines percentage-of-Gross-Sales charges, minimum monthly payments, fixed technology charges, local advertising, required container purchases, and actual-cost supplier expenses. The percentage fees must not be converted into annual dollars without a verified Gross Sales figure.

Ongoing obligation Amount or basis Timing and qualification
Royalty Fee 8% of Gross Sales Due by ACH on the 15th day of each month; higher of the percentage or $400 monthly minimum. The minimum is waived for a new franchise's first three months, but the percentage royalty remains due.
Converting-dealer Royalty Fee 7% of Gross Sales Same monthly timing and $400 minimum for qualifying dealers converting from other concepts.
Marketing Fund Up to 2% of Gross Sales Due on the 15th day of each month; higher of the set percentage or $100 monthly minimum.
Local advertising At least 3% of Gross Sales Monthly after the first 30 days of operation; proof of spending is required.
Advertising Cooperative Up to 2% of Gross Sales Only if a cooperative region is established; contribution is decided by the cooperative, subject to the disclosed cap.
Technology Fee $225 per month per location Due on the first day of each month; subject to a 5% annual increase.
Software Subscription Currently not assessed; up to $400 per month May be imposed with 30 days' written notice. The FDD also says the proprietary software subscription is included in the Technology Fee, so the current written terms should be confirmed before budgeting a separate charge.
Annual Container Purchase Required quantity; container prices currently estimated up to $5,700, $7,300, or $8,200 by size After year one and annually until the required container target is reached; the quantity conflict described above should be resolved in writing.

Operating-input and participation charges

Commission on Used Container Purchases
5% of the container price when invoiced, with one-half paid by each party.
Additional Training
$1,000 per day multiplied by the number of trainers or franchisor representatives; the amount may rise up to 3% annually on 30 days' notice.
Optional Programs
Up to $1,000 per person before the program; amount may rise up to 3% annually on notice.
Annual Conferences and Mandatory Programs
Up to $500 per person, currently $400, charged before the event whether or not the required attendee participates.
Supplies Purchases
Purchase price when invoiced; the franchisor is currently the only approved supplier of containers and container parts.
Advertising Materials
Actual cost when invoiced.
Credit-card processing
Item 8 discloses an annual $99 fee plus a 0.5% and $0.05 charge and a 2.5%-3.75% processing fee per transaction, depending on card type.
Supplier Evaluation
$0-$5,000 when invoiced if a non-approved supplier is proposed and review costs are incurred.

The official franchise site summarizes the base royalty and national marketing terms in its recurring fee FAQs. The broader definitions, minimums, timing, and conditional charges above come from Items 6, 8, and 11.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 6-10; Item 8, pp. 14-16; Item 11, pp. 19-21.

Conditional charges

Which costs appear only after a specific event?

Renewal, transfer, relocation, payment defaults, audits, coverage failures, claims, enforcement, and temporary operation by the franchisor can create costs outside the initial Item 7 budget. These are not routine startup line items, but they are contractual obligations that can become material.

  • Renewal Fee: $2,500 with notice 90-150 days before the ten-year term expires, plus required upgrading and refurbishing.
  • Transfer Fee: $10,000 at transfer, plus franchisor expenses; a Transfer Service Fee can be up to 10% of the purchase price, capped at $60,000, if the franchisor helps procure a buyer.
  • Relocation Fee: $2,500 on demand, plus legal, accounting, and other expenses incurred to consider the request; relocation itself is at the franchisee's expense.
  • Late Charge: the greater of $50 or 1.5% per month on a past-due amount, subject to applicable law; the FDD states 10% annually in California.
  • Dishonored Payment: $50 plus the franchisor's bank charge, in addition to any late charge.
  • Underpayment or Understatement: the actual shortfall on demand; if an audit identifies a 2% or greater understatement, Audit Cost is estimated at $2,000-$5,000.
  • Insurance: actual premiums if the franchisor obtains required coverage because the franchisee does not maintain or document it.
  • Indemnification and Cost to Resolve Claims: actual amounts incurred for covered claims, settlements, liens, investigations, or corrective action.
  • Taxes and Cost of Enforcement: actual applicable taxes and actual attorneys' fees, damages, costs, and expenses under the disclosed circumstances.
  • Operation by franchisor or nominee: actual expenses plus up to $500 per day if the business is operated under the contractual intervention provisions.

Item 17 adds that renewal requires the location to be upgraded and refurbished to then-current standards, while transfer approval can require the business to be upgraded before closing. Neither obligation has a fixed dollar estimate in the 2026 FDD, so no remodel or refurbishment allowance should be inferred.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 8-10; Item 17, pp. 27-30.

Capital qualifications

What financial profile does the official site state?

The 2026 FDD does not state contractual minimums for these two measures in Items 5-7. The official investment page instead describes an ideal franchisee profile of $1 million in Net Worth and $100,000 in Liquid Capital. Those website figures are screening guidance, not substitutes for the official $759,024-$1,247,125 startup range.

Estimated Initial Investment
The FDD's total estimated cost to establish and operate the franchise through about three months.
Liquid Capital
Cash or readily available funds. The official website's $100,000 figure does not mean the franchise can be opened for $100,000.
Net Worth
Assets minus liabilities. The official website's $1 million ideal profile is not the same as cash available to pay startup invoices.
Additional Funds
$15,000-$25,000 included within Item 7 for about three months of initial operating expenses.

Item 10 states that Go Mini's Franchising, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. The official investment page discusses outside financing avenues, but it does not create guaranteed approval or a disclosed franchisor loan. The U.S. Small Business Administration loan overview explains that SBA-backed financing is made through lenders and remains subject to lender and program eligibility.

Buyer verification

A funding plan should separately identify equity or non-borrowed funds, third-party debt, lease or vehicle financing, and reserves beyond the disclosed three-month reserve. The FDD provides no buyer-specific down-payment percentage, lender approval threshold, or guaranteed financing amount.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 10-14, and Item 10, p. 16; Go Mini's official investment information checked July 18, 2026.

Cost verification

What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?

The official range is complete only for the assumptions written into Item 7. Territory size, the container mix, vehicle financing, rent, site size, zoning, insurance payment structure, and the unresolved annual container schedule can move actual cash needs above or below individual line items.

  • Confirm the territory size and fee: obtain the population calculation, the base Initial Franchise Fee, and any added-territory amount in writing.
  • Reconcile the container schedule: request a year-by-year quantity and payment calendar that resolves the narrative and table conflict.
  • Price the exact container mix: obtain current delivered prices for the required 12-foot, 16-foot, and 20-foot units and the franchisor representative's first-delivery travel expenses.
  • Validate the premises assumption: Item 7 assumes about 30,000 square feet; cost can exceed the high estimate if the site is larger or rent exceeds the disclosed rate assumption.
  • Separate purchase price from cash due: vehicle installment assumptions, deposits, financed equipment, and lender equity requirements affect timing but do not change the official cost category.
  • Resolve Item 7 footnote differences: confirm the current low assumptions for utility deposits and insurance because the table and related notes use different figures.
  • Check current fees and amendments: confirm whether the optional software charge is still unassessed, whether the monthly technology charge has increased, and whether state-specific addenda change payment or contract terms.

The Federal Trade Commission's franchise buying guide explains how Items 5-7 describe initial and ongoing costs and why a prospective franchisee should investigate expenses that the disclosure does not fully quantify.

Decision summary

What is the practical capital takeaway?

The verified 2026 starting range is $759,024-$1,247,125, including the standard $85,000 upfront payment and a $15,000-$25,000 reserve for about three months. The primary cost driver is the required initial container order; the largest additional variables are the vehicle, rent and lease deposit, territory size, and site-specific expenses.

Opening capital is only one part of the contract. After launch, the franchisee faces the royalty, national marketing contribution, local advertising, monthly technology charge, required supplier purchases, and continuing container obligations. The most important unresolved question is the annual container purchase quantity for a territory above 800,000 people, which the 2026 FDD describes inconsistently and should be clarified in writing before financing is finalized.