How much does a Fit Body Boot Camp franchise cost?
The 2026 Fit Body Boot Camp Franchise Disclosure Document lists a total initial investment of $195,850 to $391,800 for one U.S. franchise. That range covers the staged launch of the Virtual Fit Body Boot Camp Business and the later opening of one physical Outlet under a single Franchise Agreement. The physical Outlet must use the current 2,500- to 3,000-square-foot model in either a free-standing building or an inline retail-strip location.
This is the official 2026 investment total for one franchised business. It includes the signing charge and the three-month operating allowance, but it excludes an allowance for the owner's draws. A separate development disclosure applies to the three-location commitment and is not an all-in budget for building all required sites.
Data basis: Fit Body Boot Camp, Inc., a California corporation; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 2, 2026; single-unit Franchise Agreement and three-unit Area Development Agreement; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17, including Item 5 pages 14-15, Item 6 pages 16-22 and Item 7 pages 23-27. Information checked July 17, 2026. The brand's official U.S. franchise information remains active, but no matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public page.
Capital snapshot
The most decision-useful figures are the signing payment, the largest premises cost, the opening marketing commitment, the working-capital allowance and the ongoing fee floor.
Lump sum, non-refundable, due when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
The widest disclosed range; paid before opening to approved suppliers and other vendors.
A separate Grand Opening Launch Advertising outlay around the opening date.
Covers the first three months after opening; owner draws are excluded.
Item 6 lists $997 monthly for the first 12 months, then the greater of 5% of Gross Revenues or $997.
Non-refundable payment at signing for the three-outlet Area Development Agreement.
On July 17, 2026, the brand's public franchise cost page still displayed a $54,600 franchise fee, and the official franchise FAQ displayed a $170,600 to $296,100 opening range. The April 2, 2026 FDD states a $57,600 fee and the higher current investment range, so this article uses the current disclosure. A prospective buyer should reconcile any public-web figure against the document delivered for the actual sale.
The headline range should be read as a disclosure boundary, not as a prediction of what a particular site will cost. The low endpoint assumes the low amount for nearly every variable category, while the high endpoint reflects the high amount for those categories. Neither endpoint is identified as typical, recommended or sufficient for a specific market. A usable capital plan therefore needs to preserve the official boundary while replacing each site-sensitive placeholder with a written quote for the proposed premises.
The source of payment also matters. Some money is paid directly to the franchisor when an agreement is executed, while much of the remaining budget is paid to landlords, contractors, equipment vendors, insurers, government authorities and marketing providers. A lender or buyer reviewing available cash should separate the non-refundable signing payment from refundable deposits, vendor deposits, progress payments and post-opening reserves. That separation clarifies both timing and the amount that may be exposed before the outlet is ready to operate.
What is inside the single-unit investment range?
For the 2026 single-unit offer, the total combines the signing charge, training travel, lease and build-out costs, technology, equipment, signage, opening marketing, insurance, payroll and a three-month operating allowance. The disclosure does not treat the virtual stage as a separate low-cost format; the table covers that launch and the subsequent physical site together.
The categories are best read in three cost phases. The first phase secures the contractual rights and prepares the owner for launch. The second phase secures and equips the premises, which is where local conditions have the greatest effect. The third phase funds advertising, payroll and other operating needs during the opening period. Keeping those phases separate prevents a common budgeting error: treating the signing payment as though it purchases the site, equipment and opening reserve.
Each row also has a different degree of certainty. A fixed charge is known once the current agreement is confirmed. A range tied to construction, rent or signage remains provisional until a site is approved and third-party bids are obtained. A zero-dollar low endpoint does not mean the item is optional in every case; it can reflect a circumstance in which the cost is not incurred, is absorbed elsewhere or depends on the chosen site. The footnotes and approval conditions therefore matter as much as the visible row amount.
Premises, construction and signage
The premises package is the main source of variation. Construction has the widest low-to-high spread, while lease terms, landlord requirements, local permits and sign rules create additional location-specific movement.
| Cost category | 2026 range | When due | Primary payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lease Negotiator | $0-$3,000 | Before opening | Lease negotiator |
| Security Deposit | $8,000-$16,000 | Before opening | Landlord |
| Rent | $10,000-$16,000 | As required | Landlord |
| Architect | $6,000-$8,000 | Before opening | Architect |
| Permitting | $1,000-$2,500 | Before opening | Government authorities |
| Construction | $50,000-$150,000 | Before opening | Approved suppliers and vendors |
| Interior Signage | $1,200-$6,000 | Before opening | Designated vendor |
| Exterior Signage | $6,000-$10,000 | Before opening | Approved suppliers and vendors |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 23-26. The physical Outlet model is 2,500 to 3,000 square feet. The disclosure says a landlord Tenant Improvement allowance may reduce build-out cost, but the amount depends on the negotiated lease.
Equipment, technology and opening inventory
Equipment is comparatively modest next to construction, but it is controlled through specifications and approved or designated suppliers. Item 8 says purchases from the franchisor, affiliates, designated vendors and approved suppliers are expected to represent 21% to 26% of the total initial investment.
| Cost category | 2026 range | When due | Cost note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer System and Recommended Software | $1,500-$4,000 | Before opening | Includes required system hardware and initial software-related costs |
| Furnishings | $500-$1,500 | Before opening | The estimate assumes purchase rather than lease |
| Workout Equipment | $12,000-$20,000 | Before opening | Required training equipment; shipping can vary |
| Mats | $6,000-$8,000 | Before opening | Floor mats; shipping can vary |
| InBody 270 Composition Analyzer | $0-$6,700 | Before opening | Required equipment under the disclosure footnote |
| AED | $50-$1,500 | Before opening | One AED device for the Outlet |
| Opening Inventory | $0-$2,000 | Before opening | Posters, bulletin boards and brochures |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 23-26; Item 8, pages 27-33. The assistance section places the required system near the disclosed setup range and warns that third parties control maintenance, repair and update costs.
Signing, training, launch and working capital
The remaining categories show why the signing charge is only one part of the cash requirement. The separate launch-advertising line is not reduced by amounts the franchisor internally allocates to grand-opening support.
| Cost category | 2026 range | Timing | Important inclusion or exclusion |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $57,600 | At Franchise Agreement signing | Fully earned and non-refundable |
| Training Travel and Living Expenses | $1,500-$4,000 | During training | Based on two people; more attendees increase cost |
| Payroll | $3,500-$10,500 | As incurred | Two to three team members for the first three months |
| Business Insurance | $1,000-$2,500 | As required by policy | The estimate anticipates an annual premium payment |
| Grand Opening Launch Advertising | $17,000 | Immediately before, during and just after opening | Paid to designated third-party suppliers |
| Additional Funds | $15,000-$45,000 | First three months after opening | Owner-operated assumption; includes payroll costs but excludes owner draws |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 14-15, and Item 7, pages 23-26. The table contains both a separate Payroll line and a working-capital footnote that says the three-month allowance includes payroll costs; use the franchisor's official total rather than adding a second working-capital allowance.
Construction has the widest disclosed spread. The three-month allowance is the next-largest variable range among the selected categories.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, page 23. Official low and high category amounts are shown proportionally; no midpoint or typical amount is inferred.
The low-end line items add to $197,850, while the table and FDD cover state an official low total of $195,850. The high-end line items reconcile to $391,800. Because the 2026 FDD does not explain the $2,000 low-end difference, this article preserves the official cover and total-row range and treats the line-item mismatch as unresolved. A buyer should request a corrected or reconciled investment schedule before relying on the low case.
When is the cash paid?
The capital is not paid in one transaction. The 2026 FDD separates the signing payment, training costs, lease and build-out payments, opening marketing and post-opening working capital. Federal disclosure rules also require the FDD to be delivered before the buyer signs or pays.
That sequence creates two distinct planning questions: how much cash must be available at each milestone, and how much of that cash becomes non-refundable once committed. The signing payment is due before site construction begins. Lease deposits, design work and permit costs may then be committed before final contractor invoices are known. Equipment, signs and launch spending follow as the opening date approaches, while the operating reserve must remain available after opening rather than being consumed by the build-out.
A payment calendar should therefore be built from the actual agreement, lease and vendor proposals rather than from the total alone. It should identify the payee, deposit date, balance date, refund terms and any approval condition for every major expenditure. This does not change the disclosed investment range; it converts the disclosure into a cash-flow schedule and makes it easier to see whether financing proceeds or personal funds will be available when each obligation becomes due.
Review the disclosure before any binding payment
The FDD cover states that a prospect must receive the disclosure at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC franchise-buying guide and the FTC Franchise Rule provide the federal disclosure framework.
Pay the agreement fee at signing
A single-unit buyer pays $57,600 when executing the contract. A developer pays $120,200 when executing the three-location agreement.
Fund training, lease and construction before opening
Training travel is paid as incurred. The Security Deposit, architect, permits, construction, Computer System, equipment, mats, signage, AED and Opening Inventory are generally paid before the physical Outlet opens.
Deploy the Grand Opening Launch Advertising budget
The $17,000 launch campaign is spent immediately before, during and just after opening. It is a separate investment category rather than a reduction of the signing charge.
Carry the first three months and begin recurring payments
The $15,000 to $45,000 three-month operating allowance is used after opening. Software payments can begin when accounts are created, the systemwide promotional contribution starts by opening or the stated deadline, and the royalty begins on its separate contractual schedule.
Source: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pages 14-15; Item 6, pages 16-17; Item 7, pages 23-26.
Which fees continue after opening?
Under the 2026 single-unit offer, the core ongoing obligations are the Royalty, Marketing and Promotion Fund Contribution, Software Reimbursement and local marketing expenditure. They are separate charges with different payees, start dates and payment dates; the systemwide contribution must not be confused with the separate local spending requirement.
For capital planning, the recurring schedule has three layers. The first is the required minimum payment that can apply even when sales are low. The second is the percentage-based charge that can exceed the minimum after the introductory period. The third is spending that must be made locally or reimbursed for designated systems. Those layers should be entered separately in a forecast because satisfying one obligation does not satisfy the others.
The start dates also can overlap before the business has a long operating history. Software-related charges may begin when accounts are established, promotional-fund payments begin by the stated opening or deadline trigger, and the royalty obligation has its own contractual start point. The disclosure therefore supports a monthly fee calendar, but it does not support converting the percentage charge into a yearly dollar estimate without an independently supported sales assumption. This article does not make that unsupported conversion.
Conditional charges should be kept outside the ordinary monthly subtotal. They arise only after a particular event, such as a transfer, renewal, supplier review, missed payment, failed inspection or hold-over period. Separating them avoids implying that every franchisee pays every listed charge, while still showing the contractual exposure created by the relevant event. The buyer should review the definitions, cure rights and payment deadlines in the actual agreement, because a small missed deadline can activate a materially different fee basis.
| Fee or obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | How to read it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | $997 monthly for the first 12 months; then greater of 5% of Gross Revenues or $997 | Monthly, currently on the 17th | Begins on day 270 for a new unit; an existing operating Outlet starts on the Effective Date |
| Marketing and Promotion Fund Contribution | Currently $500 monthly | First business day monthly | Starts on opening or day 270, whichever occurs first |
| Software Reimbursement | Varies; currently $400 monthly | Currently on the 10th | Starts when software accounts are created or day 270, whichever occurs first |
| Local Marketing Expenditure | Minimum $500 monthly | Spent locally each month | If not spent, the franchisor may demand the deficiency for local use |
| Technology Fee | Currently $0 | Monthly if imposed | The franchisor reserves the right to add or change the fee on notice |
| Conference Fee | Currently $1,500 for unlimited tickets; may rise to no more than $2,000 per attendee | At registration | Conference attendance is required; travel, lodging and meals are extra |
| Fit Body Forever | No separate fee currently for a new percentage-based agreement | Program terms apply after opening | Mandatory for new agreements; program Gross Revenues are included in the royalty basis |
| Elite Mastermind Coaching | $1,297 monthly | Currently on the 21st | Optional and subject to qualification and a separate addendum |
| Credit-card processing | Currently 3% of ongoing fees paid by credit card | When that payment method is used | Electronic funds transfer is the designated recurring-payment method |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 16-22; Item 11, page 47. "Gross Revenues" broadly includes revenue from services, memberships, products, merchandise and advertising, excluding sales tax collected and remitted to a taxing authority.
Which event-triggered fees can become material?
Renewal, transfer, relocation, training, supplier requests and defaults can create substantial charges beyond the normal monthly schedule. The trigger matters as much as the amount.
$5,000 when the Renewal Franchise Agreement is signed. The renewal agreement may contain materially different financial terms.
$7,500 before completion, and the buyer or transferee must also pay the then-current Initial Franchise Fee. A limited entity, heir or disability transfer can carry a $750 fee.
$500 per request to remove an owner, add an owner or relocate the Outlet. Relocation also creates the cost of securing and fitting out the new premises.
Item 6 permits a fee up to $997 per day plus travel and living costs. Item 11 states a current rate of $750 per day per person for additional training.
$1,500 when a proposed supplier is submitted for evaluation, plus any other testing or approval expense imposed on the franchisee or supplier.
A 5% late penalty plus 18% APR, or the highest lawful lower rate; a $1,000 cure-period extension request; and a possible $2,000 monthly increased Royalty while a payment default remains uncured.
Up to $2,000 per violation. Follow-up inspection costs are actual costs, estimated at $750 per inspection, when deficiencies remain uncured.
If required coverage lapses, the franchisor may obtain insurance at the franchisee's expense. Indemnification obligations and enforcement costs, including legal and dispute-resolution expenses, are variable and payable on demand when triggered.
The Hold-Over Royalty is the greater of $2,000 monthly or 8% of Gross Revenues. Default termination can trigger liquidated damages equal to three years of Royalty Fees and Marketing and Promotion Fund Contributions.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 17-22; Item 17, pages 54-56.
What does the Area Development Agreement range actually cover?
In the 2026 FDD, the $258,450 to $454,400 development range is a first-stage disclosure, not a three-location build-out budget. The developer commits to three sites, makes the development payment at signing and then bears the separate opening cost of each location under the schedule.
This distinction changes the capital question. The disclosed development total measures the upfront commitment plus the first opening stage; it does not reserve premises, equipment, payroll or opening cash for the later locations. A developer therefore needs a separate source-and-use schedule for each required opening, with enough flexibility for later pricing and the agreement terms then in effect. Treating the published development range as an all-in three-site ceiling would materially understate the contractual commitment.
The timing obligation can also compress capital needs. A later site may need to be sourced, approved and funded while the earlier outlet is still absorbing opening-period expenses. The development schedule should be tested against lease lead times, permitting, construction capacity and lender draw conditions. The FDD supplies the contractual deadlines, but it does not promise that cash generated by one outlet will fund the next, and this article makes no such assumption.
Three-unit commitment, one-unit opening range
The disclosure combines the development payment with the first site's opening investment after removing a duplicate signing charge. It expressly says the second and third locations will use the franchisor's then-current offer and are likely to cost more.
Both ranges are official totals from the current disclosure, but they cover different contracts. The development bar must not be read as the cost of three operating locations.
Source: 2026 FDD cover and Item 7, page 27. The plotted development figure includes the upfront payment and the first site's disclosed opening cost, not all three locations.
The first site must open within 270 days after the development contract is signed. Each later site must open within 270 days after its corresponding unit contract is signed. The brand's official franchise opportunity overview provides public background on the U.S. offer, but the binding deadlines come from the current disclosure and executed contracts.
The ADA table lists $157,250 as the low first-outlet investment after the Initial Franchise Fee is removed, but its own formula and official total imply $138,250: $195,850 minus $57,600. The table's $258,450 low ADA total also equals $120,200 plus $138,250, not plus $157,250. This article therefore omits the conflicting $157,250 intermediate figure and uses the cover and total-row ADA range. Obtain a corrected investment table before signing an ADA.
For a qualifying First Responder, the initial-fee section reduces the development payment to $91,400. By contrast, the single-unit discount applies to a qualifying active-duty U.S. Armed Services member, honorably discharged Veteran or First Responder and reduces the signing charge by 25% to $43,200. The discount does not reduce construction, equipment, rent, advertising or the opening reserve.
Are liquid capital, net worth or franchisor financing requirements disclosed?
The 2026 FDD does not state a numeric Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum. The disclosure says the franchisor does not require minimum funds to start the business, while still estimating $15,000 to $45,000 of Additional Funds. Item 10 also says neither the franchisor, an agent nor an affiliate offers direct or indirect financing or guarantees the buyer's notes, leases or obligations.
The absence of a published qualification threshold does not reduce the money required by the opening schedule. It means the disclosure provides no separate cash-on-hand test that can be compared with the startup estimate. A buyer still has to show how the signing payment, vendor deposits, construction draws and opening reserve will be funded. Any bank or other lender may apply its own underwriting standards, collateral rules, borrower contribution and reserve requirements, all of which sit outside the franchisor's disclosed cost schedule.
Loan proceeds may also arrive in draws rather than as unrestricted cash. The proposed funding plan should match those draw conditions to deposits and invoices, and it should identify a backup source for costs that a lender will not reimburse.
- Total Initial Investment
- The single-unit range shown above is a startup estimate, not a cash-on-hand qualification.
- Liquid Capital
- No numeric minimum is disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Item 6 refers to minimum liquidity requirements for participation in the mandatory Fit Body Forever program but does not state the amount.
- Net Worth
- No numeric Net Worth threshold is disclosed. Net Worth would not be the same as cash available to fund lease, build-out and working capital.
- Additional Funds
- The three-month allowance shown above is inside the disclosed total. It is not an extra amount to add again.
- Personal Guarantee
- Owners of a franchisee entity are required to personally guarantee the Franchise Agreement obligations; the FDD also states that a spouse must sign a guarantee.
The official franchise inquiry page presents broad self-reported capital bands but does not identify a qualifying minimum. The public FAQ explains that interested prospects may receive the disclosure, but its older cost figures do not replace the current financial terms.
Because franchisor financing is unavailable, any outside loan is a separate underwriting decision. The SBA 7(a) loan program lists permitted uses such as real estate improvements, working capital, equipment, furniture and changes of ownership, but an SBA guaranty is not Fit Body Boot Camp financing and does not guarantee approval.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, page 35; official franchise inquiry and FAQ pages checked July 17, 2026.
Which cost obligations can move beyond the published range?
The published range is most sensitive to the premises, construction and opening-period cash needs. It also does not place a dollar cap on future software changes, equipment replacement, refurbishment, relocation or the second and third locations under an ADA.
Square footage, location, prior use, landlord terms and required remodeling can change Security Deposit, Rent, Architect, Permitting and Construction costs. A Tenant Improvement allowance can reduce cost, but the disclosure does not assume a universal allowance.
An existing fitness facility conversion or acquisition of an existing Fit Body Boot Camp Outlet may cost more or less than the published range. The 2026 FDD provides no separate conversion or resale range.
Required equipment, mats, signs, software and branded materials must follow approved or designated sources. Shipping and supplier pricing can vary, and the franchisor can change supplier designations.
The Computer System, POS System, Designated Software and related upgrades are franchisee expenses. Item 11 says the POS System will not be required to be replaced more frequently than once a year, but no lifetime technology cap is disclosed.
The estimate assumes two initial-training attendees. Additional attendees, replacement training, certifications, conferences and future required training create extra fees, wages, travel, meals and lodging.
Premiums vary with location and claim history. Health-spa laws, business licensing, accessibility requirements and local sign or construction approvals can add costs not standardized nationally.
Additional Funds exclude owner's draws. Personal living expenses and compensation are outside the three-month allowance and should not be treated as included capital.
The Franchise Agreement requires maintenance, equipment upgrades and periodic refurbishment to then-current standards at the franchisee's expense. No remodel or relocation build-out range is disclosed.
State registration can provide another official checkpoint for the current offer. The California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation maintains a franchise filing and regulatory portal, but a state filing does not mean a government agency recommends the franchise or verifies its economics.
What should be reconciled before signing?
The decisive task is to convert the 2026 FDD categories into site-specific quotes without replacing the official range with unsupported estimates. The unresolved investment-table arithmetic makes a written reconciliation particularly important.
Quotes should carry an effective date and an expiration date so the buyer can see which figures may change before work begins. Deposits should be labeled as refundable, conditionally refundable or non-refundable, and every allowance should identify who controls the unused balance. Where a landlord contribution or vendor credit is expected, the worksheet should show the gross invoice and the credit separately rather than netting them without documentation. That presentation preserves the real obligation if the credit is delayed, reduced or made conditional on completion.
A clean reconciliation should show the official row name, the disclosed low and high endpoints, the buyer's current written quote, the expected payment date and the party receiving the money. Any quote outside the published boundary should remain visible rather than being forced back into the range. The same worksheet should distinguish cash that is already committed, cash that is refundable, financing that is merely proposed and reserves that must remain untouched through the opening period.
The final review should also identify every assumption that depends on a future approval or later agreement. Site acceptance, landlord concessions, supplier substitutions, loan approval and later-unit terms are not settled merely because the first agreement is signed. Recording those dependencies in writing gives the buyer a clearer view of which costs are fixed, which remain negotiable and which can still change after a contractual deadline has begun to run.
Capital takeaway: the verified 2026 single-unit range is $195,850 to $391,800. Premises work is the largest source of movement, the opening reserve is already included, and ongoing charges remain separate from startup spending. The most important unresolved issue is the disclosure's internal low-end arithmetic. A buyer should rely on a corrected written reconciliation, site-specific third-party quotes and the exact fee schedule in the contract that will be signed.