How Much Does a Fast-Fix Jewelry and Watch Repairs Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified cost answer

How much does a Fast-Fix Jewelry and Watch Repairs franchise cost?

The 2025 amended Franchise Disclosure Document states that a new Fast-Fix Kiosk requires an estimated initial investment of $114,700 to $227,500, while a new Inline Store requires $177,700 to $362,500. Both ranges include the standard $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee and three months of Additional Funds. They do not include the cost of purchasing real estate for an Inline Store.

The lower bound is not an average, a quote or the amount due on signing day. It is the low end of several disclosed assumptions that may not occur together at a particular site. The upper bound is also not a cap: a real-estate purchase, unusually expensive premises, local code work, later system changes or another cost outside the table can push the required capital higher. A buyer should therefore use the range as a framework for collecting site-specific contracts and quotations, not as a substitute for a complete opening budget.

For planning purposes, the decisive number is the amount supported by the selected lease, approved plans and current vendor proposals. Until those documents exist, the official bounds show possible exposure but cannot establish the final cash need. A sensible worksheet should also show tax, financing and contingency assumptions separately so they are not mistaken for amounts published by the franchisor. Document each assumption clearly so later revisions can be traced without obscuring the original evidence.

Kiosk: $114,700–$227,500 Inline Store: $177,700–$362,500

These are two distinct 2025 ranges, not one blended estimate. The correct planning range depends on the format approved for the site and includes the standard opening fee plus the disclosed three-month operating reserve. Source: 2025 amended FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–9.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Jewelry Repair Enterprises, Inc. FDD issued June 26, 2025 and amended August 7, 2025. Primary cost disclosures: Items 5, 6 and 7; supporting cost provisions: Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Formats currently offered in the FDD: Kiosk and Inline Store. Information checked July 14, 2026.

No matching copy of this amended FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations in this article are plain-text Item and page references. The brand's current U.S. offer is described on its official U.S. franchise opportunities page.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $20,000 Standard fee, paid when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Additional Funds $15,400–$35,600 Format-specific three-month ranges; owner compensation is excluded.
Royalty Fee 6% Of monthly Gross Sales, with a later minimum-payment provision.
Brand Fund Fee 2% Of Gross Sales, paid on the same schedule as the Royalty Fee.
Franchise Advertising Program $150 / $175 Current monthly fee: Kiosk / Inline Store.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the official initial investment?

Item 7 covers the franchise right, training travel, leased-premises costs, construction, technology, fixtures, inventory, equipment, opening marketing, deposits, professional fees, insurance and three months of Additional Funds. The two formats share the same categories but not the same ranges.

Agreement, training and premises costs

Opening expenditure Kiosk Inline Store Payment timing
Initial Franchise Fee $20,000 $20,000 When the Franchise Agreement is signed
Initial Training Expenses $2,000–$4,000 $2,000–$4,000 As incurred during training
Lease Deposit $0–$25,000 $0–$25,000 At lease signing
Rent, first 3 months $5,000–$18,000 $9,000–$22,000 Monthly
Construction & Development $15,000–$55,000 $60,000–$125,000 As incurred before opening

Source: 2025 amended FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–9. The rent estimate includes total occupancy costs such as common-area maintenance charges.

Equipment, opening and working-capital costs

Opening expenditure Kiosk Inline Store Payment timing
POS System $2,000–$5,000 $2,000–$5,000 Before opening
Fixtures, Inventory & Equipment $45,000–$60,000 $40,000–$100,000 Before opening
Preopening Advertising $4,000–$6,000 $5,000–$7,000 Before opening
Utility Deposits $300–$400 $300–$400 Before opening
Professional Fees / Licenses / Permits $4,000–$6,000 $12,000–$16,000 Before opening
Insurance Premium, first 3 months $2,000–$2,500 $2,000–$2,500 Before opening
Additional Funds, first 3 months $15,400–$25,600 $25,400–$35,600 As incurred

Source: 2025 amended FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–9. Item 8, pp. 9–11, states that most establishment and operating purchases are subject to system specifications or approved/designated suppliers.

These entries are connected. A larger or more complex site can affect rent, design work, permits, labor, fixtures and the amount needed before opening at the same time. Supplier quotes can also change the equipment and inventory lines. For budgeting, the most useful approach is to replace each broad range with an actual lease term, contractor proposal, insurance indication, technology quote and opening-purchase list. That process preserves the official categories while revealing whether the planned location sits near the low end, the high end or outside the disclosed assumptions.

Additional Funds definition

The three-month Additional Funds estimate includes payroll, marketing, software and technology fees, inventory and supply replenishment, utilities, professional fees and miscellaneous expenses. It excludes compensation paid to the owner; the first three months of rent and insurance are listed separately. The official total already includes this amount, so it should not be added a second time.

Format difference

Why does an Inline Store cost more than a Kiosk?

The main difference is the premises. A Kiosk is typically 120 to 160 square feet in an enclosed mall. An Inline Store is typically 300 to 1,000 square feet in an enclosed mall, outlet mall or retail strip center. The larger footprint increases the disclosed construction, rent, professional-fee and equipment exposure. The official site separately describes the system's high-traffic retail positioning on its franchise business-model page.

Fast-Fix premises and development responsibility

Kiosk

Typical footprint: 120–160 sq. ft.

Construction & Development: $15,000–$55,000.

First 3 months of rent: $5,000–$18,000.

Inline Store

Typical footprint: 300–1,000 sq. ft.

Construction & Development: $60,000–$125,000.

First 3 months of rent: $9,000–$22,000.

Source: 2025 amended FDD, Items 7 and 11, pp. 8–9 and 12–13. Store-In-Stores are described in Item 1 but were not being offered as franchises under this FDD.

Official total investment ranges by format

Each bar begins at the disclosed minimum and ends at the disclosed maximum on a $0–$400,000 scale.

Kiosk$114,700–$227,500
Inline Store$177,700–$362,500

Interpretation: the Inline Store starts $63,000 above the Kiosk minimum and reaches a maximum $135,000 higher. Source: 2025 amended FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–9. The differences are derived arithmetic from the two official ranges.

Highest disclosed amount for major variable opening categories

These are maximums, not typical costs. Bars use a common $0–$125,000 scale and show which categories drive the upper end.

Construction & Development
Kiosk$55,000
Inline$125,000
Fixtures, Inventory & Equipment
Kiosk$60,000
Inline$100,000
Additional Funds, 3 months
Kiosk$25,600
Inline$35,600
Lease Deposit
Kiosk$25,000
Inline$25,000
Rent, first 3 months
Kiosk$18,000
Inline$22,000
Professional Fees / Licenses / Permits
Kiosk$6,000
Inline$16,000

Interpretation: construction and development is the largest disclosed upper-bound difference between formats. Source: 2025 amended FDD, Item 7, pp. 8–9. All plotted values are official category maximums.

The comparison is most useful for prioritizing diligence. The longest bars identify areas where a preliminary internet estimate is least helpful and a site-specific quote is most important. They do not show how often buyers reach the maximum, and they do not imply that every upper bound will occur in the same project. A location with favorable landlord work may reduce one line while an unusual code requirement raises another. The disclosed total remains the controlling range; the category comparison simply shows where the upper-end exposure is concentrated.

Excluded from Item 7

A buyer of the larger format may choose to purchase real estate, but the disclosure does not estimate that purchase cost. The construction estimates also assume no landlord tenant-improvement allowance. A real-estate purchase or a negotiated allowance can therefore make the buyer's cash requirement materially different from the disclosed range.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

The investment is paid in stages rather than as one check. The standard Initial Franchise Fee is due first, premises obligations follow when the lease is signed, and most development and equipment payments are incurred before opening. The franchisor expects most franchisees to open within 180 days after signing, subject to site, lease, financing, permits, construction, equipment and training timing.

This sequence creates a practical cash-control issue. Some commitments become legally binding before construction bids, final insurance pricing or operating needs are fully known. A lease can also require deposits, rent and build-out work before the location produces any cash inflow. The buyer's funding plan should therefore distinguish money needed immediately, money drawn during development and money reserved for the first operating months. Treating the entire range as a single closing-date payment can obscure when liquidity is actually required.

Except for the stated treatment of overpayments, amounts paid to the franchisor are not refundable. Refund rights for outside payments depend on the applicable contract; the disclosure specifically notes that a landlord may return a security deposit when the tenant has not caused damage or defaulted. This makes cancellation terms and invoice timing important before each commitment is made. A written payment calendar can also identify deposits that remain recoverable and expenditures that become sunk immediately.

  1. Sign the Franchise Agreement. Pay the nonrefundable $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee in one lump sum. The FDD requires the prospective franchisee to receive disclosure at least 14 calendar days before signing or paying; the FTC Franchise Rule explains the federal disclosure framework.
  2. Secure an approved site and lease. The site must generally be approved within 60 days after signing. The Lease Deposit is due at lease signing, and rent begins under the lease. The franchisor must approve the lease before execution.
  3. Fund design, construction and required purchases. Construction & Development, the POS System, Fixtures, Inventory & Equipment, signage, opening marketing, utility deposits, permits and insurance are paid before opening or as incurred.
  4. Pay training travel and living costs. Item 7 estimates $2,000–$4,000 to send one person to initial training. Fast-Fix does not charge a fee for the initial program, but the franchisee pays trainee Travel Expenses.
  5. Carry the first three operating months. Use the format-specific working-capital amount for payroll and other disclosed operating costs. Rent and insurance for the same period are already separate opening-cost lines.
  6. Begin recurring payments. Monthly percentage, advertising and technology obligations continue after opening according to Item 6.

Sources: 2025 amended FDD, cover page; Items 5, 7 and 11, pp. 4, 8–9 and 12–18. The official franchise site also outlines its site, lease, build-out, supplier, training and technology support on the franchise support information page.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the store opens?

The central ongoing charges are the Royalty Fee, Brand Fund Fee, Local Advertising Commitment, Franchise Advertising Program and technology costs. Most percentage fees use Gross Sales as defined in Item 6; they are not percentages of profit.

The fee structure has three different cash behaviors. Percentage charges rise and fall with the disclosed sales base. Fixed monthly charges are payable regardless of that base, subject to any permitted adjustment. Required local spending is usually paid to outside vendors, but a shortfall can later become an amount owed to the franchisor. Keeping those categories separate matters because two locations with the same monthly sales can still have different cash outlays due to format, station count, cooperative participation and local marketing decisions.

Ongoing obligation Amount or basis Current format difference Timing / condition
Royalty Fee 6% of monthly Gross Sales Same basis 10th day of month; minimum royalty applies after month 12
Brand Fund Fee 2% of Gross Sales Same basis Same schedule as Royalty Fee
Local Advertising Commitment 1% of monthly Gross Sales Same basis Spent with third parties; becomes 2% if Brand Fund ends
Franchise Advertising Program $150 / $175 monthly Kiosk / Inline Store 10th day of month; may rise by up to 15% per year
Technology Fee Currently $137 or $177 monthly; cap $2,000 monthly 1 POS station / 2 POS stations 10th day of month or as specified
Ikeono license Currently $150 monthly No format distinction stated Required third-party technology license
Cooperative Advertising Fee Amount set by Fast-Fix or the cooperative Only if a cooperative applies Paid on the Royalty Fee schedule; credited against Local Advertising Commitment

Sources: 2025 amended FDD, Item 6, pp. 4–7; Item 11, pp. 13–18. Fixed-dollar fees and minimum fees may be adjusted for Consumer Price Index changes under Item 6's stated limits.

A useful cash calendar separates charges collected automatically, spending paid directly to vendors and later true-up obligations. The first group affects the bank account on a known schedule. The second depends on invoices and campaign choices but still must satisfy the contract. The third may appear after a measuring period ends, creating a bill even when the ordinary monthly payments were made on time. This distinction helps prevent a budget from treating every obligation as a single monthly debit or overlooking a later reconciliation.

Payment timing

The $14,400 minimum Royalty Fee applies to each 12-month period beginning in the 13th month after opening. If 6% royalties paid during the measuring period are below that minimum, the franchisee pays the difference within 30 days after invoicing.

Gross Sales
The broad Item 6 sales base for goods and services attributed to the Service Center, with specified exclusions for qualifying refunds, allowances, discounts and separately recorded sales or excise taxes.
Local Advertising Commitment
A required local spend, not simply another payment to the franchisor. Cooperative Advertising Fees count toward it; Brand Fund and Franchise Advertising Program fees do not.
Technology Systems
Required hardware, software, POS, communications, security and related services. Item 11 states that future upgrades or changes have no contractual frequency or cost limit.
Conditional obligations

Which costs arise only after a specific event?

Item 6 contains transaction, support, compliance and default-related charges that are not part of the ordinary monthly fee stack. They matter because a transfer, relocation, renewal, extra visit, supplier request, reporting failure or default can create a separate payment.

These amounts should not be added mechanically to the opening total or treated as a normal annual expense. Each depends on a defined trigger. Their value is in showing the financial consequences of later choices and contract breaches. A transfer can involve both a seller-side payment and buyer training; a renewal can require a payment plus physical upgrades; an audit or inspection can add travel and professional costs. The relevant question is not whether every charge will occur, but which events the planned ownership, lease and exit strategy make plausible.

Support, transaction and lifecycle fees

Additional pre-opening site visit
Estimated Travel Expense reimbursement of $1,000–$3,000 per additional visit, due 10 days after invoice. Up to three specified pre-opening visits may be provided without this charge.
Special Assistance Fee
$1,000 per person per day, plus Travel Expenses for onsite assistance, when extra training or assistance is requested and provided.
Conference or convention
Registration up to $1,000 per person per day, plus Travel Expenses. Attendance is currently required every other year unless optional or waived.
New product or supplier test
Actual testing cost, estimated at $250–$500 per test, when a franchisee proposes a new product or supplier.
Relocation support
All franchisor costs and expenses incurred to assist with an approved relocation.
Renewal Fee
50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, normally due 30 days before renewal; a shorter lease renewal can produce a prorated formula.
Transfer Fee and buyer training
$5,000 before a non-permitted transfer, plus the buyer's then-current training fee, stated as $7,500 in the 2025 FDD.
Security-interest filing costs
Actual filing fees and perfection costs if the franchisor records a UCC-1 financing statement or similar instrument.

Compliance, default and enforcement triggers

Audit Fee
Actual audit cost plus Travel Expenses when reports are late or missing, or an audit finds Gross Sales understated by 2% or more.
Late Fee
$50 plus default interest at the lesser of 18% per year or the highest lawful rate; the FDD states a 10% annual limit in California.
Renewal-signature noncompliance
$250 per day if the franchisee continues operating after expiration without timely signing the renewal agreement.
Other noncompliance
Up to $500 per incident, with another $500 every 48 hours that an uncured breach continues after the initial fee.
Default Inspection Fee
$1,000 per person per day plus Travel Expenses for inspections connected to a suspected, existing or cured default.
Default Fee and reimbursements
$1,000 per day plus Travel Expenses and other remediation costs when the franchisor cures an uncured breach on the franchisee's behalf.
Management Fee
Up to $500 per day plus Travel Expenses and other costs if temporary management is appointed after the Franchise Operator's incapacity or death.
Indemnification and legal costs
The franchisor's covered damages, losses, expenses, attorneys' fees and costs arising from operation or breach, payable under Item 6 and the Franchise Agreement.
Liquidated Damages
A formula based on Royalty Fee and Brand Fund Fee history for the lesser of 36 months or the months remaining in the term when the agreement is terminated for default.

Source: 2025 amended FDD, Items 5 and 6, pp. 4–7; Item 17, pp. 22–24, also requires renewal and transfer candidates to satisfy contract conditions that can include remodeling and equipment upgrades.

Lifecycle charges are easier to evaluate when tied to an ownership plan. A buyer expecting a long hold should examine future premises work, system updates and lease-extension conditions. A buyer who may sell should model approval, training and physical-upgrade requirements before estimating sale proceeds. Operators using a manager should also understand the temporary-management provision. None of these scenarios should be assumed to occur, but each can change the amount retained for contingencies and the timing of an exit.

Funding and qualifications

Does Fast-Fix disclose financing, liquid capital or net worth requirements?

The 2025 amended FDD states that Jewelry Repair Enterprises, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing. It also does not state a numeric minimum for Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds. A buyer therefore should not treat the official minimum as an approval threshold or assume the franchisor will fund the gap.

The disclosure also states that lease guarantees are no longer provided, although the franchisor reserves discretion to offer one in an extraordinary situation. That reservation is not a financing commitment and should not be included in a funding plan unless it appears in a signed agreement.

Three questions remain separate. First, total project cost asks how much the location may consume from signing through the opening period. Second, available cash asks how much can be paid without waiting for loan proceeds or asset sales. Third, personal balance-sheet strength asks what resources and liabilities a lender or the franchisor may evaluate. The disclosure answers the first question with ranges, but it does not publish numeric answers to the other two. A lender may also require reserves beyond the disclosed opening period, collateral or borrower equity even though those amounts are not stated here.

Item 15 adds a separate balance-sheet exposure: each owner and each owner's spouse must sign a Personal Guaranty Agreement. That guarantee is distinct from the cash needed to open. The official franchise pages reviewed describe candidates as qualified but do not publish a numeric capital test; the brand's current public information is available through its official franchise website.

Financing implication

Because Item 10 provides no franchisor financing, a loan inquiry should be modeled against the selected format's full Item 7 range, lease obligations, personal-guarantee exposure and costs excluded from Item 7. Government resources such as the SBA startup-cost guidance and SBA Lender Match are independent government tools, not Fast-Fix financing or an assurance of approval.

Sources: 2025 amended FDD, Item 10, p. 12; Item 15, p. 22.

Outside funding can change the payment schedule without changing the underlying cost. Loan proceeds may arrive only after documents, borrower equity, collateral, permits or lease conditions are satisfied. Deposits and professional work may be due earlier. A funding plan should therefore identify which commitments must be paid before closing, which invoices can be reimbursed and which reserves cannot be borrowed under the lender's terms. That analysis is separate from whether the project falls within the official range.

Buyer verification

What should be confirmed before relying on the cost range?

The disclosed ranges are useful only after the buyer fixes the unit format, premises contract and current fee schedule. Several obligations are variable, and one discount footnote conflicts with the fee table.

The most reliable pre-signing budget is a reconciliation, not a midpoint. Start with every disclosed category, attach a current document or quote to each one, identify what remains unknown and keep excluded costs outside the official total. This also makes later changes visible: when the lease, site plan or required system changes, the buyer can see which assumptions moved instead of replacing the entire budget with a new unsupported figure.

Source conflict

Item 5 states a $5,000 Multi-Unit discount that produces a $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee and a 50% Veterans discount that produces a $10,000 Initial Franchise Fee. Item 7 Note 2 reverses the discount labels by describing a $5,000 veterans discount and a $10,000 multi-unit discount. This article uses the standard $20,000 fee in the official Item 7 totals and does not calculate a discounted total. The current FDD and executed Franchise Agreement should resolve the inconsistency before payment.

  • Confirm the approved format. Do not apply Kiosk rent or construction ranges to an Inline Store, or vice versa.
  • Reconcile the discount language. Obtain written confirmation of the Initial Franchise Fee and eligibility conditions, including the rule that the Multi-Unit and Veterans discounts cannot be combined.
  • Price the actual premises. Verify lease deposit, common-area maintenance, rent escalations, landlord tenant-improvement allowance, local construction requirements and whether real estate will be purchased.
  • Confirm current technology charges. Recheck POS station count, Technology Fee, Ikeono license, required upgrades and third-party contracts.
  • Confirm source-restricted purchases. Item 8 requires approved suppliers or specifications for most establishment and operating purchases, including fixtures, equipment, POS, signage, inventory, supplies and marketing materials.
  • Review insurance limits and lease obligations. Item 8 specifies property, general liability, automobile, contractor, jeweler's block, business interruption, workers' compensation and landlord-required coverage.
  • Use the current disclosure timetable. Review the then-current FDD and attachments before signing or paying. The official U.S. franchise information is supplemental; the controlling cost contract is the current FDD and Franchise Agreement.

The reconciliation should be completed against the document delivered for the actual sale, not an earlier summary or website statement. Each material assumption should have an owner, a supporting quote and an expiration date. Unknown amounts should remain visibly unresolved rather than being replaced with a midpoint. This produces a budget that can be updated when the site, lease, contractor scope or required systems change without losing the connection to the disclosed categories.

Decision synthesis

What is the practical capital takeaway?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should plan around one of two separate 2025 Item 7 ranges: $114,700–$227,500 for a Kiosk or $177,700–$362,500 for an Inline Store. The largest format-sensitive drivers are Construction & Development, Fixtures, Inventory & Equipment, premises costs and the three-month Additional Funds estimate. The $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one component of the investment.

After opening, the cost contract continues through a 6% Royalty Fee, 2% Brand Fund Fee, 1% Local Advertising Commitment, format-specific Franchise Advertising Program fees and technology obligations. The FDD does not publish a Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold and does not provide franchisor financing. The most important unresolved buyer-specific questions are the approved premises economics, current technology stack, required supplier pricing and the FDD's inconsistent discount labels.