How Much Does an Engel & Völkers Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 U.S. cost answer

How much does an Engel & Völkers franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document gives two separate Estimated Initial Investment ranges: $108,690 to $340,592 to convert an existing residential real estate brokerage, and $205,690 to $471,592 to establish a start-up residential real estate brokerage. These are not interchangeable ranges. The start-up format adds premises, supplies, and computer-network obligations that a conversion brokerage may already have.

Conversion: $108,690-$340,592 Start-up: $205,690-$471,592
Official 2026 Item 7 ranges for an Engel & Völkers Residential Real Estate Brokerage. Both totals include three months of Additional Funds, but neither resolves every location-specific or state-specific amount.

Data basis: Engel & Völkers Americas, Inc., a Delaware corporation; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 29, 2026; conversion and start-up Residential Real Estate Brokerage formats; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 17; checked July 20, 2026. FDD figures are cited below by Item and exact page because no matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public website.

Brand identity was cross-checked against the official U.S. Engel & Völkers website. Current offer status was cross-checked against the Wisconsin active franchise-registration list, which showed ENGEL & VOLKERS Americas INC with an expiration date of April 29, 2027 when checked.

Capital snapshot

The most important distinction is between the total Item 7 investment and the smaller amounts paid directly to Engel & Völkers Americas, Inc. or its affiliate.

Initial Franchise Fee Minimum $35,000 Due when the Franchise Agreement is signed; the fee may be higher for the Protected Area.
Paid to franchisor or affiliate $35,690-$43,092 Cover-page disclosure for either brokerage format; most other opening costs go to third parties.
Additional Funds Conversion $30,000-$90,000
Start-up $60,000-$170,000
Separate three-month line items included in each format's official total.
Minimum Annual Royalty $60,000 Prorated for full calendar months in a partial first year; percentage tiers still apply.
Marketing & Technology Fund 2.0%-1.5% Marginal annual Gross Revenues tiers; separate from local advertising and GG Magazine.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pages 15-16; Item 6, pages 17-24; Item 7, pages 25-32.

2026 total initial investment by brokerage format

The start-up range begins $97,000 above the conversion minimum and reaches $131,000 above the conversion maximum.

Conversion brokerage
$108,690 minimum$340,592 maximum
Start-up brokerage
$205,690 minimum$471,592 maximum

Official figures, not averages: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 25-32. Bar geometry uses a $0-$500,000 scale. The $97,000 and $131,000 differences are derived arithmetic from the official endpoints. The official totals retain unquantified obligations discussed below.

Format difference

Why do conversion and start-up costs differ?

A conversion franchise is designed for an existing residential brokerage, while a start-up franchise must establish more of the operating platform from scratch. The 2026 FDD therefore gives the start-up format separate line items for Leasehold Improvements, Supplies, and Computer and Network costs, and assigns a higher minimum to Furniture, Equipment and Signage and Additional Funds.

The Engel & Völkers format split

The cost contract is unusually dependent on whether the buyer already operates a brokerage. That format decision changes both the disclosed range and what remains unquantified.

Conversion Residential Real Estate Brokerage

$108,690-$340,592. Item 7 assumes an operating brokerage can reuse some infrastructure. It does not include a separate Computer and Network range, and the FDD expects conversion franchisees generally to possess compliant computer equipment.

Start-up Residential Real Estate Brokerage

$205,690-$471,592. Item 7 adds $17,000-$33,000 for Computer and Network, $6,000-$17,000 for Supplies, and a Leasehold Improvements obligation stated only as “varies.”

FDD caveat The numerical totals do not assign a dollar amount to every obligation. Leasehold Improvements for a start-up, License and Trade Requirements, and an MLS Research/Set Up Fee are unquantified. A conversion brokerage may also face build-out expense if its existing premises do not meet Engel & Völkers design specifications.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the conversion investment range?

The conversion range covers the minimum Initial Franchise Fee, pre-opening training and travel, brand-compliant furnishings and signage, local launch spending, insurance, promotional supplies, and three months of Additional Funds. State licensing, MLS setup, and potential premises changes remain unresolved amounts.

Conversion brokerage: agreement and pre-opening payments
Cost category 2026 disclosed amount When paid
Initial Franchise Fee Minimum $35,000 On signing the Franchise Agreement
Training Fees $690-$5,594 Before training begins
Brokerage manager training $0-$1,998 Before training begins
Training travel and accommodation $5,000-$10,000 As incurred before training
License and Trade Requirements Not quantified Before opening, as required by state law
MLS Research/Set Up Fee Varies Before opening if an MLS integration is arranged

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 25-28; Item 5, pages 15-16.

Conversion brokerage: premises, launch, and initial operating period
Cost category 2026 disclosed amount When paid
Furniture, Equipment and Signage $17,000-$135,000 Before opening and as incurred
Advertising $4,000-$16,000 As incurred
Insurance $6,000-$10,000 When arranged
Grand Opening $6,000-$27,000 Opening event must occur within three months after opening
Printing and Promotional Supplies $5,000-$10,000 As incurred
Additional Funds - 3 Months $30,000-$90,000 As incurred during the first three months after conversion
Official conversion total $108,690-$340,592 Item 7 total; unquantified rows remain variable

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 25-28.

New brokerage build

What is included in the start-up investment range?

The start-up range includes every quantified conversion category plus Supplies, Computer and Network, a higher Furniture, Equipment and Signage minimum, and a larger three-month Additional Funds range. Leasehold Improvements are required when applicable but remain stated only as “varies.”

Start-up brokerage: agreement, training, and premises setup
Cost category 2026 disclosed amount When paid
Initial Franchise Fee Minimum $35,000 On signing the Franchise Agreement
Training Fees $690-$5,594 Before training begins
Brokerage manager training $0-$1,998 Before training begins
Training travel and accommodation $5,000-$10,000 As incurred
Leasehold Improvements Varies As arranged for an approved location
License and Trade Requirements Not quantified As required before opening
MLS Research/Set Up Fee Varies Before opening if an MLS integration is arranged

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 29-32.

Start-up brokerage: operating platform, launch, and working capital
Cost category 2026 disclosed amount When paid
Furniture, Equipment and Signage $60,000-$135,000 As incurred
Supplies $6,000-$17,000 As incurred
Computer and Network $17,000-$33,000 When arranged
Advertising $5,000-$17,000 As incurred
Insurance $6,000-$10,000 When arranged
Grand Opening $6,000-$27,000 Opening event must occur within three months after opening
Printing and Promotional Supplies $5,000-$10,000 As incurred
Additional Funds - 3 Months $60,000-$170,000 As incurred during the first three months
Official start-up total $205,690-$471,592 Item 7 total; unquantified rows remain variable

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 29-32.

Additional Funds The three-month Additional Funds amount is already included in each Item 7 total; it should not be added again. The FDD describes it broadly as money for expenses during the start-up phase, but does not itemize those expenses or state whether owner compensation or personal living costs are included.
Initial fee contract

What does the Initial Franchise Fee cover, and can it change?

The Initial Franchise Fee is at least $35,000, is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed, and is nonrefundable. Engel & Völkers Americas, Inc. may charge more based on the Protected Area, number of locations, market potential, population, residential-property characteristics, and total market turnover.

The fee includes one participant in Leadership Path Training. A separate brokerage manager can add $1,998. Pre-opening Engel & Völkers Engage Training is $98 per sales advisor or supporting staff member, and Support Path Training is $298 per staff member. An agreed in-person Engage session is a flat $4,998, subject to the disclosed attendance conditions.

An additional physical location within the Protected Area can create a further $5,000 Initial Franchise Fee. A permitted Limited Purpose Location creates a separate $2,500 one-time fee. Item 5 also reports that Initial Franchise Fees paid in 2025 ranged from $0 to $35,000, but it does not disclose a generally available waiver, veteran incentive, or eligibility rule for a $0 fee. That historical range should not be treated as a current discount.

Cost implication The $35,000 figure is a minimum, not a universal fixed price. Before relying on it, the buyer needs the written fee assigned to the proposed Protected Area and every approved physical or Limited Purpose Location.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 15-16; Item 7, pages 25-32.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

Cash is not paid in one lump sum. The Initial Franchise Fee is due at signing, training charges are due before training, most premises and launch costs are paid to independent vendors as arranged, the grand-opening expense occurs within three months after opening, and ongoing fees begin under the Payment Start Date rules.

Sign the Franchise Agreement. Pay the minimum $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee, or the higher Protected Area amount stated by the franchisor. Approved additional-location fees also arise under their applicable agreements.
Arrange required pre-opening training. Pay Engage Training, Support Path Training, and any separate brokerage-manager Leadership Path Training fee before training begins; pay travel and accommodation as incurred.
Secure and prepare the approved location. Pay independent vendors for leasehold work, Furniture, Equipment and Signage, Supplies, Computer and Network, insurance, licensing, and any MLS integration as each obligation is arranged.
Fund launch and the first three months. Pay advertising, Printing and Promotional Supplies, and operating expenses as incurred. Hold the required public-relations grand-opening event within three months after opening.
Begin ongoing payments. Royalties and National Marketing and Technology Fund Contributions are due at the earlier of settlement or closing, or upon receipt of the franchisor's invoice, under the Item 6 payment rules.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 17-24; Item 7, pages 25-32.

Ongoing fees

What fees continue after opening?

The two principal percentage charges are an Ongoing Royalty and a National Marketing and Technology Fund Contribution. Both use marginal annual Gross Revenues tiers, not one rate applied retroactively to all annual Gross Revenues. The Royalty also has a $60,000 Minimum Annual Royalty, prorated for full calendar months in a partial operating year.

Marginal ongoing fee rates by annual Gross Revenues tranche

Each percentage applies only to Gross Revenues within its stated tranche. The schedules reset on January 1 each year.

Up to $1 million
Royalty6.00%
Fund2.00%
$1,000,000.01-$2 million
Royalty5.50%
Fund2.00%
$2,000,000.01-$5 million
Royalty5.00%
Fund1.875%
$5,000,000.01-$10 million
Royalty4.50%
Fund1.75%
$10,000,000.01-$20 million
Royalty4.25%
Fund1.625%
$20,000,000.01-$30 million
Royalty4.00%
Fund1.625%
$30,000,000.01 and above
Royalty3.75%
Fund1.50%

Official fee schedules: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 17-24. Bar lengths are scaled to the 6% maximum shown; the displayed percentages are the controlling figures. The Minimum Annual Royalty can make the royalty payment exceed the percentage calculation.

Gross Revenues basis. Item 6 broadly includes compensation, commissions, referral fees, marketing fees, payments, and other income connected with the franchised brokerage, subject to stated exclusions for third-party referral fees paid and documented Exempted Transactions.
GG Magazine advertising. One property advertisement currently costs $3,025 per year and is payable within 10 days after invoice to Grund Genug Verlag or its agent. Item 8 can increase the required annual advertisement count as approved locations increase, up to three required advertisements per year.
Additional Technology Services. Charges follow the then-current Technology Price List and may include MLS integration fees that vary by MLS Board.
Training after opening. Additional Leadership Path Training is $4,998 per person, Engel & Völkers Engage is $98 per person, Support Path Training is $298 per person, and other training may be charged at then-current rates.
Payment consequence Item 6 states that inaccurate or late Gross Revenues reporting, or failure to pay the Royalty or National Marketing and Technology Fund Contribution when due, can trigger a 6% Royalty and 2% fund contribution on all Gross Revenues for the remainder of the Franchise Agreement term. Fixed-dollar fees may also be increased by up to 10% annually; percentage fees are excluded from that increase right.
Conditional obligations

Which fees apply only when a particular event occurs?

Several Item 6 charges do not arise in every operating year. They depend on additional locations, optional designations, transfer, renewal, late payment, audit findings, legal claims, or termination for breach.

Additional and Limited Purpose Locations. A permitted additional physical location can add a $5,000 Initial Franchise Fee; a Limited Purpose Location carries a $2,500 fee per location.
Development Services Designation. The optional annual fee is $2,500, $4,000, or $6,000 based on participating brokerages and designees, plus $300 for an additional designee. A project-specific consulting fee can equal 8%-10% of Gross Revenues from a Development Services project.
Commercial Designation. The optional annual fee is $5,000 for a brokerage that already holds a Development Services Designation or $6,000 without it, with additional-designee charges disclosed in Item 6.
Transfer Fee. The standard administrative fee is $2,500 before or at transfer. A securities offering requires $10,000 or a higher amount necessary to reimburse reasonable franchisor costs.
Renewal. The Renewal Fee is 50% of the Initial Franchise Fee and is due before the new term begins. Item 17 provides one additional 10-year term if the renewal conditions are met.
Past-due amounts and audit findings. Interest is the highest lawful rate or, if no rate is specified by law, 4% above the Citibank prime rate. Inspection and Audit Costs become reimbursable when an audit shows a Royalty underpayment greater than 2%.
Claims, defaults, and termination. Attorneys’ Fees, Indemnification, Tax Indemnity, and Liquidated Damages can apply. The typical liquidated-damages formula uses average monthly Royalty, National Marketing and Technology Fund Contributions, and other fees multiplied by the lesser of 24 months or the full calendar months remaining in the term.
Purchases of marketing articles and Conference Fee. Required branded marketing-article purchases have no fixed disclosed amount. The Conference Fee varies, and Principals with at least 25% ownership must attend the Network Conference; nonattendance can still be invoiced at the lowest available registration rate.
Internal Commissions (Referral Fee). When permitted by law, the amount is negotiated between the receiving and referring franchisees and is due after the receiving brokerage obtains Gross Revenues from the referral.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 17-24; Item 8, pages 32-35; Item 17, pages 57-64.

Capital qualifications

Does Engel & Völkers disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth requirement?

The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold for this U.S. offer. Those figures therefore should not be inferred from the Item 7 investment range or from third-party franchise directories.

The absence of a published threshold does not remove personal liability. Item 1 requires each owner holding at least 10% of a franchisee entity to sign a Principal's Guarantee and Assumption of Obligations covering payment obligations; a spouse may also be required to sign in a community-property state or in other circumstances determined by the franchisor. Item 10 states that Engel & Völkers Americas, Inc. provides no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation.

A buyer should request the latest written qualification criteria directly during the disclosure process and compare any update with the current registration record through the Wisconsin franchise filing search portal. The FTC disclosure-review guidance explains why updated information should be requested before signing.

Financing

Does the franchisor finance the initial investment?

No. Item 10 says Engel & Völkers Americas, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee the franchisee's note, lease, or other obligation. Any third-party financing would be separate from the franchisor's disclosure and subject to the lender's own underwriting.

The FTC consumer guide distinguishes lender approval from the underlying franchise investment decision. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a current veteran discount or financing-provider relationship for this Residential Real Estate Brokerage offer.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, page 37.

Buyer verification

Which cost questions remain unresolved by the official range?

The official range is a starting contract disclosure, not a complete site-specific cash budget. The buyer still needs written amounts for the Protected Area, premises, licensing, MLS integration, approved technology, insurance, local advertising, and any additional location or designation.

Confirm the exact format. Obtain written confirmation that the proposed business is being priced as a conversion or a start-up Residential Real Estate Brokerage.
Price the unquantified rows. Obtain local bids for Leasehold Improvements or conversion build-out, licensing and trade requirements, and the MLS Research/Set Up Fee.
Reconcile Additional Funds. Confirm the three-month expense assumptions, whether owner pay is included, and what cash must remain outside the business for personal obligations.
Verify the Protected Area fee. Ask for the exact Initial Franchise Fee, additional physical-location rights, and any Limited Purpose Location fee in the proposed agreements.
Obtain current price lists. Review the current Technology Price List, approved-supplier specifications, training prices, GG Magazine obligation, and required marketing articles.
Check for updates before signing. Review current state filings and request the most recent disclosure and any material-change updates required by the FTC Franchise Rule.
Cost synthesis

What capital number should a prospective franchisee use?

Use the applicable 2026 official range as the disclosed starting point: $108,690-$340,592 for a conversion brokerage or $205,690-$471,592 for a start-up brokerage. Keep that number separate from the minimum $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the $60,000 Minimum Annual Royalty, and any undisclosed liquidity or net-worth criteria.

The largest disclosed sources of variation are Furniture, Equipment and Signage and Additional Funds. The most important unresolved obligations are Leasehold Improvements or conversion build-out, state licensing, MLS setup, and current technology or supplier pricing. Because the FDD assigns no fixed amount to those items, the site-specific capital requirement may not be fully captured by the headline total.

Official documents and tools

These public sources help verify the current offer and interpret the disclosure process; none is presented as a public copy of the brand's 2026 FDD.

Wisconsin franchising overview

State filing rules, registration context, and regulator contact information.

FTC Franchise Rule

Federal disclosure framework and access to the controlling rule materials.

FTC rule questions

Official guidance on timing, updates, and disclosure obligations.

Wisconsin registration search

Public portal for checking registration status and available filing records.