How much does a DUCTZ franchise cost in 2026?
A prospective U.S. franchisee should separate the two official cost structures. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document states Estimated Initial Investment ranges of $163,654 to $224,764 for a Standard DUCTZ Business and $62,654 to $189,764 for a Conversion Business. These are opening totals, not just franchise fees, and the formats should not be blended.
$62,654–$189,764 Conversion Business
The Standard range includes $73,400 to $98,400 payable to the franchisor or its affiliates. The Conversion range includes $43,400 to $58,400 payable to the franchisor or affiliates. Both ranges include a three-month Additional Funds allowance, but exclude an owner salary or draw and operating losses after that period. Source: 2026 FDD cover and Item 7, pp. 18–22.
Data basis: DUCTZ International, LLC, a Michigan limited liability company; Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 30, 2026 and amended April 26, 2026; standard and conversion formats; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17; information checked July 18, 2026. No matching public copy of this FDD was located on a franchise-controlled domain, so FDD Item and page citations are unlinked. The current official DUCTZ franchise costs page and official U.S. franchise website provide supplemental brand information.
The range should be read as a planning boundary, not as a quotation or a statement of cash due on one date. The lower endpoint assumes several favorable conditions occur together, while the upper endpoint reflects a more costly combination of choices and circumstances. A buyer should therefore trace each line to an actual vendor quote, written approval or signed payment schedule. That exercise shows which amounts must be available immediately, which can be financed or paid over time, and which remain uncertain until the territory, vehicle, premises and staffing plan are settled.
Why is the Conversion Business range so different?
The conversion format can start lower because a qualifying operator may already own a compliant vehicle, equipment, tools, computer hardware and storage capacity. The 2026 disclosure requires an existing duct-cleaning business to have generated at least $100,000 in annual sales in each of its two most recent fiscal years. That threshold is an eligibility condition, not an earnings projection.
Both floating bars use the same $0 to $225,000 scale. The bar position shows the disclosed low and high endpoints.
Interpretation: the lower-cost format has a substantially lower floor, but its upper endpoint remains close to the other range when a new vehicle, full package and other launch assets are needed. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–22.
Conversion tiers change the opening fee
The disclosure lists five conversion tiers based on the existing business's Gross Annual Sales, plus a possible one-time Re-Branding Credit. The credit is applied to eligible vehicle graphics and required items used within six months after signing; it is not unrestricted cash.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 9–10.
The conversion table uses a $34,900 franchise fee in both columns, while the fee schedule lists lower tiers down to $14,900. The published total remains $62,654 to $189,764. A qualifying buyer should obtain a written calculation showing how the selected tier, credit, modified package and existing assets affect the amount due, rather than independently subtracting discounts from the official total.
Existing assets reduce the budget only when they satisfy current specifications and are accepted in writing. Ownership alone does not establish that a vehicle, tool set, computer or storage arrangement can be used. Condition, configuration, branding and supplier rules can change the answer. The safest comparison is therefore not “new operator versus existing operator,” but “approved assets versus assets that must be replaced or modified.” A conversion candidate should list every asset being relied on, attach its condition and specifications, and request a written acceptance decision before using the lower endpoint in a funding plan.
What is included in the initial investment?
The 2026 opening estimate combines contract payments, vehicle and equipment costs, training travel, technology, insurance, premises or storage, launch marketing and the Additional Funds allowance for the first three months. The largest format-specific variable is the Vehicle with up-fitting: $77,000 to $82,000 for the standard format versus $6,000 to $82,000 for conversion.
Signing payments and field setup
The franchise fee and package payment are due at signing; most field-setup costs are paid as incurred to third parties. All amounts are USD.
| Opening-cost category | Standard Business | Conversion Business | Payment timing or basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise fee | $49,900–$74,900 | $34,900 | Lump sum on signing; the fee schedule contains conversion tiers. |
| Package payment | $23,500 | $8,500–$23,500 | Lump sum on signing; sales tax is not included. |
| Hand tools and miscellaneous supplies | $0–$700 | $0–$700 | As incurred to third parties. |
| Food and lodging while training | $1,200–$3,000 | $1,200–$3,000 | For two attendees sharing one room; transportation excluded. |
| Vehicle with up-fitting | $77,000–$82,000 | $6,000–$82,000 | As incurred through approved suppliers; sales tax, delivery and licensing excluded. |
| ASCS Training and Certification | $0–$1,620 | $0–$1,620 | As incurred to NADCA; renewal education may add later costs. |
The $23,500 standard Initial Package includes branded clothing and promotional items, print and marketing materials, safety supplies, an HVAC equipment package, tools and small equipment, dryer-vent cleaning supplies, training and certification, Kick-Start Marketing, one year of CareerPlug Pro and an $850 Convention Allowance. The modified $8,500 package for a qualifying Conversion buyer includes the branded and marketing materials, Kick-Start Marketing, CareerPlug Pro and the Convention Allowance. The allowance does not cover travel, lodging or other convention expenses.
The Air Systems Cleaning Specialist credential is administered by the National Air Duct Cleaners Association. The official ASCS certification information explains that the credential applies to individuals, while the disclosure controls the franchisee's cost obligation.
Systems, premises and the first three months
Most remaining categories use the same disclosed range for both formats. The practical differences depend on whether the owner performs technical work, already has compliant systems or storage, and needs conversion-only pre-opening work.
| Opening-cost category | Standard Business | Conversion Business | What drives the range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time technician for three months | $0–$7,200 | $0–$7,200 | $0 assumes the Managing Owner serves as Service Technician. |
| Computer System | $0–$1,500 | $0–$1,500 | An existing compliant computer can reduce the cost. |
| QuickBooks Online | $84–$225 | $84–$225 | Monthly installments; upgraded versions or data conversion may cost more. |
| High-speed Internet, antivirus and email | $270–$475 | $270–$475 | As incurred to third parties. |
| Insurance for first three months | $1,200–$3,500 | $1,200–$3,500 | Depends on insurer and required coverages. |
| Business Telephone | $0–$144 | $0–$144 | Existing devices versus optional services and a second line. |
| Real estate or storage for first three months | $0–$4,500 | $0–$4,500 | $0 assumes a permitted home office with adequate storage; real estate purchase is excluded. |
| Marketing | $1,500 | $1,500 | Monthly launch amount shown in Item 7, separate from ongoing percentage requirements. |
| Three-month operating allowance | $9,000–$20,000 | $9,000–$20,000 | Payroll, direct mail, auto maintenance, gasoline and office overhead; no owner salary or draw. |
| Miscellaneous pre-opening expenses | Not listed | $0–$5,000 | Conversion-only opening category. |
The three-month allowance is already included in both official totals. Adding another $9,000 to $20,000 would double-count that category. The separate issue is whether the buyer needs more cash for personal living expenses, owner compensation or later operating losses.
The line-item tables also explain why two buyers can fall within the same published range yet face different cash requirements. One may pay a large supplier invoice at delivery, while another uses financing or an existing asset. One may operate from approved home space, while another must place deposits and pay rent. The disclosed total measures the estimated economic outlay, but it does not specify a universal funding mix. A useful cash plan should therefore identify the payee, due date, deposit, tax treatment, financing assumption and refundability for every material line before adding the amounts.
When does a DUCTZ franchisee pay the startup costs?
Under the 2026 FDD, the first major cash obligation occurs when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Other startup costs are paid as the vehicle, insurance, training travel, technology, storage and staffing are put in place. Item 11 estimates a 90- to 120-day opening period and requires operations to begin within four months after signing.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–22; Item 8, pp. 22–27; Item 11, pp. 29–39. The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains the federal 14-calendar-day disclosure period before a prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate.
A date-based cash forecast is more useful than a single total. It should show the amount available at signing, deposits required before orders are placed, balances due at delivery, travel paid before attendance, and operating cash reserved for the opening months. It should also allow for timing gaps: a financed asset may still require a down payment, a supplier may require payment before delivery, and a reimbursement or credit may be usable only after a qualifying purchase. Matching each obligation to an actual date reduces the risk of having enough total funding but not enough liquid cash at a critical milestone.
Which fees continue after opening?
Under the 2026 FDD, the central continuing charge is a 10% Royalty Fee on Gross Sales, normally debited each Friday for the preceding week. The franchisor also discloses a $45 weekly Technology Fee, a local marketing spending requirement, and percentage charges that apply only if a fund or managed-account program is used.
The common scale is 0% to 10%. Each percentage uses the disclosed Gross Sales basis; the managed-account charge is limited to sales generated by that account. Labels identify fixed, minimum, maximum and conditional obligations.
Interpretation: the 10% royalty is the fixed percentage charge. The 2% local marketing obligation is a minimum spending requirement, while the 1% marketing-fund charge and 5% managed-account charge are conditional. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–17, and Item 11, pp. 31–34.
| Recurring or scheduled obligation | Amount or basis | When paid | Important condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum Royalty schedule | $920 to $2,300/month | Royalty debited weekly; monthly floor applies | No minimum during months 0–12; $920 in months 13–24, $1,380 in months 25–36, $1,800 in months 37–48, and $2,300 after month 48. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $45/week | Automatic debit weekly | May change with technology costs; third-party cost plus up to 15% administration. |
| Additional training hosting | $50–$500/person | After training | Applies to additional attendees or certain additional training; may increase up to 10% annually. |
| Convention and regional meetings | Up to $1,000/person; $0–$200/person/event | Before event | Travel, lodging and all meals are not included. |
Gross Sales is defined broadly in Item 6, subject to stated exclusions for sales tax and refunds for non-salvageable items. The royalty is not converted into an annual dollar estimate because the disclosure provides a percentage basis, not a guaranteed or typical dollar amount.
These obligations should be modeled as separate rules rather than added into one permanent percentage. Some apply continuously, some establish a minimum, some are spending requirements rather than payments to the franchisor, and some arise only from a particular source of work. The timing also differs. A weekly debit affects bank liquidity differently from a monthly advertising spend even when both are calculated from the same accounting base. Before opening, the buyer should confirm how each amount appears in bookkeeping, which account is debited, how corrections are handled, and whether any current charge has changed since the disclosure date.
Which costs are triggered by a transfer, renewal, late payment or non-compliance?
The 2026 disclosure contains event-driven charges that are not part of the opening budget. They become relevant when ownership changes, a report or payment is late, an audit is required, insurance lapses, an unapproved supplier is proposed, or the agreement is breached.
Ownership and contract events
A transfer, resale, additional territory or later renewal can create separate payments even though those amounts are not part of the opening range for a new unit.
| Event | Disclosed charge | Timing | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Transfer Fee | 25% of then-current Initial Franchise Fee, minimum $10,000 | When the new agreement is drafted | Separate from broker fees and outstanding obligations. |
| Transfer of Corporation Fee | Currently $500 | On signing transfer documents | Due if the legal entity owning the franchise changes more than once. |
| Broker—resale | About 10% of sale price or $30,000, whichever is higher | At closing | Only if an authorized third-party broker locates the transferee. |
| Outstanding transferor fees | Actual amounts | As specified in transfer documents | Can include Royalties, purchases, late charges, interest and broker fees. |
| Renewal Fee | 10% of then-current opening fee | On signing the renewal agreement | No Renewal Fee for the first renewal; charged for the second and later renewals. |
| Additional standard territory for an existing franchisee | $39,900 opening fee | On signing | Available to an existing franchisee in good standing for at least one year, subject to approval. |
For an acquisition by transfer, the current opening fee is waived, but the Transfer Fee applies and the buyer may be required to purchase some or all of the package.
Reporting, payment and compliance triggers
These charges are conditional. They arise from a late action, failed payment, compliance issue, requested review, managed account or other stated event.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 10–17; Item 17, pp. 54–58.
Event-driven charges are best treated as contingent exposure, not as routine monthly overhead. A buyer reviewing a transfer or resale should identify which party is responsible for each amount and require a closing statement that reconciles unpaid balances. During operation, simple controls can reduce avoidable exposure: timely reporting, adequate account balances, current insurance certificates, written approval before using a new supplier, and documented permission before work outside the authorized area. These controls do not eliminate every possible cost, but they make the triggering event and the responsible party easier to identify before a dispute or closing.
Does DUCTZ finance the opening fee or offer discounts?
The 2026 Item 10 says the franchisor may finance part of the Initial Franchise Fee for qualified applicants. A standard or related buyer may finance up to 50% and must make at least a 50% down payment. A conversion buyer may finance up to 75% and must make at least a 25% down payment.
| Financing term | Standard / Related Franchise | Conversion Franchise | FDD condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum amount financed | Up to 50% of the fee | Up to 75% of the fee | Subject to DUCTZ credit standards and qualifications. |
| Minimum down payment | 50% | 25% | Due under the promissory note arrangement. |
| Term | Up to 36 months | Up to 36 months | Agreed with the franchisor. |
| APR | 9% | 9% | Current FDD rate; fixed after signing. |
| Security | Personal Guaranty | Personal Guaranty | All owners and their spouses must guaranty the Note. |
| Prepayment penalty | None | None | The Note may be prepaid during its term. |
The FDD also says the franchisor assists with information and guidance for SBA 7(a) and 504 loan processing, but does not guarantee a loan. The SBA 7(a) program can support working capital, equipment and other eligible business uses, while the SBA 504 program is designed for qualifying major fixed assets and cannot be used for working capital or inventory. The current DUCTZ franchise FAQ separately states that DUCTZ and BELFOR Franchise Group maintain relationships with third-party lenders, with approval dependent on applicant and lender requirements.
Opening-fee reductions disclosed in Item 5
The 2026 FDD permits several reductions, but each changes only the specified signing charge or package and is subject to eligibility and combination restrictions.
- Veteran discount
- 20% off the $49,900 base charge for qualifying honorably discharged U.S. Armed Forces veterans or other applicants meeting VetFran requirements. It cannot be combined with the first-responder discount. The official VetFran program explains the program framework; the DUCTZ FDD controls the brand-specific 20% term.
- First-responder discount
- $2,500 off the opening charge for the first Territory for qualifying police officers, firefighters, emergency medical technicians and paramedics; not combinable with the veteran discount.
- Multiple Territories at initial purchase
- $10,000 off the fee for each additional Standard Franchise Agreement or $5,000 off each additional Conversion Franchise Agreement, subject to the FDD's combination restrictions.
- Related Franchisee discount
- 25% off the then-current fee for up to two franchises purchased at the same time by a qualifying franchisee of a DUCTZ affiliate; other discounts cannot be combined.
- Conversion Initial Package
- May be reduced or waived based on existing equipment, but the minimum modified Initial Package is $8,500 and DUCTZ may require the complete $23,500 package.
The disclosure says initial fees may not be uniform and may be varied for certain transactions. The franchise fee and package payment are generally non-refundable and fully earned when paid, so any approved reduction or payment variation should be documented before signing.
Financing reduces the cash paid at signing for the opening fee; it does not automatically finance the vehicle, package, training travel, insurance, technology, storage, marketing or working-capital allowance. A discount also does not reduce every startup category. Ask for a written sources-and-uses schedule tied to the selected format and Territory.
Credit approval, franchise approval and vendor financing are separate decisions. Approval by one party does not obligate another party to provide funds, extend terms or accept an asset. The buyer should compare the repayment schedule with the opening calendar and preserve enough uncommitted cash for deposits, taxes, travel and early operating needs. Any lender proposal should be reviewed for required equity, collateral, guaranties, fees, closing conditions and restrictions on the use of proceeds. The disclosed financing terms describe a possible arrangement for one charge; they are not a commitment to fund the full project or evidence that the remaining capital will be available.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 7–10, and Item 10, pp. 28–29.
Does DUCTZ disclose a liquid-capital or net-worth minimum?
The 2026 disclosure does not state a numeric franchisee Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum. Item 10 instead says financing is subject to DUCTZ credit standards and other qualifications and requires a personal guaranty from the owners and their spouses for franchisor financing.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The Item 7 cost to establish the specified DUCTZ format, including the stated three-month allowance.
- Liquid Capital
- No numeric DUCTZ threshold is disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Liquid Capital would describe readily available funds, but it should not be inferred from the opening total.
- Net Worth
- No numeric franchisee threshold is disclosed. Net Worth is not the same as cash available for signing payments and launch costs.
- Personal Guaranty
- Required for the promissory note from the owners and their spouses; the disclosure also highlights spousal liability for obligations under the agreement.
The official BELFOR Franchise Group DUCTZ page confirms the parent-company relationship; applicant-specific financial approval remains governed by current qualification and lender requirements.
The absence of a published minimum should not be read as an absence of financial screening. A candidate may still need to demonstrate creditworthiness, available equity, the ability to cover the full opening plan and enough personal resources to withstand delays. The practical question is therefore not whether a single threshold is met, but whether the proposed funding sources are documented, available when needed and sufficient after required down payments. A buyer should ask which records will be reviewed, whether borrowed funds are acceptable for each use, how personal obligations are considered, and whether a spouse must sign any guaranty or other document.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 28–29, and the Special Risks disclosure accompanying the cover.
What can make the actual cash need higher than the disclosed range?
The official 2026 ranges do not resolve every buyer-specific cost. The disclosure excludes owner compensation, losses after the first three months, real-estate purchase, taxes on the vehicle and package, vehicle delivery and licensing, and transportation to training.
The estimate assumes leased premises and includes only the first three months of working capital. The low end should not be treated as the minimum cash a lender will require, and the high end should not be treated as a cap on all future obligations.
A complete funding plan needs a second schedule for amounts outside the official range. That schedule can include personal living costs, later operating deficits, taxes and delivery charges not captured in the table, deposits that depend on credit, and future replacements or upgrades. These amounts should remain separate from the official total so the disclosure is not altered or double-counted. Keeping the schedules separate also makes uncertainty visible: the published range can be quoted exactly, while the buyer-specific reserve is supported by actual household needs, vendor terms, lease conditions and a conservative operating plan rather than by an invented franchise average.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 18–22; Item 8, pp. 22–27; Item 11, pp. 34–36; and Item 17, pp. 54–58.
What is the clearest capital takeaway?
The verified starting point is the separate Standard and Conversion ranges stated above. The initial fee is only one part of either total. The largest variation comes from the vehicle and up-fitting, the launch package, household count, whether the owner performs the technical role, accepted conversion assets, storage needs and the first three months of operating capital.
After opening, the buyer must distinguish the 10% royalty from local marketing, the weekly technology charge, a possible marketing-fund charge, the minimum-payment schedule and conditional costs. The most important unresolved figure is the buyer-specific reserve after the three-month period, because no Liquid Capital minimum is disclosed and owner compensation and later operating losses are excluded.