How Much Does an Einstein Bros. Bagels Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much capital does an Einstein Bros. Bagels franchise require?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document separates two materially different U.S. cost structures. A Franchised Restaurant under a Franchise Agreement has a disclosed Estimated Initial Investment of $650,000 to $1,247,500. A Licensed Restaurant in a Non-Traditional Facility or Captive Market Location has a disclosed range of $151,050 to $620,250. These ranges cannot be blended because the premises, equipment responsibilities, initial fees, royalty rates, and technology obligations differ.

$650,000–$1,247,500 Franchised Restaurant
Primary traditional-format range. The 2026 Item 7 estimate assumes a traditional location, primarily a strip-center end cap, and includes construction, equipment, signage, opening inventory, the Initial Franchise Fee, three months of Additional Funds, and other pre-opening categories. A separate Licensed Restaurant range begins at $151,050. The franchisor's official franchise investment page publishes the same traditional range.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Einstein Bros. Bagels Franchise Corporation, a Colorado corporation. FDD issuance date: April 28, 2026. Formats reviewed: Franchised Restaurant, Licensed Restaurant, and Area Development Agreement. Cost evidence: Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17 and the Franchise Agreement. Information checked July 22, 2026.

FDD references: cover page i; Item 1, pp. 8–9; Item 5, pp. 13–15; Item 6, pp. 15–22; Item 7, pp. 22–29. No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public website, so FDD citations in this article are intentionally unlinked.

Capital snapshot

$35,000 Initial Franchise Fee Due in a lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
$12,500 Initial License Fee Applies to a captive or nontraditional setting.
$10,000/store Area Development Fee Paid at development-agreement signing; later credits may apply.
$1M / $3M Liquidity / Net Worth Current website screening thresholds, not opening costs.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7, pp. 13–29; Einstein Bros. Bagels official financial-qualification information checked July 22, 2026.

The cover page states that a conventional operator pays $41,000 to $47,000 to the franchisor before opening. Item 5 explains that this amount combines the $35,000 signing fee, a conditional $2,000 plan-review charge, and approximately $4,000 to $10,000 of optional product purchases. The host-facility operator pays $12,500 to the franchisor before opening.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

Why are there two Einstein Bros. Bagels investment ranges?

A Franchised Restaurant and a Licensed Restaurant use different agreements and different operating settings. The Franchise Agreement covers a conventional restaurant at an approved location, including stand-alone, smaller-footprint, inline, end-cap, or drive-thru configurations. The License Agreement covers a Non-Traditional Facility or Captive Market Location such as an airport, hospital, college, military base, sports arena, or toll-road facility. The official store-design information also identifies inline, free-standing drive-thru, and second-generation options, but the FDD does not publish a separate Item 7 range for each of those conventional configurations.

The conventional-format high end includes cost pressure from drive-thru equipment, drive-thru signage, and potentially more extensive construction. The host-facility format may rely on the facility operator for computer equipment and other infrastructure. Identify the governing agreement before using either range.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the Franchised Restaurant investment?

The $650,000 to $1,247,500 Franchised Restaurant range consists of $554,000 to $1,090,000 in development costs plus $96,000 to $157,500 in pre-opening costs. Construction is the largest single disclosed category. The estimate assumes a traditional site, primarily a strip-center end cap delivered in “warm vanilla box” condition. Tenant improvement allowances are excluded, and a free-standing building with extensive parking, landscaping, and a drive-thru may cost materially more.

Development costs for both formats

Item 7 category Franchised Restaurant Licensed Restaurant Payment timing
Construction Costs $320,000–$600,000 $25,000–$250,000 Progress payments during construction
Computer Equipment & Electronics $25,000–$40,000 Not separately listed Supplier payment terms; host facility generally provides it for a Licensed Restaurant
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment $150,000–$300,000 $60,000–$200,000 Supplier payment terms
Signage & Graphics $30,000–$70,000 $8,000–$15,000 Supplier payment terms
Professional Fees, including architecture, engineering, permits and impact fees $29,000–$80,000 Not separately listed As incurred, generally through monthly billing
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 22–25. Licensed Restaurant computer and professional-fee responsibilities may be embedded in host-facility arrangements rather than disclosed as separate Item 7 lines.

Pre-opening costs for both formats

Item 7 category Franchised Restaurant Licensed Restaurant When or how paid
Initial Franchise Fee / Initial License Fee $35,000 $12,500 When the applicable agreement is signed
Design Review Fee $2,000 Not listed Before plan review, if an unapproved architect or contractor is selected
Opening Inventory, Smallwares & Supplies $25,000–$37,000 $15,000–$25,000 Supplier payment terms
Initial Marketing & Promotion $2,500–$8,000 $2,500 As incurred before and around opening
Insurance $7,500–$15,000 $2,500–$3,500 As incurred; estimate is for required annual premium
Training Expenses $1,000–$14,000 $2,500–$6,000 Travel, lodging, meals and employee costs as incurred
Miscellaneous Opening Costs $1,000–$2,500 $1,000–$2,000 As incurred
Business Licenses $1,000–$1,500 $500–$5,000 Paid to government agencies before operation
Security Deposits $1,000–$2,500 $800–$3,750 As negotiated or arranged
Additional Funds for three months $20,000–$40,000 $20,750–$95,000 Used as operating needs arise
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 23–29. Additional Funds are already included in the applicable total Estimated Initial Investment.

The conventional estimate does not deduct a landlord's tenant improvement allowance and does not publish a land-purchase amount. A free-standing drive-thru can therefore fall outside the practical effect of a strip-center end-cap assumption even though one broad range is disclosed.

NUMERIC RECONCILIATION

The licensed-format low-end line items add to $58,050, although the printed pre-opening subtotal is $55,550. Adding $58,050 to the disclosed $93,000 development subtotal produces the official $151,050 total. This article preserves the official total and treats the printed $55,550 subtotal as an internal inconsistency rather than replacing the total.

WORKING CAPITAL

What do Additional Funds cover, and are they extra?

Additional Funds are included inside Item 7, not added on top of the official total. The 2026 FDD allocates $20,000 to $40,000 for a Franchised Restaurant and $20,750 to $95,000 for a Licensed Restaurant. The stated start-up period is three months, and the funds support payroll, rent, utilities, and other ongoing expenses to the extent operating receipts do not cover them.

Covered period
Three months of the start-up phase.
Rent assumption
For a Franchised Restaurant that does not own its location, the estimate includes six months of rent: one month before opening, three months after opening, one month as a security deposit, and the last month's rent.
Space assumption
Approximately 1,200 to 2,500 square feet at $25 to $75 per square foot per year.
Pre-opening staffing
The estimate assumes approximately 500 hours of staff time before opening for preparation, training, and orientation.
Owner compensation
The FDD does not identify owner compensation as a separate included amount.

The franchisor expressly states that the Additional Funds estimate may be insufficient during or after the three-month period. Credit history, supplier terms, local wages, local rent, management experience, and the pace of opening-period expenses can change the amount of cash required.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Notes 14–16, pp. 28–29.
PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The cash requirement is staged across agreement signing, site development, pre-opening purchases, and the first months of operation. Item 11 estimates approximately four to nine months between signing the Franchise Agreement or License Agreement and opening, but permits, financing, weather, site work, and construction can extend the schedule.

Area Development Agreement signing

A Developer pays a nonrefundable $10,000 per Restaurant development fee in one lump sum. The FDD permits a $10,000 credit toward each later Initial Franchise Fee if the Restaurant opens on schedule and the Developer remains compliant.

Franchise Agreement or License Agreement signing

The $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee or $12,500 Initial License Fee is due in full. The fee is fully earned when paid and generally nonrefundable.

Plan review and construction

The conditional $2,000 Design Review Fee is due before review if an unapproved architect or contractor is used. Construction is paid through progress payments; equipment, signage, and technology follow supplier payment terms.

Pre-opening procurement and training

Opening Inventory, Smallwares and Supplies, insurance, licenses, deposits, and training travel are paid before or around opening as incurred. Item 5 also describes approximately $4,000 to $10,000 in optional product purchases from the franchisor or affiliates.

Opening period and continuing withdrawals

Additional Funds support the three-month start-up phase. After opening, Royalty, Marketing Contribution, and System Support Fees are collected on their disclosed weekly, monthly, or electronic-transfer schedules.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 13–15; Item 6, pp. 15–22; Item 7, pp. 22–29; Item 11, pp. 37–38.
ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after an Einstein Bros. Bagels location opens?

A Franchised Restaurant pays a 5% Royalty and a 4% Marketing Contribution on Gross Sales, plus monthly System Support Fees. A Licensed Restaurant pays a 6.5% Royalty on Gross Sales, reduced to 4% for airport locations, and does not have the same 4% Marketing Contribution or required NCR subscription described for Franchised Restaurants.

Continuing obligation Franchised Restaurant Licensed Restaurant Basis and timing
Royalty 5% of Gross Sales 6.5% of Gross Sales; 4% for airport locations Franchise: weekly by Friday for the prior Week. License: by the 15th day of each month.
Marketing Contribution 4% of Gross Sales Not disclosed as applicable Same timing as Royalty; allocated between the Systemwide Marketing Fund and local or market programs as designated.
System Support Fees $500–$1,100 per month Not required Subscription-based support, Approved Software, mobile ordering, reporting, vendor management, and related systems.
Required product purchasing Variable Variable Approved or designated suppliers; Proprietary Items are estimated at about 25% of continuing purchases on an average weekly basis.

Gross Sales generally means all revenue derived from operating the Restaurant, excluding taxes collectedand paid to taxing authorities, revenue from issuing gift or loyalty cards until redeemed for products, and qualifying refunds and credits. The License Agreement has a specific central-beverage-station rule for host facilities.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 15–22; Item 8, pp. 29–32. Percentage fees are stated only on the FDD's disclosed Gross Sales basis; no annual dollar amount is estimated.
FDD CAVEAT

Technology disclosures do not align cleanly across the 2026 FDD. Item 6 states $500 to $1,100 per month for System Support Fees; Item 7 discusses an NCR subscription of $300 to $900 per month; Item 11 gives a separate purchase or lease estimate. Obtain a current vendor schedule and written confirmation of which charges overlap before finalizing the capital plan.

CONDITIONAL OBLIGATIONS

Which fees arise only after a specific event?

Item 6 contains several charges that are not part of ordinary weekly or monthly operations but can become material after a transfer, default, audit, training request, supplier proposal, renewal, or termination.

Grand Opening Marketing Program — $10,000Franchise Agreement only and expressly in addition to the 4% Marketing Contribution. Item 7 separately lists $2,500 to $8,000 for Initial Marketing and Promotion, so the buyer should confirm whether the two opening-marketing amounts overlap.
Transfer Fee — 50% of the then-current initial feeApplies to a transfer of the franchise, license, company, or ownership interest. Multiple Franchise Agreement transfers to one buyer in one transaction are generally capped at $50,000 or actual out-of-pocket costs if higher.
Renewal Fee — 10% of the then-current initial feeFor a License Agreement, the amount is 10% of the then-current Initial License Fee or $1,250, whichever is greater.
Interest and late-payment chargesInterest is 1.5% per month on overdue amounts, subject to applicable-law limits. A Licensed Restaurant also has a 15% Late Fee plus bank charges for late or dishonored payments.
Audit, default, indemnity, and attorneys' fees — variableAudit costs can be charged after missing statements or a royalty underpayment of 2% or more. Default enforcement and indemnity obligations can include legal and accounting costs.
Supplier testing and vendor evaluation — variableA proposed unapproved supplier can trigger inspection or testing costs. The FDD currently states $2,000 for evaluation of certain proposed service vendors and estimates $1,000 to $5,000 for a typical proposed supplier approval elsewhere in Item 8.
Reinspection Fee — up to $1,500May be charged for each follow-up inspection after the Restaurant is found out of compliance.
Additional training and onsite assistance$350 per trainer per day, plus per diem and out-of-pocket costs. Additional Certified Manager training is $1,600 per person for a Franchised Restaurant and $650 per person for a Licensed Restaurant; refresher training can be up to $650 per person.
Securities Offering Fee — $7,500 or actual expenses, whichever is moreFranchise Agreement only, if the franchisee conducts a public or private securities offering.
Lost Future Royalties — formula-basedFollowing specified termination, abandonment, or cessation events under the Franchise Agreement, the amount is based on average monthly Royalty Fees for the prior 12 months multiplied by the lesser of 36 or the months remaining in the term.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 16–22; Item 8, pp. 29–32. Conditional charges depend on the triggering facts and agreement.
MULTI-UNIT CAPITAL

How do financial qualifications and the development commitment affect required capital?

The current official franchise website states minimum liquidity of $1 million and minimum net worth of $3 million. Those are candidate qualifications, not amounts included in Item 7 and not promises that $1 million in cash will fund a complete development schedule. The official candidate criteria should be read separately from the one-unit investment tables.

Area Development Fee credit mechanics

The 2026 FDD creates a three-part cash relationship that is specific to Einstein Bros. Bagels development agreements.

$10,000/storeDevelopment Fee paid in a lump sum when the Area Development Agreement is signed.
$35,000/storeStandard Initial Franchise Fee when each Franchise Agreement is signed, subject to available credits.
$10,000 creditPotential credit for each Restaurant opened on schedule while the Developer remains compliant. A Restaurant opened at least 30 days early can have a $25,000 Initial Franchise Fee under the stated schedule rule.
SOURCE CONFLICT

The 2026 FDD describes an agreed development schedule and elsewhere refers to a minimum of two Restaurants or a general policy against fewer than two. The current official investment page states a five-unit minimum. Treat five units as the current public screening position, but require the exact number, opening deadlines, fee credits, and default consequences to be written into the Area Development Agreement.

Einstein Bros. Bagels Franchise Corporation and its agents or affiliates do not offer direct or indirect financing and do not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. Third-party financing depends on the buyer's creditworthiness, lender policy, and market availability.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 8–9; Item 5, pp. 13–15; Item 10, p. 35. Official website qualifications checked July 22, 2026.
POST-OPENING CAPITAL EVENTS

What renewal, remodel, relocation, and transfer costs should be reserved for later?

The FDD discloses fee formulas for renewal and transfer, but it does not provide a fixed remodel or relocation budget. A Franchised Restaurant has an initial term ending at the earlier of 10 years after opening or 11 years after the agreement's effective date, with one additional 10-year renewal term if conditions are met. Renewal requires the fee, compliance, a release, a new agreement, and remodeling to then-current standards.

Facilities RemodelingThe Franchise Agreement permits required remodeling at the franchisee's expense, generally no more than once every five years during the term and not in an economically unreasonable amount. The work must be completed within six months after written notice. Renewal remodeling can be required separately.
Renewal pricingReserve for 10% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus the cost of refurbishment and compliance with a potentially different successor Franchise Agreement.
Transfer pricingModel 50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee or Initial License Fee, subject to specific family, estate, death, incapacity, and multi-unit exceptions.
RelocationA Restaurant cannot relocate without prior written approval. The FDD does not state a fixed relocation fee or a complete relocation investment range.
Technology replacementThe franchisor can change the required POS system, provider, hardware, software, or services. The future replacement cost is not capped in Item 7.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 16–22; Item 11, pp. 45–46; Item 17, pp. 55–60; Franchise Agreement §§2.2 and 8.6.
BUYER VERIFICATION

Which cost questions remain unresolved by the official range?

The Item 7 range is a starting contract disclosure, not a site-specific construction budget or a multi-unit funding schedule. Before signing or paying, reconcile the following items against the current FDD, vendor quotes, lease, development schedule, and applicable state addenda.

Grand Opening Marketing deadlineItem 6 says the $10,000 program is due within six months after opening, while Item 11 says it must be completed no later than three months after opening and discusses deposited funds remaining after six months. Confirm the controlling deadline in writing.
Technology overlapConfirm whether the $500 to $1,100 monthly System Support Fee includes every NCR subscription, software license, mobile-ordering charge, installation charge, and hardware lease payment.
Drive-thru and free-standing scopeObtain a construction and signage budget for the exact configuration. Item 7 warns that a free-standing drive-thru with parking and landscaping can materially increase construction costs.
Landlord contributionRecord any tenant improvement allowance separately because the FDD excludes it from Item 7 rather than reducing the official range.
Host-facility obligationsFor a Licensed Restaurant, identify which construction, POS, professional-fee, utility, and common-area costs are paid by the host facility and which remain with the licensee.
Additional Funds and personal cash needsItem 7 covers three months and does not state a separate owner-compensation allowance. Determine whether more operating capital is required without adding it twice to the official total.
Latest disclosure and state addendaThe Federal Trade Commission requires delivery of the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment to the franchisor or an affiliate. Confirm that the copy being used is the most recent FDD and includes all applicable state amendments.

The FTC consumer guide explains how Items 5 through 7 separate initial and ongoing costs, while the FTC Franchise Rule page provides the federal disclosure framework.

CAPITAL SYNTHESIS

What is the clearest way to interpret the Einstein Bros. Bagels cost?

Use $650,000 to $1,247,500 for one Franchised Restaurant and $151,050 to $620,250 for one Licensed Restaurant, then keep four separate capital questions. The Estimated Initial Investment covers the applicable Item 7 categories; the Initial Franchise Fee or Initial License Fee is only one component; liquidity and net worth are candidate qualifications rather than costs; and Royalty, Marketing Contribution, System Support Fees, required purchasing, and conditional Item 6 charges continue or arise after opening.

The largest unresolved variables are the exact premises configuration, construction scope, drive-thru requirements, landlord allowance, technology package, host-facility allocation, development schedule, and working capital beyond the three-month Additional Funds estimate. Those variables should be resolved without averaging the two agreement types or treating the official minimum as a complete cash commitment.

Official documents and tools

Official U.S. franchise informationBrand-controlled overview of the current U.S. franchise offer.
Official investment informationCurrent traditional range, Initial Franchise Fee, Royalty, and development-fee statement.
Official restaurant-format informationInline, free-standing drive-thru, seating, and second-generation format descriptions.
Official financial qualificationsCurrent liquidity, net-worth, and operator-profile criteria.
FTC franchise buyer guideFederal guidance on FDD cost items, timing, supplier restrictions, and contract review.
Minnesota franchise filing lookupGovernment tool for viewing franchise registration status and public filing records.