How much does a Fitness Machine Technicians franchise cost?
The 2026 Fitness Machine Technicians FDD discloses one combined Estimated Initial Investment range of $65,950 to $127,990 for a Hometown Franchise or Full-Size Franchise. The combined range includes the Initial Franchise Fee, the Pre-Opening and First Year Marketing Package, three months of Additional Funds, a service vehicle allowance, training travel, insurance, technology, and other opening costs. The FDD says $37,000 to $59,000 of the total is paid to Main Line Brands LLC and/or an affiliate.
Official combined Item 7 range. The low end reflects the $25,000 Hometown Franchise fee and home-based assumptions; the high end reflects the $45,000 Full-Size Franchise fee plus higher disclosed amounts across the other categories. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14-17.
Data basis: Main Line Brands LLC, Fitness Machine Technicians FDD issued May 7, 2026. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. The offer covers a Hometown Franchise and a Full-Size Franchise in the United States. Information checked July 15, 2026.
The current disclosure document was not verified on a public franchise-controlled FDD page, so FDD references below are unlinked and identify the exact Item and page. Public context is available through the official Fitness Machine Technicians franchise site and the official U.S. brand website.
Capital snapshot
Five figures define the opening and continuing capital structure: the format-specific fee, the three-month working-capital allowance, the royalty schedule, the national marketing contribution and the local advertising floor.
What changes between a Hometown Franchise and a Full-Size Franchise?
The only disclosed investment difference between the two formats is the Initial Franchise Fee. A Hometown Franchise has a smaller territory and a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee. A Full-Size Franchise is based on a proposed territory of approximately 800,000 people and has a $45,000 Initial Franchise Fee. Main Line Brands LLC states that all other Item 7 costs are the same. The franchisor may use current U.S. Census Bureau data or other statistical sources to determine territory demographics. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 5 and 7, pages 3, 7 and 15.
These are arithmetic derivations, not separately printed franchisor totals. They use the official combined Item 7 range and the FDD statement that the $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee difference is the only format difference.
Interpretation: the $20,000 fee difference shifts both endpoints, while each derived format range retains the same $42,040 spread from lower to upper assumptions.
Derived calculation: Hometown high = $127,990 - $20,000; Full-Size low = $65,950 + $20,000. Source inputs: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14-15.
What is included in the Estimated Initial Investment?
Item 7 contains 16 cost lines. The largest disclosed amounts are the Initial Franchise Fee, Additional Funds and the Pre-Opening and First Year Marketing Package. The remaining range is driven by whether the business operates from home or leased space, how many people travel to training, whether new computer equipment is needed, and whether the service vehicle is leased or purchased.
The chart shows eight decision-driving categories. Exact values are displayed on each bar; all other Item 7 categories remain listed in the tables below.
Interpretation: the franchise fee, three-month working-capital allowance and marketing package have the three highest disclosed maximums among the plotted categories.
Official figures. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14-17.
Contract, premises and basic opening assets
These costs are paid at signing or to third parties as the premises and field-service setup are arranged. The zero-dollar premises entries apply only to the home-based assumption.
| Item 7 category | Disclosed range | Payment timing | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $25,000-$45,000 | On signing the Franchise Agreement; lump sum or approved installments | Main Line Brands LLC |
| Rent, 3 months | $0-$3,600 | As arranged | Landlord |
| Leasehold Improvements | $0-$5,000 | As agreed | Contractor |
| Equipment, Furnishings and Fixtures | $500-$2,000 | As agreed | Suppliers |
| Signage | $1,800-$3,500 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Initial Inventory and Operating Supplies | $0-$3,000 | As arranged | Suppliers |
| Security Deposits | $0-$2,400 | As arranged | Landlord or utility companies |
| Insurance, 3 months | $2,500-$5,000 | As arranged | Insurance companies |
Training, systems, launch marketing and working capital
This group covers the people, systems and cash needed to reach opening and support the first three months. It includes the marketing package and working-capital allowance rather than adding them outside the official total.
| Item 7 category | Disclosed range | Payment timing | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Training Expenses | $1,100-$3,600 | As incurred | Travel and other suppliers |
| Computer System/Software | $1,200-$2,500 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Permits/Licenses | $100-$200 | As required | State or local government |
| Service Vehicle, 3 months | $1,350-$1,950 | As arranged | Leasing company |
| Professional Fees | $1,500-$5,000 | As arranged | Attorney or accountant |
| Pre-Opening and First Year Marketing Package | $12,000-$14,000 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed | Main Line Brands LLC or designated vendor |
| Service Technician | $3,900-$6,240 | As arranged | Employee or contractor |
| Additional Funds, 3 months | $15,000-$25,000 | As required | Working capital retained for operations |
The two tables reproduce all Item 7 cost categories without adding separate subtotals. The official cover-page total remains unchanged. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 14-17.
Several line items depend on explicit operating assumptions. The vehicle allowance includes three lease payments and $100-$300 per month in fuel; buying rather than leasing will likely increase the opening outlay. The technician estimate assumes 20-32 hours per week at $18 per hour for 13 weeks. Initial training is provided to as many as three people without an added training charge, but the franchisee pays travel, lodging, meals and applicable wages. Existing hand tools can reduce the inventory line only when they meet the franchisor's specifications.
Item 8 estimates that required or approved-source purchases and leases represent approximately 25%-40% of establishment purchases and 10%-20% of operating purchases. The franchisor may specify the vehicle, software, equipment, tools, supplies, insurers and other vendors, so the Item 7 ranges should be tested against the current approved-supplier list rather than treated as unrestricted shopping allowances. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pages 17-19.
How does home-based operation affect the opening budget?
The low end assumes a home-based office, subject to local ordinances. A leased option can use approximately 2,000 square feet in a garage or light industrial location. The FDD does not publish a separate leased-location total, but it identifies the premises-related amounts that move from zero toward the high end.
Home-based assumption
Rent: $0 in the Item 7 low-end assumption.
Leasehold Improvements: $0 in the low-end assumption.
Potential local cost: a special home-occupation permit may be required; Item 7 provides only $100-$200 for Permits/Licenses.
Still required: approved service vehicle, vehicle wrap, insurance, technology and operating equipment.
Leased garage or light industrial space
Rent, 3 months: up to $3,600.
Leasehold Improvements: up to $5,000.
Security Deposits: up to $2,400.
Important exclusion: additional premises signage is not included in the Item 7 Signage estimate, which covers the service vehicle wrap.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 15-17, and Item 11, pages 23-24.
The $2,500-$5,000 insurance range covers three months, not a full year. Item 8 requires commercial liability coverage of at least $2 million per occurrence and $4 million aggregate, automobile coverage of at least a $1 million combined single limit, and workers' compensation and employer liability coverage of at least $500,000 per accident, subject to applicable law and lease requirements. Those limits should be used when obtaining quotes.
When is the money paid?
The largest contractual payments occur at signing, while most third-party opening costs are paid as arranged or incurred during the 30-to-60-day expected opening period. The business must open within 90 days after the Franchise Agreement is signed, subject to the conditions in Item 11.
-
1
Disclosure periodThe FDD states that the prospective franchisee must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or making a franchise-sale payment. The FTC Franchise Rule explains the federal disclosure framework.
-
2
Franchise Agreement signingPay the $25,000 Hometown Franchise fee or $45,000 Full-Size Franchise fee, unless Main Line Brands LLC approves an Item 10 deferral. The $12,000-$14,000 Pre-Opening and First Year Marketing Package is also payable at signing to the franchisor or designated vendor.
-
3
Pre-opening purchases and travelArrange the service vehicle, wrap, insurance, computer system, tools, permits, training travel and any premises costs. Item 7 labels these payments as arranged, agreed, required or incurred rather than one common due date.
-
4
Opening clearanceBefore opening, required people must complete training, amounts due to the franchisor must be paid, insurance certificates and permits must be provided, and the business must comply with the Franchise Agreement. Item 11 estimates opening in 30 to 60 days and requires opening within 90 days.
-
5
Start-up phase and month 13Additional Funds of $15,000-$25,000 are intended to cover three months of ongoing expenses. Beginning in month 13, the $500 minimum monthly Royalty Fee per territory and the tiered Technology and Software Systems Fee apply under Item 6.
Which fees continue after opening?
The continuing cost structure combines percentage fees, fixed minimums, tiered technology charges and required local marketing. Percentage fees should not be converted into annual dollars without the franchisee's actual Gross Sales, which the FDD defines broadly and adjusts for specified exclusions.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of the first $499,999 of Gross Sales each calendar year; 5% of Gross Sales above $500,000 | By the 8th business day for the prior month; $500 monthly minimum per territory from month 13 | Item 6, pages 8 and 13 |
| National Marketing Fee | Currently 1% of Gross Revenues; may increase to 3% | By the 8th business day for the prior month; FDD anticipates 2% on January 1, 2027 | Item 6, page 8 |
| Technology and Software Systems Fee | $100-$1,500 monthly based on prior 12-month Gross Sales | Monthly; Item 6 footnote states beginning in month 13 | Item 6, pages 8 and 13-14 |
| Minimum Individual Local Advertising Expense | Greater of $7,800 or 5% of Gross Sales | Spent annually with approved marketing vendors | Item 6, page 9 |
| Local website and digital footprint | Currently $0; may rise to no more than $750 per month | Monthly if implemented after notice | Item 6, page 9 |
| Social media management | Currently none; future fee based on then-current costs | Monthly if implemented | Item 6, page 9 |
| Credit card processing | Then-current third-party fees | As incurred | Item 6, page 12 |
Item 8 also requires the designated operational platform, currently ServiceMinder, QuickBooks Online as the sole financial-reporting software, and the designated credit-card processor. Replacement parts generally must be purchased from the equipment manufacturer while the part remains available. The disclosure does not publish a complete current third-party price schedule, so vendor charges that are not fixed in Item 6 remain buyer-verification items.
Which fees arise only after a trigger or event?
Item 6 also contains event-driven charges that do not belong in the initial investment unless the trigger occurs. The amounts range from fixed fees to reimbursements, third-party costs and percentage charges.
- Training, seminars, conventions or programs: $500-$5,000, plus materials estimated at $50, along with the franchisee's travel and living expenses.
- Annual Conference Non-Attendance Fee: the greater of $699 or the then-current standard registration fee when the required attendee does not attend.
- Refresher Training: $200-$700 before attending a required course; Manufacturer Certification is $100-$600 as charged by an approved equipment manufacturer.
- Transfer Fee: $7,500 for a transferee without an existing relationship with Fitness Machine Technicians, Mosquito Authority or Pest Authority; $3,500 for a transferee with an existing relationship.
- Successor Agreement Fee: $3,500 when the successor Franchise Agreement is signed. Item 17 also allows required equipment upgrades as a renewal condition.
- Product or Supplier Evaluation: $500 with a request to approve an unapproved product or supplier.
- Operational intervention: insurance reimbursement equals the franchisor's cost if it obtains coverage; a Management Fee equals 25% of Gross Sales plus expenses when the franchisor steps in under stated circumstances.
- Compliance and reporting: Mystery Shopper Service up to $500 after a failed required score; Computer System Maintenance currently $0 but up to $1,000 annually; $100 late fee for overdue monthly profit-and-loss statements.
- Overdue amounts and audits: interest at 18% annually or the highest legal rate, whichever is less; audit costs when underreporting reaches 2% or more, plus a 1.5% monthly charge on underreporting.
- Default-related costs: attorneys' fees, indemnification and other enforcement costs vary with the circumstances.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 9-13, and Item 17, pages 35-38.
Does the FDD disclose financing, liquid capital or net worth requirements?
The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. Those concepts are therefore separate from the published opening range and should not be inferred from franchise-directory figures or another year's disclosure.
Item 10 discloses a narrow form of franchisor financing: Main Line Brands LLC may, in its sole discretion, defer up to one-half of the Initial Franchise Fee. The deferred balance can run for up to 24 months at 8% annual interest, with no prepayment penalty. The franchisee and applicable guarantors sign a Financing Amendment and Promissory Note. The franchisor does not take a security interest in assets, but default can accelerate the balance and create cross-default and enforcement consequences.
Fee reductions disclosed in Item 5
A buyer signing two or more Franchise Agreements at the same time as the first agreement receives a 30% Initial Franchise Fee discount on the second and each additional agreement. This is not an area-development agreement: each territory requires its own Franchise Agreement, and each territory carries its own minimum Royalty Fee beginning in month 13. Item 5 also discloses a 15% Initial Franchise Fee discount for qualifying U.S. and Canadian armed-forces veterans through VetFran. Neither reduction is described as reducing the Marketing Package, Additional Funds, vehicle, equipment or other Item 7 categories.
What should be confirmed before relying on the range?
The FDD gives the contractual range, but several buyer-specific obligations remain unresolved until the territory, operating format, suppliers and payment terms are confirmed.
- Territory classification: confirm in writing whether the proposed territory is Hometown or Full-Size and which Initial Franchise Fee appears in the Franchise Agreement.
- Marketing package: reconcile the $12,000-$14,000 Item 7 range with the cross-brand wording in Item 5 and obtain the current deliverables and vendor allocation.
- Home-based legality or leased-space scope: verify local permits, rent, deposits, leasehold work and any premises signage excluded from Item 7.
- Vehicle plan: verify the required make and model, lease versus purchase treatment, insurance, wrap specifications and the cost of any additional technician vehicles.
- Technology schedule: confirm which software charges apply before month 13, the approximately $250 monthly CRM cost described in Item 7, and the later $100-$1,500 Technology and Software Systems Fee.
- Working-capital scope: confirm whether owner compensation is expected during the three-month Additional Funds period; the FDD names payroll and continuing fees but does not expressly identify owner compensation.
- Current fee notices: verify whether the National Marketing Fee, local website fee, social media fee, conference registration and other changeable Item 6 amounts have changed since May 7, 2026.
- State-specific terms: review the applicable state addendum and the final Franchise Agreement for modifications to payment, transfer, renewal, guarantee or dispute provisions.
What does the capital decision come down to?
The official 2026 starting point is $65,950-$127,990, but the format decision narrows the interpretation: approximately $65,950-$107,990 for a Hometown Franchise and $85,950-$127,990 for a Full-Size Franchise based on the FDD's only-format-difference statement. The main cost drivers are the $20,000 franchise-fee difference, the $15,000-$25,000 Additional Funds allowance, the $12,000-$14,000 Marketing Package, and the choice between home-based and leased operation.
The Estimated Initial Investment is not a liquidity requirement, and the FDD does not disclose a minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold. After opening, the Royalty Fee, National Marketing Fee, Minimum Individual Local Advertising Expense, Technology and Software Systems Fee and other conditional charges create a separate continuing cost structure. The most important unresolved item is the exact territory classification and the written reconciliation of the Marketing Package language before payment.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Fitness Machine Technicians Franchise?
- How Does the Fitness Machine Technicians Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Fitness Machine Technicians Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Fitness Machine Technicians Franchise?
- How Much Does a Fitness Machine Technicians Franchise Owner Make?