A prospective U.S. Dunkin’ franchisee may need between $142,000 and $1,832,500 to open, but that combined span covers four incompatible restaurant formats. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document separates Freestanding, Shopping Center/Storefront, Gas & Convenience, and Special Distribution Opportunity locations. The correct capital range therefore depends first on the format, then on real estate, construction, equipment, technology, market, and financing structure.
How much does a Dunkin’ franchise cost in 2026?
The 2026 FDD gives four separate Estimated Initial Investment ranges: $532,400 to $1,832,500 for a Freestanding Restaurant; $443,000 to $1,333,500 for a Shopping Center/Storefront Restaurant; $216,400 to $1,065,500 for a Gas & Convenience Restaurant; and $142,000 to $862,500 for an SDO (Non-Traditional) location.
This is the full span across all four 2026 FDD formats, not one “typical” Dunkin’ budget. Each format has its own Item 7 range, and the disclosed totals include Additional Funds for the first three months but exclude certain variable or separately identified obligations. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 44–53.
How far apart are the four official investment ranges?
The largest disclosed spread is within the Freestanding Restaurant range, where building and site-development responsibility can move the project from a landlord-heavy structure toward a franchisee-funded construction project. SDO locations start lower, but their high end still reaches $862,500 because host venue, equipment, baking configuration, and construction scope can vary.
2026 FDD Total Initial Investment by format
Floating bars show each official low-to-high range on a common scale from $0 to $1,832,500.
Source: Dunkin’ 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables A–D, pp. 44–49. Values are official ranges, not averages or forecasts.
The FDD defines a Freestanding Restaurant as newly constructed or retrofitted without common walls; Shopping Center/Storefront includes inline, endcap, anchor, and certain multi-level sites sharing walls; Gas & Convenience includes traditional and self-serve configurations inside a gas station or convenience store; and SDO covers host venues and carts or kiosks within another establishment. The official non-traditional format overview illustrates venue types such as airports, travel centers, universities, stadiums, and kiosks, but the FDD’s Item 7 table remains the source of the cost range.
The four ranges should be read as four different development contracts, not as a menu in which a buyer can select the lowest figure while retaining the features of a larger site. A host venue may supply part of the shell, utilities, seating, storage, or customer circulation. A stand-alone project may require the operator to carry substantially more of the structure and exterior work. An inline project may avoid some land work but face landlord rules, access limits, shared-building requirements, or costly urban construction. Those differences explain why the starting point is the approved location model rather than a brand-wide average.
The width of a range also signals which obligations need written allocation before a budget is reliable. A proposal should identify who is responsible for the shell, utility capacity, drainage, paving, exterior access, code compliance, landlord work, tenant work, and restoration obligations. It should also state whether quoted contractor prices include delivery, installation, taxes, professional services, testing, and contingency. Without that allocation, comparing only the headline low and high figures can conceal a transfer of cost from one party or phase to another.
What does the initial investment include?
Item 7 includes the Initial Franchise Fee, premises development, equipment, Restaurant Technology System, permits and deposits, opening inventory, insurance, training-related expenses, Marketing Start-Up Fee, and Additional Funds for the first three months. Real Estate Costs are shown as variable, and several exclusions can sit outside the total.
Premises, equipment, and technology
For the four 2026 formats, the largest disclosed opening categories are the building, site work, equipment, and technology needed for the approved premises; the exact ranges remain separate by format.
| Item 7 category | Freestanding | Shopping/Storefront | Gas & Convenience | SDO |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $40,000–$90,000 | $40,000–$90,000 | $10,000–$45,000 | $20,000–$45,000 |
| Building Costs | $180,000–$600,000 | $145,600–$455,000 | $51,000–$300,000 | $21,500–$300,000 |
| Site Development Costs | $13,000–$350,000 | $0–$60,000 | $0–$65,000 | $0 |
| Additional Development Costs | $12,000–$90,000 | $5,000–$50,000 | $5,000–$50,000 | $2,500–$25,000 |
| Equipment, Fixtures & Signs | $189,000–$300,000 | $154,000–$300,000 | $112,000–$265,000 | $60,000–$245,000 |
| Restaurant Technology System | $65,000–$118,000 | $65,000–$118,000 | $12,000–$118,000 | $12,000–$25,000 |
| Licenses, Permits, Fees & Deposits | $3,500–$7,500 | $3,500–$7,500 | $500–$7,500 | $500–$7,500 |
| Real Estate Costs | Variable | Variable | Variable | Variable |
Source: Dunkin’ 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables A–D, pp. 44–49; explanatory notes pp. 49–50.
Opening expenses and first-three-month cushion
For the four 2026 formats, these later opening lines cover inventory, insurance, training travel, promotion, and the first three months of operating needs; they are included in the applicable total.
| Item 7 category | Freestanding | Shopping/Storefront | Gas & Convenience | SDO |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Opening Inventory | $8,000–$20,000 | $8,000–$20,000 | $4,000–$10,000 | $4,000–$10,000 |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs | $9,500–$70,000 | $9,500–$70,000 | $9,500–$70,000 | $9,500–$70,000 |
| Uniforms | $400–$3,000 | $400–$3,000 | $400–$3,000 | $0–$3,000 |
| Insurance | $10,000–$16,000 | $10,000–$16,000 | $10,000–$16,000 | $10,000–$16,000 |
| Training-Related Expenses | $2,000–$50,000 | $2,000–$50,000 | $2,000–$50,000 | $2,000–$50,000 |
| Marketing Start-Up Fee | $0–$10,000 | $0–$10,000 | $0–$10,000 | $0–$10,000 |
| Additional Funds: first 3 months | $0–$108,000 | $0–$84,000 | $0–$56,000 | $0–$56,000 |
Source: Dunkin’ 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables A–D, pp. 44–49; Additional Funds note p. 52.
The line items are most useful when converted into a site-specific sources-and-uses schedule. One column should show the disclosed allowance, another should show the current bid or contract amount, and a third should identify the party that must pay. That exercise prevents a landlord contribution from being treated as free money when it is recovered through rent, and it prevents a financed purchase from disappearing from the budget merely because the cash is not due on day one. Debt proceeds change the funding source; they do not remove the underlying obligation.
Several rows are sensitive to design choices that are not interchangeable. A drive-thru can change exterior work, equipment, communications, signage, and permitting. The production platform, storage plan, seating, number of terminals, and service model can alter both the initial configuration and later maintenance. Before accepting a vendor quote, the buyer should confirm that it matches the approved plan rather than a generic package for another configuration. A lower proposal that omits a required component may create a change order instead of a saving.
The first-three-month allowance is also a limited operating cushion, not a promise that cash needs stop after that period. The disclosure says actual needs depend on local conditions, management, wage levels, rent structure, competition, and the site type. A personal reserve for household expenses should therefore be planned separately, as should any contingency for delayed opening, construction change orders, or expenses that arise before customer receipts begin. Keeping those pools separate makes it easier to see whether the project is fully funded without counting the same dollars twice.
Why can the standard franchise fee range from $40,000 to $90,000?
In the 2026 FDD, Dunkin’ Donuts Franchising LLC assigns U.S. Designated Market Areas to six Development Area Types. For a Standard Dunkin’ Restaurant, the Initial Franchise Fee increases from $40,000 in Type 6 to $90,000 in Type 1. Gas & Convenience, self-service, and SDO fee rules may be prorated by term or set at 50% of the applicable standard fee, so the standard tier chart should not be applied mechanically to those formats.
Standard Initial Franchise Fee by Development Area Type
The 2026 fixed fee schedule for a Standard Dunkin’ Restaurant uses a $90,000 maximum scale.
Source: Dunkin’ 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 24–33. Development Area Types are based on listed DMAs, and the franchisor reserves the right to change their classification.
The fee is generally due when the Franchise Agreement is signed. A Center Initial Access Fee, currently $340, is also due at signing. The Initial Training Fee is $4,000 per person; the first two participants are included in the Initial Franchise Fee for one of the first five Dunkin’ Restaurants operated by the franchisee or affiliate, subject to the FDD’s conditions. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 24–25 and 33.
The geographic tier affects the contract payment to the franchisor; it does not establish what construction, rent, labor, or equipment will cost in that market. A high fee tier can coexist with a landlord-funded build, and a lower fee tier can coexist with expensive site work. The county and market classification should therefore be confirmed independently from the physical-development estimate. For a boundary location, the contract data should state which classification controls before the agreement is signed.
Term-based proration adds another layer for certain hosted or self-service arrangements. The amount due may depend on both the applicable market tier and the length of the granted term. A prospect considering one of those arrangements should request the actual calculation in writing, including the term used, the percentage applied, and any separate access, training, design, or promotional payment. This avoids treating the standard tier chart as a complete invoice when the contract uses a different formula.
When is the money paid?
The full Item 7 amount is not normally paid in one transfer. Contract fees are front-loaded at signing, while construction, equipment, technology, deposits, inventory, insurance, and working capital are paid at different milestones.
At agreement signing
Under the 2026 disclosure, every applicable format requires payment of the Initial Franchise Fee and the current $340 Center Initial Access Fee. The franchise fee is generally non-refundable. The FTC requires delivery of the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment; the FTC’s FDD review guidance explains that timing rule.
During site approval and construction
Across the 2026 formats, Building Costs, Site Development Costs, Additional Development Costs, permits, deposits, equipment, fixtures, and signs are paid as incurred, mostly before opening. The FDD says a typical signing-to-opening period is 8 to 15 months. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 62.
At training and technology installation
For a 2026 opening, Additional Initial Training Fees are due upon registration. Travel, lodging, wages, uniforms, and related training expenses are paid as incurred. Restaurant Technology System payments are due before installation or as vendor charges arise.
Immediately before opening
For each 2026 format, Opening Inventory, uniforms, insurance premium or down payment, and the required opening promotional expenditure are funded before opening or under the Contract Data Schedule. Standard marketing start-up is currently at least $10,000; SDO marketing start-up is currently at least $5,000 under Item 5.
During the first three months
The 2026 format tables provide Additional Funds of up to $108,000 for Freestanding, $84,000 for Shopping Center/Storefront, and $56,000 for Gas & Convenience or SDO; the funds are used monthly and as incurred. These amounts are already included in the Item 7 totals.
Multi-unit commitments accelerate the franchise-fee obligation
Under the 2026 FDD, for each restaurant committed under a Development Agreement, the franchisee pays 25% of the applicable Initial Franchise Fee when the Development Agreement is signed. The remaining portion is due six months before the Required Opening Date or on the actual opening date, whichever is earlier.
Source: Dunkin’ 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 33.
The sequence matters because a project can be contractually committed before most third-party invoices are known. At signing, the buyer may have only preliminary construction, lease, and vendor assumptions. As approvals progress, those assumptions become deposits, purchase orders, contractor draws, and installation invoices. A cash plan should therefore track both the due date and whether each payment is refundable, financeable, or recoverable if the site does not open. The disclosure states that initial payments to the franchisor and affiliates are generally non-refundable unless otherwise noted.
A delay can also change when funds must be available even if it does not change the quoted total. Rent commencement, insurance, utility deposits, stored equipment, loan interest, extension fees, or repeated professional work may begin before opening. The disclosed development window is a planning reference rather than a guarantee. The contract schedule, lease milestones, permit status, and vendor lead times should be reconciled into one calendar so that the same funds are not committed to two simultaneous payments.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal recurring charges are the Continuing Franchise Fee, Continuing Advertising Fee, Loyalty Program Contribution Payment, annual training-platform subscription, and technology maintenance or service charges. Percentage fees must be read using the FDD’s defined fee base rather than converted into an unsupported annual dollar estimate.
| Ongoing fee | Amount or basis | Timing | FDD reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing Franchise Fee | 5.9% of Gross Sales, standard rate | Weekly | Item 6, pp. 36–41 |
| Continuing Advertising Fee | 5.0% of Gross Sales; 2.5% for SDO locations | Weekly with CFF | Item 6, pp. 36 and 41 |
| Loyalty Program Contribution Payment | 1.4% of Loyalty Program Sales through 2026; 1.2% from 2027 | Weekly with CFF | Item 6, pp. 37 and 42 |
| The Center Annual Subscription Fee | Currently $340 per Restaurant | Annually | Item 6, p. 36 |
| POS hardware/software maintenance | Dunkin with drive-thru: $3,812–$3,927 annually; without drive-thru: $3,119–$3,465 annually | Annual vendor charges | Item 11, pp. 65–66 |
| Store Network managed service | $225–$400 per Restaurant per month | Monthly | Item 11, pp. 66–67 |
“Gross Sales” generally includes revenue from approved products and services, including direct delivery, catering, and third-party delivery, with the stated exclusions for stored-value-card funds deposited centrally, taxes collected for government, and approved products sold to another franchised or licensed entity for resale. “Loyalty Program Sales” is narrower: Gross Sales to Loyalty Program members for in-store sales of eligible products. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 38 and 42.
The Item 7 Restaurant Technology System range covers initial configurations, but Item 11 adds maintenance, network, digital-signage, service-desk, payment-terminal, and transaction charges. The FDD states there is no contractual limit on the frequency or cost of required technology updates and upgrades.
The Marketing Start-Up Fee is a pre-opening expenditure. The Continuing Advertising Fee is the weekly percentage contribution after opening.
If an affiliate leases or subleases the premises, rent and potentially percentage rent apply under the lease, commonly with taxes, insurance, maintenance, utilities, and common-area costs borne by the franchisee.
Recurring percentages and vendor charges behave differently. A percentage moves with the stated sales base, while a fixed subscription or maintenance invoice follows its own billing cycle. Transaction charges may depend on the number and type of payments processed, and equipment support can depend on the installed configuration. For that reason, the operating budget should preserve the exact denominator for each percentage and list fixed, per-unit, per-panel, per-terminal, monthly, annual, and transactional obligations separately.
The defined base also matters when reconciling accounting reports. Amounts collected for taxes, centrally held stored value, or specified resale transactions are treated differently from ordinary receipts under the disclosed definition. The loyalty contribution uses a narrower category than the royalty and advertising charges. A buyer should verify that the point-of-sale and accounting setup can produce the required reports and that the cash account used for weekly withdrawals remains funded. Late or incomplete transfers can create interest, enforcement expense, and default exposure in addition to the original charge.
Technology deserves its own replacement reserve because the opening purchase is only the first configuration. The system can require approved service contracts, connectivity, security compliance, digital displays, payment devices, and later upgrades. The absence of a contractual ceiling means a long-term budget cannot assume that the initial package freezes future requirements. Current vendor proposals, support terms, warranty periods, replacement cycles, and installation responsibilities should be reviewed alongside the agreement rather than treated as incidental operating supplies.
Can a current incentive reduce some ongoing fees?
Yes, but the 2026 programs are conditional credits or reduced percentage schedules, not automatic reductions to every Item 7 cost. Standard, Strategic, and Pacific Northwest programs generally require qualifying agreements by March 31, 2027, compliance with the agreement, timely opening, approved design and location, and a development-cost report within 120 days after opening. They generally do not apply to SDO, renewal, relocation, transfer, or acquisition transactions.
| Program | Disclosed cost effect | Important limitation |
|---|---|---|
| Standard Incentive | $125,000 CFF credit; CAF steps from 2% to 5% over Years 1–4 | Qualifying traditional restaurants in Standard Markets |
| Strategic Incentive | $225,000 CFF credit; CAF is 2.4% through Year 5, 3.4% in Years 6–8, then 5% | Qualifying traditional restaurants in Strategic Markets |
| Pacific Northwest Incentive | $25,000 CFF credit per qualifying restaurant; an additional $50,000 for the first; $300,000 for qualifying 2026–2027 openings or $250,000 for each subsequent qualifying opening from 2028; promotional reimbursement up to $20,000 for the first and $10,000 for the second | Market, opening year, restaurant sequence, and compliance conditions control which credits apply |
| Early Opening Incentive | 0% CFF until the Required Opening Date, for up to 6 months | Restaurant must open early and satisfy reporting, design, and compliance conditions |
| VetFran Program | $10,000 CFF credit per qualifying Restaurant, up to $100,000 | Eligibility and timely-opening conditions apply; credit is not cash at signing |
Source: Dunkin’ 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 6, pp. 34–41. Credits are applied to future Continuing Franchise Fee payments without interest and do not automatically reduce construction, equipment, real estate, or other Item 7 categories.
A credit is valuable only after the conditions are satisfied and the charge to which it applies becomes due. It is not the same as cash available for a lease deposit, contractor draw, inventory order, or payroll. The opening budget should therefore stand on its own without relying on a future credit to close a pre-opening funding gap. The credit can then be modeled as a reduction in later payments, subject to the stated eligibility, opening, reporting, and compliance requirements.
The timing conditions should be tested against the development calendar before any benefit is assumed. A late opening, an unapproved design change, incomplete cost reporting, a transaction outside the eligible market, or a transfer-related deal can remove the benefit. The agreement and any amendment should identify the exact restaurant, market, deadline, applicable schedule, and method of applying the benefit. Because programs may be modified or eliminated, a marketing description should not replace signed contract language.
How do liquid assets, net worth, and financing differ from the investment range?
The official U.S. franchise website currently states that a candidate needs $250,000 in liquid assets and $500,000 in net worth. Those screening thresholds are not the same as the cash equity required for a particular site, and neither replaces the format-specific Estimated Initial Investment.
Liquid assets
As checked July 17, 2026, liquid assets are funds or holdings that can generally be converted to cash. The official threshold is $250,000, but the site does not state that this amount alone is sufficient to fund every format or satisfy a lender.
Net worth
As checked July 17, 2026, net worth is assets minus liabilities. The official threshold is $500,000; it is not equivalent to cash available for the Initial Franchise Fee, construction, equipment, deposits, or working capital.
Dunkin’ Donuts Franchising LLC states in Item 10 that it does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation. Third-party financing may be available, but approval, down payment, collateral, and terms are lender decisions. The U.S. Small Business Administration loan-program overview explains federal loan-guarantee programs without implying that a Dunkin’ project or applicant will qualify. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 59.
The FDD also requires each person or entity with a direct or indirect ownership interest in the franchisee entity to sign a guaranty, making the Franchise Agreement and Development Agreement obligations applicable to them individually. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, p. 1.
The qualification thresholds answer whether a candidate clears an initial screen; they do not answer how a particular development will be funded. A complete capital plan should show cash contributed at signing, cash reserved for later draws, borrowed proceeds, landlord contributions, equipment financing, and a contingency. It should also show which funds remain available after existing debts and personal obligations. Counting the same asset as both a qualification resource and a committed project payment can create an apparent surplus that does not exist.
The absence of franchisor financing means the buyer must resolve lender requirements independently. A lender may evaluate the lease, construction contract, borrower equity, collateral, guarantees, project timeline, and post-closing liquidity. Those terms can change the cash due before opening even when the underlying development estimate is unchanged. Interest, lender fees, appraisal costs, closing costs, and reserves should be captured only when supported by the actual financing proposal rather than guessed from a generic rate.
The guaranty is also a capital consideration. It can make individuals responsible for contractual obligations even when the operating entity is a limited-liability company. Prospective owners should map who will sign, what obligations are covered, how ownership changes affect approval, and whether a lender or landlord requires additional guarantees. This is separate from the disclosed net-worth screen and should be reviewed with legal and financial advisers before funds are committed.
Which costs can sit outside the Item 7 total?
The official totals do not resolve every site-specific obligation. The most material gaps involve land, impact fees, delivery vehicles, certain training payroll, technology changes, multi-brand additions, and future refurbishment or remodel work.
If the franchisee buys land, the FDD says it may cost an additional $100,000 to $1,200,000 or more. Real estate purchase cost is not included as a fixed amount in the Item 7 totals.
The permits-and-deposits range excludes government impact fees; the FDD states these can be $87,000 or more in some markets. Extraordinary utility, soil, environmental, variance, or legal costs also may be outside the ranges.
The FDD requires a suitable delivery vehicle for product transport and states that its cost is not included in the Estimated Initial Investment. One vehicle is usually needed per restaurant network, with additional vehicles possible.
Wages or salaries paid to employees while they attend training are excluded from the Training-Related Expenses estimate. The FDD does not identify the franchise owner’s personal living expenses as included in Additional Funds.
Required upgrades and changes are at the franchisee’s cost, with no contractual limit on frequency or amount. Monthly and annual service charges continue after the initial technology purchase.
A Dunkin’/Baskin-Robbins Combo adds Baskin-Robbins’ $10,000 initial franchise fee and requires the separate Baskin-Robbins FDD for build costs. Other Multi-Brand Restaurants add their own franchise fees, systems, equipment, inventory, training, and ongoing fees; overlapping costs may reduce but do not eliminate those obligations.
These exclusions are not all remote contingencies. Some can be identified during site diligence, while others depend on later design or government review. A site-control document should allow enough time to investigate utility capacity, access, drainage, soil, environmental conditions, signage rights, drive-thru approval, and permit requirements. The construction scope should then state whether correction work, testing, bonds, utility extensions, and public charges are included. If the responsibility is unclear, the budget should not assume that another party will absorb it.
Real estate structure can move cost between the opening date and the operating years. A landlord may fund improvements and recover them through base rent, additional rent, a longer term, guarantees, or restoration obligations. An affiliate sublease may add percentage rent and broad occupancy expenses. Ownership can require more capital at the start but create a different lease profile. These alternatives should be compared using the actual contracts, not by adding a generic land estimate to every project or assuming that a low construction allowance represents the lowest economic burden.
Excluded personal and contingency reserves also need a clear boundary. Employee training wages, household expenses, delays, and unexpected corrective work can consume cash even though they are not part of the disclosed total. A separate reserve makes those needs visible and protects the three-month operating allowance from being used before opening. The reserve should be based on the buyer’s actual circumstances and signed project documents; the disclosure does not provide a universal figure.
Which later events can create additional charges?
Renewal, relocation, transfer, supplier approval, training cancellation, default, and required refurbishment can create material costs after opening. Several are variable or then-current amounts rather than fixed 2026 estimates.
The renewal fee is the franchisor’s then-current amount and is due when the renewal Franchise Agreement is signed. Renewal may also require a compliant site, a new lease or accepted substitute premises, current standards, releases, and payment of all amounts due. SDO agreements have no renewal rights under the Item 17 summary.
The relocation fee is due when the relocation Franchise Agreement is signed. It is based on the Initial Franchise Fee for the new DMA, reduced for the remaining term under the original agreement.
For a single-brand Dunkin’ Restaurant, the base transfer fee is $12,500 if the restaurant has operated for less than three years. After three years, $12,500 is added to a trailing-12-month Gross Sales tier of $5,000 to $20,000. A current Fixed Documentation Fee of $2,000 per transferee applies to specified non-controlling or family transfers.
If a franchisee requests approval of a new supplier, testing reimbursement is typically $1,000 to $10,000, due upon request.
Cancellation is currently $1,000 per person 8–14 days before class and $2,000 per person 7 days or fewer before class. Additional or repeated initial training is currently $4,000 per person.
Late amounts currently accrue 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less. The franchisee may also owe taxes caused by the franchisor’s receipt of payments, indemnification amounts, and successful enforcement expenses.
For remodeling work, the current Site Design Fee is $1,200 for a preliminary site layout and the current Kitchen Layout Design Fee is $750. The site-layout service is offered only for restaurants with a drive-thru.
A transfer of a majority interest under a Development Agreement carries a $10,000 fee. Other ownership or restaurant transfers use the separate formulas described above.
The Franchise Agreement requires refurbishment and remodel work by specified dates, at the franchisee’s expense. Transfer approval can also require repair or replacement of Operating Assets and a remodel. The FDD does not disclose a fixed total for these obligations.
Source: Dunkin’ 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 36–44; Item 11, pp. 62–68; Item 17, pp. 83–86.
Event-triggered charges should be treated as conditional liabilities rather than ignored because they are not due at opening. A transfer, relocation, ownership change, request for a new supplier, repeated class, late payment, or required update can activate a separate formula or then-current amount. The relevant contract provision should be recorded with the event that triggers it, the notice or approval required, the person responsible for payment, and any corrective work that must be completed at the same time.
Some events combine a stated fee with uncapped third-party work. A transfer can require repairs or a current design package; a renewal can require site compliance and a new lease; a relocation can require a new premises build; and a supplier request can involve testing without guaranteeing approval. Looking only at the named fee would understate the possible cash requirement. The buyer should request a written condition report and a list of required updates early enough to price them before agreeing to a transaction.
Then-current amounts also create uncertainty over a long term. The disclosed figure may describe today’s charge but not the amount payable years later. A long-range plan can identify the event and reserve category without inventing a future price. When the event becomes likely, the operator should obtain the current form of agreement, fee schedule, design standards, and vendor scope before making a binding commitment.
Where no fixed figure is stated, the prudent treatment is to flag the exposure, identify the decision that activates it, and obtain a written quote before proceeding. This keeps an unknown obligation visible without pretending that it is either zero or predictably equal to an older charge.
What should be verified before relying on the range?
The controlling question is not whether the buyer can meet one broad minimum; it is whether the selected format, DMA, site contract, construction allocation, technology configuration, and financing terms fit a complete sources-and-uses budget.
Confirm whether the proposed site is Freestanding, Shopping Center/Storefront, Gas & Convenience, or SDO, and do not combine the low end of one table with the high end of another.
Identify who pays for the building, site work, utility connections, impact fees, lease deposit, taxes, insurance, common-area maintenance, and any percentage rent.
Price the required Operating Assets, approved suppliers, POS terminals, digital signage, network service, payment terminals, maintenance agreements, and drive-thru systems for the approved design.
Document liquid assets, net worth, lender-required equity, collateral, guarantees, contingency funds, and personal living costs as separate amounts.
The FTC Consumer Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how to review Items 5–7 and other costs, while the FTC Franchise Rule page provides the federal disclosure framework. Ask for the most current FDD and any required updates before payment or signature.
The final check is a reconciliation, not another headline estimate. The approved plan, lease, construction contract, vendor proposals, insurance quote, training schedule, financing documents, and agreement should all point to the same configuration and opening date. Each obligation should have one owner, one due date, one funding source, and one place in the budget. Any amount shown as variable, then-current, conditional, or excluded should remain visible rather than being forced into an unsupported midpoint.
Unresolved lines should stay open until a responsible party supplies a written figure, assumption, or contractual allocation. Silence is not evidence that the amount is zero, and a placeholder should never be converted into a saving merely to make the funding plan balance.
Updates matter because the disclosure and the contract package can change before signing. The buyer should compare the cover date, any amendments, the contract data schedule, market classification, required opening date, and the final form of each agreement. A website summary can help identify current screening criteria or available formats, but it should not replace the governing disclosure or the signed documents for a specific transaction.
The 2026 cost decision in one line: choose the disclosure table that matches the approved site, reconcile every variable or expressly excluded obligation, and keep the opening budget, financial-qualification thresholds, percentage-based operating charges, and lender-required equity as separate capital concepts.